k&n difference?

ivar

k&n difference?

Postby ivar » April 17th, 2010, 7:19 pm

between the round and the square k&n air filters. are there any difference in performance?

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » April 17th, 2010, 7:34 pm

none that you'll notice

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » April 17th, 2010, 8:55 pm

one does give yuh a torque curve and the next one does give yuh a flatspot... :lol:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 18th, 2010, 2:05 pm

^ ^ ^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW if the surface area is identical for both...then the flow rate should be roughly the same.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 18th, 2010, 6:52 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 18th, 2010, 9:48 pm

Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW if the surface area is identical for both...then the flow rate should be roughly the same.

conical has a lot more surface area

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 18th, 2010, 10:09 pm

conical or flat....most people will never notice any difference between stock and K&N

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 19th, 2010, 6:55 am

DJ Nexxus wrote:one does give yuh a torque curve and the next one does give yuh a flatspot... :lol:

WDA :lol:

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 19th, 2010, 8:27 am

ek4ever wrote:conical or flat....most people will never notice any difference between stock and K&N

if u kno ur car well enuff, u can tell...

droppa

Postby droppa » April 19th, 2010, 8:49 am

stock or k&n, is a mind over matter thing, no big difference.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » April 19th, 2010, 10:32 am

^^^ You feel so? Made a differencs in MY car 0X

4:20

Postby 4:20 » April 19th, 2010, 10:56 am

very minor difference with the square one, U may not even notice it

biggreen

Postby biggreen » April 19th, 2010, 10:59 am

had both, it made a diff, but not a very big one.. if u know ur car u will feel it..

Postby A172 » April 19th, 2010, 2:33 pm

KrAzYBoY wrote:^^^ You feel so? Made a differencs in MY car 0X

riteee :roll:

DJ Nexxus

Postby DJ Nexxus » April 19th, 2010, 3:18 pm

people seriously think about it and try and use a little common sense nah?...the difference in airflow of the two typres of filter while there MAY be a differencee in delivered airflow, the ONLY way you can see it IF it is there is on a DYNO!...it WILL NOT give you 1, 10, or 100HP difference and as a matter of FACT!!! most people cannot even tell when an ECU switches from the normal mapping to the Knock map, which is MORE of a difference than you would get with two differnt design but same surface area air filters....

With that said!...I still sticking with the torque curve and flatspot!!! :lol:

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 21st, 2010, 7:23 pm

what abt gas mileage

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2010, 3:48 am

oxidation wrote:what abt gas mileage

other factors would affect fuel mileage more than the type of filter you use.. e.g. if you install a short ram (which sucks in alot of hot underhood air) VS a cold air intake (which gets all the colder dense air)..

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » April 23rd, 2010, 4:03 am

3stagevtec wrote:
oxidation wrote:what abt gas mileage

other factors would affect fuel mileage more than the type of filter you use.. e.g. if you install a short ram (which sucks in alot of hot underhood air) VS a cold air intake (which gets all the colder dense air)..

yes using a system that sucks colder air will use more fuel

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2010, 8:52 am

i could tell the difference between a clogged up paper filter and the free flowing K&N.....not by the difference in noise of the engine but by response......overall power would have been slightly improved, but the response was better........

as for the flat K&N vs. the cone, i doubt i could tell the difference, however the larger surface area of the cone will need cleaning less frequently and will therefore reduce maintenance cost in the long run.......

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » April 23rd, 2010, 11:29 am

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2010, 12:17 pm

the first and foremost reason I buy K&N is the longevity aspect vs the cost of new original filters

everything else is a bonus

good ole readsigma-turbo

droppa

Postby droppa » April 23rd, 2010, 1:04 pm

long but very informative read there... :mrgreen:

vin123

Postby vin123 » April 23rd, 2010, 1:16 pm

Compared to the stock filter in an Almera the K&N replacement had the car ideling better, smoother, the response was improved a bit but no big thing.

As previous people said the cone should be better than the replacement one.

K&N does extensive research on their products to give a great product <-i get a free k&n decal to say that LOL :mrgreen:

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » April 23rd, 2010, 6:32 pm

Dave wrote:the first and foremost reason I buy K&N is the longevity aspect vs the cost of new original filters

everything else is a bonus

and thats about the only reason i buy them

Postby 3stagevtec » April 24th, 2010, 3:22 pm

A 'sound' review..

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/bFSQnT3kkqM&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed>

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 24th, 2010, 4:10 pm

I personally prefer my AEM intake, but its personal opinion I guess

Anyway, my main problem with the K + N filter is the entire oiling process.. I think its an unnecessary complication and risk.. They should attempt to design a dry flow filter as used by other companies..

That said those suzuki engines lazy to rev I find...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » April 24th, 2010, 6:38 pm

vin123 wrote:K&N does extensive research on their products to give a great product <-i get a free k&n decal to say that LOL :mrgreen:

jus 1?! i get 1 in d box, den reg mih filter online & get a nex 1 in d mail!!

K&N is d BESS! [/thread]

Postby 3stagevtec » April 24th, 2010, 7:17 pm

CD4Accord wrote:I personally prefer my AEM intake, but its personal opinion I guess

Anyway, my main problem with the K + N filter is the entire oiling process.. I think its an unnecessary complication and risk.. They should attempt to design a dry flow filter as used by other companies..

I'm running taller tyres than stock so that kinda slows things down for me.. While they are not the fastest SUVs out there, the 2.0L Grand Vitara's do perform quite well in terms of 'off the line' acceleration..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 24th, 2010, 11:35 pm

CD4Accord wrote:I personally prefer my AEM intake, but its personal opinion I guess

the point of the oil is that the dust adheres to the oil and hence a higher flowing filter can be made while giving filtration close to capabilities of a paper element........

a cotton filter is of no use without oil, since the dust particles pass through the large pores of the cotton, where as with the oil it would have stuck to the oil and can then be simply washed off........
that is why K&N filters have such a long lifespan, the filter itself is never dirty......its the oil that does the work.......

dry filters work very well in filtering particles, but they usually do that at the cost of air-flow........and they will almost always wear out faster than a K&N...........

NEED4SPEED

Postby NEED4SPEED » April 27th, 2010, 2:59 pm

none
!!!