Reopening Beaches, Bars, Restaurants, Gyms & Cinemas in T&T

Re: Reopening Bars, Restaurants, Gyms & Cinemas in T&T - The new normal

Postby hover11 » September 5th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Yes you have fixed costs but if your revenue is less than costs what is the sense ...the aim of any business is to make a profit not losses
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:You seem to have forgotten that you have a curfew that limits your hours of operation
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Picture if you had a business yes you got the green light to reopen , you need employees don't you, you have to pay utilities and all other overheads....however this time around the government says only a certain type of customer can patronize thus cutting your clientele probably in half......what's your next move
st7 wrote:but no money making since business close and rent and bills hadda pay... so operating at 100% loss

might as well close it down.
Employees are variable cost.

Materials and some utilities are variable cost.

Rent or facilities is fixed cost.

If you don't open at all, you still pay fixed costs.

Postby st7 » September 5th, 2021, 12:23 pm

hover11 wrote:Casino bars cinemas restaurants that is minor ? That is thousands of workers and hundreds of businesses struggling to make ends meet
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:You seem to have forgotten that you have a curfew that limits your hours of operation
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Picture if you had a business yes you got the green light to reopen , you need employees don't you, you have to pay utilities and all other overheads....however this time around the government says only a certain type of customer can patronize thus cutting your clientele probably in half......what's your next move
st7 wrote:but no money making since business close and rent and bills hadda pay... so operating at 100% loss

curfew limits operation for who really - a minor sector maybe?

restaurants? they open at 10a... as far as i know they look to be surviving.

cinemas and casino is a minor sector and does not affect the economy on the whole. tell yuh pm to change the curfew times since that is a big concern to you.

only excuses, no solutions.

Postby st7 » September 5th, 2021, 12:25 pm

hover11 wrote:Yes you have fixed costs but if your revenue is less than costs what is the sense ...the aim of any business is to make a profit not losses
adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

why are you assuming that? there are other ways unvaxxed can get services, via delivery etc. if you forward thinking, there are many ways to serve unvaxxed.

only excuses, no solutions.

Postby adnj » September 5th, 2021, 12:27 pm

hover11 wrote:Yes you have fixed costs but if your revenue is less than costs what is the sense ...the aim of any business is to make a profit not losses
adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

Postby st7 » September 5th, 2021, 12:28 pm

hover11 wrote:Hmm allya is big shots , we sufferers watch our pockets when prices raise as our salaries don't but more power to you, anyway I will not be paying more for the samething and indulging in those non essential past times...to each his own
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Most you can do is increase your prices to accommodate for your loss in revenue if you wish to stay afloat or make losses for the rest of the year into next year
st7 wrote:for 4 months my business close and my commercial bills and rent still paying so i losing real money and not making anything

you tell me what to do.

you mean do the same thing kfc and other food places have done for both vax and unvaxxed...

so higher prices was gonna happen anyway making no difference if vax people are the only ones allowed in-store/dining? thanks for clearing that up.

but that's the reality of WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED. businesses wont buss because 'unvaxxed not allowed in'. there are other ways to serve unvaxxed.

but i doh have an mba in ba so i cyah maths this solution nah

Postby st7 » September 5th, 2021, 12:29 pm

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:

that maths eh mathsing to mr mba in ba

Postby hover11 » September 5th, 2021, 12:40 pm

How so as bars and casinos along with gyms all have one business model and have not deviated from such since the inception of the pandemic please do tell how they can serve unvaxxed , who is going to a bar for take away service only when alco is cheaper elsewhere
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Hmm allya is big shots , we sufferers watch our pockets when prices raise as our salaries don't but more power to you, anyway I will not be paying more for the samething and indulging in those non essential past times...to each his own
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Most you can do is increase your prices to accommodate for your loss in revenue if you wish to stay afloat or make losses for the rest of the year into next year
st7 wrote:for 4 months my business close and my commercial bills and rent still paying so i losing real money and not making anything

you tell me what to do.

you mean do the same thing kfc and other food places have done for both vax and unvaxxed...

so higher prices was gonna happen anyway making no difference if vax people are the only ones allowed in-store/dining? thanks for clearing that up.

but that's the reality of WHAT ACTUALLY HAPPENED. businesses wont buss because 'unvaxxed not allowed in'. there are other ways to serve unvaxxed.

