Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Do you support a Shift System for all schools?

Yes
50%
No
50%

Total votes: 30

Re: Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby st7 » September 22nd, 2021, 10:08 am

oh god, hover with his excuses and complaining again with no fking solutions cause he's a fking dumbass.

here is one solution from the top of my head since we're all not a whiny piece of sheit like hover:

most teachers have been using slides for their online teaching. run those slides off a laptop to a google classroom/zoom meeting, while having a projector in the physical classroom. and TEACH.

small minds will keep on thinking small, be sexist, racist, etc -- no surprise from hover11

Postby adnj » September 22nd, 2021, 10:14 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:https://www.cnc3.co.tt/less-than-10000-students-vaccinated-in-line-for-return-to-physical-school/

Fewer than 10,000 students vaccinated in line for return to physical school
“Schools will be required to submit to the MOE, on a template to be provided, their individual plans for making curriculum materials available to the students who are not at school physically. This will vary by school, subject and teacher, based on the resources available,” Gadsby-Dolly said.
Like I said October we will see how it unfolds, everything is nice on paper time will tell how practical it is

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:https://www.cnc3.co.tt/less-than-10000-students-vaccinated-in-line-for-return-to-physical-school/

“Schools will be required to submit to the MOE, on a template to be provided, their individual plans for making curriculum materials available to the students who are not at school physically. This will vary by school, subject and teacher, based on the resources available,” Gadsby-Dolly said.
Like I said October we will see how it unfolds, everything is nice on paper time will tell how practical it is

TTUTA doesn't want online learning,

TTUTA Tobago gives first virtual school term a ‘U’ grade

Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association’s (TTUTA’s) Tobago Officer Bradon Roberts says the Tobago-arm of the association can not grade the island’s first virtual school term as there are “too many unknowns.”

The pandemic forced face-to-face schooling to close nationwide on March 13. Online-only learning began in September.

Roberts said the grade was based on poor internet connectivity islandwide, a large number of students without online devices, teachers’ challenges in preparing lessons, and some student’s inability to grasp the lessons via remote learning.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/ttuta-tobago-giv ... a-u-grade/
Just the beginning, one section will suffer inevitably be it the in person or online classes but you can't do both with the same resources

Of course you can. It's been done for years.

What is hyflex teaching?

Hyflex teaching -- also sometimes called "concurrent" teaching -- is essentially a hybrid or blended model of instruction where some students attend class in-person while other students are simultaneously remote, streaming "live" into class. First developed by Dr. Brian J. Beatty, associate professor of instructional technologies at San Francisco State University, "Hybrid-Flexible Course Design" is most commonly used at the collegiate level. More recently, during the coronavirus pandemic, a number of K-12 schools and teachers have adopted -– and adapted –- the hyflex model to accommodate the divergent needs of learners and families during school closures.

https://www.commonsense.org/education/a ... -same-time
Where is the local evidence of such , not everything applied foreign can apply locally, you need consultations with the union, no directive can simply be instructed on the workforce unilaterally. You want teachers to do more work for the same 2013 pay and expect the union to just say yes lol

Unions don't create the lesson plans, teacher's and instructors do -- with department head approval.

Once online classrooms became the norm, equipment would have been procured and the threshold to utilize the HyFlex model is crossed.

There is no "additional work." The class is taught online AND students are in the classroom. There is no difference between a Zoom meeting with 10 students sitting in a room remotely and one with the 10 students in the classroom. The material is still presented. Schools do have Wi-fi. Students will view on their laptops or on a classroom screen.

Postby redmanjp » September 23rd, 2021, 2:26 am

problem is most schools dont have a projector for every class. so they will have to bring their laptops

Postby hover11 » September 24th, 2021, 12:31 pm

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/govt-not-going-t ... -teachers/

‘Govt not going to fight vaccine enforcement for teachers’

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2021, 7:35 am

In a matter of days, Pfizer CEO says they'll be ready to ask for approval of a Covid-19 vaccine for kids

(CNN)Pfizer/BioNTech plans to ask for authorization of a Covid-19 vaccine for some children under 12 soon, bringing the US one step closer to offering protection to a population that has grown particularly vulnerable as the fall season gets underway.

