The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 25th, 2021, 4:45 pm

Small item received by WS yesterday, logged today and expected in the country on 27th as per email. Will update as process goes on

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 25th, 2021, 7:04 pm

RPM - package of items (books, phone, accessories, food items) arrived in Miami Thursday 19th...Delivery - Thursday 26th....I could live with that.

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 25th, 2021, 8:54 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:RPM - package of items (books, phone, accessories, food items) arrived in Miami Thursday 19th...Delivery - Thursday 26th....I could live with that.
Not bad at all, I signed up with them to ship my son bday gift in,cuz if I went with post he might not see it until his next birthday....

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 26th, 2021, 11:16 am

How does customs tax food items? Stuff like snacks an basic general items like sauces spices and tin stuff?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 26th, 2021, 11:19 am

daring dragoon wrote:How does customs tax food items? Stuff like snacks an basic general items like sauces spices and tin stuff?
Shaft

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 26th, 2021, 11:22 am

Do they open the packets of food items? Stuff like mac an cheese in boxes. Snacks like chocolates an christmas cookies an nuts etc

Postby Dave » August 26th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Careful with chocolate stuff. Amazon sends ice packs and when they melt they count as weight. Someone got a rude awakening on chocolates she thought she got a deal on....packs of water!

Postby *KRONIK* » August 26th, 2021, 1:33 pm

daring dragoon wrote:Do they open the packets of food items? Stuff like mac an cheese in boxes. Snacks like chocolates an christmas cookies an nuts etc
Steeeeupppsss
Dem MC go open everything

A time i ordered a dessicant for a pump filter
Them cut open the pack and the ting spoil by the time i get it

Postby S_2NR » August 26th, 2021, 3:08 pm

I never had a problem ordering snacks. Usually 20% duty and vat and opt

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 26th, 2021, 8:52 pm

What is your definition of shaft? That they charge 20% duties and VAT?

*KRONIK* wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:How does customs tax food items? Stuff like snacks an basic general items like sauces spices and tin stuff?
Shaft

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 26th, 2021, 9:10 pm

What allyuh recommend to ship heavy items example kids play toys, arcade cabinets etc?

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 26th, 2021, 10:13 pm

Like the airpost grouping up packages now before releasing. Collect all outstanding today from over a month,twenty something odd days down to 2 packages that only here less than 2 weeks that I wasn't even counting on or checking up on. Driver just pulled up today with everything.

Postby Habit7 » August 27th, 2021, 7:10 am

slickrick777 wrote:What allyuh recommend to ship heavy items example kids play toys, arcade cabinets etc?

You can use less than container load with Tropical or Seaboard Marine. It takes one week to sail and one week to clear. The catch is that you have to spend half a day to clear it yourself, or you can pay extra which I am too cheap to do.

Postby Chimera » August 27th, 2021, 8:51 am

How much is extra? A 300?

Postby Habit7 » August 27th, 2021, 9:03 am

It all depends on what you buy. I just bought a bed for US$300+, I paid about US$100 in freight and about US$100 in taxes and throughput.

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2021, 9:18 am

seabox uses ocean cargo but they handle the clearing etc like a skybox

Postby Dave » August 27th, 2021, 9:21 am

How crazy/difficult/painful is the self clearing you do?
Habit7 wrote:
slickrick777 wrote:What allyuh recommend to ship heavy items example kids play toys, arcade cabinets etc?

You can use less than container load with Tropical or Seaboard Marine. It takes one week to sail and one week to clear. The catch is that you have to spend half a day to clear it yourself, or you can pay extra which I am too cheap to do.

Postby Kenjo » August 27th, 2021, 9:32 am

Habit7 wrote:It all depends on what you buy. I just bought a bed for US$300+, I paid about US$100 in freight and about US$100 in taxes and throughput.

Weight of the bed and which company . Just a special notice if anyone ever bringing in a fridge or anything with gas … ac too? You have to get a special letter from TTMA by barataria roundabout for clearance . I don’t know if anyone else can add more to that . Funny thing I brought in a portable fridge that doesn’t work by gas technology but they still requested the letter but luckily seabox gave me a heads up

Postby Habit7 » August 27th, 2021, 11:11 am

Dave wrote:How crazy/difficult/painful is the self clearing you do?
It is just bureaucratic. Bring these documents, wait here for your name to call, pay this amount, talk to that Customs officer, observe Customs going through the box, stamp, pay more money, get your vehicle approved to come in to pick it up, forklift brings it, drive off.

It can take half a day or an entire day. It all depends on how fast Customs moving.

Kenjo wrote:Weight of the bed and which company .
I used Tropical Shipping and it was about 100kg

agent007

Postby agent007 » August 27th, 2021, 11:14 am

Collected 2 packages just now @ 14 days

Zalos

Postby Zalos » August 27th, 2021, 11:42 am

Aeropost delivering after 10days from miami

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 28th, 2021, 6:13 pm

trinidad customs need to be whipped and tar and feathered. i buy some simple food storage bags costing $150 usd as it costing $900 TT to clear from the shipping co yes. was gonna bring in some other stuff for christmas but i change my mind yes. looking cheaper to buy in TT

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 28th, 2021, 6:35 pm

What's the weight? Post a breakdown of the charges.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 28th, 2021, 7:20 pm

they say 16 lbs. idk how plastic bags will weigh 16 lbs. 140 food storage bags. which is plastic.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 28th, 2021, 8:45 pm

Well at 16lbs your charges correct at $150 usd. The 16lbs are charged by your courier not customs.

Once again the beatup is for correct charges.

Postby gastly369 » August 28th, 2021, 8:54 pm

Anyone ever bring in wheels? How customs when it come to them... seeing a sale on a set eyein while now...

Postby Kenjo » August 28th, 2021, 9:29 pm

gastly369 wrote:Anyone ever bring in wheels? How customs when it come to them... seeing a sale on a set eyein while now...

By sea freight you mean right ?

Postby Chimera » August 28th, 2021, 9:52 pm

daring dragoon wrote:they say 16 lbs. idk how plastic bags will weigh 16 lbs. 140 food storage bags. which is plastic.
Your charges sound correct .

150 usd item is 65 usd in taxes.
And shipping weight at 3 usd per lb is 48 usd

That's 113 usd plus whatever other handling fees and insurance etc.

You need to also look at volumetric weight.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 29th, 2021, 6:21 am

last time i got the same item from amazon i paid about $250 to clear from the skybox people pre covid. them customs shafting customers. before covid i buy play doh costing $25 usd and it cost me about $80TT to collect. last christmas 2020 it cost $230 for same $25 in playdoh which is more than the dam item. something going on in customs and covid helping their agenda

Postby Kenjo » August 29th, 2021, 7:03 am

daring dragoon wrote:last time i got the same item from amazon i paid about $250 to clear from the skybox people pre covid. them customs shafting customers. before covid i buy play doh costing $25 usd and it cost me about $80TT to collect. last christmas 2020 it cost $230 for same $25 in playdoh which is more than the dam item. something going on in customs and covid helping their agenda

All these changes ‘ pre covid ‘ sounding like skyboxes that aren’t aeropost . I don’t think people realise how much those local skyboxes were giving them a Bligh all this time . The vat / taxes have always been generally high