The Official Land Rover Thread

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Jon_One

The Official Land Rover Thread

Postby Jon_One » January 7th, 2010, 11:43 am

what are your reviews / thoughts for this as a daily driver / offroad vehicle...

its $280,000 new ... goin to the dealer soon 4 more info..
Last edited by Jon_One on February 18th, 2010, 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » January 7th, 2010, 12:51 pm

not bad

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 7th, 2010, 1:31 pm

Excellent vehicle, very tough.... but fricking expensive!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 7th, 2010, 2:16 pm

This is unstoppable

Postby Greypatch » January 7th, 2010, 2:42 pm

what kinda warranty u getting for that price ?

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » January 7th, 2010, 11:19 pm

wud let u know as soon as i find out...

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 8th, 2010, 7:28 am

Cooper wrote:Excellent vehicle, very tough.... but fricking expensive!

Isn't the body made of aluminium (= more expensive) and not galvanised steel like the run of the mill 4x4s?

Postby Greypatch » January 8th, 2010, 9:01 am

sea bathe ?

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » January 8th, 2010, 10:57 am

well i mean its better than buying a hilux or navara....... isnt the aluminum a good thing???

i think that the warranty wud be very good since it is a very well known offroad vehicle with a bullet proof drivetrain...

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » January 8th, 2010, 11:39 am

called just now .. they only have 1 90 in stock..... they brought it in for the coast guard .... is the hard top.. so no rear windows ... they said if i have to order it wud take 4 mths.... they hav the 110 which starts at 375 k .... i goin to check out the 90 that they have today..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 8th, 2010, 2:23 pm

Jon_One wrote:called just now .. they only have 1 90 in stock..... they brought it in for the coast guard .... is the hard top.. so no rear windows ... they said if i have to order it wud take 4 mths.... they hav the 110 which starts at 375 k .... i goin to check out the 90 that they have today..

Yeah but owning a Land Rover means also being able to cover the costs of parts, filters, etc.

But anyways, I wouldnt spend 280K on a Land Rover. I would buy a Land Cruiser.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » January 9th, 2010, 5:58 pm

A good padna of mine has a new 110 pickup... its just over one year old now. So far so good regarding its performance and dealer service. No creeks or rattles despite being used for work everyday, and we've done quite a bit offroading (maybe mudslinging is a better word) in it too.

Only complaints: the stock speakers are utter crap. This was fixed by using original sized 2 way speakers... he also plans to put a small woofer behind the backseat. Other complaint is the first gear is totally useless on the road... so we jus start out in second from standstill... the engine has more than enough torque to do this comfortably. Traffic jam is the achilles heel of any manual vehicle, but the weighting of the steering, clutch/gear change and other control allows for relaxed use in everyday driving

I'm so impressed with it, I too am considering getting a 90 wagon in the future, finances permitting of course :mrgreen: ... they might be expensive to buy, but 25 years down the road they'd still be going strong... can't say the same for the asian 4x4's *ducks from flying stones*

bleedingfreak, I hear you on the Land Cruiser... thing is Toyota sells them wayyyyyyy too expensive here... I heard the new LC79 'troop carrier' models that gov agencies have, cost upward of 600K a piece... and that's with the crappy 4.2 N/A diesel, as opposed to the turbo version, or the sweet 4.5 V8

Here's the LC that competes with the 90... Jon_One maybe u could get a quote from Toyota for one

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 10th, 2010, 1:30 pm

$600,000 u say? Okay... I change my stance: Defender all the way!

venum

Postby venum » January 11th, 2010, 11:28 am

damieG82, how is teh ride quality

rough and bumpy :?:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » January 11th, 2010, 1:01 pm

Sounds good.. Go defender :> :lol:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 11th, 2010, 1:56 pm

damieG82 wrote:.....

I'm so impressed with it, I too am considering getting a 90 wagon in the future, finances permitting of course :mrgreen: ... they might be expensive to buy, but 25 years down the road they'd still be going strong... can't say the same for the asian 4x4's *ducks from flying stones*

I saw a really old Defender on Edward Street late last year....think it was a 'PU' series....the canvas top was rotted out and the dash board and gauges were practically non-existent and the seats were down to skeletons ...but the machine was still moving.

venum

Postby venum » January 11th, 2010, 2:13 pm

what do those old ones go for :?:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » January 11th, 2010, 2:46 pm

^^^ I asked the man if he sellin.... he said NEVER, is the only thing he had that could go up Paramin by he oman :lol:

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » January 11th, 2010, 11:51 pm

the ride quality is excellent considering its a no nonsense cross country vehicle... not bumpy or choppy at all, and no bouncing which plagues many pickups. It was actually very firm at first, and as it got more use things softened up. It leans a bit in fast sweeping corners, but thats to be expected... whats surprising tho is when you gain confidence with its cornering qualities, it takes quite a bit of arseness (speed & steering angle) to break traction... I've had Frontier tyres squealing from much less

I think the 90 might have a slightly firmer ride, only due to its shorter wheelbase... but that coupled with a lighter body should mean better cornering, top end and fuel efficiency over the 110, so not a bad trade off at all.

Cooper, I'd say the same goes for LC owners too... another padna of mine father had a 80 series wagon, which he recently restored... he sold it on the advice of another one of his sons and bought a new Grand Vitara... lets just say thank goodness he's chinese becuz I wouldnt want to hear that cuss in english :lol:

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » January 18th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Defender all the way.... :mrgreen: Good choice...

droppa

Postby droppa » January 20th, 2010, 1:07 pm

i have a top gear DVD home, they rank Defender as being sub zero in cool ratings.....

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » January 20th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Dada wrote:Defender all the way.... :mrgreen: Good choice...

nice porsche... :)

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » January 20th, 2010, 8:35 pm

Thanks..

Postby janfar » February 4th, 2010, 7:02 am

BUMP... jon one any updates on this???

Postby janfar » February 5th, 2010, 4:43 am

Nothing???

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » February 5th, 2010, 4:46 pm

not yet .. cash is the problem.. trying to get the downpayment for it... but i see thay have a new shipment that arrived the other day .. it looked coastguardish.... but i do want one i tryin my best .. they say it takes between 4 to 5 months to get it from day of order / downpayment . they only have 1 in stock and is a kinda military version... no pics... when i go back to the showroom hopefully tommorow i wud take sum pics..

Postby janfar » February 5th, 2010, 5:17 pm

I wanna buy one too, but what kinda cost the 110 going for...

Does the 90 come in 5 seaters with rear open tray or are they just 2 seaters???

When you go again see what info u can get on models cause they website is utter rubbish...

4-5 months is rediculous though.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » February 5th, 2010, 9:45 pm

passed thru the showroom this week... they have a white 110 station wagon on display... but yes, it's military/NGO spec... very basic

janfar, the 90 is the short wheel base version (see pics above). Thus a pickup body means its single cab only, with a maximum of 3 seats (with a bench instead of individual buckets). The wagon model, in full spec, seats 4 (all individual buckets)... in military spec, it would seat about 9 total (with 2 inward facing bench seats and a front bench).

The 110 series will allow you a proper 5 seater capacity, and open tray (for the pickup). Prices start from around 340K... this is the model my padna has. Posted some pics of it below

venum

Postby venum » February 5th, 2010, 11:02 pm

loving it

if allyuh interested though and do not want to pay dealership price there is a PAJ series advertising in the papers

guy says everything is working and calling $40k

not a bad buy

Postby janfar » February 6th, 2010, 6:03 am

40k yuh say??? is this long base... i always loved the older model ones...

It will probably be gone by the time i get home!!!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”