Laptop Stolen from car at Price plaza on wed 9th March

Custom-x

Laptop Stolen from car at Price plaza on wed 9th March

Postby Custom-x » March 25th, 2010, 12:05 pm

hi Guys as the topic says a friend of mine driving a red Mazda 3 car was broken into on the above date and his dell XPS1330 was stolen. if anyone has any info on it look out for persons trying to sell. the service tag is BWVYRG1

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 25th, 2010, 12:28 pm

sorry for your loss, lucky they didn't take the car too

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 25th, 2010, 12:36 pm

^^^they tawt the laptop was ah tracking device or what :lol:

snowman

Postby snowman » March 25th, 2010, 12:38 pm

Should've known better than to leave it in plain sight. Smash and Grab FTW.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 25th, 2010, 12:40 pm

acesinghit wrote:sorry for your loss, lucky they didn't take the car too

Custom-x wrote:hi Guys as the topic says a friend of mine driving a red Mazda 3 car was broken into on the above date and his dell XPS1330 was stolen. if anyone has any info on it look out for persons trying to sell. the service tag is BWVYRG1

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 25th, 2010, 12:45 pm

just now they go steal carpark spaces! :roll:

Postby Hook » March 25th, 2010, 1:01 pm

Dragist wrote:
acesinghit wrote:sorry for your loss, lucky they didn't take the car too

Custom-x wrote:hi Guys as the topic says a friend of mine driving a red Mazda 3 car was broken into on the above date and his dell XPS1330 was stolen. if anyone has any info on it look out for persons trying to sell. the service tag is BWVYRG1

OMG! They broke into his friend?!?!?!?! While driving too?!?!?!

This looks like a job for...

*JUNG JUNG*

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 25th, 2010, 1:02 pm

pioneer wrote:they already doin that in trincity mall...blackers standin up in bess parkin spots and chargin u $20 to get it :|

need better explination please! :lol:

Custom-x

Postby Custom-x » March 25th, 2010, 1:56 pm

yeh they just broke the glass and took the laptop.. he parked right infront of Kristinas...

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 25th, 2010, 2:18 pm

sorry that he lost it but that was really stupid of him to leave it in full sight.

you don't EVER leave a laptop (even if it in a bag) in full sight in any mall carpark.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 25th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Might as well write it off, chances of getting it back are slim considering the investigative capabilities of the popo.

....for future reference:

Some of the late model Laptops (and Desktops) come equipped with a 'tracking option' you could enable (and not disable) in the BIOS in the event the unit gets stolen. You notify the vendor and a tracking company could find and disable the unit (and in some REMOTE cases even locate the machine) if it's plugged in to an internet connection. Never tested it, so I can't offer more details than that.

BUT

Encryption software, like 'TrueCrypt' can help protect your data in the event of a theft. It's free and they use some pretty good encryption algorithms so the bandit can't get into your business.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 25th, 2010, 3:27 pm

it good fuh ya padna.
alya does look for alya shat

Postby Maserati » March 25th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:it good fuh ya padna.
alya does look for alya shat

exercising some common sense would have helped him

Solace

Postby Solace » March 25th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Happened to me last year at Emperor Valley Zoo - I kid you not.

Sorry to hear that though.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » March 25th, 2010, 5:05 pm

14 days is plenty time for that to get reformat and sprang or parts out

@ cooper the best one so far is from dell. some dose jus take pics from the webcam and log ip addresses but imo.

BEST OVERALL THING TO DO IS GET A GPS ENABLED LAPTOP
when added to a system like dells own. it has a 99% chance of recovery unless if it get parts out.