280zx project

ninja

280zx project

Postby ninja » June 8th, 2009, 1:15 pm

Looking for some ideas
- rb20det - so far added Haltech - injectors - extractor - turbo - clutch - intercooler - sweet 18 staggered
What is a good diff to use?
Last edited by ninja on June 8th, 2009, 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » June 8th, 2009, 2:06 pm

loving the manifold... and nice widetrack wheels, Axis right?

What offsets and widths are you using?
Are the injectors stock ? wiring and rail are deceiving.

Postby Maserati » June 8th, 2009, 2:20 pm

looking good man

not feeling the exhaust barrel though :oops:

ninja

Postby ninja » June 8th, 2009, 5:47 pm

wheels axis - offset is 20 - 8 front - 9 back
exhaust barrel not line up yet - 3' inlet straight through - very light 2 lbs
injectors are 650 cc
Work now start on car

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » June 8th, 2009, 9:50 pm

order

rims

Gaijin

Postby Gaijin » July 14th, 2009, 7:31 pm

Hey man What's up? An old friend of mine has one with an rb20det automatic tranny which is in good condition, and his wife read the riot act to him and told him he needs to get rid of one of his cars as he is coming down in age so he chose to part with the 280 and keep his cifiero with the same engine in it. Now I want to know what is a good price for it and is it a wise buy? Holla at me.

basudai

Postby basudai » August 2nd, 2009, 9:21 pm

HEY MAN... NICE RIDE,,,, I THINK YOU ARE DEFINITELY HEADING THE RIGHT DIRECTION WITH THE MODS.

BUT TELL ME HOW MUCH BOOST YOU INTEND TO HIT THERE.... DID YOU GO WITH METAL HEAD GASKET? WHAT ABOUT CON ROD BOLTS?

WITH GREATER BOOST PLUS IF U GOING WITH NOS I THINK YOU SHOULD CONSIDER THESE.

I TOO AM BUILDING A RB20. IS THAT A LOCALLY MADE PLENUM OR IS IT A R.I.P.S. ?
I MADE MINES OUTA A RB25 GREDDY.... ALOT OF WELDING BUT IT LOOKS GREAT SO FAR. GOIN WITH 26 INJECTORS AND TUNED BRAIN,,,, CANT AFFORD MANAGEMENT RIGHT NOW :( BUT I HAVE A AFC NEO AT LEAST :)

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » August 2nd, 2009, 9:28 pm

^^^^Basu....No shouting man switch off your caps.... :wink:

Great project ..keep it going...loving the front view and the look of those rims...

navinmadhoo

Postby navinmadhoo » August 3rd, 2009, 8:56 am

ninja,

Looking for some ideas
- rb20det - so far added Haltech - injectors - extractor - turbo - clutch - intercooler - sweet 18 staggered
What is a good diff to use?

hey my suggestion would be to use a skyline diff R32-R34 complete rear sub-frame with diff and suspension works, or the S13-S15 rear sub- frame u may need to change the diff only depending on your power output.

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » August 3rd, 2009, 2:00 pm

Nice... where was the rims purchased????

Postby 7143 » August 4th, 2009, 11:02 am

go with the any of the gtr skylines diff....t hey take lots of power and stand up strong...nice project man lookin good....

basudai

Postby basudai » August 6th, 2009, 3:55 am

lol sorry nah didnt realize caps made such an impression....

But yes agreed skyline rear end is the best bet.

Spermie

Postby Spermie » August 10th, 2009, 10:17 am

you shouldnt have no problem choosing a diff-

ent those pictures were taken by sonny

talk nah- dem fellas have ability :twisted:

SEVin

Postby SEVin » August 10th, 2009, 3:52 pm

Wow...this looks amazing so far..

What about have a decent catback..like a full catback (non canon style)

I know you want to go faster but do you plan on modifying your brake system?

Otherwise...Im jealous :oops:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 10th, 2009, 7:40 pm

I don't think a Catback and muffler style is going to have much bearing on his numbers.
From the pic you can see what looks like a 3" downpipe which is already good flow for his turbine outlet.
Is is stepped up/down at all? what is the AR / trim on the turbo?
A decent addition is getting some nice coilpacks but check and see integration with your Haltech.
Are you using any type of oil cooler?

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » August 14th, 2009, 3:07 pm

You sure das a 280 z, looks more like a 240 z... but its sweet non the less!!!

Postby 7143 » August 14th, 2009, 4:36 pm

josh.dookie wrote:You sure das a 280 z, looks more like a 240 z... but its sweet non the less!!!

ah boi but it is a 280zx.....like the kit have you tie up.....

josh.dookie

Postby josh.dookie » August 17th, 2009, 12:17 pm

word word, is the kit... i love my fairlady's :D