Re: Veera the LAWYER

Postby zoom rader » September 24th, 2021, 12:58 pm

viedcht wrote:
zoom rader wrote:All dis because she is non red gravaments
Mr ZR, are you insinuating that dp-r is a functioning rxt@rd and a political shxte@ter, or that there are political influencers at work keeping one lil Indian girl from being appointed to a State Agency? Of what benefit may that be to anyone?
Glass ceiling bro

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2021, 12:00 am

viedcht wrote:
Mr ZR, are you insinuating that dp-r is a functioning rxt@rd and a political shxte@ter, or that there are political influencers at work keeping one lil Indian girl from being appointed to a State Agency? Of what benefit may that be to anyone?
Glass ceiling bro

dp-r was (is?) a former member of a previous LFD RFD PNM government, hence her appointment I am guessing, because where else in the world would someone in a position to advocate and adjudicate on matters of equality, pick a public nasty legal fight with a disabled person who was duly appointed? :roll:

Postby timelapse » September 25th, 2021, 6:53 am

viedcht wrote:
Glass ceiling bro
If a woman is on top the glass ceiling and a man is below, is that considered sexual harassment?

Postby Redman » September 25th, 2021, 8:27 am

Glass ceiling being enforced by two women.

Political victimisation by the PNM of a person who was awarded scholarships and National awards by the same PNM?

What else we can pelt?

Postby zoom rader » September 25th, 2021, 10:28 am

timelapse wrote:
viedcht wrote:
Glass ceiling bro
If a woman is on top the glass ceiling and a man is below, is that considered sexual harassment?
Has nutting to do being a woman.

It's because she is injun

Postby The_Honourable » October 12th, 2021, 11:57 pm

EOT challenges Bhajan’s lawsuit

The Equal Opportunity Tribunal (EOT) and its chairman Donna Prowell-Raphael have challenged a judge’s decision to grant EOT lay-assessor Veera Bhajan leave to pursue a judicial review lawsuit against them for allegedly blocking her from taking up her appointment.

In the application, filed last Monday lawyers for the EOT and Prowell-Raphael claim that High Court Judge Avason Quinlan-Williams should set aside her decision to grant Bhajan leave to pursue the judicial review lawsuit because Bhajan and her legal team did not disclose pertinent evidence central to the case before Quinlan-Williams made the preliminary determination on September 22.

The application was raised when the case, which is set to go on trial on November 12, came up for virtual hearing before Quinlan-Williams yesterday afternoon. Senior Counsel Alvin Fitzpatrick, who leads Bhajan’s legal team, submitted that the application should be heard and determined simultaneously with Bhajan’s substantive case to save time and legal expenses.

Attorney Rishi Dass, who led the legal team for the Office of the Attorney General, supported Fitzpatrick’s position as he noted that Quinlan-Williams had the discretion to decide how to deal with the application based on her previous case management directions.

Dass suggested that it would be counterproductive to split the case as the EOT and Prowell-Raphael could delay the hearing of the substantive issues if Quinlan-Williams rejected the application and they chose to appeal the decision.

Responding to the submission, the EOT and Prowell-Raphael’s attorney Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC, denied that the application was designed to delay the case. “I am surprised that they believe this application was filed to delay any matter. This is a serious matter with serious issues involved,” Maharaj said.

He also questioned whether both the application and the substantive lawsuit can be heard at the same time.

“It would be unjust and inconsistent with the overriding objectives,” Maharaj said. After hearing the submissions, Quinlan-Williams agreed with Bhajan and the AG’s Office and ruled that both would be dealt with simultaneously.

According to her court filings, obtained by Guardian Media, the issue arose after Bhajan received her appointment from President Paula-Mae Weekes on March 17. Bhajan claimed that she made numerous attempts to contact the tribunal in order to take up her appointment before Prowell-Raphael responded on May 19.

In the correspondence, Prowell-Raphael claimed that her services were not required as the tribunal did not have the “financial wherewithal” to accommodate a second lay-assessor and that the tribunal’s current work flow did not require it.

Prowell-Raphael also accused Bhajan of using improper channels to enquire about her position.

In a legal opinion issued by the tribunal’s legal research officer Mintri Beharrylal on August 26, the tribunal claimed that the President was wrong to appoint Bhajan, as she (Bhajan) did not have sufficient qualifications for the post as required under the Equal Opportunity Act (EOA).

