Hard Times @ Point Lisas

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 30th, 2008, 4:11 pm

whey the minister of finance now...i remember her saying that the economical crisis of the US would not have much impact on trinidad etc...

time for her to crawl out from under the desk or rock or whereever she is...

most process plants @ point lisas are facing hard times

ammonia prices has dropped drastically from US $900/ton to US$350/ton

PCS has begun brining down 01 and 02 Ammonia plants because their storage has reached its capacity...

N2K and CNC are not selling that much ammonia either...

main reason for this is noone is gettin credit to purchase these products forcing all production into storage....

[quote]

“Ken Johnson DTN Fertilizer Columnist Bio | Email Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:19 AM CDT Ammonia prices, which reached an all-time high in September, have crashed spectacularly within a matter of weeks. Ammonia prices were among the last to show any real decline, but in the last week of October world ammonia market prices moved sharply lower. Late in the month, buyers in India paid $350 per metric ton cfr against their previous purchase of ammonia at $900 two weeks earlier. Florida DAP producers realized a drop of $356 per metric ton from September to October ($931 to $575).â€
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on October 30th, 2008, 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » October 30th, 2008, 4:16 pm

Sorry dey Joker. Can't say it would do you bad.

Re: Hard Times @ Point Lisas

Postby De Dragon » October 30th, 2008, 4:24 pm

[quote="Aaron 2NR"]whey the minister of finance now...i remember her saying that the economical crisis of the US would not have much impact on trinidad etc...

most process plants @ point lisas are facing hard times

ammonia prices has dropped drastically from US $900/ton to US$350/ton

PCS has begun brining down 01 and 02 Ammonia plants because their storage has reached its capacity...

N2K and CNC are not selling that much ammonia either...

main reason for this is noone is gettin credit to purchase these products forcing all production into storage....

“Ken Johnson DTN Fertilizer Columnist Bio | Email Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:19 AM CDT Ammonia prices, which reached an all-time high in September, have crashed spectacularly within a matter of weeks. Ammonia prices were among the last to show any real decline, but in the last week of October world ammonia market prices moved sharply lower. Late in the month, buyers in India paid $350 per metric ton cfr against their previous purchase of ammonia at $900 two weeks earlier. Florida DAP producers realized a drop of $356 per metric ton from September to October ($931 to $575).†[quote]

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 30th, 2008, 4:28 pm

Postby De Dragon » October 30th, 2008, 4:33 pm

^^^ I'm not saying that the price isn't low, I'm saying that due to the credit situation in the US,there are no orders for the steel products that Nu-Iron makes.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 30th, 2008, 4:35 pm

i didnt say u were wrong dude....i was just posting some additional info

Postby De Dragon » October 30th, 2008, 4:37 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:i didnt say u were wrong dude....i was just posting some additional info
Ok no scene. The word is that things may pick up in January though,I don't know,I guess noone really does!

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » October 30th, 2008, 5:36 pm

Mittal's shutdown is due to a problem in their plant - the accident caused some damage that needs to be repaired

Postby pete » October 30th, 2008, 5:44 pm

I heard M5000 is down as well..

Postby De Dragon » October 30th, 2008, 5:46 pm

pete wrote:I heard M5000 is down as well..
Yeah but due to a Syn Gas Turbine/Compressor problem.

rishi_j

Postby rishi_j » October 30th, 2008, 5:51 pm

m5 nuh scheduled for a turnaround sumtime soon?

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 30th, 2008, 6:18 pm

m5000 is always down...its known as the jumbie plant....lol...

turnaround was done earlier this yr on m5000

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » October 30th, 2008, 6:23 pm

bring on the smelter :!:

Postby Cjruckus » October 30th, 2008, 6:42 pm

~Street Sleeper~ wrote:bring on the smelter :!:

Postby Team Loco » October 30th, 2008, 6:51 pm

things bad, my main customers these days are over the counter persons who want to repair a small item

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 30th, 2008, 6:57 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Mittal's shutdown is due to a problem in their plant - the accident caused some damage that needs to be repaired

i heard that it is because of the low prices they choose to shutdown and do maintenance activities i believe for 2 months or so.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 30th, 2008, 7:05 pm

with these plants down im sure its gonna affect nested contractors and temp staff.....

Zas

Postby Zas » October 30th, 2008, 7:12 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Mittal's shutdown is due to a problem in their plant - the accident caused some damage that needs to be repaired

^^ this man speaks the truth.

