363 whp / 351 ft-lbs - Evo IX Turbo on Evo VI (Pump Gas)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 14th, 2009, 12:48 pm

^ ent, if you getting that I want in

hmph

Postby hmph » July 14th, 2009, 12:57 pm

looking for more ppl lol...

i wonder if i could make it and sell it under the radar..... :lol:

honestly though i trying speed density with my car to see what happening, it would be nice to be MAF less.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » July 14th, 2009, 2:25 pm

16G ftw

BURNZ !

Postby BURNZ ! » July 14th, 2009, 9:56 pm

Yea Boi ...I Does Deal Up With Rel Fas Kiar Thing.....

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » July 15th, 2009, 9:01 pm

R. Mutt wrote:more than a 37R? On what motor MaelstroM?

stock bore 2.0 with Ross 9.0 CR

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 15th, 2009, 9:22 pm

^ there is no way a 37R should be making such low power.... unless ure running like 10psi

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » July 16th, 2009, 9:21 am

^^^ 18psi actually...I know this.. :cry:
I get that reaction a lot when I go on the forums :oops:
What I will say in my defence is that I am no tuner so when my tuner says that is all he could get safely, I say no problem.
It does hurt to see ppl on the forums making 500+ whp with similar setups, but I would prefer to live with the smaller hp than chance something dangerous.
I always hear of the horror stories where clients ask their tuners for more since they heard of this car making that, or they have a friend making this and that hp etc etc
Maybe you guys can help me out :mrgreen:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 16th, 2009, 10:24 am

why you dont run water/meth. I gained 30whp on my car with the meth, also the kits are a lot more reliable than in the past with failsafe etc.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 16th, 2009, 10:46 am

i have a meth kit. Read my sig.

I have it off for daily use tho... i dont have a fancy one that has electronic flow monitoring etc. until i do, it will not be my daily map.

MaelstroM

Postby MaelstroM » July 16th, 2009, 5:18 pm

^^^ oho it does make quite a diff.
Where can I get one and who can install please?
Thanks anyone.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » July 20th, 2009, 2:22 pm

I like what you're dong.. i too think along the same lines.. it's also a means of testing the owner/tuner's smarts too..

Forget the water injection .. the guys who are on that cant be compared to what you are doing.. (or me for that matter) .. the rules are no water/meth.. stock sized turbo.. no naws .. octane enhancer yes.. C16 ..No

Id like to see what power you'd put down on a DynoDynamics Dyno tho... any thoughts ?

I say let we see what 363 hp 4wd can do.. ??

hmph

Postby hmph » July 20th, 2009, 3:35 pm

saltydog, which W/M do you recommend??? one with a failsafe please..

i know it have a couple on the forum but most of them dont come with a failsafe

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » July 20th, 2009, 6:34 pm

I like the snow performance but cooling mist has a really good one as well.

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » July 22nd, 2009, 8:25 am

Ry boi.. yuh aint' take the bait.. lol

W2J

Postby W2J » July 22nd, 2009, 9:27 am

3rdGen7 wrote:I like what you're dong.. i too think along the same lines.. it's also a means of testing the owner/tuner's smarts too..

Forget the water injection .. the guys who are on that cant be compared to what you are doing.. (or me for that matter) .. the rules are no water/meth.. stock sized turbo.. no naws .. octane enhancer yes.. C16 ..No

Id like to see what power you'd put down on a DynoDynamics Dyno tho... any thoughts ?

I say let we see what 363 hp 4wd can do.. ??

with or without ctrl+X :lol:

btw how much you make I was told yesterday your car was on the rollers and was ctrl+x used :D

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » July 22nd, 2009, 9:16 pm

ctrl-x dyno yes :lol: :lol: :lol:

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 22nd, 2009, 10:45 pm

i was watchin the vid den i saw 91oct ah was like wdmc. das super den i scrolled down an saw the w/m an watched an saw dat it does make a difference. i would invest in a kit like dat ne time i have a turbo engine...

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 23rd, 2009, 4:52 am

the car made 363whp/351 ft-lbs on straight pump. The meth kit was not on.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » July 28th, 2009, 9:21 pm

Very excellent job guys.
I am sure they could of made another 10whp, but is the extra 10hp worth the risk?
Think about this...
Someone else might of tuned the car to 400hp, then filled up with a bad batch of gas on the drive home and b00m....

