New Project (Long Term): GDI Lancer CS2 to EVO VII

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

killersuzuki

New Project (Long Term): GDI Lancer CS2 to EVO VII

Postby killersuzuki » January 8th, 2008, 3:12 pm

Hi all mitsu peeps. I have finally gotten the green light to attempt this project, so this is update one I guess! 8-)

I will be converting a normal GDI lancer (CS2) to an EVO VII (maybe GTA, maybe not). I don't know if we will go the whole AWD conversion, but it's early yet.

So first up: Shocks and springs! We going to swap out the stock suspension for EVO VII shocks and springs. I'll update it when it's done

Later peeps!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 8th, 2008, 3:24 pm

nice job man :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Scantifier will be glad for the company

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 8th, 2008, 5:59 pm

You should keep track of the man-hours and costs that will be going into the project. That would be some interesting information.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 8th, 2008, 10:24 pm

And take pics of the steps you took to get the car to the status....

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » January 9th, 2008, 1:22 am

Great project!! Are you going the whole works; body panels, etc.? Let me know how the t-case fits!!

fras

Postby fras » January 9th, 2008, 7:05 am

I take it you have most partls already... suspension, engine n drivetrain?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 9th, 2008, 7:07 am

Nah I now starting to gather parts. This is really a long term project

fras

Postby fras » January 9th, 2008, 7:23 am

Good luck n Go strong!

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 9th, 2008, 7:39 am

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Nah I now starting to gather parts...

Hi killer. Hardest (and longest) part for me was getting the parts. It took 2 years +. :roll:
IMHO might be quicker to buy an Evo 7 front cut (...and rear cut for 4wd conversion.)

4wd conversion... Are you swapping the rear floorpan and doing bodywork first?

These links might help...
. How To "Evolutionize" your Lancer!
. Project Lancer Part 1.
. Project Lancer Part 2.
. Lancer V6 Coupe

Give me a shout at 684-4552. Good luck with the project.
Last edited by Sanctifier on July 17th, 2010, 6:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 9th, 2008, 8:17 am

Sanctifier:

I figured it would take that long. Hopefully I will be able to afford an EVo front half, but barring that, I'll just have to buy the parts piece by piece.

I would really like to do the floorpan, brakes and suspension and bodywork first, then just swap in the engine after. But given the costs, I may just do suspension and brakes first, then save for the second phase.

i would really like to do the 4wd conversion, but if i can't afford it now, then it will be FWD for now. Rhys mllen motorsports has a kit that can convert the gearbox to 2 wheel drive, so i've sent them an email for prices. I'll keep ypu updated on how it goes.

Like I said LOOOOOOONG term project. Nice thing is we will own the car outright (no loan) by the end of this year....

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 9th, 2008, 8:57 am

killerhyundai-DET wrote:...I would really like to do the floorpan, brakes and suspension and bodywork first, then just swap in the engine after. But given the costs, I may just do suspension and brakes first, then save for the second phase.

i would really like to do the 4wd conversion, but if i can't afford it now, then it will be FWD for now. Rhys mllen motorsports has a kit that can convert the gearbox to 2 wheel drive...

Yuh have belly, padna. Piece-by-piece conversion is the HARD way to do it! Lots of downtime that way too. Buying parts piece by piece was a pain. I waited to buy all first, then started Project. That's why I'm only just starting bodywork and painting now.

Since you almost finished paying for it, think about a SMALL loan for front cut at least.
Cheaper than buying parts seperately. Been there... Done that! :roll:

BTW why do parts swap before doing floorpan and bodywork for 4wd?
Might have to do double work after, not so?... or forget about 4wd altogether.

My $0.02¢

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 9th, 2008, 9:08 am

Oh sorry, I didn't explain myself properly. Once I can get the floorplan I'll do that and install the new gas tank, etc. If I can't, then it will be just suspension and brakes. BUT I not moving an inch until I see where all the parts in front of me, so it will be a nice stockpile in my warehouse at work :wink:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 9th, 2008, 9:25 am

Yup, way to go IMHO.

R@lli@rt

Postby R@lli@rt » January 9th, 2008, 9:47 am

Wow...i wish i could eventually do something like this...seriouslykillerhyundai-DET, this is a sweet project!!!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 9th, 2008, 2:53 pm

Just a quick update, I've started to get some prices in, looks like I'll be saving for a while! But I'm determined to see this project through, so we'll see......

