345000km Ae80 Corolla Review

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

33 hertz

345000km Ae80 Corolla Review

Postby 33 hertz » January 19th, 2008, 1:22 pm

:lol: So the car finally going on 22years, decided to write a review for all the pple considering one of these cars as their first.

I changed the original engine although nothing was wrong with it cuz i wanted a 5fwd 1500. So far i have changed 4 engine mounts, steering coupling, gearbox seals, dist. seal, 1 velocity joint, shocks/springs, Front seats, Alternator, clutch/pressure plate, release bearing regular maintainance every 3 months, repainted it once, car is getting back a few rust spots but other that that its cool. I get about 350-400km on a tank depending on driving conditions and its a carbie!

Car pulls good and the starlet gearbox def. makes a difference. Car is comfortable and parts are easily accessable and pretty cheap. Car is lots of fun to drive and a good platform to build on in the future. All in all i would reccommend it to anyone looking for a cheap car to get them from point a to b that is reliable and pulls lots of chicks (ok just kidding) but some girls dig the independence of buying your own car and not driving around in you mommy and daddy's ride.

Please feel free to ask any questions. Toyota FTW! :lol:

Postby Hook » January 20th, 2008, 2:15 am

the AE/EE80's used to rust in the same spots all the time, so if u looking to buy one, check for signs of corrosion in the water channels on the roof, the base of the front fenders, base of the door posts, around the gas tank lid and the spare tyre well

the good thing is that alot of the AE series corolla stuff is interchangeable, so one could easily "upgrade" with stock components from later model corollas..I had Levin springs and AE100 shocks in my EE80 and AE100 vented (and bigger) front rotors and calipers

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 20th, 2008, 12:45 pm

24years mines been around, bought new from toyota never crash painted over about 3 or 4 times since i born, blow 2 engine now on its 3rd (4a now) when it working is a really nice ride still hadda fix meh shocks but that comming in next month pay

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 23rd, 2008, 12:21 am

another flaw of AE80 with the 4a-c is the fuel pump either leaking or breaking...i'm on my 3rd soon to be on my 4th

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 24th, 2008, 12:44 am

Never had any fuel pump problems *knocks on wood* But my car rusts in the same exact spots as hook said.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 24th, 2008, 12:49 am

i using the stock 1 that runs in the engine i hope when i buy this next 1 it will not break while i driving or i'll get real mad

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 24th, 2008, 1:11 am

You purchased new parts of used ones?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 24th, 2008, 1:14 am

new 1st time i change it, it broke in 7days, this 1 thats leaking it last maybe a good 6 months or more

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 24th, 2008, 5:46 pm

everlasting cars :mrgreen:

Postby Hook » January 24th, 2008, 6:44 pm

Zeriam, wha u does really be doin to dat car to be breakin fuel pumps like dat?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 24th, 2008, 7:29 pm

^ fuh real dread. I drive pretty hard and never had any fuel problems.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 25th, 2008, 12:38 am

i doh know me an my car does see some weird times. i find a brand new pump but the box says 4A-LC next week or unless meh old man loan me the cash then i shall buy it. the arm looks the correct length just the head looks abit strange

Postby buzz » January 25th, 2008, 3:01 am

owned a AE 80 myself very gud ride very faithful

karl

Postby karl » January 25th, 2008, 7:29 pm

toyotas are great cars i have 2....

jus curious to how you arrived at the 345,000 kms figure since you changed engines...? or was that the first engine's mileage?

Postby Hook » January 26th, 2008, 1:26 am

^^^ I guess regardless of the engine, the car itself has taken him that far

this was mih first love...was 300k-ish kms when I sold it a couple years ago

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 26th, 2008, 2:26 am

i now check my dash car clocking 324,xxx never crash yet :mrgreen:

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 26th, 2008, 3:00 pm

^yup the car itself is doing 345k km. The current engine has about 145k km on it

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 28th, 2008, 5:22 pm

well i have no idea whats the mileage on the engine in the car right now seeing as its the 3rd engine since it was bought by the 1st owner. W
hen was the last time u see any hose smaller than 3/8 on a car? i sure the hoses on the fuel pump never change since that car buy

D3monic

Postby D3monic » February 3rd, 2008, 9:12 am

I own a AE80 my grandad got it brand new local PAO goin and start to do some work on it this year.... BUMP....

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 4th, 2008, 3:45 pm

D3monic you can check a1 auto supplies for the shocks. They have a brand call shibumi (not too sure bout the spelling) Its like half the price of KYB etc and they work real good! Know pple who have bben using them for over 2 years and they still going strong. They also mave the KYB and monroe if you want to go that route.
Gobins had a better price on the KYB last time i checked though.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 4th, 2008, 5:24 pm

hertz whats your suspenstion and brake set up like right now on your 80?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 4th, 2008, 6:55 pm

suspension is more or less stock. Stock drums in the back but bigger rotors and two piston calipers up front. More than sufficient stopping power for now.

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 5th, 2008, 1:37 pm

bigger rotors on the stock ae80 hub or something like the ae100???

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 8th, 2008, 7:50 pm

Ae100

D3monic

Postby D3monic » February 8th, 2008, 11:38 pm

33 hertz wrote:D3monic you can check a1 auto supplies for the shocks. They have a brand call shibumi (not too sure bout the spelling) Its like half the price of KYB etc and they work real good! Know pple who have bben using them for over 2 years and they still going strong. They also mave the KYB and monroe if you want to go that route.
Gobins had a better price on the KYB last time i checked though.

Cool thanks for the info will check that out looking to fix up the front suspension soon..

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 9th, 2008, 2:19 am

hertz i hadda see your setup

toyotajumbie
Location: GOD without man is still GOD but man without GOD is nothing

Postby toyotajumbie » February 14th, 2008, 9:26 am

My AE80 is 22 years old,I've had it for the last ten years.Four engines and numerous conversions and I absoulutely will NOT part with it.

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 14th, 2008, 10:24 am

^ you drive the dark coloured one from by cyclops? I think i bought i steering coupling from you already :lol:

Postby Hook » February 14th, 2008, 10:51 am

^^^ the navy blue one with the cross-drilled front rotors?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 14th, 2008, 5:51 pm

^nah i think its was like a dark burgandy or something like that, not too good with colours nah :lol:

Return to “TOYOTA”