Nbb

Postby st7 » September 5th, 2021, 12:57 pm

hover11 wrote:How so as bars and casinos along with gyms all have one business model and have not deviated from such since the inception of the pandemic please do tell how they can serve unvaxxed , who is going to a bar for take away service only when alco is cheaper elsewhere
st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:

you tell me what to do.

Nbb

u studying bars business model for unvaxxed then saying 'who going to a bar for take away when alco cheaper elsewhere'.

the logic not logicsing

Postby adnj » September 5th, 2021, 1:01 pm

hover11 wrote:How so as bars and casinos along with gyms all have one business model and have not deviated from such since the inception of the pandemic please do tell how they can serve unvaxxed , who is going to a bar for take away service only when alco is cheaper elsewhere
st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:

you tell me what to do.

Nbb

About 82% of the population of TTO is 12 years old or over and vaccine eligible.

Today, about 30% of the total population is fully vaccinated.

By December 1st, about 50% is projected be fully vaccinated. 55% of the population is projected to have taken at least one vaccination dose. That's 67% of all vaccine eligible people.

The significance of the economic impact of serving or not serving unvaccinated Trinidad residents will likely continue to diminish.

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2021, 8:12 am

30% of business get cut and everyting okay. Cool. With little to no USd and an economy already contracted after petrotrin closure.

Moving along.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2021, 8:15 am

time for life to return to some form of normalcy for VACCINATED people i agree, as for the unvaxxed, stay in yuh damn house .

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 7th, 2021, 8:57 am

I'm not a business owner but my layman's perspective is that there is a significant number of the total population that is unvaccinated, and while we would and should all like to encourage inoculation, I don't necessarily agree with mandatory vaccine/ no vaccine no service for a few reasons:
- As noted above, there has been significant periods of shut down with businesses having to temporarily close, or shut down all together. Catering to only the vaccinated would be reducing the total number of possible customers.
-One might say, well an unvaccinated customer can come and infect my staff and force me to shut down my business again for contact tracing and quarantine reasons. Guess what? A vaccinated customer can do the same, that is, become infected and later infect others.
-An argument for the vaccine might be, well I don't want my staff to get sick and have to stay home for 14 days or until he or she tests negative for covid19. Guess what? A vaccinated member of staff can still become infected and need to take time off for isolation.
-The vaccine is primarily for personal protection. Yes yes yes, the whole variant risk lies with the unvaccinated argument is there, but the vaccinated person has a certain level of protection against hospitalization and/ or death. As a fully vaccinated person myself, I am not that bothered about the persons around me who (for what ever reason) choose not to be vaccinated. I will encourage them to take whatever is available, yes, but I will not treat someone differently based on their preference/ position on vaccines. Persons can still be guided by the covid19 protocols- washing hands, wearing proper masks etc, regardless of vaccination status because anyone can be infected and spread the virus.
Like I said, I am not a business owner and persons are free to have these mandates if they so desire, but to me, an average economically active person, there's no solid argument to do so.

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2021, 9:23 am

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:I'm not a business owner but my layman's perspective is that there is a significant number of the total population that is unvaccinated, and while we would and should all like to encourage inoculation, I don't necessarily agree with mandatory vaccine/ no vaccine no service for a few reasons:
- As noted above, there has been significant periods of shut down with businesses having to temporarily close, or shut down all together. Catering to only the vaccinated would be reducing the total number of possible customers.
-One might say, well an unvaccinated customer can come and infect my staff and force me to shut down my business again for contact tracing and quarantine reasons. Guess what? A vaccinated customer can do the same, that is, become infected and later infect others.
-An argument for the vaccine might be, well I don't want my staff to get sick and have to stay home for 14 days or until he or she tests negative for covid19. Guess what? A vaccinated member of staff can still become infected and need to take time off for isolation.
-The vaccine is primarily for personal protection. Yes yes yes, the whole variant risk lies with the unvaccinated argument is there, but the vaccinated person has a certain level of protection against hospitalization and/ or death. As a fully vaccinated person myself, I am not that bothered about the persons around me who (for what ever reason) choose not to be vaccinated. I will encourage them to take whatever is available, yes, but I will not treat someone differently based on their preference/ position on vaccines. Persons can still be guided by the covid19 protocols- washing hands, wearing proper masks etc, regardless of vaccination status because anyone can be infected and spread the virus.
Like I said, I am not a business owner and persons are free to have these mandates if they so desire, but to me, an average economically active person, there's no solid argument to do so.

