The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 15th, 2008, 10:23 pm

scott flutter doesnt work as it needs to send u a sms to activate it an we all no those apps dont work in trinidad.. i've tried

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 15th, 2008, 11:22 pm

hmm seems like i talked to soon i ended up gettin the message frum them.. scott did u get the mms frum me?

Postby foss » September 15th, 2008, 11:40 pm

lawd... what a read, anyways fellaz... i was looking into ordering the iphone, and i noticed bestbuy have them for $200us.. that being the 3G model of course.. What i would like to know is..

1. Would it need to be unlocked?
2. Who sells the older models and are they still available?

All i know is i want one and ordering it seems alot cheaper than buying it down here for $4000.. so please enlighten me on the best course i should take :wink:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 16th, 2008, 7:47 am

zscrugby no message received. I think its specific smart, (internet enabled) phones like the iPhone, Blackberrys etc that could receive those kinda MMS's.

1. To work for Trinidad & Tobago, yes it would need to be unlocked.
2. Not sure about resellers in the US. eBay perhaps, but they are no longer produced & as a result not as easily available in a reputable retailer e.g. Best Buy or Apple Store.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 16th, 2008, 7:49 am

i noticed bestbuy have them for $200us

It's US$200 WITH a 2 yr contract, w/out the contract US$399/$499.

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » September 16th, 2008, 10:39 am

Yeo wrote:

it can be bought without a contract??? who told you that?

Postby foss » September 16th, 2008, 10:52 am

well the site actually says "in store only".. and i am not seeing anything like ordering online.. so i guess its not available otherwise :cry: anyone can link it for me or i hadda salt?

Postby tr1ad » September 16th, 2008, 10:58 am

zscrugby, it can be

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 16th, 2008, 10:58 am

zscrugby wrote:
Yeo wrote:

it can be bought without a contract??? who told you that?

as noted before AT&T has said that they will be releasing the iPhone contract free sometime later on.

MSNBC on July 1, 2008 wrote:NEW YORK - AT&T Inc. will sell the new version of the iPhone without a service contract for $400 more than the price with a two-year plan, a break from the rules set when Apple Inc.'s popular touch-screen gadget debuted last year.

Two new models of iPhones go on sale July 11 for $199 and $299, depending on the amount of memory, with two-year AT&T contracts. The contract-free versions will cost $599 and $699 and will be sold sometime "in the future," AT&T said.

The phones sold under contract are subsidized by AT&T, which expects to make the money back through monthly service fees over the life of the contract.

Without a contract, users can cancel service without incurring an early termination fee. But both contract and contract-free phones will be "locked" to work only on AT&T's network, and the monthly service plans available will be the same, said AT&T spokesman Michael Coe. The plans add a $30 monthly charge for data like e-mail and Web surfing on top of a calling plan.

As previously announced, the cheapest monthly calling plan for the iPhone will cost $70 per month, before taxes and fees that can add $10 per month. That plan includes 450 minutes of calls and unlimited e-mail and Web browsing.

AT&T is working on providing a prepaid plan, Coe said. A prepaid option was available to buyers of the first iPhone who failed a credit check.

The new iPhones will have faster data access and more accurate navigation capabilities. The cheaper model will have 8 gigabytes for internal memory, half that of the more expensive model.

The first version of the iPhone was sold in the U.S. without a contract, but AT&T would activate it only with a two-year contract. Many phones ended up being "unlocked" from AT&T's network and shipped overseas.

Also Tuesday, AT&T revealed that the iPhones will go on sale at 8 a.m. local time on July 11. Last year's iPhone launch, which happened in the evening, had Apple devotees camping outside stores in anticipation.
Last edited by SRASC on September 16th, 2008, 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby foss » September 16th, 2008, 11:01 am

ok.. well what i wanna kno is.. can i order it at all online???.. or am i gonna hadda pay $4000 and up for it locally??.. who have links and can help me!!??

