Best 2008 Pickup: Sportero vs Ranger vs Hilux

shottah_crew

Best 2008 Pickup: Sportero vs Ranger vs Hilux

Postby shottah_crew » August 7th, 2008, 9:38 pm

Okay...lets hear facts then opinions. Everyone has an opinion, but most don't have the facts to base their opinion on...

Basically I have an opinion, but I'm looking for some facts as well and may hopefully get your opinion too.

Looking at the Brand new models for both the vehicles, 2008 ranger and 2008 Sportero (L200). Both from the firm and seem to have basically the same warranty etc, so its down to performance now.

L200 is $225k rite now and is a 4x4 and the Ranger is $199k and is a only 4x2.
Both is auto, but the ranger comin with the trimings and the sportero not coming fully tricked but could be done over time.

Please help in any way you can and for those who have made valid contributions thank you.
Last edited by shottah_crew on August 8th, 2008, 9:08 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby buzz » August 7th, 2008, 9:43 pm

IMHO this thread sucks

Postby Cjruckus » August 7th, 2008, 9:48 pm

buzz wrote:IMHO this thread sucks

RedMenace

Postby RedMenace » August 7th, 2008, 9:49 pm

^^^ :shock: DAT REL HARD....but i agree

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 8th, 2008, 5:55 am

So is there no one in here who cud post some info?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2008, 6:14 am

shottah_crew wrote:So is there no one in here who cud post some info?

The words "please" and "thank you" go a long way when requesting assistance.

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 6:47 am

Seeing that I am looking for a pickup myself, I will not make a new thread but post in this one. I am looking at the difference between the base model Hilux and ranger that has dual front airbags (passenger and driver) and ABS/EBD. The ranger (hurricane) is 185gran (auto) and the hilux is 158 gran (manual). Is there a significant difference in ride and quality between these two vehicles? I don't care about transmission. Toyota is not giving test drives right now :? so I can't really compare the ride. Some oppinions from people who drove both will be helpful. Thanks in advance for any help rendered.

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
shottah_crew wrote:So is there no one in here who cud post some info?

The words "please" and "thank you" go a long way when requesting assistance.

^^^^Take heed, X2. Also more info on what you are looking for, ride, ruggedness, maintainance cost etc.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » August 8th, 2008, 7:38 am

The Hilux gives a very soft ride for a 4x4. The Ranger is a bit more solid and is built more rugged. Maintenance on the Ranger costs around 1500 to replace all the fluids and clean fuel system etc. Cannot say about the Hilux in this regard but I do know that the Toyota parts are significantly more expensive.
The Sportero is more like a car than a pickup, more bling for the buck :lol:
I have driven this as wel land its more ladylike than the Hilux and the Ranger.
I would go for the Ranger out of the three in manula tranny however...

Postby Greypatch » August 8th, 2008, 7:42 am

the new ranger will be out soon peeps

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 7:46 am

The Hilux gives a very soft ride for a 4x4. The Ranger is a bit more solid and is built more rugged.

anything to back up that claim? or this is what you deduce from the ride/ handling/experience?

Maintenance on the Ranger costs around 1500 to replace all the fluids and clean fuel system etc.

Not bad if the firm doing it

I would go for the Ranger out of the three in manula tranny however

^^Thanks

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 8th, 2008, 8:31 am

Rory Phoulorie,crossdrilled, post fixed.

Heard some good things bout the ranger, but I think that a Mitsubishi mite have a better resale value as well.

Postby crazybalhead » August 8th, 2008, 8:32 am

Why in the world would anyone buy an auto pick-up????

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2008, 8:50 am

shottah_crew, thank you for amending the initial post.

I do not have experience with the 2008 models, but I have experience from the maintenance of the 4x4s that the company I work for has in its fleet (comprising Toyota Hiluxes, Mazda B2500s and Mitsubishi L200s).

If you intend to do serious off-roading, not the occasional gravel road and driving in low grass, the Toyota Hilux is the most dependable. Yes, the parts from Toyota are expensive, but they don't need to be changed as often. The one with the best on-road ride was the Mazda B2500, but parts and service from SS&SL could be a problem. The Mitsubishi L200 was in between the two.

