Re: Gas delivery app in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » September 16th, 2021, 7:56 am

^^ ok able bodied.

Postby Dave » September 16th, 2021, 7:58 am

Everytime I start my car $5 disappear so again depending on the cost to have to stop and get gas Vs they coming while the car sits doing nothing it maybe considered.
I work for myself so time equals money. No salary is running here.

Postby j.o.e » September 16th, 2021, 8:29 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Someone living on an island 80kms across and with gas stations as widely available as they are have to be very lazy and or incompetent to use this service for Cars.

If I leave my house now within 10 mins I have access to 10 gas stations.

Same thing i saying…… I saw that the service charge is a flat $25. Allyuh fellas hadda be very busy to shell out that when you probably have to pass gas stations just to reach home.
IMO this makes sense for heavy equipment but not for the random driver.

Postby Dave » September 16th, 2021, 8:41 am

Thanks for that information.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 16th, 2021, 8:49 am

j.o.e wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Someone living on an island 80kms across and with gas stations as widely available as they are have to be very lazy and or incompetent to use this service for Cars.

Same thing i saying…… I saw that the service charge is a flat $25. Allyuh fellas hadda be very busy to shell out that when you probably have to pass gas stations just to reach home.

We don't order food delivery for every meal but sometimes a circumstance may require it and we end up ordering delivery from the food place that's not too far away anyway

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 16th, 2021, 8:55 am

What about if you driving down to Icacos and say you woulda full up in Cedros/Icacos but when you reach, both station closed and you not sure to make it back Point Fortin?

Postby st7 » September 16th, 2021, 8:57 am

iz best to have the service and not need it, rather than not have the service and need it

Postby Dizzy28 » September 16th, 2021, 9:03 am

j.o.e wrote:

We don't order food delivery for every meal but sometimes a circumstance may require it and we end up ordering delivery from the food place that's not too far away anyway

Food is generally a same day decision. To fill gas you generally have time across several days to make the decision.

I guess what is considered convenience (and inconvenience) differs across the board for different people. Example those food apps you mention I only know one person who uses it, I myself have never.

Anyhows entrepreneurship is a hard road. This is still a country that has long lines outside of Flow and TTEC on monthends despite the plethora of options available so best of luck to those that started it.

Postby j.o.e » September 16th, 2021, 9:23 am

j.o.e wrote:

I have no issue with food delivery. I do it all the time. Food delivery has been part of our culture for about 20 years via KFC and pizza franchises.
To require gas you need to use gas which means you drove and possibly past gas stations.
It’s not the same as being home and feeling hungry.

Postby aaron17 » September 16th, 2021, 9:33 am

In terms of covid.. it good..
It does have rel ppl waiting for gas these days. Especially men paying with credit card at the cashier...steups.

Postby Dave » September 16th, 2021, 10:24 am

I leave gas stations where card at pump doesn't work.
aaron17 wrote:In terms of covid.. it good..
It does have rel ppl waiting for gas these days. Especially men paying with credit card at the cashier...steups.

Postby st7 » September 16th, 2021, 10:53 am

Dave wrote:I leave gas stations where card at pump doesn't work.

talking about that...i used the one by Brentwood and see they charging a $6 transactional charge for using card by the pump....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 16th, 2021, 11:32 am

^ credit card fees is 3%
3% of $200 is $6
but the vendor is supposed to pay that, not the customer afaik

Postby Dave » September 16th, 2021, 11:47 am

Correct and it is illegal to charge the customer extra if they use credit.

Postby S_2NR » September 16th, 2021, 11:49 am

st7 wrote:
Dave wrote:I leave gas stations where card at pump doesn't work.

talking about that...i used the one by Brentwood and see they charging a $6 transactional charge for using card by the pump....

where you saw this?

Postby st7 » September 16th, 2021, 11:50 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ credit card fees is 3%
3% of $200 is $6

yuh know. is this a common thing or Brentwood just special?

Postby S_2NR » September 16th, 2021, 12:57 pm

st7 wrote:
3% of $200 is $6

Did you see the charge on your statement? Or as a hold on your online banking?

Sometimes I get a hold for a small amt and it drops off in a few days. Then the actual amount for the gas gets posted.

Postby st7 » September 16th, 2021, 1:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:
st7 wrote:
3% of $200 is $6

Sometimes I get a hold for a small amt and it drops off in a few days. Then the actual amount for the gas gets posted.

currently, it's a hold - but it's been there 3 weeks now so i hoping it drops -- sometime!

