:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2021, 9:16 pm

anyone uses an 5 inch orbital sander and wanna order a pack of those assorted packs off amazon and split the shipping?
something like this
https://www.amazon.com/100pcs-Sandpaper ... 74&sr=8-63

Postby Rovin » September 1st, 2021, 10:23 pm

I ordered a very similar set maybe 2 yrs ago probably under a different brand name & still have about half of it cause i have some dewalt & diablo too when they were on sale

imo wouldnt recommend d 40 or 60 grit , it really doesnt come in handy or much use for that kinda rough grit , i suggest buying bulk pks with 80grit & up which is much more useful & cuts nicer\smoother sometimes faster too

if i need to take down a surface fast or if is plenty i use my belt sander instead & then use d orbital after to get it smooth ....

hindian

Postby hindian » September 4th, 2021, 11:56 pm

Guys where I getting one like this to buy? I want to use it to wash a tall commercial vehicle. Thanks
20210904_235145.jpg

Postby Gladiator » September 5th, 2021, 12:00 am

hindian wrote:Guys where I getting one like this to buy? I want to use it to wash a tall commercial vehicle. Thanks20210904_235145.jpg

Check Bhagwansinghs Trincity...saw something similar to that there a couple weeks ago.

Postby adnj » September 5th, 2021, 8:47 am

Every boat owner probably has one. Also look at a yachting supply store like Peakes.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 5th, 2021, 9:31 am

hindian wrote:Guys where I getting one like this to buy? I want to use it to wash a tall commercial vehicle. Thanks
20210904_235145.jpg
Peakes or budge marine... I know it's extra money but if you pressure washing the vehicle, nerta touchless wash in a foam cannon. Spray on and pressure off, no hand washing

hindian

Postby hindian » September 5th, 2021, 9:44 am

nick639v2 wrote:
hindian wrote:Guys where I getting one like this to buy? I want to use it to wash a tall commercial vehicle. Thanks
20210904_235145.jpg
Peakes or budge marine... I know it's extra money but if you pressure washing the vehicle, nerta touchless wash in a foam cannon. Spray on and pressure off, no hand washing
Nah bro nothing like that I just wanna get the dirt off and have it looking presentable. That suggestion not in the budget at all lol but thanks. I'll check those places mentioned above.

Postby timelapse » September 5th, 2021, 9:49 am

Check Hadden

mazdanavisport

Postby mazdanavisport » September 5th, 2021, 11:42 am

Looking for table saw ASAP

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 5th, 2021, 1:42 pm

These available locally?
20210905_134026.jpg

Postby adnj » September 5th, 2021, 1:49 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:These available locally?
20210905_134026.jpg

It's a lug crimper. Modern carries them. Other electrical supplies probably have them too.

https://modernelectricaltt.com/en/tools ... imper.html

david12

Postby david12 » September 5th, 2021, 1:55 pm

20210905_134026.jpg
Jdm Master in Sando advertised some hydraulic crimpers for $800 a few days ago

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2021, 3:38 pm

20210905_134026.jpg
I bought one recently
May be for sale soon if yuh not hurry

Postby Ted_v2 » September 6th, 2021, 11:01 pm

Trini Bass shop on facebook, small money trust meh, worth the drive down south. very nice guy to deal with.

for the welder bud, dont buy the transformer type, i have one and its very fininky and horrible sometimes, i use it once every couple of months so its not a issue for me, but those newer total inverter style looks really good, i saw a guy lighting some thick 6013 and they lighting really good, i does have to try and try, i could burn 2.5 rods of those thicker style and my welder needs to cool down for 5-10 mins.

not the greatest but paid 500$ used in 9/10 condition.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2021, 11:41 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Trini Bass shop on facebook, small money trust meh, worth the drive down south. very nice guy to deal with.

Helluva long drive to make from Arima but I will give him a call. Dont really want to spend too much on an instrument that I wont be using very often.

Calling Modern to get a price was a pain in the arse, hate when employees dont know what their company selling.

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2021, 8:12 am

ordering one online for around 50usd, will cost approx 700.00
by sea, 550-600 but it takes around 5weeks now for delivery

i am sure there is some installer with one who will charge u a fair to crimp up all your cables

Postby Rovin » September 8th, 2021, 11:08 am

guessing this is for car audio wire use ?

if its for personal use & not business i wud advise just to pay 1 of them installers to crimp a few wires for u since its a tool u will hardly use but if its a tool u want to own bess u amazon 1, around us$60 for d more heavier duty 16ton model ...

