<<U.E.F.A Champions league 2008-2009>>

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 23rd, 2009, 12:21 pm

G. Neville and Rio Ferdinand injured... will they be fit to play the first leg semi's against Arsenal???

Neville is prolly out, though he's not the first choice RB atm...Rio is not injured, but played 120 mins in his first game back in the semi final vs Everton, so was rested altogether for yday's game...

Postby teems1 » April 25th, 2009, 1:06 pm

Spurs 2 - Man Utd 0

after 33 mins.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 1:24 pm

^exciting game though...pretty much even but spurs have gotten two breaks and utd haven't had any...should be a good second half...hopin for a repeat of 01...

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 25th, 2009, 2:03 pm

talk about rooney and ronaldo stepping up their game... tevez was a great move

silver racer

Postby silver racer » April 25th, 2009, 2:25 pm

um 5 -2 utd!!!! wat a com back yo!!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 25th, 2009, 2:28 pm

"2-0 and you fcuked it up" lol bwahahahaha

glory glory man united!!!!!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 2:31 pm

Never....EVER...rule out Manchester United! 8)

We'll never die...We'll never die...
We'll keep the Red Flag flying high!
'Cause Man Utd will never die! :mrgreen:

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » April 25th, 2009, 6:35 pm

i can easily resort to being a 'hater' and comment on certain events *cough* bad referee decision *cough* but i will instead commend utd on an EPIC comeback. well done :wink:

Postby Maserati » April 25th, 2009, 6:39 pm

lol i checked online and saw 2-0 for the spurs then checked back saw man utd pulled back one and though thats itman utd will win it

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 6:46 pm

However Gomez as seen in every angle of replay hooked Carrick by the boot, prolly he intended to play the ball but he missed. Lucky he got only a yellow card.

It wasn't a penalty...his fingers touched the ball and pushed it away...on the other hand, Ronaldo's first free kick was clearly blocked by a Spurs' hand, so it goes both ways...it wasn't inside the box though and was early in the game so noone cared...also if you look carefully, the ball seems to have come off Bent's arm when he jumped around Rio for the first goal...

And yes...liverpool didn't deserve a free kick for the first goal, and Hull should've gotten a foul initally in the play that led to the second...
As managers always say, these things even themselves out over time..last week we didn't get a clear penalty, and last year Harry Redknapp got a penalty and Kusczak given a red for a challenge that was worthy of neither...
Doesn't matter because the way Utd came out in the second half, it was only a matter of time before they scored one way or the other...and just as vs AV, once one went in the flood gates were always going to open!

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » April 25th, 2009, 6:51 pm

Take yuh compliment and hush na :lol:

justice served perhaps taking into consideration the penalty that never was in the fa cup semi. doesn't get more stone wall than that one.

the point i was alluding too though was that utd always seem to get these calls that could go either way at old trafford while visiting teams rarely ever get these sort of calls. the referee, as is the case with many others, let the atmosphere and crowd get to him in a pivotal decision in the game and the title race.

i wouldn't say however that that call is what caused utd to win. they were amazing in the second half and i felt it was only a matter of time before spurs crumbled under the pressure.
Last edited by equal2zero on April 25th, 2009, 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 6:56 pm

the point i was eluding too though was that utd always seem to get these calls that could go either way at old trafford while visiting teams rarely ever get these sort of calls.

WRONG...the difference is that when Utd do get a questionable call, it is blown up in the press...there was a game earlier in the season that Utd should have gotten two stonewall penalties, at OT, and neither were given...they went on to win 1-0 with a late goal so it didn't matter...

I could name 3 games off the top of my head from the first half of the season where horrible referee calls allowed liverpool to win in the last 15 mins of a game, but noone really cared because it was so early in the season and noone realistically expected them to be challenging for the title...the media highlighted it for a day or two and then they all went away...

Look again, Carrick touched the ball right before gomez got to it
and Gomez touched it right after Carrick's touch...even SAF admitted it wasn't a PK... :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 7:01 pm

pioneer wrote:http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=640427&sec=transfers&cc=3888

Kaka might come to Utd :shock:

Its based around an article in the Sun, which in turn was based around comments he made last year about his admiration for Utd (Giggs, Scholes and Rooney in particular)...
Would love if it happens, but doubtul...Ronaldo would hafta be sold, and in that case bids for Kaka and Ribery are the most likely candidates...

aR&D

Postby aR&D » April 25th, 2009, 7:07 pm

anyone has a link to the taped ManU - T'Spurs match today?