Postby Redman » September 16th, 2021, 1:08 pm

3% of $200 is $6

Additionally
Gas Stations are able to negotiate lower processing fees from the Banks, due specifically to the nature of the biz.

So it is probable that the station pays less than that.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 18th, 2021, 9:30 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:But…… why? Who is the target market for this service ?

People said the same thing about food delivery apps and now they are widely used.
It might become a widely used service if the price is right.

Yeah, you know how much times I chilling home on a Sunday and I remember I need to go get gas for the week

You know how hard it does feel to go out the road to just do one thing and come bback home? :lol:

Hadda put on pants an ting

Update, I low on gas and I hadda wake up early to go put gas.

Meaning I hadda put on pants tmr morning.

WIsh there was someone I could call to deliver gas yes

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2021, 10:59 pm

I remember when there was gas rush/shortage all. Over the country. We on shift took turns and went by gypsy gas station 2 am and and filled easy peasy.

Depemding on price, a work site can get a delivery and top up all the vehicles same time. No line up at the stations.

Postby j.o.e » September 18th, 2021, 11:35 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

People said the same thing about food delivery apps and now they are widely used.

Yeah, you know how much times I chilling home on a Sunday and I remember I need to go get gas for the week

You know how hard it does feel to go out the road to just do one thing and come bback home? :lol:

Wake up early to put gas ? There’s no gas station enroute to wherever you going ? Maybe it’s my particular location makes it hard for me to understand, within 5 minutes there are 3 gas stations witthin 10 minutes that jumps to about 5.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 9:39 am

j.o.e wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

Wake up early to put gas ? There’s no gas station enroute to wherever you going ? Maybe it’s my particular location makes it hard for me to understand, within 5 minutes there are 3 gas stations witthin 10 minutes that jumps to about 5.

Unfortunately not everywhere is like that for the very reason that gas stations are bunched up in certain locations and sparse in others.
From where I am it's not too bad.
It's quick and easy to get to the gas station from home, but it's 3x the time to get back.
There are a couple other options but traffic is terrible to get to and from those.

I think there are applications for it too.
A female driver working late at the office and would prefer not to have to go to the gas station on the way home may prefer to use this service during the day at the office more conveniently.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2021, 10:02 am

^ WRT to the female driver did the gas operate like a ninja and just dissapear during the day? Given most cars now tell you how much distance you can drive on your current tank as well as the standard fuel gauge measurement this gets even worse.

Owning and driving a car is a responsibility and to be honest if monitoring and filling gas is too much to plan and execute then what else on the car do you not bother with???

Postby aaron17 » September 21st, 2021, 10:54 am

Seems good due to traffic congestion , bad roads....covid etc.
Are they responsible if gas is bad? Etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 21st, 2021, 11:05 am

Dizzy28 wrote:^ WRT to the female driver did the gas operate like a ninja and just dissapear during the day? Given most cars now tell you how much distance you can drive on your current tank as well as the standard fuel gauge measurement this gets even worse.

Owning and driving a car is a responsibility and to be honest if monitoring and filling gas is too much to plan and execute then what else on the car do you not bother with???

You've never been in the office, end up having to work late and realised hey I have to put gas on the way home?
The same way you can also order food delivery at the office so you don't have to go get it on your way home becaue it will be too late to go home and cook.
Using convenience services isn't always necessarily someone shrugging off responsibility.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2021, 12:25 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^ WRT to the female driver did the gas operate like a ninja and just dissapear during the day? Given most cars now tell you how much distance you can drive on your current tank as well as the standard fuel gauge measurement this gets even worse.

You've never been in the office, end up having to work late and realised hey I have to put gas on the way home?
The same way you can also order food delivery at the office so you don't have to go get it on your way home becaue it will be too late to go home and cook.
Using convenience services isn't always necessarily someone shrugging off responsibility.

No. Not low enough that I couldn't wait till tommorow.

Postby st7 » September 21st, 2021, 1:57 pm

there are some people who would utilize the service. nothing wrong with it. it might be a niche market but who knows -- it might blow up.

Postby Gladiator » September 21st, 2021, 3:33 pm

Its interesting to know the background information on the approvals for this venture. If you have a service to fill fuel in generators etc you require several permits and special container that must be certified etc. A tank in the back of a wingroad...

Postby S_2NR » September 21st, 2021, 6:33 pm

st7 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
st7 wrote:
3% of $200 is $6

currently, it's a hold - but it's been there 3 weeks now so i hoping it drops -- sometime!

This happened to me yesterday at a gas station in the east. It's definitely a hold used by the pump to check that the card is valid before pumping gas. Not an extra charge