Cancer treatment

Re: Cancer treatment

Postby rspann » October 15th, 2018, 10:40 pm

I read an article on using scorpion venom to create a cure for cancer, anybody saw it?

dregz

Postby dregz » October 15th, 2018, 10:46 pm

rspann wrote:I read an article on using scorpion venom to create a cure for cancer, anybody saw it?

Yes and in Cuba they are doing trials and it is looking promising.

Postby rspann » October 15th, 2018, 10:47 pm

Yes, thats the one. So there is merit in it .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 15th, 2018, 10:49 pm

rspann wrote:I read an article on using scorpion venom to create a cure for cancer, anybody saw it?

Yes but there is no cure for cancer as of yet even though some of these things can help with cancer. They always "hope" this and that will cure cancer but the reality is, its probably impossible to cure when its in the late stage.

In the same way crocodiles have the god like immune systems and we hope to be able to use their blood to also make us immune to everything. But who even knows when or if we will have the technology to accomplish this.

After all the Crocodile family immune system has over 200 million years of evolution on its side, all we as humans have is 4 million years and science.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 16th, 2018, 3:53 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Ganja has very good benefits when it comes to treating cancer it is well documented within the scientific community.

Assuming this is a civilized country then it shouldn't be an issue to acquire marijuana with a doctor's prescription as you can in many civilized and progressive first world countries. We are also supposed to be growing it locally from what I was told, the local version has low THC% which would be good since you aren't really concerned about the high from the THC but the medicinal part.

You would still get a lil high though but that isn't even a bad thing. Still better and safer than getting drunk from rum which for whatever bizarre reason Trinis have no issues with but always quick to trash talk weed even though no weed man never chop up he wife.

Hoss people claim all kind of crap. Bob smoked all the weed and he died of cancer.

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 16th, 2018, 4:01 am

Genetic sequencing, and immunotherapy are some of the most lucrative solutions. Acs uses a lot of combined treatments and one of the best options....another thing is knowing when and when not to take chemo treatment, i have seen doctors put two family members to death with this local aggressive treatment. Cancer did not kill two of my family members chemo did.

dregz

Postby dregz » October 16th, 2018, 5:39 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Genetic sequencing, and immunotherapy are some of the most lucrative solutions. Acs uses a lot of combined treatments and one of the best options....another thing is knowing when and when not to take chemo treatment, i have seen doctors put two family members to death with this local aggressive treatment. Cancer did not kill two of my family members chemo did.

I totally agree that chemo is not for everyone.

There are many tools used to calculate the risk vs benefits and treatment should be individualized.

In sweet, sweet Trinidad and Tobago we sometimes doh have toilet paper on the ward, buh it would be really good if one day we can get some genetic sequencing and direct our treatment even more specifically.

Postby mero » October 16th, 2018, 7:46 am

dregz wrote:Since you decided to stop earlier and I call yuh out, I'm sorry, you can go back to being quiet as you were.

Respectfully,
Dregz

LMAO

Postby MG Man » October 16th, 2018, 9:52 am

kstt wrote: make the body alkaline,

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
stupid is as stupid does

Postby maj. tom » October 16th, 2018, 10:02 am

nah that was in a YouTube video the other day about eating fig. Is realz who need doctor anymore!!!
/s

Another classic tuner case of the Dunning–Kruger effect.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 25th, 2018, 7:27 am

FB_IMG_1543145010755.jpg

Please keep us informed about the abundant supply of cancer medication at our treatment centers as the goodly doctor spoke of.

Postby teems1 » November 25th, 2018, 7:54 am

I'm all for legalization and regulation of marijuana but don't be naive and think it isn't a gateway drug.

Postby pete » November 25th, 2018, 2:57 pm

So how does the gateway go? Sugar - Caffeine - Alcohol - Marijuana - hard drugs?

Postby maj. tom » November 25th, 2018, 3:22 pm

It sure can be a gateway for people who are not getting the right counselling for whatever issues they cannot handle in their own lives. But it's a mistake to assume that everyone wants to even make that jump to harder drugs just because they have used marijuana. Some people would just use it for fun or whatever, but it does not mean that they need to get high and constantly escape the reality and pain that others are feeling when they decide to use harder drugs.

The entire premise on the War on Drugs was completely wrong. Thanks Reagan. Look at the world your administration had created.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 3rd, 2021, 10:16 am

Sorry for necro-bumping this thread but what's your take on this information?

