District 9:- Don't ask Questions, Just go see it.

Postby wagonrunner » August 29th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:it cross anyone's mind that the liquid the ship used as fuel changed a human into a prawn. When the ship "landed" on earth it was filled with prawns who were disoriented, starving and didnt know how to operate the ship. Infact they didn't even use their own weapons. Perhaps they are not prawns at all, initially; perhaps they too were changed just like Wickus.

hmmm

hits duane with finished cup of soda and ice.
keep it down in front there.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Could be but i doubt it, cause the prawn who left on the ship mentioned that their motherland had 7 moons thus indicating that the conditions there cannot facilitate human life.

Plus their technology is way more advanced than human tech, humans cant even use their guns.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 12:32 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Could be but i doubt it, cause the prawn who left on the ship mentioned that their motherland had 7 moons thus indicating that the conditions there cannot facilitate human life.

Plus their technology is way more advanced than human tech, humans cant even use their guns.

no no I'm not saying it was humans - could be any species the liquid turns into prawns

it was also obvious from the fact that prawn who left on the ship was more advanced than the others - he was also the one who broke away the smaller ship 28 years before and then hid it under his shack.

the guns looked for prawn DNA to work BTW

and also 7 moons is not a reason why a planet cannot support human life.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 1:01 pm

Well i didnt see any dog looking prawns but who knows, at this point i would say theoretically correct :P but no evidence to support.

Also wasnt the prawn who left had a son? Thus indicating that they procreate in some way.

As for the 7 moons, i just saying that if the planet has 7 moons then the atmosphere of that planet could be different as well, for ex. a different mixture of gasses like oxygen, nitrogen etc that enable us to breathe, trees to grow, rain to fall etc.

And what about food? Cant see humans living on cat food.

Not disreguarding your idea, just saying at this point the storyline could go either way. But i believe it wont go in the direction of your idea.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 1:03 pm

^ :|

Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on August 29th, 2009, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sky » August 29th, 2009, 1:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:it cross anyone's mind that the liquid the ship used as fuel changed a human into a prawn. When the ship "landed" on earth it was filled with prawns who were disoriented, starving and didnt know how to operate the ship. Infact they didn't even use their own weapons. Perhaps they are not prawns at all, initially; perhaps they too were changed just like Wickus.

hmmm

That coupled with their human nature.

edit because I take long to post and miss a few:
I get ya duane. They could be genetically engineered solders or something and something went wrong. But that movie had everything and was totally satisfying. Why not leave you thinking like a good book would :)

And 7 moons mean no human life? :?
7 moons does not mean a bigger planet, denser atmosphere etc.
It means we only have one because thats all the crap we had floating around us after the collision. 7 moos WOULD hint a planet's size and gravitational influence, but is it a definite answer?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 1:47 pm

I think you guys taking this a lil to serious :lol: .

Either way that plant sounds completly different from ours.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 29th, 2009, 2:09 pm

I was wondering the same thing about the prawns. Maybe Christopher represents the true aliens, and the whole worker class is just converted members of another alien species...probably even humans.

But Christopher's desire to help "his people" implies some level of cohesion among them.

Or, the real aliens could be symbiotic/microscopic life forms that infect a host and turn them into prawns. So whether they've infected humans or some other species, they think of themselves as one species.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 2:48 pm

^ that is what I was thinking. Wickus became compassionate to the prawns after his conversion started.

ZeroOne wrote:I think you guys taking this a lil to serious :lol: .

no we are just using our brain, that's all

ZeroOne wrote:Either way that plant sounds completly different from ours.

why? they were surviving quite nicely without any aid on ours which would suggest similar conditions on theirs.

It is more logical to assume that space travellers will ditch on a planet as similar as possible to their native planet.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 29th, 2009, 2:56 pm

I doh know how compassionate he became...he was willing to stall their entire rescue to save himself. His unwillingness to kill the test subject wasn't infection-based either I think...I doubt it's something he would have done if he was even fully human.

I think it had more to do with him being forced to live among them and observe them more closely.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 2:59 pm

^ perhaps.

all then he was still more human than prawn

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 4:30 pm

Yea humans could survive on their planet like the prawns did on earth, but could they and the prawns live together in peace is a different thing.

What if the prawns were like amphibians who could live in water and on earth, so they could live on earth and on their planet which is completly different from earth? I think that would be awesome.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 29th, 2009, 11:53 pm

Postby Damien » August 30th, 2009, 12:01 am

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 30th, 2009, 12:57 am

This movie is very interesting.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 30th, 2009, 11:22 am

I still think they are the Anunnaki and they coming to kill us all Revenge!!!!