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 16th, 2008, 11:05 am

foss wrote:ok.. well what i wanna kno is.. can i order it at all online???.. or am i gonna hadda pay $4000 and up for it locally??.. who have links and can help me!!??

as far as online, the original iPhone was able to be ordered online via Apple's Online Store. With the 3G however, no online ordering. The closest alternative to ordering online is eBay. (That I know of). Some people are selling it locally but their prices are in that $4000 range new. Some others are selling used for $2800ish.

Postby foss » September 16th, 2008, 5:12 pm

ebay doh even have them :cry:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 16th, 2008, 8:42 pm

Apple has released iPhone Remote 1.1 which adds the ability to create Custom and Genius playlists.

Features:
- Control the music on iTunes or AppleTV
- See the album artwork on your Remote
- Create and update Genius playlists
- Edit playlists in iTunes
- Search your whole iTunes library
- Control your AirTunes speakers

Whats New:
- Create Genius playlists
- Create and edit playlists in iTunes

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 17th, 2008, 12:45 pm

An unannounced 4GB 4G iPod nano has been spotted in European stores according to an Engadget report.

According to two separate tipsters (with two sets of photos) Apple has released a third version of the new multi-hued iPod nano to the world -- a 4GB model.

Apparently, Apple "made a limited number of 4GB iPod nanos for some international markets, but this is not one of our main configurations."

___

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 19th, 2008, 6:03 pm

The iPhone Dev-Team has released a Windows version of QuickPwn for jailbreaking your iPhone and iPod touch.

Does:
iPhone 2G - unlock, jailbreak
iPhone 3G - NO unlock, jailbreak
iPod touch 1G- jailbreak
iPod touch 2G - NO jailbreak

Sources:
Link:
http://84.94.229.115/QuickPwn21-1.zip
http://apt.eggy.cc/stuff/files/windows/QuickPwn21-1.zip

Torrent:
http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/440410 ... PB.torrent

(prepare to wait a while)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 20th, 2008, 8:13 pm

Sources inside Apple report a possible future contract free, home activation option and model refresh for iPhone 3G, according to AppleInsider.

When the 2G iPhone first launched Apple used a home activation process which allowed users to activate using iTunes on their home computer. Unfortunately, this has changed for the new 3G iPhone since the phone is now heavily subsidized by AT&T and they want to ensure purchasers sign the carrier's 2 year contract.

It seems as though this process may soon be changed. Apple Store retail employees have reported a new "Home" option appearing on their EasyPay systems when making an iPhone 3G sale.

Previously, the options presented were:
1. Upgrade/Swap existing Phone
2. New to AT&T starting a single line
3. New to AT&T starting a family line
4. Add a line to existing account

The new fifth option for home activation isn't yet working; clicking it will reportedly result in an EasyPay crash.

It is possible that the introduction of home activation and a new unlocked price may come via a product refresh. Last year, Apple dropped the 4GB iPhone model in September and added a new 16GB model in February 2008.

Retail sources are now reporting inventory shortages of the 8GB iPhone 3G, which might signal its cancellation and hopefully an introduction of a 32GB model to match the iPod touch

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 22nd, 2008, 7:31 pm

which app do u guys use, if any, to keep track of ur mileage and fuel consumption?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 22nd, 2008, 7:45 pm

none at the moment - but soon the OBD-II wifi plug will be available and you can use REV on your iphone

Image Image

Rev is an application for the iPhone and iPod Touch that provides graphical representations of real-time vehicle data. By communicating directly with your vehicle's ECU, Rev can monitor several vehicle metrics:

* Vehicle Speed
* RPM
* Fuel Consumption
* Engine Coolant Temperature
* Fuel Pressure
* and lots more!

Built-in Metrics (No special hardware required)

* Lateral and Forward Acceleration: Graph your cornering, braking and acceleration G-forces. (Available in Rev Lite)
* GPS Track: Visual track displays your location and acceleration data - see how you are braking and accelerating around corners. (Available in Rev Lite)

OBD Metrics (Requires OBD-II/WLAN interface hardware)

* Vehicle Speed
* RPM
* Fuel Consumption
* Engine Coolant Temp
* Fuel Pressure
* Calculated Engine Load
* Throttle Position
* Intake Manifold Pressure
* Air Intake Temp
* Timing Advance
* Mass Air Flow
* Fuel Level
* Barometric Pressure
* EVAP System Vapor Pressure
* Fuel Trim

Visual Representations

* Gauge: Displays a moving needle and LED display to show current reading
* Graph: Displays current value over time

Engine Code Retrieve and Reset

Want to know why your Check Engine light is on? Your iPhone will tell you why!

