The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

christopherwilliams2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 17th, 2021, 10:09 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:I dont know if this was mentioned before. I feel I type it and didn't click submit.

I seeing all items getting charged 6-7% tax on Amazon and Ebay too.
Used to be able to just choose another seller, but now that not helping anything.

Shipping to RPM's address I see some tax applied, shipping to Aeropost's address ...no tax.

Postby st7 » September 17th, 2021, 10:31 am

it would be dependent on the item as well, no?

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 17th, 2021, 10:40 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Blaze d Chalice wrote:I dont know if this was mentioned before. I feel I type it and didn't click submit.

I seeing all items getting charged 6-7% tax on Amazon and Ebay too.
Used to be able to just choose another seller, but now that not helping anything.

Shipping to RPM's address I see some tax applied, shipping to Aeropost's address ...no tax.
Same for CSF

Postby st7 » September 17th, 2021, 10:41 am

+1 for websource.

do you think skybox companies claim back the tax especially when they have the invoices on record?

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 18th, 2021, 2:49 pm

Aeropost and Websource skybox addresses in FL?

I could only find this article:
https://www.forbes.com/sites/lizfarmer/ ... n-florida/

st7 wrote:it would be dependent on the item as well, no?

Nah boi, I was about to buy a laptop and saw the tax thing, so I went and tried out a few items (clothes, shoes, phone, book, electronics etc) different sellers from both ebay and amazon. Also Asus online store.

We bought about 10 laptops between March 2020 and April 2021 from "antonline" and "Newegg" and about 15 phones from "never-msrp" all from their eBay stores and never get that tax chit once.

Postby st7 » September 18th, 2021, 3:29 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Aeropost and Websource skybox addresses in FL?

I could only find this article:
https://www.forbes.com/sites/lizfarmer/ ... n-florida/

st7 wrote:it would be dependent on the item as well, no?

Nah boi, I was about to buy a laptop and saw the tax thing, so I went and tried out a few items (clothes, shoes, phone, book, electronics etc) different sellers from both ebay and amazon. Also Asus online store.

We bought about 10 laptops between March 2020 and April 2021 from "antonline" and "Newegg" and about 15 phones from "never-msrp" all from their eBay stores and never get that tax chit once.

ohhhh i see. amazon collecting it upfront.

has anyone tried to claim back the tax from Amazon though since we arent 'Murican? i wonder if any skyboxes do that.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 19th, 2021, 12:48 pm

So I tried to use Aliexpress now, and the same chit coming up as "VAT" - (this is sending to US skybox first)
whereas if I set my address to Trinidad, there is no "VAT" (but does include a shipping fee which varies)

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 19th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:So I tried to use Aliexpress now, and the same chit coming up as "VAT" - (this is sending to US skybox first)
whereas if I set my address to Trinidad, there is no "VAT" (but does include a shipping fee which varies)
That VAT might be US import taxes and tarrifs from China.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 19th, 2021, 1:39 pm

I thought so too but from what I read, items under 800US not supposed to be taxed? Not sure if I misunderstood.

I was watching at a phone about 750us on ebay.
Is about 800 after that tax. (Even more on Amazon since the same phone starting at over 850 on amazon)

Whereas same phone on Aliexpress for about 680 - and 25US delivery to Trinidad via DHL (10-23 days)
This deal expired and now the price is now higher but still cheaper than the US route and wondering if to take the chance since they using DHL?

DHL bringing it to my house?
Or once it reach Trinidad, TTpost taking over? :sick:

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 19th, 2021, 1:41 pm

Oar, and this is just some examples.
Different items, different sites.
Ali->Amazon->ebay

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2021, 4:16 pm

I always assumed 7% sales tax was a standard. I have never not paid it on a purchase. Last month was my first time since 2019 using Amazon and it's there
IMG_20210919_160750.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » September 20th, 2021, 6:27 pm

Colleagues.

In need of a laptop as one of ours finally gave up this morning.

I recently purchased a 2 in 1 from Amazon (which was shipped and sold from Amazon). At that time and now, I've noticed that many laptops (Acer, Asus, HP, Lenovo, Dell) on Amazon are sometimes shipped by a reseller. However, the reseller would open the seal to upgrade RAM or a SSD and this is clearly stated on the item description.

The same seems to be the case with Newegg. I've never bought from Newegg but it seems as though Newegg is just like Ebay and has many registered sellers.

Who would you guys who have bought laptops recently recommend as a good, reliable and affordable online seller? Amazon, Newegg, antonline (whose website I need to look at)?? Any possible red flags with the resellers on these sites who would open a laptop seal to upgrade a component? What about the actual manufacturers (Dell, Acer, HP, Lenovo, Asus) - which of them will take a TT issued credit card and ship to a skybox?