In order of increasing risk for a large population:
1- Lockdown
2- Vaccinated safe zone with social distancing and masks
3- Vaccinated safe zone
4- Social distancing and masks
5- Social distancing or masks alone
6- No safety measures

You are arguing that measures put in place for essential services (4) should have the same level of mitigation efforts as nonessential services (2). Your reason is that these activities, which by their very nature have been shown to be of higher risk of infection, should be treated the same as others because the subject business is currently shuttered.

The business receives zero revenue now.

Participation has higher risk of infection.

The business is not essential.

Public participation is optional.

The only mandated action is that the businesses' operators and employees must be fully vaccinated to open.
Last edited by adnj on September 7th, 2021, 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 7th, 2021, 9:37 am

adnj wrote:
justheretoreadthecomments wrote:I'm not a business owner but my layman's perspective is that there is a significant number of the total population that is unvaccinated, and while we would and should all like to encourage inoculation, I don't necessarily agree with mandatory vaccine/ no vaccine no service for a few reasons:

1- Lockdown
3- Vaccinated safe zone
6- No safety measures

You are arguing that measures put in place for essential services (4) should have the same level of mitigation efforts as nonessential services (2). Your reason is that these activities, which by their very nature have been shown to be of higher risk of infection, should be treated the same as others because the subject business is currently shuttered.

The only mandated action is that the bbusinesses' operators and employees must be fully vaccinated to open.

Government cannot mandate businesses to only serve vaccinated persons.

Postby timelapse » September 7th, 2021, 9:48 am

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:
adnj wrote:

1- Lockdown
3- Vaccinated safe zone
6- No safety measures

The only mandated action is that the bbusinesses' operators and employees must be fully vaccinated to open.

Government cannot mandate businesses to only serve vaccinated persons.
The grim reaper already doing a good job

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2021, 9:50 am

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:Government cannot mandate businesses to only serve vaccinated persons.
The government just did.

"While there is some contention over the Government’s proposal to allow certain leisure privileges to vaccinated people, Technical Director of the Epidemiology Division Dr Avery Hinds says the system of safe zones for vaccinated people can work.

Last Saturday, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said if projections continue with low COVID-19 numbers and consistent vaccinations, the Government aims to reopen bars, gyms, cinemas, casinos and allow in-house dining in four weeks. Rowley said certain aspects of the businesses could become safe zones where vaccinated people can participate."

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/hinds-s ... e261d71981

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2021, 10:17 am

the anti-vaxxers out in form this morning after Chins announcement about VAccinated only at MT!

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2021, 10:23 am

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 7th, 2021, 11:03 am

adnj wrote:
justheretoreadthecomments wrote:Government cannot mandate businesses to only serve vaccinated persons.
The government just did.

"While there is some contention over the Government’s proposal to allow certain leisure privileges to vaccinated people, Technical Director of the Epidemiology Division Dr Avery Hinds says the system of safe zones for vaccinated people can work.

Last Saturday, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said if projections continue with low COVID-19 numbers and consistent vaccinations, the Government aims to reopen bars, gyms, cinemas, casinos and allow in-house dining in four weeks. Rowley said certain aspects of the businesses could become safe zones where vaccinated people can participate."

That quote you posted is not a mandate, rather encouragement for business owners to provide service to persons who are vaccinated. "Can work" and "could become safe zones." is not forcing the hand of the government on private businesses. Again, I am fully vaccinated myself and I strongly believe that persons should get the relevant information and learn that inoculation is the best weapon against covid, but the decision to only serve the vaccinated lies (at least for now) with business owners.