* Engine code checking
* Listing of all engine codes thrown by the vehicle
* One-button reset of your codes and Check Engine light

Auto-centric User Experience
Rev has been designed to be easy to use in car-mounted iPhone/iPod Touch installations.
While we OFFICIALLY DO NOT RECOMMEND USING Rev OR OTHER IPHONE/IPOD TOUCH APPLICATIONS WHILE DRIVING, we do think it would be a mind-bendingly awesome experience were anyone to actually try it.

* Quick taps for bumpy rides - double tap gauge to zoom in/out, swipe to graph view
* Car-mount-friendly orientations - landscape or portrait
* Dark background color scheme - easy on the eyes, day and night

Wireless Freedom
Simply connect to the OBD-II/WLAN device by approaching your car. While connected, your iPhone can still access the Internet via EDGE or 3G.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 25th, 2008, 6:45 pm

The iPhone 3G is now being sold unlocked directly from Apple in the city of Hong Kong, according to a MacNN report.

Despite no prior announcements Apple's site reveals that an 8GB phone is selling for $5,400 HK ($692), while a 16GB model costs $6,200 HK ($794).

According to Apple, an "iPhone 3G purchased at the Apple Online Store can be activated with any wireless carrier. Simply insert the SIM from your current phone into iPhone 3G and connect to iTunes 8 to complete activation."

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 29th, 2008, 10:56 am

Sprint/Verizon Getting the iPhone?

Currently in the U.S. and across the world the iPhone is a GSM network only device. That means that even unlocked you can not run the iPhone on the Verizon network which is CDMA. This may change soon -- as early as Macworld 2009. Where does this come from? A Verizon tipster told 9to5mac that "Apple will be announcing iPhones for Verizon Wireless in 2009, perhaps as early Macworld 2009."

While there are many reasons that this rumor could be true we think these are the big ones:
Apple has been looking for EVDO and CDMA engineers with their job listings.
Apple has been working very hard lately to expand their market share to other countries. Last count the iPhone is available for purchase in over 79 countries. It only makes sense that Apple would want to expand to also cover other network protocols to put their phone on networks currently excluded like Sprint, Verizon, and other networks in places like Canada (which currently has the iPhone on lame Rogers).
Verizon and Vodafone are partners. Vodafone has contracts with Apple. Partners + pre existing contracts with Apple = iPhone on Verizon. It's just simple addition folks.
Apple originally wanted to go with Verizon for the iPhone. Verizon refused, AT&T was the second choice and the rest is history. One of the major reasons that Apple and Verizon couldn't play nice together is Apple didn't want their jesus phone distributed at Verizon retailers like Best Buy. Since then Apple has become less paranoid about distribution channels and you can pick up the iPhone at Best Buy. Maybe now Verizon and Apple could both be happy together.
AT&T's exclusivity contract with Apple may be ending soon. There is a lot of speculation about the ending of the deal between AT&T and Apple. Some folks say five years, some say two, others say three. We just don't know. If it is in fact 2 yrs. that would open Apple up to put the iPhone on other carriers sometime during 2009.

Odds are looking good for Apple's expansion on to other carriers like Verizon or Sprint with the iPhone. While many are happy with AT&T service many are not. If other carriers previously unable to support the iPhone start selling it we get more options on what carrier we use. In the end more carrier options + iPhone = consumer win.
___
MAME Arcade Emulator Released iPhone/iPod Touch

Image Image

mame4iphone, the latest great emulator port by Zodttd is now available via Cydia. MAME stands for Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator and was created with the intent on preserving classic arcade games by recreating these hardware games with software. What does this mean to you? You can play all those classic games from the past (as far back as 1970s) on your iPhone or iPod Touch!