Beharrylal claimed that when Bhajan was first appointed, Prowell-Raphael informed the President that she (Bhajan) did not qualify for appointment as she did not have the prerequisite of 10 years experience as an attorney.

She claimed that after the communication, the President revoked the appointment and reappointed Bhajan based on having combined experience in law and social work for 10 years. She alleged that Bhajan still did not qualify under combined experience.

The opinion also stated that Prowell-Raphael had a legitimate expectation to be consulted by the President before the appointment and would have pointed out deficiencies in candidates.

Through the lawsuit, Bhajan is seeking a series of declarations against the tribunal and Prowell-Raphael that they acted in excess of their jurisdiction and in abuse of their power. She is also seeking an order quashing the decision and another mandating that she take up the appointment.

Bhajan, who is claiming that she quit her law practice to take up her appointment, is also seeking compensation for the monthly remuneration she was supposed to receive after being appointed.

While the Office of the Attorney General was listed as a respondent to Bhajan’s claim, it supported her legal action when her attorney Rajiv Chaitoo wrote to it before filing the lawsuit.

The AG’s Office said that it could not rectify the situation as it had no power over the tribunal or Prowell-Raphael.

Under the EOA, the tribunal consists of a Chairman and two lay-assessors appointed by the President. While the Judicial and Legal Service Commission (JLSC) advises the President on the appointment of the Chairman, the lay-assessors are selected solely by the President.

The tribunal is mandated to hear and determine discrimination complaints under the legislation, which are referred to it by the Equal Opportunity Commission. Bhajan, who was born without arms, was awarded the Hummingbird Medal (Silver) in 2011.

She is also being represented by Rajiv Persad, Michael Rooplal, Shari Fitzpatrick, and Gabriel Hernandez.

The EOT and its chairman are also being represented by Leon Kalicharan, Kiel Taklalsingh, and Karina Singh.

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/eot-challenges-bhajans-lawsuit/

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » October 13th, 2021, 7:31 am

The_Honourable wrote:EOT challenges Bhajan’s lawsuit

The Equal Opportunity Tribunal (EOT) and its chairman Donna Prowell-Raphael have challenged a judge’s decision to grant EOT lay-assessor Veera Bhajan leave to pursue a judicial review lawsuit against them for allegedly blocking her from taking up her appointment.

In the application, filed last Monday lawyers for the EOT and Prowell-Raphael claim that High Court Judge Avason Quinlan-Williams should set aside her decision to grant Bhajan leave to pursue the judicial review lawsuit because Bhajan and her legal team did not disclose pertinent evidence central to the case before Quinlan-Williams made the preliminary determination on September 22.

The application was raised when the case, which is set to go on trial on November 12, came up for virtual hearing before Quinlan-Williams yesterday afternoon. Senior Counsel Alvin Fitzpatrick, who leads Bhajan’s legal team, submitted that the application should be heard and determined simultaneously with Bhajan’s substantive case to save time and legal expenses.

Attorney Rishi Dass, who led the legal team for the Office of the Attorney General, supported Fitzpatrick’s position as he noted that Quinlan-Williams had the discretion to decide how to deal with the application based on her previous case management directions.

Dass suggested that it would be counterproductive to split the case as the EOT and Prowell-Raphael could delay the hearing of the substantive issues if Quinlan-Williams rejected the application and they chose to appeal the decision.

Responding to the submission, the EOT and Prowell-Raphael’s attorney Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj, SC, denied that the application was designed to delay the case. “I am surprised that they believe this application was filed to delay any matter. This is a serious matter with serious issues involved,” Maharaj said.

He also questioned whether both the application and the substantive lawsuit can be heard at the same time.

“It would be unjust and inconsistent with the overriding objectives,” Maharaj said. After hearing the submissions, Quinlan-Williams agreed with Bhajan and the AG’s Office and ruled that both would be dealt with simultaneously.

According to her court filings, obtained by Guardian Media, the issue arose after Bhajan received her appointment from President Paula-Mae Weekes on March 17. Bhajan claimed that she made numerous attempts to contact the tribunal in order to take up her appointment before Prowell-Raphael responded on May 19.

In the correspondence, Prowell-Raphael claimed that her services were not required as the tribunal did not have the “financial wherewithal” to accommodate a second lay-assessor and that the tribunal’s current work flow did not require it.

