Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods
wagonrunner wrote: lemme repeat an unpopular statement.
classing vehicles for dex, by p/w makes no sense, unless their handling is identical, or close.
but in similar chassis, they would be competitive in the same class.
me wrote:Is this done by a power to weight ratio?
and if so, what are the p/w ratios for your classes?
this is something we have been using for autocross purposes. this is vehicle weigh in pounds, divided by wheel horsepower (lb/bhp)
scca wrote:The classing is done practically. A new car is placed roughly based on its performance potential, and then moved up or down based on how well it does compard to other cars in the class it's in in the Nationals competition, i.e. driven by the best drivers. This reclassing can continue over some yea
me wrote:any idea where i can get that info though?
scca wrote:There is a link to SCCA on my classification s page, right at the top.
But as I said, P/W ratio is not used.
wagonrunner wrote:sirbill,
i can only speak using the little experience i have.
a B13 same engine and drive train as my wingroad, both stock from factory, handle very differently.
musbe nissan again.
yet, a honda civic hatch, and a civic sedan, and a civic coupe also expereince some difference in handling, again using the same powertrain.
no mods there either, and yet....................
moving on to a libero 4wd wagon, and a 1800GSR...............same drivetrain, and yet....................
wagonrunner wrote:yet, a honda civic hatch, and a civic sedan, and a civic coupe also expereince some difference in handling, again using the same powertrain.
wagonrunner wrote:reiXmann wrote:wagonrunner wrote:yet, a honda civic hatch, and a civic sedan, and a civic coupe also expereince some difference in handling, again using the same powertrain.
different suspensions,different body geometrics each model has another submodel with different specifications
thanks for explaining that.
so therefore in accordance with this thread...........................
bil, i agree with most of what you wrote above.
i disagree however, that p/w is the end all, and most perfect method classing cars, that's all.
taking reixmanns point of teh differences in suspension geometry, and magnifying it now amongst different manufacturers.
and taking your comment (lightly), does this mean we should have a Honda dex?
Or is the result we're tryign to acheive, you can bring ANYTHING, and run it where it fits with as little mechanical disadvantage as possible.
bil, i agree with most of what you wrote above.
i disagree however, that p/w is the end all, and most perfect method classing cars, that's all.
taking reixmanns point of teh differences in suspension geometry, and magnifying it now amongst different manufacturers.
and taking your comment (lightly), does this mean we should have a Honda dex?
Or is the result we're tryign to acheive, you can bring ANYTHING, and run it where it fits with as little mechanical disadvantage as possible.
SR wrote:one of the reasons why i dont bother to compete in dex anymore due to the consistant fighting of people trying to remain in a lower class so they could win but at the same time discouraging newcomers
and the new person sitting on the sidelines is only saying to himslef.........i wah compete but i cant afford all those mods them fellas have in my class........
MG Man wrote:I think the consensus is both you and bill have valid points. That said, no matter what the system, there will always be a compromise, and there will always be cars that defy easy classification. I think Bill's point is that the P/W system might be the 'best fit'
I tend to agree. Take the HSR for example. Clearly ESP based on P/W.....the brakes, tyres and everything else are outdated. Put it against say, a SiR Civic, and the Civic has some clear advantages, such as ABS and better tyre choices. HOWEVER, it would be unfair to class the HSR in anything other than ESP......I just have to try harder....so....long and short is, cars that defy simple classing are what they are. It is up to the owners to decide whether to compete.
Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”