Some notes:
Based on MAME v0.37 Beta 5
Supports thousands of MAME ROMs
Sounds is supported but off by default. Go to "Now Playing" and slide the sound slider to turn sound on
To press OK. Use RIGHT then LEFT then RIGHT then LEFT to press OK.
Save states not supported :(
Upon installing a folder /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/MAME/ is already made for you. Place your MAME-titled zipped ROMs in the /var/mobile/Media/ROMs/MAME/roms/ folder
___

It seems there have been a few apps added to Cydia over the weekend, Stack being one of them. We have know for a little while now that the developer of Stack was getting close to a release and it seems it has finally arrived!

Stack is an application that will stack applications on the lower right of your iPhone screen. When you tap the stack, it will display the apps (think Leopard). You can then select the Settings icon (when the stack is out) and it will give you a few options. The Settings option includes the ability to turn on a curved stack or grid stack (see screenshot below).

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 29th, 2008, 11:26 am

^^ dat stack app is the best i dump all meh icons in there really cleaned up my home screen

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 30th, 2008, 8:07 pm

Adobe Confirms Flash for the iPhone

Adobe has confirmed that they are actively developing a version of Flash for the iPhone, according to Flash Magazine.

At the Flash On The Beach (FOTB) conference in Brighton, Sr. Director of Engineering at Adobe Systems Paul Betlem for the first time publicly confirmed that Adobe is actively developing a Flash Player for Apple's popular phone. He said (not direct quote) "My team is working on Flash on the iPhone, but it's a closed platform." He noted that Apple makes all the decisions, so in other words, the ball is in Apple's yard at this time. If Apple says yes, Adobe will have the player available in a very short time.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 30th, 2008, 8:21 pm

The two popular cracked app spots known mostly as "the place to get it and get out" (No forums, just cracked apps for miles) have fallen to retaliation against app crackers.

Appstorecracked lost all of its links to cracked apps this morning. Themobileapps.com fell last week and has shown no signs of re-emerging.

The two large cracked app spots are the first "big" spots to show retaliation against cracked apps. While themobileapps seems to have been completely stripped from the server, appstorecracked simply had it's app database removed this morning from 4shared and I'd bet you will see the site itself fall very shortly. With two sites falling we are probably just on the cusp of the tidal wave of actions against cracked apps.

As Apple continues it's fight to keep the iphone under their financial control, the war between users and Apple has seemed to spark almost a challenge for users to beat Apple at their own game. Crackers after all are not thieves, they are hackers. They do it for the thrill. Sort of like jailbreakers are, but they cross the lines of legality whereas jailbreakers are just hacking the firmware for kicks with no illegal activity.

You can bet Apple will continue this war further as more sites pop up, and Apple's attack wages on. Remember modmyi.com has has to change its name not once but twice to avoid litigation from Apple and MMi doesn't distribute warez. While we don't have solid confirmation this was the doing of Apple or an app company, it is very likely that they played a roll. Remember there is big money to protect on the AppStore. Big Money = Big lawyers = Big lawsuits. We can only expect both Apple and appstore application development companies to become more aggressive about protecting apps in the future.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » September 30th, 2008, 9:37 pm

The iPhone CallerID Fix Collection by Carlo Franchino is a great solution for those who live in an unsupported country and have trouble with Caller ID matching when making calls or receiving text messages.

The CallerID Fix Collection modifies the /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/AppSupport.framework/PhoneNumberTemplates.plist to add support for additional countries.

You can find the list of supported countries below. The patch can be installed via the iSpazio repo on Cydia Installer. Look in the Localization directory!

___
Microsoft is indeed working on an iPhone application.

As predicted, it is the company's Tellme unit that is actively developing a program for Apple's iPhone. Tellme offers voice-activated search for a variety of phones, including the BlackBerry.

Although the company created an early alpha program in a matter of weeks, senior director Dariusz Paczuski said it will probably be a couple of months before a public version is ready. He said that it will definitely happen within the current fiscal year, which runs through June.

"I'm not sure we can squeeze it out this year given everything we've got going on," Paczuski said at last night's Churchill Club event.