Prowell-Raphael also accused Bhajan of using improper channels to enquire about her position.

In a legal opinion issued by the tribunal’s legal research officer Mintri Beharrylal on August 26, the tribunal claimed that the President was wrong to appoint Bhajan, as she (Bhajan) did not have sufficient qualifications for the post as required under the Equal Opportunity Act (EOA).

Beharrylal claimed that when Bhajan was first appointed, Prowell-Raphael informed the President that she (Bhajan) did not qualify for appointment as she did not have the prerequisite of 10 years experience as an attorney.

She claimed that after the communication, the President revoked the appointment and reappointed Bhajan based on having combined experience in law and social work for 10 years. She alleged that Bhajan still did not qualify under combined experience.

The opinion also stated that Prowell-Raphael had a legitimate expectation to be consulted by the President before the appointment and would have pointed out deficiencies in candidates.

Through the lawsuit, Bhajan is seeking a series of declarations against the tribunal and Prowell-Raphael that they acted in excess of their jurisdiction and in abuse of their power. She is also seeking an order quashing the decision and another mandating that she take up the appointment.

Bhajan, who is claiming that she quit her law practice to take up her appointment, is also seeking compensation for the monthly remuneration she was supposed to receive after being appointed.

While the Office of the Attorney General was listed as a respondent to Bhajan’s claim, it supported her legal action when her attorney Rajiv Chaitoo wrote to it before filing the lawsuit.

The AG’s Office said that it could not rectify the situation as it had no power over the tribunal or Prowell-Raphael.

Under the EOA, the tribunal consists of a Chairman and two lay-assessors appointed by the President. While the Judicial and Legal Service Commission (JLSC) advises the President on the appointment of the Chairman, the lay-assessors are selected solely by the President.

The tribunal is mandated to hear and determine discrimination complaints under the legislation, which are referred to it by the Equal Opportunity Commission. Bhajan, who was born without arms, was awarded the Hummingbird Medal (Silver) in 2011.

She is also being represented by Rajiv Persad, Michael Rooplal, Shari Fitzpatrick, and Gabriel Hernandez.

The EOT and its chairman are also being represented by Leon Kalicharan, Kiel Taklalsingh, and Karina Singh.

Source: https://www.cnc3.co.tt/eot-challenges-bhajans-lawsuit/

As usual the lawyers going to make a nice pay day and tax payers' money will be used to pay them.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » October 13th, 2021, 7:34 am

timelapse wrote:
viedcht wrote:
Glass ceiling bro
Has nutting to do being a woman.

It's because she is injun

If you're not a wajang Indian or in an interracial relationship with an African, PNM base supporters label you as racial.

Postby De Dragon » October 14th, 2021, 1:02 am

Redman wrote:Glass ceiling being enforced by two women.

Political victimisation by the PNM of a person who was awarded scholarships and National awards by the same PNM?

What else we can pelt?

:rofl: :rofl:
Could always depend on a LFD RFD PNM lackey sheep to attempt defend the indefensible.
SC hired now to challenge Veera's claim? Wasn't the claim that the EOT had no money?
Well done LFD RFD PNM appointee!
JUHN Scarfy must be proud of your bullish, obstinate stance in defense of the EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES Tribunal :roll:

Postby Redman » October 14th, 2021, 6:51 am

You saying that one side should fold because of the optics?

Maybe they feel they have a case.

On one hand you castigating the President as a waste of time...yet here you are in full support just because she supporting Veera.
So she ballzing up on one SC but perfect on the other.

Let it go to court..let the court set the precedent to avoid this happening again
The PROCESS is what is in question...and whatever the decision would set precedent for the President's actions going forward.

Postby De Dragon » October 14th, 2021, 7:03 am

Redman wrote:You saying that one side should fold because of the optics?

Maybe they feel they have a case.

On one hand you castigating the President as a waste of time...yet here you are in full support just because she supporting Veera.
So she ballzing up on one SC but perfect on the other.

Let it go to court..let the court set the precedent to avoid this happening again
The PROCESS is what is in question...and whatever the decision would set precedent for the President's actions going forward.

Don't be a jackarse and show it. My issue with the President, and hence my waste of time comment was in reference to the PolSC debacle where allegedly JUHN Scarfy interfered with a supposedly independent body and as a result, her duty under the Constitution was not carried out. Further compounding her woftness, is that until now, we've yet to hear from President's House. Time, resources and effort was expended to dispel a dotish rumour about her getting vaccinated in NYC, but something of greater importance such as this, and silence?