Postby supercharged turbo » September 9th, 2021, 9:15 pm

I'm looking for a random orbital sander.I'm getting a 320watts Total for $400 and a 3 amp Milwaukee for $670.I have some work for it now that will cover the cost of the tool but after this it mightn't be used for awhile.Should I spend the extra $270 and buy the Milwaukee?Also,where selling Skil?

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 9th, 2021, 9:33 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I'm looking for a random orbital sander.I'm getting a 320watts Total for $400 and a 3 amp Milwaukee for $670.I have some work for it now that will cover the cost of the tool but after this it mightn't be used for awhile.Should I spend the extra $270 and buy the Milwaukee?Also,where selling Skil?
Allied used to sell the Skil orbital sander between $300-400. It sold out some months ago when I went to buy one. Not sure if they restocked it.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 9th, 2021, 10:36 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:I'm looking for a random orbital sander.I'm getting a 320watts Total for $400 and a 3 amp Milwaukee for $670.I have some work for it now that will cover the cost of the tool but after this it mightn't be used for awhile.Should I spend the extra $270 and buy the Milwaukee?Also,where selling Skil?
Had a total and I real beat on it.. worked well, no issues at all. Ended up disappearing from the site too

Postby supercharged turbo » September 9th, 2021, 10:48 pm

I was there yesterday and no Skil instock.All my corded power tools are Skil and I've never had an issues with them after years of use.
NR8 wrote:
Allied used to sell the Skil orbital sander between $300-400. It sold out some months ago when I went to buy one. Not sure if they restocked it.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 9th, 2021, 11:10 pm

Buy the total
Even if yuh kill it, the price would have been worth it

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2021, 11:54 pm

the milwaukee doesnt have that much power difference than the total

where are you getting good pads from?...an auto paint/accessories wanted 4-5$ a pad which is insane

carluva

Postby carluva » September 10th, 2021, 8:23 am

Agreed. $270 extra not worth it. The Milwaukee is only 25W more. Buy the total and kill it. Even look for something cheap like the Ingco.
*KRONIK* wrote:
Buy the total
Even if yuh kill it, the price would have been worth it

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 10th, 2021, 9:29 am

I know price will ultimately win, however, power isn't the only metric.

The throw and orbital speed is also important. It is the difference between you struggling to complete your job in 3 days vs a relatively easy time in 2.

In your case, the Total should be fine. For more frequent use, the Milwaukee.

Postby Rovin » September 10th, 2021, 11:30 am

majority of skil like B&D has always been a DIY level econo tool, yes they work for d $

watts in power tools is like watching d watts in audio - dont mean chit , amperage wud be a better number to look at

i have not used d total but in general higher priced tools are not just cause d company dem love $

higher brands are usually better made ,more power comfort , ergonomics , less vibration - generally a more refined tool , sometimes its a chalk\cheese comparison

my advice go for a closer look, turn them on & get a feel for each, then u decide ...

Postby X_Factor » September 10th, 2021, 4:54 pm

Rovin wrote:majority of skil like B&D has always been a DIY level econo tool, yes they work for d $

watts in power tools is like watching d watts in audio - dont mean chit , amperage wud be a better number to look at

i have not used d total but in general higher priced tools are not just cause d company dem love $

higher brands are usually better made ,more power comfort , ergonomics , less vibration - generally a more refined tool , sometimes its a chalk\cheese comparison

my advice go for a closer look, turn them on & get a feel for each, then u decide ...

its basically the same thing, multiply the amp x voltage to get watts
or divide the watts and voltage to get an average amperage

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 10th, 2021, 6:03 pm

X_Factor wrote:the milwaukee doesnt have that much power difference than the total

where are you getting good pads from?...an auto paint/accessories wanted 4-5$ a pad which is insane
I order from home depot. 20usd for 50.. so avg is the same pricing yes

Postby Rovin » September 10th, 2021, 6:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Rovin wrote:majority of skil like B&D has always been a DIY level econo tool, yes they work for d $

its basically the same thing, multiply the amp x voltage to get watts
or divide the watts and voltage to get an average amperage

my bad for poorly explaining what i meant :oops: , not disputing d math but i was talking about d way some companies market their products

most companies display d amperage number which obviously is d smaller digit while some use d bigger more impressive sounding wattage number for those like to equate bigger number with better , aka bigger equal better ... like how 1 lb = 16 ounces = 453.592 grams but to some ppl : d 454 number sounding like it is more

Postby X_Factor » September 10th, 2021, 8:50 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:the milwaukee doesnt have that much power difference than the total

I order from home depot. 20usd for 50.. so avg is the same pricing yes

amazon my friend, 100 pack, mixed grit --under 15usd