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » January 9th, 2008, 3:25 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:...looks like I'll be saving for a while!...

Yup. That's why I suggested a small bank loan to get things going.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 9th, 2008, 3:31 pm

Well looks like I may take that loan after all! The car shut down last night and I may have to change the enigne anyway, so if that's the case, I'll start the conversion one time. I'll keep you guys updated.

W2J

Re: New Project (Long Term): GDI Lancer CS2 to EVO VII

Postby W2J » January 9th, 2008, 3:35 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Hi all mitsu peeps. I have finally gotten the green light to attempt this project, so this is update one I guess! 8-)

I will be converting a normal GDI lancer (CS2) to an EVO VII (maybe GTA, maybe not). I don't know if we will go the whole AWD conversion, but it's early yet.

So first up: Shocks and springs! We going to swap out the stock suspension for EVO VII shocks and springs. I'll update it when it's done

Later peeps!

chris this has been done before unfortunately I do not know the person who did it but my friend who is a qualified claims adjuster had to inform the new owner that he did not have a authentic evo7, as far as Derick told me he said up to the carpet was evo but the chassis plate was still CS2.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 9th, 2008, 6:23 pm

i always thought that the chassis from the evo 5 and up was modified by mitsu? or is it the same chassis?

i always wanted to do this but budget is one, but someone told me that the chassis of the evo 7 and stuff is more wider or something so than the cs2 lancers.

anyone can confirm this?

oh yea, good luck with the project meng. :D

southside crew

Postby southside crew » January 9th, 2008, 11:05 pm

W2J you sure is not a EVO7 with c2sa rights?...

W2J

Postby W2J » January 9th, 2008, 11:42 pm

^ I am sure positive they even brought Ke@#h Mu@#ay in for Technical assistance to identify for insurance fraud.... what good that would have done any which way :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 10th, 2008, 12:03 am

the evo 7 looks larger than the cs, could it just be a lil flare out body? and the bones are the same?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 10th, 2008, 8:07 am

The Actual chassis is the same, The suspension widens the track, and the fenders are widened to acomodate this

Postby Dave » January 10th, 2008, 8:18 am

chassis different Chris

I envy ppl wanting to do this sort of thing.

Some things to keep in mind, keep the wife happy and don't plan a family cause when that popo comes around, that is the bestest thing ever :mrgreen:

Good luck and whatever assistance I can render I will

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 10th, 2008, 8:21 am

Lol I know Dave, I know too well!

The EVO chassis is spot welded, and strengthened in several areas, and well obviously the floorpan is different. but from my research on the net, the dimensions are the same.

Dave boy, is only because the wife give me the green light I going ahead. :mrgreen:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 10th, 2008, 11:43 am

killerhyundai-DET,thanks for the info, so its only really strengthening and stuff then, the "shape" of it itself is the same.

thanks.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 10th, 2008, 11:52 am

As far as the info I have seen on the web. No probs I will try to document everything as I go along. Just don't expect fast updates - remember this is a long term project lol

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 10th, 2008, 5:58 pm

Well the car is fixed, some magnets in the throttle body needed to change. While it was on the lift I took a look under the car. The tunnel for the driveshaft is there!And it lines up directly with where the diff would go. Also,looking at the rear floorpan, there seems to be enough space for the diff. I'll need to look at an evo to be sure. Any evo7 owners wantto volunteer?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 10th, 2008, 9:24 pm

hmmmm sorry for all these questions in your post killerhyundai-DET im just curious :lol:

since mitsubishi strengthened the chassis for the evo. will this conversion be unsafe? as in all that power on this chassis? or it wont be noticable as a daily driver but will be noticable on the track?

also, can someone strengthen the chassis on their own?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » January 11th, 2008, 7:43 am

No problem Death-Row,

I have done a conversion before: Sr20DET into a PAZ model elantra. I did strengthen the chassis by using a kind of h brace underneath, and strut braces. Now I doubt I can get to the stiffness of the EVO chassis from the factory, but it will be enough to handle the power. Eventuallly I may also add a half cage.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”