Postby Redman » October 14th, 2021, 7:21 am

So we agree that the President is not infallible.

Yet in this case you already know that it's the PNM that wrong and the Prez right.

You don't know what the Prez did or didn't do.
You don't know what the EOT chair did or didn't do.

Butyuh quick to spew the PNM blah blah blather.

Veera has one SC and 5 lawyers representing her, her case is partially built on financial hardship...you eh have a problem with that.

..yet you think the EOT shouldn't argue their case?

Try at least to be even in your thinking.

We have an argument between lawyers about a lawyer lawyering

It have to end up in court.

Postby De Dragon » October 15th, 2021, 1:38 am

Redman wrote:So we agree that the President is not infallible.

Yet in this case you already know that it's the PNM that wrong and the Prez right.

You don't know what the Prez did or didn't do.
You don't know what the EOT chair did or didn't do.

Butyuh quick to spew the PNM blah blah blather.

Veera has one SC and 5 lawyers representing her, her case is partially built on financial hardship...you eh have a problem with that.

..yet you think the EOT shouldn't argue their case?

Try at least to be even in your thinking.

We have an argument between lawyers about a lawyer lawyering

It have to end up in court.

Jackarsery on display yet again :roll:
We know exactly what the President did.
We know exactly what the EOT did.
We know exactly what JUHN Scarfy did
In the dimness of JUHN Scarfy's cacahole you prolly can't see that the silence from Bliss, Weekes and Juhn Scarfy's dodgy answers are not the responses of people who have done their jobs.
Also JackFack, who's paying Veera's SC? The GORTT?
In you usual haste to arse lick and impress your LFD RFD PNM handlers, you seem to conveniently leave out where she wrapped up her practice, and hasn't been paid for months AFTER being duly and lawfully appointed.

Postby Redman » October 15th, 2021, 7:07 am

As I said in this case...you do not know what any one did or didn't do.
Did the Prez act on advice..or not...was she required to?
If Prez was advised that the EOT did not have the need or financial or physical resources to support the need for another LA can she force the load on the EOT?
Does that make sense?

Veera is entitled to pursue her case and hire who she wants
And the state is also entitled.

Before you reply with your rabid blather, you should try to understand that both sides have their position and again whatever the result will set precedent.

Postby De Dragon » October 16th, 2021, 12:01 am

Redman wrote:As I said in this case...you do not know what any one did or didn't do.
Did the Prez act on advice..or not...was she required to?
If Prez was advised that the EOT did not have the need or financial or physical resources to support the need for another LA can she force the load on the EOT?
Does that make sense?

Veera is entitled to pursue her case and hire who she wants
And the state is also entitled.

Before you reply with your rabid blather, you should try to understand that both sides have their position and again whatever the result will set precedent.

No dummy, the matter could have been settled without having to go to court at OUR expense. Then again, you're the nimrod who dismissed $300M on a TAR for a no gas plant as small thing :roll:

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2021, 7:38 am

Now you find that they could settle.
Despite still being ignorant of the details and what the real issues are.

Blather on.

Postby De Dragon » October 16th, 2021, 8:18 am

Redman wrote:Now you find that they could settle.
Despite still being ignorant of the details and what the real issues are.

Blather on.

Stop worshipping at the LFD RFD PNM altar.
Veera was duly appointed by the President.
She turned her professional life upside down to take up this appointment.
She attempted to get clarification from LFD RFD PNM toady Prowell on several occasions over the course of MONTHS concerning her appointment.
When said toady Prowell got a PEP letter in her rass, she tried to red herring the play by talking sheit about communication challenges.
Toady Prowell story initially was "we eh hah no morney" yet hiring SC to fight case.
Toady Prowell now changes story, fights lawsuit, because she feels slighted by not being consulted, when NOWHERE is that requirement explicitly stated.
Try again.

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2021, 9:22 am

I don't have to try anything...let them go to court so that the remedy has binding power.
So that it doesn't happen again.
And has impact on other commissions.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2021, 9:23 am

Redman wrote:I don't have to try anything...let them go to court so that the remedy has binding power.
So who wong?

