T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » November 18th, 2020, 3:20 pm

^^^^A4 Q5?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 18th, 2020, 3:22 pm

Typo.
Was supposed to be just Q5

Capleton

Postby Capleton » November 18th, 2020, 3:51 pm

agent007 wrote:Is it jerky or clunky like a DCT?

When driving in manual mode, it's actually much smoother, since you would be anticipating the gear change. In auto mode, it's not really jerky, but I guess clunky is a better word to describe it, maybe even quirky!

Postby aaron17 » November 18th, 2020, 6:47 pm

Small cars are worst in car accidents.

Postby aaron17 » November 18th, 2020, 7:26 pm

SLVR1 wrote:^^ tbh I have always found TTTL to be lacking in features etc. when it comes to their vehicles compared to Honda and some others. That is why I have always passed them over despite the Toyota reputation for reliability.
Less features= less things to break hence more reliable.

Postby A172 » November 18th, 2020, 10:32 pm

brand new 2020 G20 MSport
PXL_20201118_191133354.jpeg
PXL_20201118_173246873.jpeg
PXL_20201118_215156717.jpeg
PXL_20201118_190932069.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » November 19th, 2020, 9:23 pm

A172 wrote:brand new 2020 G20 MSport
PXL_20201118_190932069.jpegPXL_20201118_215156717.jpegPXL_20201118_173246873.jpegPXL_20201118_191133354.jpeg

What's the retail on this?

Postby A172 » November 20th, 2020, 3:32 pm

Gladiator wrote:
PXL_20201118_190932069.jpegPXL_20201118_215156717.jpegPXL_20201118_173246873.jpegPXL_20201118_191133354.jpeg

https://www.facebook.com/rvitrinidad/po ... 6157653747

Postby Gladiator » November 20th, 2020, 9:39 pm

A172 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

https://www.facebook.com/rvitrinidad/po ... 6157653747

Thanks....

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 22nd, 2020, 1:43 pm

Edit.
Last edited by Pirate on November 22nd, 2020, 1:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Gladiator » November 22nd, 2020, 10:15 pm

So what's the deal with those BMW X5s. Do they all give trouble once is diesel? I see quite a few second hand ones at reasonable prices.... is it worth the buy?

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 22nd, 2020, 11:26 pm

Can't speak too much about those new Q5s but in terms of a used diesel X5, I would say, permanently social distance yourself from that vehicle.

Capleton

Postby Capleton » November 23rd, 2020, 9:31 am

agent007 wrote:Can't speak too much about those new Q5s but in terms of a used diesel X5, I would say, permanently social distance yourself from that vehicle.

I do concur, run as far as you can and stay there. Well unless your plan is the replace the engine and tranny with that of an SR or QG....lol

Postby Gladiator » November 23rd, 2020, 8:55 pm

Capleton wrote:
agent007 wrote:Can't speak too much about those new Q5s but in terms of a used diesel X5, I would say, permanently social distance yourself from that vehicle.

I do concur, run as far as you can and stay there. Well unless your plan is the replace the engine and tranny with that of an SR or QG....lol

Thanks for that bit of advice ...

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 23rd, 2020, 9:18 pm

Edit
Last edited by Pirate on November 23rd, 2020, 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » November 24th, 2020, 7:33 am

Pirate wrote:
Pirate wrote:Hey guys. Looking for some feedback on a 2018 - 2019 Audi Q5:

Anyone has feedback on the transmission (7-speed DSG units) , Everything resolved from earlier issues?
Any bad down shifting feel when in traffic or slowing down at a stoplight?
AirCon issues with these models sorted as well?
Anything additional to look out for maintenance wise?
Thanks!
?

Bhai is trouble you want owa ? It seems you want to spend more times in a mechanic shop than driving on the roads. These cars are not known for high reliability and even the dealers seem to focus on new car sales rather than parts and service.

If you want to buy it buy it NEW and sell after a few years. Look if you want to buy something used buy a good B14 and done yea.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 24th, 2020, 9:36 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Pirate wrote:

Anyone has feedback on the transmission (7-speed DSG units) , Everything resolved from earlier issues?
Thanks!
?

Bhai is trouble you want owa ? It seems you want to spend more times in a mechanic shop than driving on the roads. These cars are not known for high reliability and even the dealers seem to focus on new car sales rather than parts and service.

If you want to buy it buy it NEW and sell after a few years. Look if you want to buy something used buy a good B14 and done yea.

Believe it or not, b14 parts hard to come by these days too

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 25th, 2020, 1:49 am

Pirate wrote:

Thanks!
?

If the Q5 DSG is anything like the Skoda Yeti DSG then consider the following advice in the picture:
IMG_2889.JPG

Your saving grace with the Q5 is, I think it’s a wet clutch and not a dry. What does this mean for you? You probably get an additional year before it goes bezerk on you.

My automotive motto is, “stay from from diesel (except trucks and pickups) and stay far from anything dual clutch”. Good luck!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2020, 6:35 am

So far late 2018 Audi A5 B9 with wet clutch DSG, no issues.
Daily driver but hardly in any traffic.
I like this transmission a lot. My second favourite only to the ZF in BMWs.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 25th, 2020, 11:14 am

scotty_buttons wrote:So far late 2018 Audi A5 B9 with wet clutch DSG, no issues.

The vibe I get from you is, you’re the kind of guy that, if you sense anything off with your car, you will attempt to get right into the issue and do whatever it takes to mitigate any further risks.

Then we have the posers who get into those type of vehicles and they can’t afford to do the necessaries and then blame euros on a whole under the label of unreliability. Now we know very well, some euros are just plain money pits but I hope you get my point.

I think once your wet clutch has the mineral oil and software update, it would last many years trouble-free, especially with highway miles.

