The Official CS Lancer Thread!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

nes123

Postby nes123 » April 30th, 2009, 8:15 am

I did a faster launch than stock from a standing stop by first pulling off in L, then when revs hit 6000rpm, shifted to Ds mode, then when I decided the speed I wamnted to maintain shifted into D mode......so this on youtube performed on a CY 2.0 GT w/CVT....guy claimed to have shaved a full second off his 0-60 time...I however confirm the CS has a faster 0-60 also, don't knw numbers, just how fast the needle reaches 120km/h faster than usual

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 30th, 2009, 8:23 am

right right...fellas in here have a L gear too. i dont!
then allyuh should be experimenting with Ds.

nes123, i get a better gain when i shift at 5200-5500 rpms.
try it and let me kno :mrgreen:

P3UNG

Postby P3UNG » April 30th, 2009, 9:15 am

the manual says that Ds is Drive Sporty...apart from the use for deceleration. It provide a lil extra punch but it also makes the transmission more responsive for acceleration n deceleration.
have to agree with idle, i have tried using it and have gotten a better take off in Ds and switch the D when i hit 140.
never tried the L take off...

boost double check the manual..for confirmation on what i just said...not sayin u wrong, just sayin the manual went into more about the Ds gear than just hill driving.

...it burns more gas in that mode...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 30th, 2009, 12:50 pm

sounds like something worth trying just to see the results

nes123

Postby nes123 » April 30th, 2009, 12:58 pm

idlemind wrote:right right...fellas in here have a L gear too. i dont!
then allyuh should be experimenting with Ds.

nes123, i get a better gain when i shift at 5200-5500 rpms.
try it and let me kno :mrgreen:

Yeah man I usually keep the revs at 5500rpm since this is the peak engine torque upon take off, but when I reach speeds of lets say 100km/h i let the need swing to 6000rpm as this is peak hp, as opposed to torque which is what ya need for maximum accel since the wheels are already turning fast

Try launching at L gear then switch to Ds let me knw how ya find it responds....as I said the speedo reaches 60km/h or thereabout in L gear so when I switch to Ds at this point I press the gas peddle even harder until I reach to 6000rpm

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 30th, 2009, 1:03 pm

no L gear

QG

Postby QG » April 30th, 2009, 1:53 pm

I pull off on L as well and I can hold in Ds for a long period...lol

So my Lancer is back on the road, I bought an ACDelco non maintenance battery.
It is 700 cranking amps....IS THAT SAFE?

Postby ronsin1 » April 30th, 2009, 1:59 pm

150Km @ 3100 PRM

1.5GDI

nes123

Postby nes123 » April 30th, 2009, 7:22 pm

QG wrote:I pull off on L as well and I can hold in Ds for a long period...lol

So my Lancer is back on the road, I bought an ACDelco non maintenance battery.
It is 700 cranking amps....IS THAT SAFE?

your stock alternator on generates roughly 80amps (open to correction) so that's all u will get.....u may just get a slightly faster tumble when ya starting up.

IDLEMIND......dam....I 4got ya don't have L gear..but I hear ya point

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 30th, 2009, 9:05 pm

for the cedia 850 cranking amps is recommended i think

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 30th, 2009, 9:47 pm

anyone wanting to see how Ds performs, come thru @ Dex on Sunday

slick

Postby slick » May 1st, 2009, 12:53 am

ronsin1 wrote:150Km @ 3100 PRM

1.5GDI

yeah hoss...it don't take much rpm to reach high speeds with the cs3, unless u want to accelerate fast...if u doing medium pace acceleration u cud easily hit 130km and stay below 3000rpm

got another question about the CS3...how come some of them come with the old time radio antenna? i noticed that some time ago....always thought they all came with the newer kind of antenna just above the back windshield...i find that new type antenna should be standard.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 8:25 am

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

this has to be one of the reasons why i love my CS slick.

most jdm lancers came with the antennas over the drivers side door.
most sdm came with it over the back windscreen.
and all usdm lancers have them over the back windscreen.

its all about the trim level. the higher end CS has the stubby antenna.

mine on the other hand.
is engraved into the back windscreen and is part of the defogger.
one of the main ways of spotting a touring is to look for the missing antenna(s).

nes123

Postby nes123 » May 1st, 2009, 10:26 am

idlemind, don't suppose ya knw how good de reception is with dem OEM antenna over de back windscreen?

mine has de cheap antenna by de jiver side door...tinking about upgrading...fedup hearing static over de maracas hills

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 10:55 am

no actually i dont, i can only vouch for mine.

but your driver side antenna has the advantage of it being extended. the stubby one cant and even both of them supposedly can pick up a better range than mine judging on height and projection to pick up radiowaves.

although i never had a problem with mine @ maracas or even heading to matelot.
there are some stations though, that cant project their signal that remote.

where mine lacks in height it makes up in the ability to receive broadcast, there is a signal transceiver at the top left and bottom right corners of the windscreen.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 1st, 2009, 11:11 am

ok so after all is said. how do we use ds and L to help accelerate?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 11:26 am

come dex and see.

venum

Postby venum » May 1st, 2009, 11:42 am

idlemind wrote:where mine lacks in height it makes up in the ability to receive broadcast

:twisted:

too easy

all three SDM in my charge have the retractable one ove rteh driver side door

even the 2004

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 11:46 am

Image-man always looking for Image-man comments eh

slick

Postby slick » May 1st, 2009, 11:52 am

idlemind wrote::mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

this has to be one of the reasons why i love my CS slick.

most jdm lancers came with the antennas over the drivers side door.
most sdm came with it over the back windscreen.
and all usdm lancers have them over the back windscreen.