Postby wagon r » August 8th, 2008, 8:56 am

<------ Ranger :mrgreen: ....but 2.5, no headaches with the common rail 3.0 engine. why didn't you'll just check the Trucks and Pickup forum.....all yuh answers there.

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 9:02 am

Beacuse nobody answering the posts in the Toyota, or Ford forums. :| Did not want to wast another post in the truck section so I post in shotta thread.

Rory, what about the Toyota engines? Any problems with them?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 8th, 2008, 9:14 am

crossdrilled wrote:Rory, what about the Toyota engines? Any problems with them?

We have/had Hiluxes with gasoline engines and have one currently with a diesel engine (3L I think). The Toyota engines proved to be the most "bullet-proof" of the bunch.

The only reason we ended up with the Mitsubishi L200 was because the accountants only looked at the initial capital cost of the vehicle. I tried explaining to them that while the capital cost of the Hilux was more than the L200, the maintenance costs would be less, and in turn the life-cycle cost of the Hilux would be less than the L200. The accountants just ignored what I wrote to them in my memo.

Postby bushwakka » August 8th, 2008, 9:16 am

dont buy the mitsu jes cuz it fugly....

been hearing great things abt the ranger...hilux is pretty basic for that 158 price and toyota parts are more expensive

i wud suggest the ranger

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 9:30 am

bushwakka wrote:dont buy the mitsu jes cuz it fugly....

been hearing great things abt the ranger...hilux is pretty basic for that 158 price and toyota parts are more expensive

i wud suggest the ranger

Quite frankly, all auto parts real expensive right now (you should see the cost of parts for my Tiida). That is the least of my concern as I buying new and things should be under warranty. You have to remember, you have to buy the ranger 4X4 huricane before you even start to think about optons like passenger airbag and ABS, which is more important to me than the upholstry. That 158 in the basic 4X2 hilux getting me the safety features I want. Which essentially raises the question, is the extra turbo and 4wheel drive worth the extra 30 gran.

noobie

Postby noobie » August 8th, 2008, 9:33 am

So with the Hilux, those totally tricked out ones with the big wheels, the fancy bumpers etc. and the interior rearview mirror that tells you when things are close to the front and back of the vehicle...how much for one of those?

Is it that the companies sell 'base' models and people have to somehow do everything else themselves after market?

Postby honda hoe » August 8th, 2008, 9:36 am

i would buy a hilux simply cuz its a toyota

Postby AllTrac » August 8th, 2008, 9:41 am

honda hoe wrote:i would buy a hilux simply cuz its a toyota

u have just became ban free!!

Postby honda hoe » August 8th, 2008, 9:47 am

AllTrac wrote:

u have just became ban free!!

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

20inchstrong

Postby 20inchstrong » August 8th, 2008, 10:23 am

Toyota!.... done talk! :mrgreen:

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 11:21 am

Ent it had the ched where them thing does do acrobatics @ 35KMPH and doing an emergency turn?....ah jus saying

*quietly calls McEnerrney Motors*

Postby honda hoe » August 8th, 2008, 11:25 am

i tink it was d nissan pick ups tho

noobie

Postby noobie » August 8th, 2008, 11:36 am

crossdrilled wrote:

Ent it had the ched where them thing does do acrobatics @ 35KMPH and doing an emergency turn?....ah jus saying

*quietly calls McEnerrney Motors*

What are you talknig about 0_0

benko

Postby benko » August 8th, 2008, 11:36 am

I was wondering about opinions on the BT-50 aside from the usual comments on Southern Sales service the prices actually look great

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 11:39 am

honda hoe wrote:i tink it was d nissan pick ups tho

Both..I is a nissan till I dead eh, but not no frontier for me (or actually any of the current drivvel from massey)

D Navara looks good though.

Postby bushwakka » August 8th, 2008, 11:40 am

^^yea de navara comes with a 1star front impact rating tho! :shock:

Postby RBphoto » August 8th, 2008, 11:41 am

benko wrote:I was wondering about opinions on the BT-50 aside from the usual comments on Southern Sales service the prices actually look great

After buying my first new car, I came to the realization: Service is more important than initial price or brand.

bushwakka wrote:^^yea de navara comes with a 1star front impact rating tho! :shock:

Which is why I not going to even take a ride in it.