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6938162/

Basically saying fasting will starve cancer cells of nutrients and they die off.

Postby meccalli » March 3rd, 2021, 10:02 pm

KM_2NR wrote:Basically saying fasting will starve cancer cells of nutrients and they die off.

Umm, no lol.
But it's saying that it provides an enabling environment that help the efficacy of standard cancer treatments, ie. "We propose that the combination of FMDs with chemotherapy, immunotherapy or other treatments represents a potentially promising strategy to increase treatment efficacy, prevent resistance acquisition and reduce side effects."
One of the routes is the reduction of insulin growth factor, modern diets which are very high in protein promote increased levels of igf-1 which is associated with malignant growths as well. Anabolic environments promote growth of everything, good and bad. You can basically eat a low animal protein diet and experience the same reduction that fasting or fmd offers.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 20th, 2025, 3:08 pm

Sorry to bump this thread, asking for a relative who has to have chemo, if given a choice between San Fernando Hospital or National Radiotherapy Centre in St. James, is there any difference in that would you recommend one over the other?

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2025, 3:33 pm

Just make sure to get 2nd and 3rd opinion. Don't trust a doctor because he's supposedly the best. Some of them are experimenting with people's lives. Talking from personal experience.

Also if they have to end up buying chemo drugs/cancer meds into importing it from India.

One of my friends was paying 13,000 a month for a course of cancer meds from AA and importing it for around $ 3500 a month

Postby MaxPower » January 20th, 2025, 4:23 pm

shaneelal wrote:Sorry to bump this thread, asking for a relative who has to have chemo, if given a choice between San Fernando Hospital or National Radiotherapy Centre in St. James, is there any difference in that would you recommend one over the other?

Welcome to the journey.

A good support system is the key for your relative.

Diet is highly important….limit sugar, fast/junk food significantly….try to keep as alkaline as possible.

To answer the Q…..St James hands down.

I have walked the journey with the wife as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 triple negative breast cancer….we walked hand in hand through chemotherapy, dual mastectomy, hysterectomy and radiation. She is currently in remission.

We initially went private and many of these doctors also hold offices in St James. Any complications….it’s right St James the patients go. I have heard stories of people paying $300k privately and still got referred to St James after.

We were also treated better in St James, believe it or not. They have the one or two bad apples, but u get your tax dollars worth for free cancer care at St James.

I will tell you now….St James admin is utter crap and you do have a long wait most times, but they have some top notch doctors like Dr Oliviere, Dr Guerra, Dr Bascombe etc. As i said, your relative needs a good support system as they would need the help before, during and after. Just a tip for St James should you choose, ALWAYS ask if they have your file every single time you go….they tend to misplace it at times and you don’t realize until hoursss after.

Keep positive and remember….good days/bad days is normal but don’t give up.

Postby bluefete » January 20th, 2025, 4:45 pm

shaneelal wrote:Sorry to bump this thread, asking for a relative who has to have chemo, if given a choice between San Fernando Hospital or National Radiotherapy Centre in St. James, is there any difference in that would you recommend one over the other?

Hope everything works out well for your relative.

Welcome to the journey.

Diet is highly important….limit sugar, fast/junk food significantly….try to keep as alkaline as possible.

I have walked the journey with the wife as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 triple negative breast cancer….we walked hand in hand through chemotherapy, dual mastectomy, hysterectomy and radiation. She is currently in remission.

We initially went private and many of these doctors also hold offices in St James. Any complications….it’s right St James the patients go. I have heard stories of people paying $300k privately and still got referred to St James after.

We were also treated better in St James, believe it or not. They have the one or two bad apples, but u get your tax dollars worth for free cancer care at St James.

I will tell you now….St James admin is utter crap and you do have a long wait most times, but they have some top notch doctors like Dr Oliviere, Dr Guerra, Dr Bascombe etc. As i said, your relative needs a good support system as they would need the help before, during and after. Just a tip for St James should you choose, ALWAYS ask if they have your file every single time you go….they tend to misplace it at times and you don’t realize until hoursss after.

Max: All jokes aside, I am thankful that your wife is in remission. That was some journey that you BOTH went through. Thanks for sharing because many people have no clue what cancer patients and their relatives go through.

Soursop tea is a great help in keeping cancer at bay. Let me know if you need any soursop leaves. All the best.

Postby alfa » January 20th, 2025, 5:04 pm

Welcome to the journey.