its all about the trim level. the higher end CS has the stubby antenna.

mine on the other hand.
is engraved into the back windscreen and is part of the defogger.
one of the main ways of spotting a touring is to look for the missing antenna(s).

scene...was thinking of replacing the one i have cuz the rubber near the base kinda wear out/dry out and it cracking

i kno there is a shorter version to the standard one...evo version or something...would that work the same way?
does it fit exactly?
and how is it removed and installed?

was thinking of putting up a vortex generator one time...what do they use to stick them on?
can it cause damage to the body of the vehicle later on like with water settling underneath it etc.?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 12:16 pm

slick, it shouldnt be a problem to install the stubby one.
u gonna have to get the entire wiring though and prepare to take off the roofing and one of the pillars. ul have to bore a hole in the roof.

and the vortex generator should give it a nice finish.

ive been looking for vortex generators without the cut out for the antenna.
know anywhere?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 12:22 pm

vortex generators are stuck on and some of the better ones have a seating that is held by the roof runners.

the antenna should have a rubber seal and believe me i have seen these antennas broken by wind already so be careful what u getting yourself into.

as far as i kno DM has in stock and weird prices as per usual.

Shaolin

Postby Shaolin » May 1st, 2009, 3:34 pm

Hi guys i have a tranny question:

I have a high mileage 01 CS3 196k on the odo... oil changed every 5k (shell) and transmission oil flushed and changed every 15k (mitsu spIII). I Recently changed every belt, seal, coilpack, plug wire, plug, engine mount and idle control motor, all parts used are from DM and car is worked on by a DM mechanic. I real anal bout maintaining this car as i intend to be buried with it.

My issue is that when the car is on an incline and i put it in reverse, the car jerks a bit. I dont have any problems what so ever on level ground, gears dont take long to engage and the car is never parked on an incline for any extended period, just long enough for me to jump out and open/close my gate. Any ideas as to what might be going on here?

Thanks in advance for any and all info!!!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 3:48 pm

"During the running in period or immediately after reconnection of the battery, slight shift shock may occur when the selector lever is moved from the N (NEUTRAL) position to the D (DRIVE) or R (REVERSE) position. This shift shock is caused by the loss of adaptation data from the electronic control system's memory; it does not indicate a fault. To restore smooth shifting, apply the parking brake, hold down the brake pedal, and move the selector lever between the N (NEUTRAL) and D (DRIVE) or R (REVERSE) positions a few times."

page 5-9 of the manual.

i get this sometimes too, i believe the shift lock is engaged when the car rolls back after u stop to open/close the gate. this could mean the hand brake is no gripping hard enough.

try this, pull the hand brake as far as possible next time u do this. then put the car in N or P, come back and engage D or R then drp the hand brake and see if u get the jerk

venum

Postby venum » May 1st, 2009, 4:41 pm

Always mash foot brake to come to stop

then put the car in N

then pull teh hand brake up

release the footbrake and allow teh car to roll slightly until stopping itself

then shift into P

teh shift lock activates as idle said (second sensible thing he eva say)

if the shift lock activates and then the car rolls, you will get a hard shift\jerk when the gear is changed to R afterward

anothe reason to always have yur handbrake adjusted

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 1st, 2009, 4:56 pm

whats the difference between the white instrument panel and the black instrument panel in the cs2?

One person told me that the white one is the singapore model and that the black is japanese, but i saw a black one in the bamboo and the guy said that it was singapore but his own didnt have a GDI light on it and he said its for the GDI so im a bit confused.

nes123

Postby nes123 » May 1st, 2009, 4:57 pm

196,000KM on a CS3.....is the engine running with full compression?...That is impressive I love the CS3 but I was planning on selling before I hit 100k as I fraid to get any Tranny problems....mind you I am religious with the oil changes etc.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 1st, 2009, 11:29 pm

Just giving you guys a heads up on the Recall on Lancer Fan Controller

Postby ronsin1 » May 1st, 2009, 11:34 pm

idlemind wrote:
ive been looking for vortex generators without the cut out for the antenna.
know anywhere?

check ryansouthman he can get one for you

Shaolin

Postby Shaolin » May 2nd, 2009, 6:16 am

idlemind wrote:"During the running in period or immediately after reconnection of the battery, slight shift shock may occur when the selector lever is moved from the N (NEUTRAL) position to the D (DRIVE) or R (REVERSE) position. This shift shock is caused by the loss of adaptation data from the electronic control system's memory; it does not indicate a fault. To restore smooth shifting, apply the parking brake, hold down the brake pedal, and move the selector lever between the N (NEUTRAL) and D (DRIVE) or R (REVERSE) positions a few times."

page 5-9 of the manual.

i get this sometimes too, i believe the shift lock is engaged when the car rolls back after u stop to open/close the gate. this could mean the hand brake is no gripping hard enough.

try this, pull the hand brake as far as possible next time u do this. then put the car in N or P, come back and engage D or R then drp the hand brake and see if u get the jerk

Makes sense because the battery was indeed disconnected recently (dropped tranny to replace rear engine seal, tranny oil pump seal and both axle seals). I dont really like pulling the handbrake high up because some mechanic warned me about stretching the cable and it just stuck with me... Might as well full service my brakes now anyway. Thanks man !!

@nes123, absolutely no problems with the engine, no knocking or any wierd sounds and i think it was compression tested 2 oil changes ago and everything was good. the 4g18 is a really good engine and with proper maintenance and prompt fluid changes,there is no reason why you wont get a long trouble free life out of it.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”