Morel SC Subwoofer 10" Review MORE PICS

jeff

Morel SC Subwoofer 10" Review MORE PICS

Postby jeff » September 24th, 2009, 4:27 pm

This sub on first impression looks like its bigger brother the Ultimo most probably due to the cone being made up of the same carbon composite material. The ultra huge 5.1" voice coil is also apparent with the basket being the biggest visible difference which was made out of stamped steel.

A 0.6 cub sealed enclosure was made for this sub as in this alignment the total Q of the system would be brought to 0.707. This on paper results in the most audiophile speaker response with a second order roll off resulting in very good low end output and transient response.

The sub was hooked up in a sq oriented daily driver feeding it 600rms with the subsonic filter being bypassed. Low pass filter was set at 50Hz at 12db.

Listening:

First of all i have no respect for subs that cannot play sub bass, if subs cannot do so i dont have much inspiration to continue listening. So my first track would be rob dougan's clubbed to death(chopped and screwed). This is from the Matrix OST and is full of subsonic content and wow i couldnt believe that was 1 10 in the system. Because the notes are so low in this song you cant hear the notes but the feeling in the car is most present!
Ported guys (above 30hz) i highly do not suggest you play this song....

Second track i use to test transient response would be Jim Keltner - Improvisation. Even though the front end of the system plays to 45Hz this track will expose sloppiness in subs. And again this sub did not fail to impress me with extremely quick transients and attack. This track felt extremely up front with never any sign of lagging.

And finally Dire Straits - Calling Elvis was played. The background bass notes attack and decay were spot on whilst remaining at constant levels with everything up front. Some systems every other note is played louder as the notes switch from the front of the car to the back. Again impressive.

At times i needed to check if the sub was still playing. This sub lived up to its company name leaving me very impressed with its sq. The sub is very transparent and very quick while still handling the low notes with authority. In this price range you will be hard pressed to find a better sq sub. IF you are looking for BOOM then this not the sub for you otherwise if you get the opportunity to hear one then listen away :)
Last edited by jeff on March 12th, 2010, 11:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » September 24th, 2009, 4:46 pm

niceee .6 cuft for .707

clubbed to death really is a killer

Postby X_Factor » September 24th, 2009, 4:55 pm

i lovin the size of the enclosure!!

*runs off to play rob dougan's clubbed to death*

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 24th, 2009, 11:02 pm

Loving the review!

... didn't even know that Morel had another sub out
:o

De Hero

Postby De Hero » December 17th, 2009, 2:45 pm

Hi Jeff - you probably knew this but your review was "linked" in a DIYMA thread about the Ultimo:-

http://www.diymobileaudio.com/forum/mem ... ew-11.html

So for everyone else - try to maintain Jeff's standard - you never know who is watching.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » December 17th, 2009, 11:49 pm

Hmm...

Nice review. However, I like some objectivity in test reports too (e.g. t/s parameters tested and compared against published params, etc.). While this might be a great sub, I'd like to see a Klippel test done on that sub too - hopefully the guys on diymobileaudio.com can get their hands on one for testing.

Concerning the stamped-steel basket, I'm not a basket-nazi, so the stamped steel frame is perfectly fine IMO. Who the h*ll is going to notice the difference when it's mounted in a box anyway.

jeff

Postby jeff » December 18th, 2009, 10:22 am

Brian Steele wrote:Hmm...

Nice review. However, I like some objectivity in test reports too (e.g. t/s parameters tested and compared against published params, etc.). While this might be a great sub, I'd like to see a Klippel test done on that sub too - hopefully the guys on diymobileaudio.com can get their hands on one for testing.

Concerning the stamped-steel basket, I'm not a basket-nazi, so the stamped steel frame is perfectly fine IMO. Who the h*ll is going to notice the difference when it's mounted in a box anyway.

i agree 100%
i will be happy to bring the sub for you when you arrive for you to do your tests.
honestly klippel etc dont really mean that much to me in a car
but
those specs are all we have to give a certain benchmark out of a car but as you know when the transducer is put into a car what happens so its all ears from there

Sully

Postby Sully » February 5th, 2010, 8:23 am

What's the retail cost of this sub?

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » February 5th, 2010, 10:05 am

nice review

TK!

Postby TK! » February 24th, 2010, 12:19 am

lol.. found this post while looking for reviews via google for the ultimo 12.

how does the SC line compare to the normal ultimos?

TK!

Postby TK! » February 24th, 2010, 12:20 am

cause the normal ultimos are good for SPL and SQ. which is why i changing from polk to that... or at least thinking of...