Tucson DCT owners though, all I can say is, when the used car market has them bountifully as used options, I say to those owners, may you all get the necessary luck to tief up somebody head who is non the wiser and palm off your troubles. In this Information Age we’re living in, it means that those vehicles would be tough to sell because you can’t fool people so easy anymore unless they truly dotish.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 27th, 2020, 3:36 pm

agent007 wrote:
scotty_buttons wrote:So far late 2018 Audi A5 B9 with wet clutch DSG, no issues.

The vibe I get from you is, you’re the kind of guy that, if you sense anything off with your car, you will attempt to get right into the issue and do whatever it takes to mitigate any further risks.

Then we have the posers who get into those type of vehicles and they can’t afford to do the necessaries and then blame euros on a whole under the label of unreliability. Now we know very well, some euros are just plain money pits but I hope you get my point.

I think once your wet clutch has the mineral oil and software update, it would last many years trouble-free, especially with highway miles.

Tucson DCT owners though, all I can say is, when the used car market has them bountifully as used options, I say to those owners, may you all get the necessary luck to tief up somebody head who is non the wiser and palm off your troubles. In this Information Age we’re living in, it means that those vehicles would be tough to sell because you can’t fool people so easy anymore unless they truly dotish.

Dais me self. I can’t stand driving a car and some little thing wrong/off. Need to have everything working in good order. Kinda OCD when it comes to vehicles.
This wet DSG (DL382/DL501) is an updated one from the previous models; so hoping those issues sorted out.

Postby 16 cycles » November 28th, 2020, 7:36 am

DQ200 is a seven speed transverse DSG with a dry clutch pack used in all five brands. The gearbox code in the diagnostic log shows 0AM and or 0CW. This gearbox does not have a service requirement as it is sealed for life. It's fittted to 1.0 litre to 1.8 litre petrol and diesel engines and has a torque capacity of 250Nm. Very high failure rate.

DQ400 is a six speed transverse DSG with a wet clutch pack and is used in the Volkswagen Golf Hybrid and Passat GTE and also Audi A3 e-tron. The gearbox code in the diagnostic log shows 0DD. It also has a service requirement of 40,000 miles. Generally reliable.

DQ250 is a six speed transverse DSG with a wet clutch pack. The gearbox code in the diagnostic log shows 02E and or 0D9. This also has a service requirement of 40,000 miles and a torque capacity 350Nm. Fitted to 2.0 litre petrol and diesel engines. Generally reliable.

DQ381 is a seven speed transverse DSG with a wet clutch pack and torque capacity of 420-430Nm. Fitted to 2.0 TSI petrol engines. Generally reliable.

DQ500 is a seven speed transverse DSG with a wet clutch pack and a torque capacity of 600Nm, mainly used in the Volkswagen Tiguan and Audi Q3. It can also be found in the Transporter T5. The gearbox code in the diagnostic log shows 0BH and or 0BT. This also has a service requirement of 40,000 miles. Fitted to 2.0 litre 4-cylinder petrol and diesel engines and 2.5 litre 5-cylinder petrol engines. Generally reliable.

DQ511 is a ten speed transverse DSG with a wet clutch pack and a torque capacity of 550Nm.

DL382 is a seven speed longitudinal DSG with a wet clutch pack and a torque capacity of 400Nm, used in front wheel drive Audi A4, A5 and A6. Can have problems.

DL501 is a seven speed longitudinal DSG with a wet clutch pack and a torque capacity of 600Nm, used in Quattro four wheel drive Audi A5, A6, A7 and A8 plus the Porsche Macan. Can have problems.

reliability of VAG transmissions...

https://www.honestjohn.co.uk/askhj/answ ... olkswagen-

Danielcapse

-

Postby Danielcapse » November 28th, 2020, 7:42 am

Hi all, new to the site and new to the Nissan patrol. I have just brought to 2017 Patrol Ti. Wondering if anyone has fitted a UHF to theirs? Im sure there is probably already a thread but I cant find one.

agent007

Postby agent007 » November 28th, 2020, 11:40 am

Hey welcome, are you from down under or you imported one into TT? Is the Ti a 5.6? Sorry for the questions, you dont get to communicate with someone with a Patrol very often lol

Concerning the antenna, there was a discussion on CB radio here a while back but if you want details on same, you can reach out to REACT directly.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 30th, 2020, 10:28 am

Gladiator wrote:So what's the deal with those BMW X5s. Do they all give trouble once is diesel? I see quite a few second hand ones at reasonable prices.... is it worth the buy?

My pardner has one that is not yet 3 years old ( the nicely trimmed one with the Harman Kardon system with seat back screens, bluray plaer etc) and is level pressah in he tail with the engine being the primary issue.
Been down for almost 1/2 year and there is a constant back and forth with Lafast who refuse to accept any liability for the engine instead blaming his service schedule (which he admittedly didn't stick to rigidly but also didn't overly exceed).

rebound

Postby rebound » November 30th, 2020, 2:03 pm

They will screw him even if he went 1week over the scheduled time when large warranty claims involved.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2020, 8:23 am

rebound wrote:They will screw him even if he went 1week over the scheduled time when large warranty claims involved.

I have seen the quotation............large is joke.
Its costing more than my Tucson cost brand new.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 1st, 2020, 10:03 am

rebound wrote:They will screw him even if he went 1week over the scheduled time when large warranty claims involved.

Yikes. A new base Tuc is $255k.

An engine replacement costing over $255k?

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2020, 10:10 am

The labour charge on a Q7 was over 80k. I didn't venture to ask what the charge was for the engine. Was all discounted to zero as was under warranty.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2020, 3:47 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Yikes. A new base Tuc is $255k.

An engine replacement costing over $255k?

$350k

(And my Tucson cost $280k in 2015- [2.0l 4x4 version])