Re: Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2023, 9:20 pm

pugboy wrote:a lil stick to knock it can easily check level

what about a smart stick?

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2023, 9:48 pm

i saw where somebody had a straight piece of pvc pipe in the tank with a cork in it little rod which would raise up and down with the level
a dumb smart stick

but we should all really have 2 tanks if you can
at least a smaller one which is locked off as a reserve so when one runs you have a next one to go on
you can also use an oil pressure switch to light a bulb when there is no water in mains

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 15th, 2023, 10:35 pm

j.o.e wrote:
gastly369 wrote:*walk to tank knock... Knows level

Ah mean for what $12-1500? To know my tank level

Im all for smart devices into tech and have lots of smart control stuff home from lights to doors, gate climate control outlets etc but i eh see the use for tank level at the cost tbh..

Exactly. Especially when there’s not one mc you can do to make the tank fill lol

My tank is up on a height - so it's not so easy to check the level.
If I know the tank is low I know to be more conservative with the water.

Lewwe drill up somebody tank for an experiment na..

Rig up something like this,

IMG_6341.JPG

2 - 1/2 inch elbow
2 - 1/2 inch end with a rubber sealing
Length of clear tubing with hose clamps…

It should work inno

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2023, 10:37 pm

Some of them water trucks use that

eitech

Postby eitech » October 16th, 2023, 3:34 am

j.o.e wrote:

Im all for smart devices into tech and have lots of smart control stuff home from lights to doors, gate climate control outlets etc but i eh see the use for tank level at the cost tbh..

Exactly. Especially when there’s not one mc you can do to make the tank fill lol

Mine as well. And i know my wife not going outside to knock any tank with a stick.

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2023, 1:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:So we have some Kasa smart plugs but unlike other smart plugs I can't seem to connect them to the Smartlife app. Has anyone been able to get Kasa devices to work with smartlife?

All my other devices are on smartlife so I can control them from that 1 app and also share control with other family members phones with smartlife. I don't think the Kasa app can do that. Alexa would work but not during any internet outage but smartlife I believe can work with local wifi alone.

Anyone?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2023, 1:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:
redmanjp wrote:So we have some Kasa smart plugs but unlike other smart plugs I can't seem to connect them to the Smartlife app. Has anyone been able to get Kasa devices to work with smartlife?

All my other devices are on smartlife so I can control them from that 1 app and also share control with other family members phones with smartlife. I don't think the Kasa app can do that. Alexa would work but not during any internet outage but smartlife I believe can work with local wifi alone.

Anyone?

You on iOS or Android?

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2023, 2:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Anyone?

You on iOS or Android?

I am on Android but the other family member is on IOS. That may not be an issue as both the Kasa and smartlife apps are available on both platforms.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2023, 4:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Anyone?

You on iOS or Android?

I am on Android but the other family member is on IOS. That may not be an issue as both the Kasa and smartlife apps are available on both platforms.

If everyone in the house was on iOS then you can add homekit compatible Kasa devices directly in the native Home app on iOS and bypass all other apps. I have all my devices in the Home app on my iPhone including cameras and they are accessible even quicker via the iOS control center.

7db6a040-2730-4d45-974d-e3aad7a64579.jpg

d16d7051-07af-439c-af7a-f04b8b209bc0.jpg

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2023, 5:12 pm

But can I control the device from my android?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2023, 6:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:But can I control the device from my android?

Kasa won't work on Smartlife. Smartlife is an app made for certain products that run on Tuya etc.
Kasa is a different protocol. It's like trying to order Royal Castle from the KFC app.
You need to use a platform that works with all.
Check out HomeAssistant if your home has both iOS and Android users
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... l=en&gl=US
You can use Home Assistant on both iOS and Android.

Postby adnj » October 16th, 2023, 9:35 pm

Last edited by adnj on December 9th, 2023, 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2023, 11:16 pm

Kasa won't work on Smartlife. Smartlife is an app made for certain products that run on Tuya etc.
Kasa is a different protocol. It's like trying to order Royal Castle from the KFC app.

So you can control the same device from multiple phones? And also can function during internet outages?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2023, 9:11 am

redmanjp wrote:

So you can control the same device from multiple phones? And also can function during internet outages?

Yes you can control the same devices from multiple phones.
A smart device that works without internet depends on the device and if it is designed to work with internet.
Usually a hub is required for devices to work without internet.
If the device functions where instructions are sent to the cloud and then back to the device then you will need internet.
Different devices operate differently.

Postby st7 » October 25th, 2023, 7:17 pm

got the Broadlink RM4 pro IR/RF blaster https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083LBMX64

got it connected to my peakes AC (Midea) and fan (lasko)

unfortunately i had to map the buttons myself. the AC works with the blaster not in line-of-sight (but it's near), but the fan needs line of sight mostly through the front. i didnt spend much time trying to configure it much at the moment for now it'll do.

also got a universal remote so i wont have to worry about moving it whenever im at my desk or my bed /effiencyengineer

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DZYTQJK

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 25th, 2023, 8:56 pm

Eh heh. Be careful that yuh smart home ain't deem yuh not too smart to live in it and kick yuh out eh.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 25th, 2023, 10:17 pm

st7 wrote:got the Broadlink RM4 pro IR/RF blaster https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083LBMX64

unfortunately i had to map the buttons myself. the AC works with the blaster not in line-of-sight (but it's near), but the fan needs line of sight mostly through the front. i didnt spend much time trying to configure it much at the moment for now it'll do.

