question for the indians

pycho

Postby pycho » November 28th, 2008, 12:12 pm

Very often it is difficult to distinguish race due to the overlaying parameters and social construct base on geographic. The word Indian is descriptive which depicts origination of humans from INDIA, therefore you’re a Trini then you just have physical resemblance of an Indian but your NOT.

Postby Maserati » November 28th, 2008, 12:21 pm

anyhow why would you want to be associated with India or any of the countries in that area for that matter?? :?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 28th, 2008, 12:44 pm

Maserati wrote:anyhow why would you want to be associated with India or any of the countries in that area for that matter?? :?

ent ! , .. trini all de way

Postby Greypatch » November 28th, 2008, 1:02 pm

:| :| :| :| :|

Postby equipped2ripp » November 28th, 2008, 1:06 pm

AllTrac wrote:my race is chamar, im a coolie.

fixed.

:black:

Postby foss » November 28th, 2008, 1:12 pm

i not indian but i like indian oman.. and no not d kullieee wit d coconut oil drippin from dey forhead :oops:

Postby honda hoe » November 28th, 2008, 1:38 pm

foss wrote:i not indian but i like indian oman.. and no not d kullieee wit d coconut oil drippin from dey forhead :oops:

:sick: :sick:

Postby foss » November 28th, 2008, 1:43 pm

now hoe, tell me dat nuh bess :roll:

Postby r3iXmann » November 28th, 2008, 1:47 pm

good thing i white :|

Postby honda hoe » November 28th, 2008, 1:50 pm

foss wrote:Image

now hoe, tell me dat nuh bess :roll:

she aight :roll:

*right click save*

Postby foss » November 28th, 2008, 1:55 pm

yunno daz prime rel estate .. ting tuh live in :fadein:

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » November 28th, 2008, 1:56 pm

illumin@ti wrote:they just confused ,,, , i say put all a dem ,, on a boat and send dem back to the 'motherland' as well as them overly afro-centric dashiki wearin weirdos ,,, send dem back africa ... they can both fight for identity there and the remainder of us TRINIS will be happy like pappy :lol:

well said!!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » November 28th, 2008, 2:05 pm

adri 2nr wrote:
illumin@ti wrote:they just confused ,,, , i say put all a dem ,, on a boat and send dem back to the 'motherland' as well as them overly afro-centric dashiki wearin weirdos ,,, send dem back africa ... they can both fight for identity there and the remainder of us TRINIS will be happy like pappy :lol:

well said!!

Actually this happened already and they couldn't make do without fridge, stove toilet etc...
They should do it again!! :lol:

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » November 28th, 2008, 3:20 pm

culturally im indian, racially im trinidadian.....then again im canadian.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » November 28th, 2008, 3:21 pm

I'm an Earthling 0X

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 28th, 2008, 3:31 pm

Same way you have afro-trinidadians, you have indo triniddians, meaning that your ancestry can be traced back to either Africa or India.

other that that we all trinidadians, cause none of you all can say that you born in india

Postby Greypatch » November 28th, 2008, 3:47 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
AllTrac wrote:my race is chamar, im a coolie.

fixed.

:black:

what the grass

Mini Charles

Postby Mini Charles » November 28th, 2008, 4:18 pm

Strauss wrote:
Rahtid wrote:
honda hoe wrote:i scottish

becuz u drink whiskey from scotland?

No, because Scotland has some mountainous regions where cars is flip.

lol :)

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 28th, 2008, 8:24 pm

trinidadian end ah fackin story . not no afro trini or indo trini BS . just muddac**t trini

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 28th, 2008, 8:44 pm

Strauss wrote:
Oleander wrote:I am a Trinidadian..
Indian + Spanish = Other

Your ancestors from Spain?

oh sorry mr. correct it all.. :cry:

Not from Spain.. from Venezuela.

Sumana.00

Re: question for the indians

Postby Sumana.00 » November 28th, 2008, 8:49 pm

Team Loco wrote:why do we indians call ourselves "indians" even though if we go to India, we are recognised as non-indians? are we not trinis?

I've never had that issue, idk why ppl make a big of it, when you go NA, and England how Indians there don't recognise you as Indian, that's never been a problem with me

Postby cinco » November 28th, 2008, 9:12 pm

iz a muddarse

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 28th, 2008, 9:25 pm

foss! who is thattt :shock: :shock:

Postby skylinechild » November 28th, 2008, 9:37 pm

CBharath wrote:trinidadian end ah fackin story . not no afro trini or indo trini BS . just muddac**t trini

X one million

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 28th, 2008, 10:51 pm

adri 2nr wrote:

well said!!

The thing is.. when you send them back to their mother land Africa/India.. the motherland wouldn't give a rats ass about them...
always talking it's my culture... what the hell anyone of them know about culture.. yuh damn born and grow up in Trinidad some ah them never even gone Tobago.. but they talking culture..

I am a Trinidadian and quite happy to be one..
because neither India nor Venezuela majorly affected my life in anyway..

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 29th, 2008, 2:19 am

i am human who lives in trinidad and eats roti and drink white oak.

Postby foss » November 29th, 2008, 4:47 am

vimal_vs wrote:foss! who is thattt :shock: :shock:

ah bess indian... hoe coastin how indian fail :roll: out wit dat!!

blukish

Postby blukish » November 30th, 2008, 3:45 am

Maserati wrote:anyhow why would you want to be associated with India or any of the countries in that area for that matter?? :?

says the one who was asked if he was from bangladesh...

Postby Team Loco » November 30th, 2008, 9:02 am

So then we don't have an indian culture here. Chutney etc that we call indian culture is really part of trini culture? So far it seems "indian" in trinidad are a confused bunch

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 30th, 2008, 11:32 am

You're neglecting Oddissi, Kathak, Bharat Natyam Dancing, Holi, The Music Lessons given @ Mahatma Gandhi Institute, Rana Mohip & Shivanand Maharaj in singing, sitar, tabla, harmonium etc Diwali, our movies, our music...
You neglect to mention that chutney songs have stemmed out of the Indian tradition of old ladies singing on the nights before the weddings, that's why so many are lawa songs, and Kabir songs, and songs that describe the wedding ceremony, or barahee even.
One Indian High Commissioner after the other has always remarked at how proud they are that Indians have retained their culture so well down here, the present High Commissioner's wife told me last week that out of India this was the best Diwali celebration she's seen.

We do have an Indian Culture, but some people are so hinged on being "Trini" that apparently you can't be Trini without recognising where you came from, and that culture.

I can see my reply pissing off a lot of people :| :| :|

*waits for sum1 to tell me to go back on a boat to India*