GA15/16 burning oil

Ry an

GA15/16 burning oil

Postby Ry an » July 22nd, 2009, 3:30 pm

Just wanted to share my experience with fellow tuners.

I have a GA16 engine and i changed the valve cover seal and after that the car stated to burn oil and blue smoke was coming out from the exhaust. (Take into account the car was not burning oil before)

I thought the engine had to change and so did my mechanic.

I consulted one of my friends and he called his mechanic and he told him that there is a seal inside the cover(a small rectangular seal) that needs to be changed, I changed it and it stopped burning oil and there is no more blue smoke.This similar situation happened to a friend of mine with a GA15 engine.

Just wanted to share my experience so if a similar situation arises with you make sure to check that seal. It seems some mechanics do not know that there is a seal on the inside of the cover.

QG

Postby QG » July 22nd, 2009, 4:57 pm

Yeah this happened to a padna of mines with his AD QG15 engine as well.

But thanks for sharing the experience.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 22nd, 2009, 5:09 pm

yea used 2 happen 2 me.
changed the engine cover 2 the b13 metal but got probs putting back d pcv valve.
what the hell is the pcv valve anyway?

Postby wagonrunner » July 22nd, 2009, 8:49 pm

trinidrift wrote:what the hell is the pcv valve anyway?

http://autos.yahoo.com/maintain/repairq ... 079_1.html

Postby 7143 » July 22nd, 2009, 9:30 pm

good info....

dreadman

Postby dreadman » July 23rd, 2009, 2:03 am

i need to change d tappet cover in mines...ga15 b14 engine...lookin for d ga16 or local ga tappet cover

dreadman

Re: GA15/16 burning oil

Postby dreadman » July 23rd, 2009, 2:04 am

Ry an wrote:Just wanted to share my experience with fellow tuners.

I have a GA16 engine and i changed the valve cover seal and after that the car stated to burn oil and blue smoke was coming out from the exhaust. (Take into account the car was not burning oil before)

I thought the engine had to change and so did my mechanic.

I consulted one of my friends and he called his mechanic and he told him that there is a seal inside the cover(a small rectangular seal) that needs to be changed, I changed it and it stopped burning oil and there is no more blue smoke.This similar situation happened to a friend of mine with a GA15 engine.

Just wanted to share my experience so if a similar situation arises with you make sure to check that seal. It seems some mechanics do not know that there is a seal on the inside of the cover.

which mechanic is dat?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 23rd, 2009, 9:13 am

try d b13 metal it does go bolt for bolt(jus make sure yuh get d bolts and ting with it

dreadman

Postby dreadman » July 23rd, 2009, 9:17 am

^^^^ with d b13 can d seal(o ring seal around each spark plug hole) b changed? not like how d b14 is where it is attached on to the cover

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » July 23rd, 2009, 9:33 am

yes.d b14 is plastic n d b13 is rubba

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » April 3rd, 2011, 2:32 am

An old thread, but still want to say thanks to Ryan for the tip.

Last week I changed the valve cover gasket on my B14 GA15DE engine and after that I was burning so much oil that when I was pulling off after stopping at traffic lights, I was completely smoking out the car behind me I could barely see it. How embarrassing! I bought the small rectangular seal and replaced the original that got hard and brittle. No more burning oil.

I also had the spark plug seals break apart on me and I bought new seals before realizing they were not replaceable. I thought I had to replace the whole valve cover, but then I thought "what the hell, I bought seals I will find a way to make them work." I stuck the new seals on the panel under the originals with silicone gasket maker, then put back the cover on the engine while the silicone was still soft so the seals will align properly. It worked perfectly. No more oil in the spark plug tubes and no need to buy a new valve cover.

konartis

Postby konartis » April 5th, 2011, 2:30 pm

really good info...

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » September 27th, 2011, 3:05 pm

yea fellas
got a b13 with a ga16de
gettin a lil smoke and want to believe this is my problem
can you say where this part was bought?
i checked mathuras and they are stating that there is no such gasket under the valve cover
i aint think everyone on this forum wrong,so is either they dumb,deaf or just plain shupid

KIRAN-TEK

Postby KIRAN-TEK » October 17th, 2011, 9:02 pm

faiz in marabella have them for 40 sumtin dollars genuine.....

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » October 18th, 2011, 12:07 pm

Thanks kiran-tek
i actually got it at motorist,its called a gasket rocker valve
the part number is 13271-4m501 for those interested
took out my valve cover,slapped in the new one which was located below the valve cover, tightened everything back up and i was back in a gear
no smoke since.
This is a great post,should be noted by all nissan lovers.caz apparently the seal is located on the B13,B14 and B15's

azharmohammed0

Postby azharmohammed0 » October 28th, 2011, 6:42 pm

You could add a GA14 to this post as well...i had the same exact problem with me engine after i change the tappit cover seals..i talked to 2 mechanics who both say time to change the engine..if my partner didnt show me this post i would of wasted so much money on a new engine..btw i believe its called a breather seal...a lil rectangular shape and cost me $50 for it

Jerron_speed

Postby Jerron_speed » September 15th, 2012, 8:20 pm

Old post but very good info! gonna do dis asap and see if that problem stops!

Dedg93

Postby Dedg93 » September 26th, 2012, 12:30 am

Same problem here too..will do this when i get time

Dedg93

Postby Dedg93 » October 31st, 2012, 6:23 pm

changed the Gasket Rocker Valve...No mor burning oil :D

rain

Postby rain » October 31st, 2012, 6:41 pm

if oil burns replace pcv valve guys its on the tappid cover close to intake with a hose conected to it it also causes smoke ok

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 7th, 2012, 7:05 pm

the Square Seal on the Cover is a back Pressure Seal.. Mine was broken and had to change the whole cover... used a Plastic cover cuz couldnt find a metal one atm