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » April 25th, 2009, 7:15 pm

worksux101, the pens at OT thing is a commonly held view among fans of opposing teams and would always be whether it was due to press sensationalism or not :lol:

don't have any stats but i know that this season a few pens have been awarded to visiting teams at OT including liverpool who i agree have had far more favorable calls than utd this season especially pertaining to red cards. something like 7 players have been sent off for tackles on alonso alone wtf :lol: . i don't think a penalty has been awarded to an away team a anfield all season either.

why we even talking about liverpool anyway? the title race is, in all intents and purposes, over as the only team i see taking points off utd in the remaining games is arsenal.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 7:20 pm

^Nah there are still quite a few tricky ties left...even Hull away when you think about it, because realistically if you remove the bad calls today, Hull stood a good chance against Liverpool, even with only 10 men!

The pens at OT view is only because Utd have won so much for so long, and with today's media and cameras its easy to pick up on...
Case in point, Utd went into the 06/07 season not having won anything but a Carling Cup for 3 years...for the first few months they rocketed off to a huge lead, and noone cared about any decisions going for or against them, because they thought Utd's success was finished and it was Chelsea's turn...
All eyes were on Stamford Bridge until they realised that Utd were suddenly serious contenders again...same this year with Liverpool and Anfield...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 25th, 2009, 7:21 pm

aR&D wrote:anyone has a link to the taped ManU - T'Spurs match today?

Will get you a download link soon :)

JBL

Postby JBL » April 25th, 2009, 10:22 pm

da game end up 5-2 ent???? man U win

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 26th, 2009, 10:56 am

think man utd's next 2 games should be quite comfortable.... and fellas NEVER believe anything the SUN publishes

JBL

Postby JBL » April 26th, 2009, 11:08 am

JBL wrote:da game end up 5-2 ent???? man U win

naaah...wah make u think so :roll:

lucky guess

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 26th, 2009, 11:56 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:think man utd's next 2 games should be quite comfortable.... and fellas NEVER believe anything the SUN publishes

The next 2 games will be tough...away game to Middlesborough who are fighting for survival, and Utd will hafta field a weaker team as its barely 2 days after the UCL semi, plus 3 days before the second leg...the next game is the Manchester Derby...always a classic...

The Sun goes both ways...either they're wrong, or they're right and you don't realise it till months after...i'm thinking they're wrong about this thoug :lol:

Postby noshownogo » April 27th, 2009, 12:22 pm

Klinsmann dismissed as Bayern Munich coach

German champions Bayern Munich have sacked coach Jurgen Klinsmann and appointed the experienced Jupp Heynckes as his replacement for the final five games of the Bundesliga season.

See what Barcelona does cause :twisted: :lol:

Postby Maserati » April 27th, 2009, 12:32 pm

:lol: :lol: they have really played poorly of recent too they lost 1-0 this weekend

Postby Maserati » April 27th, 2009, 1:08 pm

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/ucl/fi ... index.html
FC Barcelona will be hoping for a change of fortune when they take on Chelsea FC in the first leg of their UEFA Champions League semi-final.

• The Spanish side have exited the competition against English opponents in the past two seasons – losing to Manchester United FC in 2007/08 and Liverpool FC the year before – and won one of their past six games against Premier League teams. Barça have also failed to win in their past four home games against English opposition.

• Barcelona coach Josep Guardiola would prefer to concentrate on the statistic that shows his side are the leading scorers in this season's UEFA Champions League with 29 goals as he aims to take them to the final in his first season as coach – repeating the step he took as a player with the club in 1992 and 1994.

• Chelsea will have to defend better than the last two visitors to Barcelona – Olympique Lyonnais and FC Bayern München, who conceded five and four goals respectively – to secure a second successive final appearance. Yet the London team will take heart from draws on their last two visits to the Camp Nou and, in Guus Hiddink, have a manager well acquainted with this stage of the competition having both won and lost semi-finals with PSV Eindhoven.

real pressure to pick a team for this fantasy football this rounds yes..I eh know who d ass to select

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » April 27th, 2009, 1:30 pm

Maserati wrote:real pressure to pick a team for this fantasy football this rounds yes..I eh know who d ass to select

pick 3 barca defenders. best chance of keeping a clean sheet at home. second is man utd so pick van der sar and another defender. make sure you have messi, lampard and ronaldo 8-)

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 27th, 2009, 7:49 pm

Allyuh underestimating Chelsea big time :lol:

Postby SUPAstarr » April 27th, 2009, 8:03 pm

aint it the truth :cry:

Postby SUPAstarr » April 27th, 2009, 8:16 pm

i want chelsea to lose jus to shut up half that radio station

Postby Maserati » April 27th, 2009, 8:33 pm

worksux101 wrote:Allyuh underestimating Chelsea big time :lol:

lol is ok if WE do once the team doesn't 8-)

pioneer wrote:I know :(

barca is ah pop dong side when it matters

sigh

lol you stay there and feel so.

BTW Barca VS Madrid this weekend :P