"It is a question of days, not weeks," Pfizer Chairman and CEO Albert Bourla told ABC News Sunday about when the company will submit data on children ages 5 to 11 to the FDA for consideration.

Currently, Covid-19 vaccines are only approved for children 12 and older, which has stirred concern among health experts as cases in children increase, school years begin and the more transmissible Delta variant spreads.

Nearly 26% of all Covid-19 cases nationwide are reported in children, according to recent data published by the American Academy of Pediatrics. And an average of 266 children were hospitalized with Covid-19 every day last week, according to Sunday's data from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

https://news.google.com/articles/CAIiEA ... id=US%3Aen

Postby Redman » September 27th, 2021, 9:46 am

redmanjp wrote:problem is most schools dont have a projector for every class. so they will have to bring their laptops

Teacher has the correct laptop with the camera and audio set up properly and they stream.

Exactly like theyve been doing for the last year.

Kids who want to come in-for whatever reason -they come in. Others stay at home(or wherever) and participate virtually.

This provides scale and alternatives for schools and students.

Why in 2021 should an A student in Grande not be able to attend a school in POS or Sando?

Why shouldnt a school be able to gradually scale up to larger classes?

abducted

Postby abducted » September 27th, 2021, 10:04 am

Redman wrote:
redmanjp wrote:problem is most schools dont have a projector for every class. so they will have to bring their laptops

Teacher has the correct laptop with the camera and audio set up properly and they stream.

Exactly like theyve been doing for the last year.

Kids who want to come in-for whatever reason -they come in. Others stay at home(or wherever) and participate virtually.

This provides scale and alternatives for schools and students.

Why in 2021 should an A student in Grande not be able to attend a school in POS or Sando?

Why shouldnt a school be able to gradually scale up to larger classes?

Because some parents see school as a free daycare for their children, even secondary school, those parents don't like online school,

Postby adnj » September 28th, 2021, 1:08 pm

Postby matr1x » September 28th, 2021, 2:40 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association’s (TTUTA’s) Tobago Officer Bradon Roberts says the Tobago-arm of the association can not grade the island’s first virtual school term as there are “too many unknowns.”

The pandemic forced face-to-face schooling to close nationwide on March 13. Online-only learning began in September.

Roberts said the grade was based on poor internet connectivity islandwide, a large number of students without online devices, teachers’ challenges in preparing lessons, and some student’s inability to grasp the lessons via remote learning.

Just the beginning, one section will suffer inevitably be it the in person or online classes but you can't do both with the same resources

What is hyflex teaching?

Hyflex teaching -- also sometimes called "concurrent" teaching -- is essentially a hybrid or blended model of instruction where some students attend class in-person while other students are simultaneously remote, streaming "live" into class. First developed by Dr. Brian J. Beatty, associate professor of instructional technologies at San Francisco State University, "Hybrid-Flexible Course Design" is most commonly used at the collegiate level. More recently, during the coronavirus pandemic, a number of K-12 schools and teachers have adopted -– and adapted –- the hyflex model to accommodate the divergent needs of learners and families during school closures.

Where is the local evidence of such , not everything applied foreign can apply locally, you need consultations with the union, no directive can simply be instructed on the workforce unilaterally. You want teachers to do more work for the same 2013 pay and expect the union to just say yes lol

Unions don't create the lesson plans, teacher's and instructors do -- with department head approval.

Once online classrooms became the norm, equipment would have been procured and the threshold to utilize the HyFlex model is crossed.

There is no "additional work." The class is taught online AND students are in the classroom. There is no difference between a Zoom meeting with 10 students sitting in a room remotely and one with the 10 students in the classroom. The material is still presented. Schools do have Wi-fi. Students will view on their laptops or on a classroom screen.

What kind of fantasy world you living in?

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 2:42 pm

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:“Schools will be required to submit to the MOE, on a template to be provided, their individual plans for making curriculum materials available to the students who are not at school physically. This will vary by school, subject and teacher, based on the resources available,” Gadsby-Dolly said.