On a side note, is there a reason power/torque drops off after 6k rpm?
Is it because of the boost or is it a restriction somewhere?
Or is it the VE of this particular engine?

Again, I commend you guys for a great job.
I only saw about 13pulls, is that all it took to tune the car?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 29th, 2009, 8:03 am

hey man.

yes we only had 13. I did most of the tuning on the street... my 1st pull was already 315hp. The rest was just refining the timing map and turning up boost

On the stock turbo, the boost naturally tapers off due to the flow restrictions. I spike up 24/25psi @ 3.5krpm... @ peak power im down to about 22psi, and @ 7.5krpm im 19/20psi.

There isnt much I can do abou that taper, and on tha tnote, I wouldnt want to force more boost uptop, as the turbo will be out of efficiency range anyways. Big frame turbos, like the green or red hold 24-26psi all the way to 7.5krpm. Thats part of the reason for the better top end on those turbos.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 29th, 2009, 8:17 am

the car could not make 400whp on straight pump. The 363 was pushing a bit of timing.... local gas doesnt give much headroom... with some more octane the car will easily clear 400... thats what im working on now.

For the street, i back boost to about a 23psi spike, which yields about 350whp.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 29th, 2009, 8:27 am

When the car is on race gas it will hit 30psi only for a second and then taper. The car holds boost better with an upgraded wg (Forge) but like Mike said...you'll be doing the turbo a disservice if you hold more than 23psi to redline.

One thing that is noteworthy is while all other maps have been adjusted, the boost maps are untouched. With the exception of modifying the boost limit (so you don't hit the fuel cut) a mbc is being used. Many prefer this option to ebc arguing that the car is more responsive.

I know hmph is running ecu based boost control with success. From what I've read and researched this route allows you to hold boost more effectively and really fine tune your boost profile. At the end of the day I guess it depends on how much you linke to tweak and tinker with the car. Still I have no basis of comparison to say which is better.

I'm back in Trinidad next month for a few weeks. Mike and I will be hitting the dyno again. I'll post up the results when all is said and done.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » July 29th, 2009, 8:59 am

R. Mutt wrote:When the car is on race gas it will hit 30psi only for a second and then taper. The car holds boost better with an upgraded wg (Forge) but like Mike said...you'll be doing the turbo a disservice if you hold more than 23psi to redline.

One thing that is noteworthy is while all other maps have been adjusted, the boost maps are untouched.
With the exception of modifying the boost limit (so you don't hit the fuel cut) a mbc is being used. Many prefer this option to ebc arguing that the car is more responsive.

I am not familiar with evo and the tuning capabilities of your rom.
What are some of the other maps other than the boost map?

R. Mutt wrote:I know hmph is running ecu based boost control with success. From what I've read and researched this route allows you to hold boost more effectively and really fine tune your boost profile. At the end of the day I guess it depends on how much you linke to tweak and tinker with the car. Still I have no basis of comparison to say which is better.

I'm back in Trinidad next month for a few weeks. Mike and I will be hitting the dyno again. I'll post up the results when all is said and done.

Also what size wastegate spring is the stock evo ix turbo at?
If i had to guess, it would think 18psi.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 29th, 2009, 9:10 am

Big frame turbos, like the green or red

these are not big frame turbo's!!!!

Also what size wastegate spring is the stock evo ix turbo at?
If i had to guess, it would think 18psi

12psi!

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 29th, 2009, 10:32 am

B20VTEK wrote:I am not familiar with evo and the tuning capabilities of your rom.
What are some of the other maps other than the boost map?

You can categorize the tables as you want. My definition for Mike's Rom has 10 sections: Timing, Fuel, Knock, Limits, Turbo, Idle, Miscellaneous, MUT, Patches and Periphery.Most of the tables for this rom have been defined, although new ones are always popping up on evom.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 29th, 2009, 10:34 am

20g wheel gerrad..... relax.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » July 29th, 2009, 10:42 am

R. Mutt, Software looks very interesting, Is it free?

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 29th, 2009, 10:44 am

ecuflash is free. the cable costs the money.

evoscan, the logging software is 25usd i believe

Return to “MITSUBISHI”