The iPhone does present some interesting challenges. One of its big features is the fact that everything is done via a touch screen. But Tellme relies on a physical button to determine when to start listening to a query.

"You want a button," Paczuski said. Even on Sprint's touch screen Instinct, Tellme is able to use the call button to determine when a user is speaking. He said when the iPhone app launches there will probably be a big virtual button in the middle of the screen.

[Hey Microsoft, a Windows Live Messenger (Official) App for the iPhone wouldn't be bad idea either you know...]

SRASC

iTunes 8.0.1 has been released

Postby SRASC » October 3rd, 2008, 8:43 am

http://apple.com/itunes/download

If you have not opened up iTunes yet, or checked for a software update, you may want to. Apple released 8.0.1 with some minor, yet important upgrade features.

iTunes 8.0.1 improves stability and performance and provides a number of important bug fixes, including:

• Seamlessly plays the current song when creating a new Genius playlist.
• Improves syncing spoken menus to iPod nano.
• Addresses an issue of deleting HD TV episodes when downloading.
• Improves checking for updates from the App Store
• Improves accessibility with VoiceOver.
• Addresses problems syncing Genius results to iPod.

Makes Genius and the HD downloads much easier now.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » October 3rd, 2008, 10:14 am

apple has not said yes to them...

SRASC wrote:Adobe Confirms Flash for the iPhone

Adobe has confirmed that they are actively developing a version of Flash for the iPhone, according to Flash Magazine.

At the Flash On The Beach (FOTB) conference in Brighton, Sr. Director of Engineering at Adobe Systems Paul Betlem for the first time publicly confirmed that Adobe is actively developing a Flash Player for Apple's popular phone. He said (not direct quote) "My team is working on Flash on the iPhone, but it's a closed platform." He noted that Apple makes all the decisions, so in other words, the ball is in Apple's yard at this time. If Apple says yes, Adobe will have the player available in a very short time.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 3rd, 2008, 10:28 am

kes_vtec wrote:apple has not said yes to them...

SRASC wrote:Adobe Confirms Flash for the iPhone

Then Apple is going to hear from a couple of not so happy iPhone owners...

Postby tr1ad » October 3rd, 2008, 10:37 am

as if apple cares

SRASC

Developing: Steve Jobs Suffers Heart Attack?

Postby SRASC » October 3rd, 2008, 11:59 am

09:48 AAPL Apple pulls back sharply from highs as CNN Citizen Journalist report circulates regarding Steve Jobs' health (100.71 +0.51) -Update-

According to Silicon Alley Insider, CNN Citizen Journalist says Apple's Steve Jobs was rushed to ER after a heart attack. CNN's iReport says "Steve Jobs was rushed to the ER just a few hours ago after suffering a major heart attack. I have an insider who tells me that paramedics were called after Steve claimed to be suffering from severe chest pains and shortness of breath. My source has opted to remain anonymous, but he is quite reliable. I haven't seen anything about this anywhere else yet, and as of right now, I have no further information, so I thought this would be a good place to start. If anyone else has more information, please share it."

09:53 AAPL Apple: AAPL denies Steve Jobs heart attack report 'is not true'-- Henry Blodget -Update-

10:10 AAPL Apple spokesman confirms with CNBC that rumors about Jobs' health are not true (102.47 +2.37) -Update-

SRASC

iTunes 8.0.1, iPhone 2G & 3G Syncing Problems

Postby SRASC » October 3rd, 2008, 2:24 pm

Apple released iTunes 8.0.1 to improve stability and performance and also fixes a number of important bugs.
However, based on this Apple Discussions thread, some iPhone users are reporting problems syncing their iPhones after updating to iTunes 8.0.1. Apple Discussions user first reported the problem:
"Just installed iTunes 8.1 trying to sync my 3g iPhone and every time receive an unknown error 13014."
One of iPhone Atlas's user reported a similar issue:
“I just downloaded and installed iTunes 8.0.1 on my iMac running 10.5.5, and synced my non-3G iPhone. I immediately received an error message stating that “The phone ‘[my iPhone's name]‘...read rest of article