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:“Schools will be required to submit to the MOE, on a template to be provided, their individual plans for making curriculum materials available to the students who are not at school physically. This will vary by school, subject and teacher, based on the resources available,” Gadsby-Dolly said.

What is hyflex teaching?

Leave them na, they think things will work out positively come next week. Waiting patiently to see it hit the fan

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2021, 9:26 pm

Well expect more parents to be disgruntled , as schools are set to reopen to vaccinated students only, there are a lot of sour parents demanding that something be done to cater to their kids, there is, get them vaccinated and shut yuh Kant.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 9:34 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Well expect more parents to be disgruntled , as schools are set to reopen to vaccinated students only, there are a lot of sour parents demanding that something be done to cater to their kids, there is, get them vaccinated and shut yuh Kant.
So children must be vaccinated but teachers don't need to be , how on earth is that fair, there are children that are facing side effects from pfizer and the teachers don't need to be vaccinated. THAT'S BS. I'm sure you work in an area with both vaxxed and unvaxxed why can't schools be the same?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 28th, 2021, 9:40 pm

Teachers and school staff makes up a very small percentage of the school population compared to students, so it only makes sense that the students should get vaccinated to attend classes.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 9:52 pm

DMan7 wrote:Teachers and school staff makes up a very small percentage of the school population compared to students, so it only makes sense that the students should get vaccinated to attend classes.
So you saying it makes sense for a full class of vaccinated children and an unvaccinated teacher who can get the virus and possibly die from contracting the virus

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:07 pm

hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Teachers and school staff makes up a very small percentage of the school population compared to students, so it only makes sense that the students should get vaccinated to attend classes.
So you saying it makes sense for a full class of vaccinated children and an unvaccinated teacher who can get the virus and possibly die from contracting the virus

There's about 10 students per class for 1 teacher. There's greater chance of spread if there's those 10 students unvaccinated as opposed to 1 teacher unvaccinated. And what's all this concern all of a sudden for the "unvaccinated" teacher? I thought you against the vaccine? You finally turn around now?

Postby adnj » September 28th, 2021, 10:08 pm

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

What is hyflex teaching?

I must be talking to a math teacher.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=763354&p=10199279#p10199279

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 10:10 pm

DMan7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

There's about 10 students per class for 1 teacher. There's greater chance of spread if there's those 10 students unvaccinated as opposed to 1 teacher unvaccinated. And what's all this concern all of a sudden for the "unvaccinated" teacher? I thought you against the vaccine? You finally turn around now?
My point still stands if unvaccinated teachers are free to return, then unvaccinated children should be too , fair is fair. Doesn't make sense.Teachers getting a free pass but children are mandated.

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:12 pm

hover11 wrote:

buh ent survival rate is 97%.. why u worried about the unvaxxed teacher for

based on your logic... yuh say trini cyah abide to rules... well chirren and teenagers worst.
Last edited by st7 on September 28th, 2021, 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » September 28th, 2021, 10:12 pm

hover11 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:Well expect more parents to be disgruntled , as schools are set to reopen to vaccinated students only, there are a lot of sour parents demanding that something be done to cater to their kids, there is, get them vaccinated and shut yuh Kant.
So children must be vaccinated but teachers don't need to be , how on earth is that fair, there are children that are facing side effects from pfizer and the teachers don't need to be vaccinated. THAT'S BS. I'm sure you work in an area with both vaxxed and unvaxxed why can't schools be the same?
If the teachers are vaxxed and unvaxxed, then it is the same. Students aren't on the payroll. If the students need a vaccination to attend, get a vaccination to attend.

You can try to spin it if you want but that's the way it is and all of your complaining won't make a difference.
Last edited by adnj on September 28th, 2021, 10:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 10:13 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Even better reason to bring back all the children ,FYI 97 percent survival rate does not apply to children they have a much higher survival rate

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:15 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Even better reason to bring back all the children ,FYI 97 percent survival rate does not apply to children they have a much higher survival rate

ent u self say trinidad unhealthy??? all them chirren only drinking soft drink and eating fast food....so imagine all them with comorbidities

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 10:18 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

ent u self say trinidad unhealthy??? all them chirren only drinking soft drink and eating fast food....so imagine all them with comorbidities
To date and correct me if I'm wrong children (ages 6-17)in Trinidad have contracted covid but none have died so clearly they have an advantage over the rest of us

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:21 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

To date and correct me if I'm wrong children (ages 6-17)in Trinidad have contracted covid but none have died so clearly they have an advantage over the rest of us

oh my bad... u did lab tests and worked with real data, and have selected memory of ones who died?