Postby S_2NR » September 20th, 2021, 6:39 pm

carluva wrote:Colleagues.

I recently purchased a 2 in 1 from Amazon (which was shipped and sold from Amazon). At that time and now, I've noticed that many laptops (Acer, Asus, HP, Lenovo, Dell) on Amazon are sometimes shipped by a reseller. However, the reseller would open the seal to upgrade RAM or a SSD and this is clearly stated on the item description.

The same seems to be the case with Newegg. I've never bought from Newegg but it seems as though Newegg is just like Ebay and has many registered sellers.

Who would you guys who have bought laptops recently recommend as a good, reliable and affordable online seller? Amazon, Newegg, antonline (whose website I need to look at)?? Any possible red flags with the resellers on these sites who would open a laptop seal to upgrade a component? What about the actual manufacturers (Dell, Acer, HP, Lenovo, Asus) - which of them will take a TT issued credit card and ship to a skybox?

https://www.bhphotovideo.com

Postby st7 » September 20th, 2021, 7:03 pm

carluva wrote:Colleagues.

i bought a Dell laptop in 2018 with my TT credit card. As long as you put your skybox address as the billing address -- you good to go.

Postby st7 » September 20th, 2021, 8:04 pm

oh, i bought a few items on the 8th, and it ready to collect as of this evening.

what sorcery is this -- not even 2 weeks!

Postby Gem_in_i » September 20th, 2021, 8:07 pm

I paid TT$75 to get a $5.50US less than a pound vinyl roll.
I still waiting to get items since July.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 20th, 2021, 8:07 pm

st7 wrote:oh, i bought a few items on the 8th, and it ready to collect as of this evening.

what sorcery is this -- not even 2 weeks!

Like dem begging for wuk?

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » September 20th, 2021, 8:18 pm

RPM?

Postby st7 » September 20th, 2021, 8:59 pm

websource

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 20th, 2021, 9:03 pm

Web sauce gone thru long time, looks like they return to best skybox in TT now?

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » September 22nd, 2021, 1:01 pm

FYI ,

Ordered some air con components for my car ( have done this in the past btw without any issue , compressor , drier etc.) items were shipped via FedEx from origin to TT. Long story short FEdEx said that they can’t clear the items and I now need a import license and a broker to get the items from the bond. So for the future buyers please don’t end up in this situation

Postby Kenjo » September 22nd, 2021, 11:11 pm

TRDGUY wrote:FYI ,

Ordered some air con components for my car ( have done this in the past btw without any issue , compressor , drier etc.) items were shipped via FedEx from origin to TT. Long story short FEdEx said that they can’t clear the items and I now need a import license and a broker to get the items from the bond. So for the future buyers please don’t end up in this situation

Double check if you need a letter from TTMA in barataria too . This is also for if you are importing a fridge

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 23rd, 2021, 9:00 am

Ac systems and parts always required an import permit as far as I am aware, especially compressor.

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2021, 9:18 am

Aeropost supporters,

How long are the taking these days?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 23rd, 2021, 9:36 am

Had some PC parts reach Miami 8/Sept.
Released from customs 22/Sept.

Because of the holiday, I'm expecting delivery Monday.

Postby st7 » September 23rd, 2021, 9:47 am

someone told me yesterday that they called Aeropost inquiring about a package and was told that there was a delay between the cargo landing in Trinidad to reach customs for 1 week.... lol

so now there's the usual wait at customs. if u not in a hurry, go thru.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 23rd, 2021, 10:03 am

3 weeks minimum for me.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 23rd, 2021, 10:16 am

Same for Aeropost. Expect about three weeks between delivery to the Miami address to delivery to your address/collection.
Strugglerzinc wrote:3 weeks minimum for me.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 23rd, 2021, 10:26 am

For me, it's
23 Days for Aeropost
11 Days for CSF

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 23rd, 2021, 4:57 pm

MaxPower wrote:Aeropost supporters,

How long are the taking these days?

3 weeks.
The best thing I did with skyboxes this year was switch to RPM.
I purchased 3 separate packages which arrived last week. I received those 3 packages today.

If something arrives in Miami this week...I get it next week.

Right now I have a shoe in Aero...that reach Miami 10 days now and it now arrived to TT. Then I will have over 1 week again to wait to get it...only reason I sent that there was in case the shoe don't fit and I have to return it.

I have another shoe that arrived at RPM on Monday this week. It landed today and will be delivered by Wednesday next week...as a longtime customer Aero really have to step up their game.