question about the legacy

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

civic minded

question about the legacy

Postby civic minded » June 28th, 2009, 9:34 pm

The 2005/6 RORO legacy GT sedan - is this a good ride? what are the problems associated with this model?

reason i am asking cause i am getting a good price on this model and wondering if it make sense to invest in this ride.

thanks

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 29th, 2009, 12:46 am

I had a 03 LGT and it was pure bliss, no regrets or problems whatsoever, take care of it and it will take care of you :D :D :D

It depends on what you mean by invest though, if you wanna buy it to sell it and make a profit, then now might not be the best time for that, if you want to have some fun, keep it for a while and get a fair price at that point in time then go for it. :D :D

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 29th, 2009, 7:12 pm

so it is a good ride then - I've been reading some post in this forum and i didn't noticed much problems associated with these - only saw a power steering pump problem. How about parts etc - will i get these in the bamboo?

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » June 29th, 2009, 7:14 pm

the two main probs with the car bro , the power steering pump and the warping of the front rotors. Aside from that there are alot of knowledgeable people on the forum to help u out along the way...... jst pm me if u need any more info k.

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » June 29th, 2009, 7:29 pm

hehe so am Arif is an expert now eh? interesting... ^^^ well sir i guess i go have to call u for some guidance then lol

civic minded, i doubt u wud wana be buying parts for ur legacy in the bamboo...well..maybe body parts...but other than that u shud put only the best new stuff in ur ride...and u can get it at massey or motorist
Last edited by jadakiss on June 30th, 2009, 5:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » June 29th, 2009, 8:48 pm

jadakiss wrote:hehe Arif is an expert now eh ^^^ well sir i guess i go have to call u for some guidance then lol

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » June 30th, 2009, 5:46 am

lol oh gosh man Issa..oh gosh...i cyah even make ah comment with u on my back :?

Is lix for u on saturday!

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 30th, 2009, 10:05 am

I done tell allyuh how to solve that Power Steering problem already.........Just crack resevior cover and drive the car for a 2 days, let the system bleed istself off gradually. :| :| :|

I changed my pump and still had the same problems and is only after I started doin this problem solved.........................

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » June 30th, 2009, 12:30 pm

i now hearing about this power steering problem

can you please give some details as to what happens, what goes bad
and how can it be prevented

thanks

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 30th, 2009, 12:42 pm

In my case the steering would get hard at random intervals, in most cases after a high speed run and then it would return to normal.....My guess is at the high rpms sometimes, somehow air is sucked into the system and cannot get out, cracking he seal for a couple days allows the system to bleed istelf as you drive and hence take away the problem. Bleeding it any other way will NOT get out all of the air, I tried. And no cracking the seal will not make it overflow. After I did that a couple times it stopped all together.
Last edited by Bacon on June 30th, 2009, 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 30th, 2009, 12:53 pm

Canadian Bacon, good to know, thanks.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » June 30th, 2009, 2:39 pm

Canadian Bacon, what year and model legacy is that?

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 30th, 2009, 2:54 pm

I trying to be discreet here, as the car is no longer mine. I just wanted to mention that there is an easy fix to this problem that some of us experience and I did not want civic minded to be discouraged.

Without going into specifics, it is one like yours.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 30th, 2009, 5:57 pm

i am not familiar with this ride so just wanted to get some info - i really like this car and wanted to find out the cost of ownership. Usual problems and what sort of issues associated with this ride etc. Resale value seems to be good for these models

scooby

Postby scooby » July 1st, 2009, 9:52 am

i cost me two set of rotors and i talking DBAs people then to understand how to take care of them....

make sure the car is cold like dog nose before u wash it ....thats it ...lol

kind regards
Barry aka scooby aka scooby3539......lol

ps i need to buy me back a set right now :lol:

locorolla

Postby locorolla » July 6th, 2009, 12:07 pm

i dunno about anybody else, but i got my '05 Subaru Legacy from a RO/RO dealer in couva, it's been about a year and more now, and here are the problems so far:

* top radiator hose had to be changed along with hose clamps - approx. $200

* Rear hubs need to be changed (bearings) - approx. $800/side

* power steering pump needs to be changed - approx. $5000 - $6000

(all parts from Neal & Massy)

I suppose is my fault too eh, de car from Singapore as opposed to Japan, i think that is my major problem...............so if u getting a legacy, because they are really nice cars.......make sure it's manufactured in Japan, NOT Singapore

Hope that helps, any more info. i'll be glad to help out...............

mikey_c

Postby mikey_c » July 6th, 2009, 8:16 pm

Great topic. I'm getting an ok deal with a forester from Singapore, should that lower quality info by locorolla apply to me as well? Don't want a lemon and still have time to bail out. Any feedback appreciated. Thanks.

locorolla

Postby locorolla » July 7th, 2009, 4:47 pm

So far as has been my experience, any car from Japan always costs more than a car from Singapore (given all other things equal e.g. features, accessories, options etc.)

Maybe it's coincidence, but i always find that the Japan cars are more reliable, the parts last longer and they are more easily available from Bamboo and other places (de Singapore cars have lil different line-up for certain parts), but daz jus me.........

Good luck with de search mikey

Return to “SUBARU”