Postby Team Loco » October 30th, 2008, 8:35 pm

Correct. The accident caused them to run unscheduled maintenence. Doing some work in there

rolandk

Postby rolandk » October 30th, 2008, 10:38 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
~Street Sleeper~ wrote:bring on the smelter :!:

and how will that benefit T&T? how mcuh people will they employ? how much will it cost us?

here is a quick rundown:

- suck out our gas at giveaway prices - wihch means loss of revenue & we will be seeing problems in the future for power generation and support of exisitng industries?

- hundreds of milllions of tax payers money to prepare a site for the plant? which means we invest $$ we will never get back!

- millions of dollars lost in taxes through concessions for more years than you could imagine.

- Irreversible pollution to put more people in an overcrowded, underfunded and inefficient health system?

- destruction of marine spawning grounds which account for close to half a million tonnes of fish per year?

just so that julian and saith could make some more money and patos could say he got his way?

on one hand they concerned about the environment by punishing the travelling public and not spraying for mosquitos, but its OK to build smelter ent?

allyuh go ahead and continue to put political party before country and see where you will end up.

Postby UML » October 31st, 2008, 7:07 am

whey the minister of finance now...i remember her saying that the economical crisis of the US would not have much impact on trinidad etc...

they exist because they continue too fool the uneducated ppl that support them!!

actually she is in Dubai with the PM......off with the private jet...i wonder how much that trip would cost taxpayers?!!!

Also Mittal Steel and Nu Iron Steel are shutting down their operations due to Low Steel prices

heard dat too....real wickedness eh!! Only wanna dig out ppl eye!!

ah really hope ppl not believeing the "maintenance" reason...cuase it wud show how gullible u are...

Mittal has the worst safety record.....they do ever improve their facilities.....so wtf u telling me bout maintenance...man does get covered with molten steel and they just move d man and continue production!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2008, 7:29 am

^^^i agree they have a lot of maintenance works to be done but they used this low price at an opportunity to do it...low steel prices means a lot less loses to shut down now and do their maintenance works...and hope to recover this money when the prices climb again....

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 31st, 2008, 7:40 am

btw didnt mittal come down for a huge turn around in the 2nd quarter of this yr??

duchess

Postby duchess » October 31st, 2008, 7:54 am

yea they did...........but that plant always going down.............just like M5

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » October 31st, 2008, 7:59 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:^^^i agree they have a lot of maintenance works to be done but they used this low price at an opportunity to do it...low steel prices means a lot less loses to shut down now and do their maintenance works...and hope to recover this money when the prices climb again....

^very true.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 31st, 2008, 9:21 am

i think ppl who want Obama to win doh see the negative impact it will have on us in regards to the industrial estate.

if more jobs go to americans, that means less outsourcing/cutting cost heavily. if de man in EU who sell to US buh buy steel from TT cyah get a wuk - he go look elsewhere or stop all together...

cyah blame the americans, they want peace of mind - and Obama offering that. If only trinidad was like that *sigh*

Postby De Dragon » October 31st, 2008, 11:15 am

UML wrote:

they exist because they continue too fool the uneducated ppl that support them!!

actually she is in Dubai with the PM......off with the private jet...i wonder how much that trip would cost taxpayers?!!!

Also Mittal Steel and Nu Iron Steel are shutting down their operations due to Low Steel prices

heard dat too....real wickedness eh!! Only wanna dig out ppl eye!!

ah really hope ppl not believeing the "maintenance" reason...cuase it wud show how gullible u are...
Mittal has the worst safety record.....they do ever improve their facilities.....so wtf u telling me bout maintenance...man does get covered with molten steel and they just move d man and continue production!!!

The US recession has resulted in fewer orders for steel products being placed there.Therefore the Plant,which has limited storage capacity has to shutdown. Therefore,the opportunity presents itself to do some remedial maintenance work that sometimes can only be done when a Plant is down.

Postby joker » November 4th, 2008, 2:35 pm

mitTAL UP AND RUNNING :wink:

Postby The_Honourable » August 3rd, 2019, 8:44 pm

Gonna do a dread bump

Postby The_Honourable » August 3rd, 2019, 8:45 pm

The Point Lisas project faces serious challenges; adequate supplies of natural gas at at economic price ; greater international competition in a difficult energy environment.