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... b6938.html

all that googling and u cant find that? selective googling nah

Postby De Dragon » September 28th, 2021, 10:23 pm

hover11 wrote:

Aren't you also anti mandates? Weren't you championing employees rights not to get vaccinated? Well teachers are represented by a union which opposes mandates, so while they can choose to, they don't have to, so why the beatup?

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 10:24 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

oh my bad... u did lab tests and worked with real data, and have selected memory of ones who died?

One child out of THOUSANDS of kids died and please notice that this one child was not Healthy to begin with. So again I reiterate, if you sickly and know you not so wholesome take your vaccine but the Healthy ppl have no need to take such.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 10:26 pm

hover11 wrote:

Aren't you also anti mandates? Weren't you championing employees rights not to get vaccinated? Well teachers are represented by a union which opposes mandates, so while they can choose to, they don't have to, so why the beatup?
Exactly my point it is hypocritical knowing that the teachers can be unvaccinated yet you require students to be, let the children mingle be with each other , everyone can wear their masks and sanitize, what's the problem. I waiting for someone to challenge this legally, this is segregation and discrimination to the highest extent

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:27 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

One child out of THOUSANDS of kids died and please notice that this one child was not Healthy to begin with. So again I reiterate, if you sickly and know you not so wholesome take your vaccine but the Healthy ppl have no need to take such.

wtf... ur stats real messed up. where the hell u get thousands from? pulling sheit outta ur ass again doh pass as facts eh
imagine when they all in school...infection and death goes up tenfold.

u a real c9nt for being selfish and thinking a child's death is nothing big. i hope u doh trick somebody into having sex with u and u poke holes in the condom...i feel daz how u was conceived.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2021, 8:40 am

Basically the end of this is: vaccinate your child if you want them to be able to attend school, there is no compromise, there is no parallel system.. either your child is vaccinated or they may fall behind, or hire a good external tutor for the next few months -year.

Those are your choices.

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2021, 1:39 pm

Word is that Fatima College has decided to discontinue parallel online classes for unvaccinated students.
According to sources:

"... this is essentially the stance taken. The online streaming and parallel approach while teachers are in active teaching sessions in the classroom does not seem feasible at this time. Father Gregory explained to the parent body that extensive discussions have occurred and unfortunately the unvaccinated children in forms 4-6 will receive their material over the google classroom but the zoom face to face sessions will not be able to occur. It was a very long meeting and some parents were upset. They simply cannot do both. Many many questions and suggestions came forward. Father Gregory was firm on his position. For the younger /junior group - online zoom live and asynchronous sessions will continue as usual."

Taken from newsauce.

Waiting for the fools who said it is possible

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2021, 1:43 pm

hover11 wrote:Word is that Fatima College has decided to discontinue parallel online classes for unvaccinated students.
According to sources:

"... this is essentially the stance taken. The online streaming and parallel approach while teachers are in active teaching sessions in the classroom does not seem feasible at this time. Father Gregory explained to the parent body that extensive discussions have occurred and unfortunately the unvaccinated children in forms 4-6 will receive their material over the google classroom but the zoom face to face sessions will not be able to occur. It was a very long meeting and some parents were upset. They simply cannot do both. Many many questions and suggestions came forward. Father Gregory was firm on his position. For the younger /junior group - online zoom live and asynchronous sessions will continue as usual."

Taken from newsauce.

Waiting for the fools who said it is possible

Simple fix, vaccinate your child and then they will be allowed to go to school. otherwise shut up and hire a good tutor... live is full of choices, choosing to not vaccinate you have to live with consequences..cant have your cake and eat it!