Sully

Postby Sully » February 24th, 2010, 6:14 am

I'm also considering it. I'm still trying to get the price of a 10" SC.

jeff

Postby jeff » February 24th, 2010, 4:58 pm

sorry im now seeing this

the 10" SC sells for 2200 as far as i can remember

just this week i got to hear another tuner's car with a 12 in this and wow.. the mass threads on the internet about these subs really have some truth to them.. :)

if he will let me i will post pics of that one also

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 24th, 2010, 5:28 pm

carfreak1024

Re: Morel SC Subwoofer 10" Review with pics

Postby carfreak1024 » February 24th, 2010, 5:53 pm

jeff wrote:Image

Listening:

First of all i have no respect for subs that cannot play sub bass, if subs cannot do so i dont have much inspiration to continue listening. So my first track would be rob dougan's clubbed to death(chopped and screwed). This is from the Matrix OST and is full of subsonic content and wow i couldnt believe that was 1 10 in the system. Because the notes are so low in this song you cant hear the notes but the feeling in the car is most present!
Ported guys (above 30hz) i highly do not suggest you play this song....

unless you have subs like mine.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » February 24th, 2010, 5:55 pm

really considering sealed but was told due to the technology in my sub its kinda unneccesary. Anyway this friend of yours will demo this sub jeff, or can you demo your 10".

Postby X_Factor » February 24th, 2010, 6:16 pm

carfreak1024, wht subs u using?

jeff

Postby jeff » March 12th, 2010, 11:27 am

this is the pic of when i was testing it.

and this pic is from a tuner that came to check me
i have no idea what size the enclosure is or the specs on it as i didn't build it all i know is that it sounds damn good

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » March 12th, 2010, 12:02 pm

it lookin rel neat as well..very well done

SEVin

Postby SEVin » March 12th, 2010, 2:55 pm

It looks sick! :mrgreen:

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 12th, 2010, 4:06 pm

Jeff, in your "final" install where will your sub rest? Or will it be similar to that "tuners" vehicle?

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » March 12th, 2010, 11:09 pm

what is the price for a Morel SC Subwoofer 10" ?

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » March 13th, 2010, 7:39 am

^^^x2 plz?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 13th, 2010, 9:48 am

AYE_SOLDIER,viking1705,

dont you two read? :?

jeff wrote:the 10" SC sells for 2200 as far as i can remember

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » March 13th, 2010, 11:02 am

actually i was hopin he wud say where too.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 13th, 2010, 11:25 am

go to "car audio classifieds". (yuh does sell bess speakah and heavy amp dey)

It have this lil space, next to the space has like a word "search or something so.

In that space type "Morel" and press enter..

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

OMFG Your page turned into a whole new time space continuum!!

Now calm down and theres a link named "Morel SC arrived" or something to that effect..

+2pts to who can guess what happens if you click on that link??

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 13th, 2010, 1:47 pm

X_Factor wrote:carfreak1024, wht subs u using?

JBL GTi 10s, the reason you don't quite need a sealed box, at least this is what i have been told and seen, is that the sub uses some kinda magnetic breaking(JBL calls it the Differential Drive Motor) and a long coil to stop bottoming out and produce the really really low bass in a small or large ported enclosure, so there is not a real need to go sealed unless space is an issue.

Because if you go sealed you also lose output.

the fella that was showing me this told me to put the subs in a box tuned really high to about the 40s or some like that and run a really low test tone, some like a 20-30hz tone and try it to see the DDD motor at work. I ran a 20hz tone, and with the 500rms i had i couldnt get the thing to bottom out. Then i did some of my own testing and cranked some rell low tunes to it and it still held up pretty good. Still got a decent amount of 20-30hz bass and the box was tuned to 40+hz. Now i didnt get near as much lows as when the 2 10s box was tuned to 33hz, but damn i havent heard many cars that can go that loud and low either.

^^^this is why i want to go to a test and tune with the ICE club,

but jeff as i told you before those boxes look really sick dred.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » March 13th, 2010, 3:41 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:go to "car audio classifieds". (yuh does sell bess speakah and heavy amp dey)

It have this lil space, next to the space has like a word "search or something so.

In that space type "Morel" and press enter..

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

OMFG Your page turned into a whole new time space continuum!!

Now calm down and theres a link named "Morel SC arrived" or something to that effect..

+2pts to who can guess what happens if you click on that link??

ok easy little man :?
anyhow for the record i just browsed throught the ched.
didnt realize the price was stated my bad.

jeff

Postby jeff » March 13th, 2010, 3:58 pm

carfreak1024 wrote:Because if you go sealed you also lose output.

this is true but in your case i only now realized recently how much power u had on the subs

if you put your subs in a properly designed sealed enclosure with the correct amount of power it will play lower and louder than how you presently have it, note i didn't say spl scoring but when u get the amp and looking to try something new, i recommend you try the sealed.

jeff

Postby jeff » March 13th, 2010, 4:01 pm

AYE_SOLDIER, http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... ight=morel

i believe that thread u may find the commercial details :)

otherwise anything else you would like to know?