who does good spray-on-linings on van trays.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
HondaB20B

who does good spray-on-linings on van trays.

Postby HondaB20B » October 29th, 2008, 9:37 pm

other than hydrocarb (rhino), looking for a good one preferably in south. anybody know about the one auto-guru sells........... cant remember the name though.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 30th, 2008, 7:43 am

I dont know about south... but it have a guy in las lomas named Shaws. He has the Durabak liner. Its great!! If you look a the pickup on the road you're bound to see a shaw's sign on the back glass.

His numbers are: 669-1118 & 777-3993

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 30th, 2008, 8:21 am

Shaw...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » October 30th, 2008, 3:12 pm

hydrocarb (rhino), Shaws, Ziebart etc

Whats the cost and difference in quality?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 30th, 2008, 10:18 pm

ok cool. thanks

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » October 31st, 2008, 7:18 am

Ziebart does the rhino liner while Shaws does the durabak.

The rhino is a smoother finish but looks like tar. Its also a bit thick.. I think from 1/8" up.

The durabak is a rougher finsh.. (which i find good cause stuff hardly slides around in the tray) Its thinner than the rhino but durable as well.

When I was pricing the durabak was $3800 and the rhino was $4000+vat. Prices may have changed since then. Both places do quality work.

FF786, you can see the durabak on my truck on sunday...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 31st, 2008, 8:28 pm

when i had the L200, i had hydrocarb re-do the rhino and it was ok. i find though that it wasnt applied uniform and had a few areas which was smooth. hope they do a better job if i decide to go by them

Postby equipped2ripp » October 31st, 2008, 8:49 pm

Complete Coatings 683-1101

they do the Roll N Lock as well...

HondaB20B, ah see a TBZ Frontier with a Complete Coatings Liner and ting looking in real good condition yes...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » October 31st, 2008, 9:37 pm

thanks, was going to call and ask you for d # again. going an check them tomorow. now to just find a good hard cover for d tray

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » November 4th, 2008, 9:07 am

HondaB20B,
Sometime later this week i am supposed to get one of those gallons of the Durabak liner coatings.
A coworker brought down one and did it himself and was a little cheaper than what was quoted above. The hardest thing is to remove the paint from the tray so that it the compound would bond properly (took him about 3 hours)
When i get it and apply it...i would post some pics.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2008, 10:10 pm

^^^^ ok, cool.......... even though ahh done make up meh mind with de
Complete Coatings.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 5th, 2008, 8:42 am

HondaB20B, saw the Complete Coatings liner?

offroader

Postby offroader » November 5th, 2008, 1:07 pm

Call Glen 774-7425. He does Scorpion Lining

http://www.scorpioncoatings.com/automotive.asp

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2008, 2:00 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:HondaB20B, saw the Complete Coatings liner?

yeah saw a sample, saw a bright yellow one.................... damn it look good :D :D :D
and unlike the other coatings, this coating is heated up and applied. its actually HOT.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 30th, 2008, 1:21 pm

equipped2ripp, i ended up putting on the spray on liner from Complete coatings. they use a brand called FULL METEL JACKET. and its worth it. one of the best spray on liner application ive seen. they are now in morvant (same compound as Auto Guru). ended up putting on one of those flat fiber glass hard covers.....................it looked real real good but leaked no arse............... and ended up shifting and scratching up de van. end up going back by them and putting on de roll-n-lock. i feel alot safer now with things in de tray :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

and ahh could put on meh chrome roll bar now.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: couldnt put on one with the hard cover i had on

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » December 1st, 2008, 6:01 am

Did mine myself last two weeks...

Took 2 days - one to prepare (removing paint, down to metal) and the next day to aply the coating (took like 2 hrs)

I would post some pics of the final product.

The product landed cost me less than $1k and i saved a couple thousand.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 1st, 2008, 7:27 am

Look out for the pics. :twisted:

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » December 1st, 2008, 8:51 am

Mr. Cheese wrote:Did mine myself last two weeks...

Took 2 days - one to prepare (removing paint, down to metal) and the next day to aply the coating (took like 2 hrs)

I would post some pics of the final product.

The product landed cost me less than $1k and i saved a couple thousand.

Here are some pics of the finished product -

Postby Greypatch » December 1st, 2008, 9:26 am

well done cheese...looking good..ah guess u eh putting no cover on the van...

so wham to bed liners fellas ?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » December 1st, 2008, 9:39 am

Greypatch wrote:well done cheese...looking good..ah guess u eh putting no cover on the van...

Nah Patch, I eh putting no cover.....
Wah thinking about putting in one ah dem "snap on type" leather covers but i feel if i do that someone my like it more than me....

Postby Greypatch » December 1st, 2008, 10:55 am

like what i have ...nah dem would not theif it...

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » December 1st, 2008, 11:49 pm

good work . what solution did you use for this application ?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » December 2nd, 2008, 5:59 am

4X4 Trinidad wrote:good work . what solution did you use for this application ?

No solution used...
Just a roller brush. The roller brush has pores that "pick up" the suspended rubber particles and spreads them evenly.
For fastness sake, i tried a paint brush and it did not work...

Postby Greypatch » December 2nd, 2008, 7:52 am

you can take some pj pallie

4X4 Trinidad

Liner Solution

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » December 2nd, 2008, 9:51 am

understood, what we meant is what chemical did you use for the liner ?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 2nd, 2008, 1:02 pm

Boss job there Cheese,

btw - where you get those rear light chrome pieces?

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » December 3rd, 2008, 3:31 pm

just found out ft farfan has a kit simmilar to what he used comes with everything including the roller/aplicator for 1000$ plan to check it as soon as i get time...

Postby Greypatch » December 3rd, 2008, 7:45 pm

seems N&M is using a Viper product ave 3k

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » December 4th, 2008, 10:15 am

breds hole up ah sec deh, honestly Glen Pontiflex (rally's black box lancer) Scorpion linings, $2800 and honestly I find that is the cheapest I've seen and it wukking

774-7425/342-2675

tell him wesly recommended you.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » December 4th, 2008, 12:06 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:Boss job there Cheese,

btw - where you get those rear light chrome pieces?

Bought it about 3 yrs ago and had it on my other hilux...
Took it out and put it on this one...
Got it from the guy Jason who sells accessories and does the spray linings. contact # 683-1101
When i bought mine, he had 2 in stock for the hilux.
Only other vehicle i saw with the same rear light grill is a Fraud Ranger in south.
Paid $600 for the pair

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”