Traffic fuh so!

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2021, 11:24 am

left home in Arima like 8:50am this morning and reach POS 10:40 :roll: and that is despite waze redirecting me away from the highway

heard there was road block somewhere?

Captain Awesome

Re: Traffic fuh so!

Postby Captain Awesome » September 23rd, 2021, 11:58 am

Didn't you hear? Covid done and everybody back to the office because the only way to be productive is to be where your boss can see you.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 23rd, 2021, 12:03 pm

POS and environs sticky rn
Screenshot 2021-09-23 at 12.02.37 PM.jpg

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2021, 12:11 pm

I had to remind plenty ppl tommorow is a holiday.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 23rd, 2021, 12:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:left home in Arima like 8:50am this morning and reach POS 10:40 :roll: and that is despite waze redirecting me away from the highway

The boys in white and blue .

Postby Les Bain » September 23rd, 2021, 2:06 pm

Had a south run this morning. From the Gran Bazaar interchange, the north flowing traffic was bumper to bumper all the way to highland plaza.

Postby Country_Bookie » September 23rd, 2021, 4:35 pm

Looking like madness again this evening ....especially on wrightson road? Anyone pass thru there this evening?

Was trying to check the traffic cameras but like them thing stop working.

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2021, 4:37 pm

sam1978 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:left home in Arima like 8:50am this morning and reach POS 10:40 :roll: and that is despite waze redirecting me away from the highway

The boys in white and blue .

licensing?

Postby Gem_in_i » September 23rd, 2021, 4:53 pm

Public Servants got pay ytday and it is the long weekend.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 23rd, 2021, 6:17 pm

Apart from the roadblocks people driving extra dotish. Van and truck men with load hogging the overtaking lane, tanties and uncles cruising at 80 on the overtaking lane and taxi men and jackarse drivers cutting in and out of all the lanes were all major contributors. Did an Arima to Couva to Caroni to Penal to Arima and only encountered one law enforcement activity.

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2022, 9:04 am

Accident on CRH this morning. Adding to the additional school traffic :sigh

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » February 8th, 2022, 10:13 am

Not a nice way to spend the morning

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 10:28 am

redmanjp wrote:Accident on CRH this morning. Adding to the additional school traffic :sigh

I used to do curepe to pos...did it long enough to know I'm happy to work for a smaller salary now and have a job close to home....the extra hours and stress to work POS not worth the extra money

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » February 8th, 2022, 10:36 am

I make my pos run 6 this morning and coming back down central is non stop traffic from Betham to Freeport on that northbound lane. I feel it for anybody who making that commute yes

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2022, 10:45 am

the thing is waze estimated an extra 20-25 mins on CRH compared to the main rd so i took the main rd- but it look like other wazers did the same thing and cause traffic there as well so it didnt make any difference! still took almost 1 and a half hours from Arima to POS.

but what puzzles me is it have traffic AFTER where the accident was (around the interchange according to waze) there is no traffic lights westbound after UWI lights so what causing it? same thing yesterday

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 12:39 pm

redmanjp wrote:the thing is waze estimated an extra 20-25 mins on CRH compared to the main rd so i took the main rd- but it look like other wazers did the same thing and cause traffic there as well so it didnt make any difference! still took almost 1 and a half hours from Arima to POS.

but what puzzles me is it have traffic AFTER where the accident was (around the interchange according to waze) there is no traffic lights westbound after UWI lights so what causing it? same thing yesterday

'phantom' traffic.
Sometimes the ripple effect of something like a stopped or slow vehicle will create a backup long after the vehicle that caused the backup is gone
I was once in an hour of traffic because people were slowing down to macko a vitara on the side of the road, with a chick and a police officer standing next to the open bonnet...no accident, no lane blockage...just mackos

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2022, 12:47 pm

This is why work from home should continue LONG after the pandemic. u cant expect me to believe that 3 hrs of traffic (going and coming) more efficient than wfh. at least have it as an option for those of us who working far from home. even more so for ppl in south who does have to leave home 5 to reach POS 8.