also got a universal remote so i wont have to worry about moving it whenever im at my desk or my bed /effiencyengineer

Nice! Did you get the sensor accessory cable with it?
https://amzn.to/490GHOK
this tells you the temperature of the room on your smart phone and lets you do automations with your smart home based on temperature such as "if the temp of the room is 19ºC then set the AC to 24º" etc, also lets you see the temp of the room remotely

Postby st7 » October 25th, 2023, 11:11 pm

st7 wrote:got the Broadlink RM4 pro IR/RF blaster https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083LBMX64

Nice! Did you get the sensor accessory cable with it?
https://amzn.to/490GHOK
this tells you the temperature of the room on your smart phone and lets you do automations with your smart home based on temperature such as "if the temp of the room is 19ºC then set the AC to 24º" etc, also lets you see the temp of the room remotely

nah i didnt because i have the alexa gen 5 in the room.

i haven't been able to figure out how to set the temperature. when i mapped the temp up and temp down buttons, it registered with the temp value so at the moment, i've tagged temp up with 26 degrees, and temp down with 20 degrees. i BELIEVE each mapping stores the settings of the AC remote with each button you register.

daz a next week thing for me to play around with. will update as i know plenty men here rocking peakes ac lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2023, 8:58 am

^ yes that Alexa has a built in temp sensor.

AC remotes send all the commands at once - so whatever fan speed, mode, flap direction and temperature all get sent at the same time. Any button you press will send all the commands on the remote.

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » October 27th, 2023, 10:41 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

IMG_6341.JPG

2 - 1/2 inch elbow

It should work inno
At work I saw they rigged up something like that but its on the pvc outlet line from the tank to the pump , it's a clear tubing zipped tied to a length of 2" angle the same height of the tank with an orange plastic ball floating inside the tubing so you can easily see the water level

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » November 27th, 2023, 12:21 pm

Anyone know where sells smart switch wall plates locally?

Looking for 3 gang

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 27th, 2023, 12:54 pm

djruncrowd wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

IMG_6341.JPG

2 - 1/2 inch elbow

It should work inno
At work I saw they rigged up something like that but its on the pvc outlet line from the tank to the pump , it's a clear tubing zipped tied to a length of 2" angle the same height of the tank with an orange plastic ball floating inside the tubing so you can easily see the water level
I did one of those with the clear hose. Works good. Its connected to the water outlet on the tank. Only problem is those clear tubing does get foggy with time so it's difficult to see the water level. To get over this you need to place a bright colored piece of plastic or anything thats small enough to float freely in the tube to see the water level. Also the top of the tube needs to be left open for venting.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 4th, 2023, 6:35 pm

Have two wifi smart switches that randomly go offline. When this happens they begin flashing as as they do during the set up process. Most times a power cycle is a quick fix. Both are close to the access point. Is this a connectivity issue or a device issue?

Postby maj. tom » December 4th, 2023, 6:48 pm

Former. Invest in a mesh network and they usually have their own automatic reboot cycle to stop this. Routers suck compared to mesh. When the device loses signal for too long, some of them start flashing because they're searching and trying to reconnect. But it can't and won't because the router needs a reboot probably due to a memory leak somewhere in its firmware programming. Routers always give trouble with in an extensively connected smart home.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 4th, 2023, 7:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:Former. Invest in a mesh network and they usually have their own automatic reboot cycle to stop this. Routers suck compared to mesh. When the device loses signal for too long, some of them start flashing because they're searching and trying to reconnect. But it can't and won't because the router needs a reboot probably due to a memory leak somewhere in its firmware programming. Routers always give trouble with in an extensively connected smart home.

I did abandon the original router and am using a separate access point now for all wifi devices. I have seen a great improvement in internet speeds and connectivity with my devices over the last 4 mths. But this issue just began happening

eitech

Postby eitech » December 10th, 2023, 5:25 pm

Anyone ever tried using xsense wife smoke detector with the smart life app? The xsense app recognizing it though

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 10th, 2023, 5:32 pm

eitech wrote:Anyone ever tried using xsense wife smoke detector with the smart life app? The xsense app recognizing it though

Postby maj. tom » December 10th, 2023, 6:12 pm

A smart device will work with the Smart Life app if it uses the Tuya Network Module. That's up to the manufacturer and its programming side. Many of the weirdname Chinese brand smart devices on the market use the Tuya module because it's easy and cheaper to implement. But lots of other devices out there use their own proprietary modules and software with a separate individual app. Which will be stupid and cumbersome as your smart device useage grow. I try to buy devices that work with Tuya however.

X-Sense WiFi uses Tuya so it should work in Smart Life.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 10th, 2023, 6:34 pm

maj. tom wrote:A smart device will work with the Smart Life app if it uses the Tuya Network Module. That's up to the manufacturer and its programming side. Many of the weirdname Chinese brand smart devices on the market use the Tuya module because it's easy and cheaper to implement. But lots of other devices out there use their own proprietary modules and software with a separate individual app. Which will be stupid and cumbersome as your smart device useage grow. I try to buy devices that work with Tuya however.

X-Sense WiFi uses Tuya so it should work in Smart Life.

It not picking up at all.

Postby maj. tom » December 10th, 2023, 6:46 pm

What model on the X-Sense? Some of them require a Tuya Developer account. Bad push out by the manufacturer. I remember Duane talking bout a developer account regarding Tuya.