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2021, 9:33 am

Redman wrote:I don't have to try anything...let them go to court so that the remedy has binding power.
So who wong?

Dunno....hence let it go through the courts and establish rules that have power.

The Act is silent on how the President arrives at an appointment.

If as is claimed the EOC did not have the work load, physical and financial resources and made it clear to the Prez ...yet the appointment is made...what happens?

The Prez appointment doesn't create the resources or the workload...so what's the EOC to do IF in fact they broke and have no work.?

We seeing gaps in what the Prez is able to do and what guides her actions.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 16th, 2021, 9:59 am

Veera have a man?

Postby De Dragon » October 17th, 2021, 11:17 pm

Redman wrote:
So who wong?

Dunno....hence let it go through the courts and establish rules that have power.

The Act is silent on how the President arrives at an appointment.

If as is claimed the EOC did not have the work load, physical and financial resources and made it clear to the Prez ...yet the appointment is made...what happens?

The Prez appointment doesn't create the resources or the workload...so what's the EOC to do IF in fact they broke and have no work.?

We seeing gaps in what the Prez is able to do and what guides her actions.

They hire a SC. You too dotish for words yes :roll:

Postby Redman » October 18th, 2021, 6:52 am

Yet you're the one who has decided the outcome without knowledge of the facts.

Blather on.

Postby De Dragon » October 18th, 2021, 10:53 pm

Redman wrote:Yet you're the one who has decided the outcome without knowledge of the facts.

Blather on.

Yep, still dotish.
Still content to fritter away YOUR money on SC and litigation, when the common sense solution is right there. Your defense of a $300 M useless TAR shows your penchant for defending any and all things LFD RFD PNM. Carry on brownnosed sheep.

Postby timelapse » October 19th, 2021, 6:15 am

wtf wrote:Veera have a man?
She has an onlyfans

Postby Redman » October 19th, 2021, 6:49 am

Redman wrote:Yet you're the one who has decided the outcome without knowledge of the facts.

Blather on.

Yep, still dotish.
Still content to fritter away YOUR money on SC and litigation, when the common sense solution is right there. Your defense of a $300 M useless TAR shows your penchant for defending any and all things LFD RFD PNM. Carry on brownnosed sheep.

How would a common sense solution fix the problem, if it is one that exist elsewhere or with the legislation?
It would change things how?
You know the 'solution' without knowing the facts of the case.

Keep hurling insults and bringing in other matters to bolster your position.

Nothing new.

Postby De Dragon » October 19th, 2021, 7:49 am

Redman wrote:

Blather on.

Yep, still dotish.

How would a common sense solution fix the problem, if it is one that exist elsewhere or with the legislation?

Nothing new.

The facts are well known to any non LFD RFD PNM slave who wishes to see it.
Lemme use small, and less words

Duly appointed, ignored for months, forced to file suit, no money claim, matter listed, EOC story changes.

Like any disaster, there were several opportunities to avert the final outcome, in this case litigation, which Veera will surely not lose, but the EOC and it's Chairman chose antagonism, not reconciliation. If, as Colos is claiming they feel that they have a case, they can file a matter seeking an interpretation like the one that the LFD RFD PNM star boy AG lost handsomely last week, no matter how he tries to spin it.

Postby sMASH » October 19th, 2021, 7:58 am

I feel, they do crap just to give their lawyer padnahs money from the treasury.

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2021, 8:23 am

all dis just to block some injun lawyer

life in racist Trinidad

Postby Redman » October 19th, 2021, 8:53 am

Redman wrote:

Blather on.

Yep, still dotish.

Nothing new.

The facts are well known to any non LFD RFD PNM slave who wishes to see it.
Lemme use small, and less words

Duly appointed, ignored for months, forced to file suit, no money claim, matter listed, EOC story changes.

Like any disaster, there were several opportunities to avert the final outcome, in this case litigation, which Veera will surely not lose, but the EOC and it's Chairman chose antagonism, not reconciliation. If, as Colos is claiming they feel that they have a case, they can file a matter seeking an interpretation like the one that the LFD RFD PNM star boy AG lost handsomely last week, no matter how he tries to spin it.

Whether they have a case will be decided upon.
And you just know what was published.
Which of course lines up with Veeras side.
And you off to the races with that with all the hyperbole of a wanna be victim.

If the chair do crap then let it be dealt with by the court.
They think they have a case.They might be right.