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » August 30th, 2009, 11:59 am

Anyone saw Inglorious Basterds?

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » August 30th, 2009, 12:21 pm

^^^^^^movie of the year but try and create a new thread about that.......

rossi

Postby rossi » August 30th, 2009, 1:09 pm

movie was kool...but dat man cud REAL cuss dread.

Postby Sky » August 30th, 2009, 1:14 pm

After all is said and done...... DAT MECH GET ON REAL MAD!!! IT GET ON SPLASHY. And he didn't even know how to use it properly :!: :!:

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 30th, 2009, 1:58 pm

I like that it wasn't explained how the aliens got there, to me that was not as important as to how they were treated when the humans broke into their ship and after that.

i think it illustrated the basic thing about humanity, we fear what we do not understand and automatically think its dangerous because we have such a high view of ourselves. The line I remember was when Wickas said " I knew you prawns were smart" of course they were smart they had a big friggin space ship!

to me it paralled the view of the white man that all savages were stupid and needed to be educated to become civilized like them when in fact the Afiricans and Indians boasted advancded civilizations for thousands of years.

there was also the religious theme of Wickus being the cheif persecutor of the aliens then becoming "converted" himself. Anyone remember Saul becoming Paul? CHRISTpher? wanna bet in District 10 that the aliens come back to save their kind and lay down retribution on the humans and Wikas will be defending them? Going away for 3 years to return as sleeping for 3 days then returning to save his people?

man...this movie is so deep...its a pity if there are some people who can't see this
Last edited by JoKeR1980 on August 30th, 2009, 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sky » August 30th, 2009, 2:02 pm

But JoKeR1980, I think you missing the whole essense here.... The mech get on bad :|

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 30th, 2009, 2:04 pm

Sky wrote:But JoKeR1980, I think you missing the whole essense here.... The mech get on bad :|

lol my bad..it did indeed...i was looking for that since when in the trailer I saw the arm reach up and grab the RPG / missile... tres cool

8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby Sky » August 30th, 2009, 3:00 pm

8 Pages and people still don't get it. They make poor Duane shoot himself :lol:
It doh make sense talking in depth. Talk about how bad the cgi and mech is.

Postby Cjruckus » August 30th, 2009, 5:58 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:I like that it wasn't explained how the aliens got there, to me that was not as important as to how they were treated when the humans broke into their ship and after that.

i think it illustrated the basic thing about humanity, we fear what we do not understand and automatically think its dangerous because we have such a high view of ourselves. The line I remember was when Wickas said " I knew you prawns were smart" of course they were smart they had a big friggin space ship!

to me it paralled the view of the white man that all savages were stupid and needed to be educated to become civilized like them when in fact the Afiricans and Indians boasted advancded civilizations for thousands of years.

there was also the religious theme of Wickus being the cheif persecutor of the aliens then becoming "converted" himself. Anyone remember Saul becoming Paul? CHRISTpher? wanna bet in District 10 that the aliens come back to save their kind and lay down retribution on the humans and Wikas will be defending them? Going away for 3 years to return as sleeping for 3 days then returning to save his people?

man...this movie is so deep...its a pity if there are some people who can't see this

<embed swliveconnect="true" allowscriptaccess="samedomain" width="424" height="76" src="http://www.justachieveit.com/justachieveit2.swf?d=Too+long+did+not+read&gs=10&s=y" wmode="transparent" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></embed>

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 30th, 2009, 7:28 pm

wing

Postby wing » August 30th, 2009, 10:43 pm

WOW!...Saw it today.... definately one of the best of the year . Great story and a lesson for all of us about the dangers of hate and institutionalised racism . Wonder if Patos see it yet ....never mind he's a prawn too.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 30th, 2009, 11:35 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:I like that it wasn't explained how the aliens got there, to me that was not as important as to how they were treated when the humans broke into their ship and after that.

Well said...well said

sensiman

Postby sensiman » August 31st, 2009, 12:15 am

booge wrote:

Well said...well said

X10

Itried explaining this to someone who saw it and was dissapointed by the ending. This honestly one of the best movies I have seen in the last decade and I have seen alot of movies. Extremely thought provoking, too bad it went over most heads.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » August 31st, 2009, 1:38 am

Wow

That was different..

A movie that doesnt treat me like a dumb@ss and explain every little detail to me.

I dunno what to think of it... but its been an hour since i saw it and im still thinking about it

Cat food as cocaine is pretty new tho 8-)