Postby st7 » September 7th, 2021, 11:51 am

allyuh know that unvaxxed can still be served right? order online/pickup etc... but the viral load of most strains in a vaxxed person is significantly lower than an unvaxxed person, the chances of infection is negligible especially when mask wearing, temp checks, hand sanitizing still in effect.

when DELTA come out in full force, well daz a different story. another lockdown. more sad stories.

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2021, 12:08 pm

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:
adnj wrote:
The government just did.

That quote you posted is not a mandate, rather encouragement for business owners to provide service to persons who are vaccinated. "Can work" and "could become safe zones." is not forcing the hand of the government on private businesses. Again, I am fully vaccinated myself and I strongly believe that persons should get the relevant information and learn that inoculation is the best weapon against covid, but the decision to only serve the vaccinated lies (at least for now) with business owners.

Then I am wrong. "The Government aims to reopen bars, gyms, cinemas, casinos and allow in-house dining in four weeks."

I assume that the Government will open those businesses with a Public Health Regulation that details vaccination mandates. This new Public Health Regulation will supercede the Public Health Regulation that closed those very same businesses by Public Health Regulation Chapter 12 No. 4.

Postby redmanjp » September 7th, 2021, 12:51 pm

from what has been happening it will likely be mandatory. if MOH calling ppl up to verify and 1 tuner said the person said it was for a system which involves a QR code that we would need to go different places and boom Govt announces vaccinated ' safe zones'.

it has to be otherwise many bars would just fling open and say everybody could come no vax card required but we still at high rates fluctuating between 100-300 per day? what will happen with every thing opened up versus what happened in march and april when bars were closed but we still had a major spike?

Postby K74T » September 16th, 2021, 1:44 pm

FB_IMG_1631814222059.jpg

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 16th, 2021, 2:05 pm

So, quick question. For a person who contracted covid and is unable to take the vaccine for three months, how are we to treat with him or her? Is that person, too, debarred from all the aforementioned services, despite having antibodies and a legitimate reason to not take the shot (for a period of time)?

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2021, 2:26 pm

justheretoreadthecomments wrote:So, quick question. For a person who contracted covid and is unable to take the vaccine for three months, how are we to treat with him or her? Is that person, too, debarred from all the aforementioned services, despite having antibodies and a legitimate reason to not take the shot (for a period of time)?

are u talking employees or customers? if employees then they should get a grace period because the vaccine is medically unavailable to them

for customers- that one is tricky. different studies showing different results. also your antibody level depends on the viral load u were exposed to which cant be ascertained- a low viral load could mean a low level of antibodies and low immunity. whereas the dose of the vaccine is standard. perhaps we should allow -ve pcr tests as an option like in new york. though an expensive one if u only going to spend $300 for dining or $100 for a movie and snacks.

Postby st7 » September 16th, 2021, 3:06 pm

a question to those who are unvaccinated. if you are seated in a restaurant meeting with other colleagues who are unvaxxed and it's time to eat -- will you feel safe?

Postby hover11 » September 16th, 2021, 3:07 pm

From a virus that has a 3 percent mortality rate ....bring it on
st7 wrote:a question to those who are unvaccinated. if you are seated in a restaurant meeting with other colleagues who are unvaxxed and it's time to eat -- will you feel safe?

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2021, 3:10 pm

hover11 wrote:From a virus that has a 3 percent mortality rate ....bring it on
st7 wrote:a question to those who are unvaccinated. if you are seated in a restaurant meeting with other colleagues who are unvaxxed and it's time to eat -- will you feel safe?

Postby hover11 » September 16th, 2021, 3:14 pm

98 percent is still an A
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:From a virus that has a 3 percent mortality rate ....bring it on

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2021, 3:46 pm

that survival rate assumes u are treated in hospital.

know that in the event delta overwhelms hospitals with unvaxxed ppl and you cant get treatment, that 2% rate is going to go up. who knows, maybe 5-10% ? u taking those odds? what if in addition to that u find out u also have an underlying condition u didnt know about before u got infected (yes MOH said ppl are dying as a result of undiagnosed conditions)- then it rises to 20-30%. is then water more than flour
Last edited by redmanjp on September 16th, 2021, 3:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.