question for the indians

blukish

Postby blukish » November 30th, 2008, 3:45 am

Maserati wrote:anyhow why would you want to be associated with India or any of the countries in that area for that matter?? :?

says the one who was asked if he was from bangladesh...

Postby Team Loco » November 30th, 2008, 9:02 am

So then we don't have an indian culture here. Chutney etc that we call indian culture is really part of trini culture? So far it seems "indian" in trinidad are a confused bunch

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 30th, 2008, 11:32 am

You're neglecting Oddissi, Kathak, Bharat Natyam Dancing, Holi, The Music Lessons given @ Mahatma Gandhi Institute, Rana Mohip & Shivanand Maharaj in singing, sitar, tabla, harmonium etc Diwali, our movies, our music...
You neglect to mention that chutney songs have stemmed out of the Indian tradition of old ladies singing on the nights before the weddings, that's why so many are lawa songs, and Kabir songs, and songs that describe the wedding ceremony, or barahee even.
One Indian High Commissioner after the other has always remarked at how proud they are that Indians have retained their culture so well down here, the present High Commissioner's wife told me last week that out of India this was the best Diwali celebration she's seen.

We do have an Indian Culture, but some people are so hinged on being "Trini" that apparently you can't be Trini without recognising where you came from, and that culture.

I can see my reply pissing off a lot of people :| :| :|

*waits for sum1 to tell me to go back on a boat to India*

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2008, 12:06 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:You're neglecting Oddissi, Kathak, Bharat Natyam Dancing, Holi, The Music Lessons given @ Mahatma Gandhi Institute, Rana Mohip & Shivanand Maharaj in singing, sitar, tabla, harmonium etc Diwali, our movies, our music...
You neglect to mention that chutney songs have stemmed out of the Indian tradition of old ladies singing on the nights before the weddings, that's why so many are lawa songs, and Kabir songs, and songs that describe the wedding ceremony, or barahee even.
One Indian High Commissioner after the other has always remarked at how proud they are that Indians have retained their culture so well down here, the present High Commissioner's wife told me last week that out of India this was the best Diwali celebration she's seen.

We do have an Indian Culture, but some people are so hinged on being "Trini" that apparently you can't be Trini without recognising where you came from, and that culture.

I can see my reply pissing off a lot of people :| :| :|

*waits for sum1 to tell me to go back on a boat to India*

fcuk dem, i agree with u 100%

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 30th, 2008, 12:16 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:We do have an Indian Culture, but some people are so hinged on being "Trini" that apparently you can't be Trini without recognising where you came from, and that culture.

Recognizing your roots is one thing.

Thinking your roots is superior to other races is another.

And the irony of this all is that the Indians who migrated to the Caribbean, yes, your ancestors, were indentured labourers of India. They were not a part of the Brahmin class or people with means.

Now, however, feeling that they have "reached", the devout Hindus of the Caribbean want to somehow convince others that they are either a part of the Brahmin or Kshatriyas caste, as if that gives them the rights to look down upon others as inferior.

And do not even attempt to mention that the caste system of India remains in India. It certainly has its cultural (and mental) presence in Trinidad & Tobago.

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2008, 12:20 pm

but AP im ah brahmin, so is sumana and she cannot be seen with that chamar pioneer :|

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2008, 12:23 pm

Soundwave, rofl :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 30th, 2008, 12:28 pm

rofl at chamar!!!!!!! Sumana you contribute well.........

agreed......

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 30th, 2008, 12:30 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:We do have an Indian Culture, but some people are so hinged on being "Trini" that apparently you can't be Trini without recognising where you came from, and that culture.

Recognizing your roots is one thing.

And the irony of this all is that the Indians who migrated to the Caribbean, yes, your ancestors, were indentured labourers of India. They were not a part of the Brahmin class or people with means.

Now, however, feeling that they have "reached", the devout Hindus of the Caribbean want to somehow convince others that they are either a part of the Brahmin or Kshatriyas caste, as if that gives them the rights to look down upon others as inferior.

And do not even attempt to mention that the caste system of India remains in India. It certainly has its cultural (and mental) presence in Trinidad & Tobago.

IT have caste system in trinidad?

Postby r3iXmann » November 30th, 2008, 12:32 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Recognizing your roots is one thing.

word.

eurogirl wrote:IT have caste system in trinidad?

Postby eliteauto » November 30th, 2008, 12:32 pm

eurogirl, you weren't aware?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » November 30th, 2008, 12:33 pm

Team Loco wrote:do you agree herein lies one of the many reasons for racial tension in T&T- identity crisis?

A herd mentality of seeing one as Afro- or Indian- before Trinidadian/Trinbagonian IS the core reason for racial tension in Trinidad and Tobago.

I do not know if similar mentality exists in other Caribbean countries outside of Trinidad, however, if it does, I do not believe it is comparable to that of racial tensions amongst Trinidadians.

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2008, 12:34 pm

eurogirl, yes.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 30th, 2008, 12:34 pm

Well i dunno ! I asking ..

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » November 30th, 2008, 12:35 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~, Thank you

AllTrac, the trials and tribulations of out lovee :(

Postby r3iXmann » November 30th, 2008, 12:37 pm

corollalover101 wrote:eurogirl, you weren't aware?

this has been interwoven into so many people's lifestyles and mindset that they've accepted it as the norm.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 30th, 2008, 12:44 pm

corollalover101 wrote:eurogirl, you weren't aware?

No , and I'm dead seirous ...

I grow up learning to speak arabic and english , my family never really encourage de hindi thing only my grandfather use to talk urdu .Plus we weren't allowed to really have alot of hindu friends etc or partcipate in all dem thing sumana typed about . All my family use to tell me is doh marrid no black man unless he's a muslim *shrugs* so i dunno .

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 30th, 2008, 12:45 pm

So maybe i'm in a caste system and I didn't know .. :|

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2008, 12:51 pm

eurogirl wrote:So maybe i'm in a caste system and I didn't know .. :|

yea, chamar.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 30th, 2008, 12:57 pm

:?

steups lemme go back to being half muslim half trini , this caste system thing is too out of whack !

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » November 30th, 2008, 1:37 pm

well one major difference between us being 'trini-indian' and india indian, is that trini-indian wear deoderant and colognes/perfume and smell good, while india indian...they go with body odour, thats why indians dont fight other people, but each other.

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 30th, 2008, 1:45 pm

steups this waste ah forkin thread reach 5 pages...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 30th, 2008, 1:48 pm

I glad I is a Trindian and not ah Indian from India because if I wuz living in India dem muslim woulda kill meh already. :shock:

Gimme ah Trini muslim anyday yes.....

Postby Sky » November 30th, 2008, 2:02 pm

I'm an honorary brahmin, because while my East indian roots are unknown, on my african side I an I a direct descendant of Emperor Selassie eye deh first :|

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2008, 3:31 pm

Sky, rofl :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2008, 4:25 pm

AllTrac wrote:Sky, rofl :lol: :lol: :lol:
d man mek sense
better recognize.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 30th, 2008, 4:44 pm

trust meh yuh doh want to be known as indian yes.....cause where i goin to school all those indian student direct from India does reeel smell :crazyeyes: :sick: :sick:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 30th, 2008, 8:59 pm

There was an Indian fellar on the 1974 team, Bobby somehing or the other, he was de baddest striker I was told. My boss does be talkin bout him sometimes.

Also in more recent times there was some fellar by the name of Maharaj on a recent national team.

Indian only like cricket.