Thanks for sharing max. First time I see you speak good about anything Trini, broke charcter there lol.
Good information nonetheless, hope it helps someone reading it.
Wishing your wife the best

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » January 20th, 2025, 6:55 pm

Welcome to the journey.

Thanks for sharing your journey and advice, very helpful.

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2025, 11:10 pm

And I've only had bad experiences with relatives and st james.

Always go get a 2nd and 3rd opinion

Postby 88sins » January 21st, 2025, 3:46 am

Just a little insight.

It's a good idea to ask for and keep a copy of your chart when you go. They don't have to make you a copy, take a pic with your phone. It's a record of your treatment, and you do have a right to it if you want it. It's a VERY handy thing to keep.

As regards to treatment, ymmv for any of the options you choose, for any one or combination of a few reasons. There's good and bad to all of them. Chemo, radiotherapy, endocrine, immunotherapy, all have pro's, cons, risks and benefits. But chemo, especially platinum based chemo is one form of treatment that I honestly hope we as humans can do away with ASAP. Systemic metal poisoning is nothing to look forward to.

For all the money spent on the public healthcare sector over the decades, and all our collaborations with the North American and European countries, I cannot for the life of me understand why we don't have a facility for testing and sequencing cancer cells in an effort to come up with better targeted treatments. For the most part, simple histology and hormone reactivity remains the standard course here, and it appears that nobody in charge in the healthcare sector, neither public nor private, is interested in using more modern and more precise methods of diagnosis or courses of treatment.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 21st, 2025, 5:57 am

with all the money spent on cancer treatment why no money spent on cancer education. educate persons especially young girls and women the dangers of all these makeup and shampoos and all other cosmetic causes of cancer such as perfumes, sanitary pads and tampons etc. most feel they have to smell nice all the dam time and used deodorant and makeup all the time. educated on the use of microwaves, preservatives and label foods such a red mango, process meats such a hot dogs as foods to eat on a rare occasion. require all plastic water bottles to print boldy " DO NOT REUSE THE BOTTLE OR DO NOT CONSUME AFTER WATER BOTTLE IS LEFT IN HEAT" in fact do these groceries store beverages in plastic bottles in a cool place?
All the 5K and scotia cancer crap does the money raised ever reach a person battling cancer? simple as persons who lose their jobs and cannot travel to get to st james for treatment why isnt there a cancer bus pass. It is too much to handle in my opinion.
It is time to start identifying business that support cancer fund raisers and such so that others can support their business. Business such as sunshine roti shop should be supported as they support persons with different ailments that wants to raise funds for medical. starlight pharmacy among others support, whereas other business cant even bother.

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2025, 7:47 am

I find they need to find a way to enforce pre harvest intervals with chemicals/insecticides/pesticides in crops locally. Most of the old school farmers from aranguez have some form of cancer/ died from cancer

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2025, 9:25 am

that is practically impossible to enforce
and when a farmer see price high they reaping regardless

somebody should do a studying on cancer incidences of these farmers
it’s a pretty narrow sample group so easy to collect data

Chimera wrote:I find they need to find a way to enforce pre harvest intervals with chemicals/insecticides/pesticides in crops locally. Most of the old school farmers from aranguez have some form of cancer/ died from cancer

Postby alfa » January 21st, 2025, 10:30 am

Chimera wrote:I find they need to find a way to enforce pre harvest intervals with chemicals/insecticides/pesticides in crops locally. Most of the old school farmers from aranguez have some form of cancer/ died from cancer

Most chemicals we use locally are banned for many decades in other countries or only available with licence for professional use.
Diaznion which I use to keep creepy crawlies out of the yard was banned long ago in the US. It's a though call to make locally especially with no other option for the homeowner or farmer other than to call pest control

Postby bluefete » January 21st, 2025, 11:39 am

Ginger and tumeric boiled together is also good for keeping cancer at bay.

Postby pugboy » January 21st, 2025, 11:53 am

what level of “banned” ?
because it seems if you google any chemical and the word banned it will come up that the chemical is banned yet you continue to see the chemical widely in use

for example the most popular one in use now is fipronil
aka regent, frontline, termidor and other names

alfa wrote:

Most chemicals we use locally are banned for many decades in other countries or only available with licence for professional use.
Diaznion which I use to keep creepy crawlies out of the yard was banned long ago in the US. It's a though call to make locally especially with no other option for the homeowner or farmer other than to call pest control