they should invent a remote way of 'clocking in' if that is an issue.
Last edited by redmanjp on February 8th, 2022, 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 12:49 pm

nah boy
massa want to SEE you by yuh desk so he can be reminded he own you

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2022, 12:54 pm

MG Man wrote:nah boy
massa want to SEE you by yuh desk so he can be reminded he own you

well massa didnt see me for over an hour today due to dat traffic.

in my case as an IT admin i already had a laptop and vpn connection so i already had the capability for WFH before covid hit. it was good during the lockdown last year and in 2020. but due to Govt '1 size fit all' approach now i have to go through traffic to come to the office everyday. even in this omicron wave.

smh

compare that to the fact that my sister in the US not only can work from home, but she can work from abroad too which she did this Christmas when she came to Trinidad! they are that flexible.

Postby MG Man » February 8th, 2022, 1:36 pm

yup
we backward as fk
My admin has been working from home weeks now and I have zero issues with it
And she's happier as now she can also better look after her daughter. Everybody wins

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2022, 1:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:This is why work from home should continue LONG after the pandemic. u cant expect me to believe that 3 hrs of traffic (going and coming) more efficient than wfh. at least have it as an option for those of us who working far from home. even more so for ppl in south who does have to leave home 5 to reach POS 8.

they should invent a remote way of 'clocking in' if that is an issue.

There are already software where your bosses can track your log-ins and time spent by your machine. Local banks with foreign owners have been using this since before Covid.

Postby toyolink » February 8th, 2022, 4:37 pm

The dynamics of traffic flows this year will be very unusual since many of the seasonal, work and school circumstances are not what we are accustomed to pre covid19.
A simple example is that the carnival season which sometimes dampens flows is presently being replaced with something resembling the September school opening condition whilst individuals are now returning to physical place of work.
The ability to adapt will be severely tested.
The cost in unproductive man hours etc. is going to be high.

Postby hover11 » February 8th, 2022, 4:51 pm

Seems we have learnt absolutely nothing from this pandemic, you do not need to be an office 5 days a week nor does your child need to be in school 5 days a week to have an education. Say what ever backward , forward never. While countries across the world are trying a four day work week here we are.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 8th, 2022, 4:54 pm

toyolink wrote:The dynamics of traffic flows this year will be very unusual since many of the seasonal, work and school circumstances are not what we are accustomed to pre covid19.
A simple example is that the carnival season which sometimes dampens flows is presently being replaced with something resembling the September school opening condition whilst individuals are now returning to physical place of work.
The ability to adapt will be severely tested.
The cost in unproductive man hours etc. is going to be high.

Yup and for no good reason. We not learning.
“Return to normal” is what people expecting but that’s not possible.

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2022, 6:01 pm

From the ppl I spoke to, there is alot of push back to return physically from bosses once their workers are vaccinated.

Postby aaron17 » February 10th, 2022, 6:00 am

That bloody sandtruck from yesterday! On that highway.

Postby redmanjp » February 10th, 2022, 11:01 am

i notice most of the east-west corridor traffic caused by the reopening of school is heading into POS after curepe. im wondering if opening the curepe interchange back in 2020 had an effect which was delayed which we did not see until now due to the prolonged effect of school closures. with the lights being removed it would now send more traffic down west.

Postby hover11 » February 10th, 2022, 11:06 am

redmanjp wrote:i notice most of the traffic caused by the reopening of school is heading into POS. im wondering if opening the curepe interchange back in 2020 had an effect which was delayed which we did not see until now due to the prolonged effect of school closures. with the lights being removed it would now send more traffic down west.
The bottleneck always happens in sea lots and beetham, everyone rushing to town at the same time , no decentralization nor even worthwhile proposals on such but who cares. Everything has to be done in pos or you can't get any type of business done in 2022

Postby K74T » June 15th, 2022, 6:14 pm

Mad traffic entering and exiting POS this evening

Postby Gladiator » June 15th, 2022, 7:02 pm

huge traffic exercise by licensing officers at Macoya lights both sides of the highway... took 1 and a half hours from Aranguez to UWI.