<<FIFA World Cup-South Africa 2010>>

Re: <<FIFA World Cup-South Africa 2010>>

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 7th, 2010, 9:47 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
mw2addict wrote:if Spain beat Germany . $100 for every Spain supporter here...........it just aint gonna happen.

quoted for eventuallity

Yea bro..

:drinking:

mw2addict

Postby mw2addict » July 7th, 2010, 10:46 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
mw2addict wrote:if Spain beat Germany . $100 for every Spain supporter here...........it just aint gonna happen.

quoted for eventuallity

Yea bro..

:drinking:

pretty sure if you look back wen i posted that msg there was no '$' in front that 100. u put it in wen u quoted. so ah have allyuh 500 cents for about the average 5 spain supporters on d ched :arrow: :mrgreen:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 7th, 2010, 11:20 pm

sharkman time 2 change d sig :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 7th, 2010, 11:47 pm

I know Spain got beaten by Switzerland in this world cup BUT did any team beat Holland as yet?

Anyone remember?

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » July 7th, 2010, 11:49 pm

the orange ripe too early

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 8th, 2010, 12:12 am

What? your orange ripe? What the hell u telling us that for?

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 12:18 am

^ :lol:

nah holland are unbeaten in the tournament thus far.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 8th, 2010, 12:43 am

sharkman121 wrote:^ :lol:

nah holland are unbeaten in the tournament thus far.

Well its only fair that Holland should take home the world cup......

They are unbeaten and the world champs should be unbeaten......

Spain got a lickin already.......SO its fair that Holland be crowned champs......

Postby Morpheus » July 8th, 2010, 12:50 am

^^Spain lost.....Argentina got a licking :pokes:

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 12:53 am

Is fair u say..nah man it have no hand outs here, if u want that WC trophy u hadda go all the way.

They are unbeaten so far. A good team finishes the job, not 95% of it.

As seen before Brazil only lost once and they went home, same as Argentina.

Beat Spain, and yall will deserve every inch of that title.

Postby Cjruckus » July 8th, 2010, 12:55 am

sharkman121 wrote:Is fair u say..nah man it have no hand outs here, if u want that WC trophy u hadda go all the way.

They are unbeaten so far. A good team finishes the job, not 95% of it.

As seen before Brazil only lost once and they went home, same as Argentina.

Beat Spain, and yall will deserve every inch of that title.

exactly.
Even though holland is on a 25 game Win Streak...
If you lose the championship game you just didnt win when you had to.

Postby Morpheus » July 8th, 2010, 1:55 am

Yeah and Spain won ..uhmm was it 48 /53 or something? That means nothing Sunday.

And they ain't ranked #2 for nothing... but I always say these things only mean so much. It all comes down to who is the better team on the day....exactly what I told the German suppor.....bandwaggonists the day before the semi.

I think that match is going to be a lot more even than people think.

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 2:11 am

Actually Spain has only lost twice (count it TWICE) in the past 56 games.

Only defeats being to USA and the Swiss.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » July 8th, 2010, 2:41 am

Spain ftw. No team has ball possession skills and talented midfeild as them. Basically the entire Barcelona football farm from Xavi, Iniesta, Villa, Pedro, Fabregas, Busquets, Pique, Puyol, etc.
Last edited by Shango_13 on July 8th, 2010, 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 2:51 am

In case u missed it :mrgreen:

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 2:54 am

Shango_13 wrote:Spain ftw. No team has ball possession skills and talented midfeild as them. Basically the entire Barcelona football farm from Xavi, Iniesta, Villa, Pedro, Fabragas, Pique, Puyol, etc.

This is the first season Barca has the most players on the squad. It was previously valencia, they had: Villa, Silva, Marchena, Albelda, Mata, Joaquin, Baraja, Canizares.

RIP Valencia.

Postby Morpheus » July 8th, 2010, 3:21 am

sharkman121 wrote:Actually Spain has only lost twice (count it TWICE) in the past 56 games.

Only defeats being to USA and the Swiss.

:lol: I was being a lil conservative. Thanks. :mrgreen:

Postby Mark! » July 8th, 2010, 3:24 am

sharkman121 wrote:In case u missed it :mrgreen:

Pique swear he was gonna score dat one eh :lol: :lol:

Postby Morpheus » July 8th, 2010, 3:25 am

Shango_13 wrote:Spain ftw. No team has ball possession skills and talented midfeild as them. Basically the entire Barcelona football farm from Xavi, Iniesta, Villa, Pedro, Fabregas, Busquets, Pique, Puyol, etc.

^^Exactly. The chemistry is already there.

:twisted: Plus is good initiation for Villa 8-) Welcome to BARCA!!

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 3:57 am

Mark! wrote:

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 8th, 2010, 4:07 am

Mark! wrote:

from he pelvic position it look like he did score

Postby sharkman121 » July 8th, 2010, 4:18 am

^ :lol:

not the first time he woulda caught in slackness

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 8th, 2010, 4:21 am

^lol wtf

Postby Trini Hookah » July 8th, 2010, 6:54 am

heard Pique starring in Brokeback Mountain en Espanol :|

zitanos

Postby zitanos » July 8th, 2010, 7:02 am

Good Analysis of what transpired:
Source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/ ... ver=global

Starstruck Germany suffer déjà vu
July 8, 2010
Email Print
By Uli Hesse
(Archive)
On Wednesday night in Durban, Germany were dealt a double dose of déjà vu. First it was 2006 all over again, when the team played better and went further than most observers had expected, only to go out in rather sobering fashion in the semi-final. But of course the game was also a restaging of the Euro 2008 final, with a similar run of play and the same outcome.

GettyImages
Bastian Schweinsteiger shows his frustration at the final whistle
• Matthaus: Ballack should retire
• Del Bosque hails Spain display
• Brewin: Puyol ensures progress
• Ball: Where angels fear to head
• Gallery

However, the difference to 2006 was that the side didn't really come close to reaching the final and freely admitted they had been beaten by a much better opponent; and the difference to 2008 was that this came as a bit of a surprise.

All through the day I had been involved in various pre-match discussions, online and on the radio, and the most common prediction was that we would see a very close game because the gap between Germany and Spain was no longer as large as it had seemed after the final two years ago.

Then we have to watch almost the same game all over again. Strange and disappointing. But not inexplicable. For one thing, respect played a role; it was almost awe.

I wouldn't go so far and call it fear, as some reporters did, but there was a deep-seated respect on the part of Germany. I don't think that stemmed from the traumatic 2008 final, because some of the players who were so thoroughly outplayed, humiliated even, on that June night in Vienna played with their heads held high in Durban - Bastian Schweinsteiger, Miroslav Klose and Arne Friedrich, to name three.

I think many members of the team were overawed by Spain not because of 2008 and not due to this team's performances so far (which have not been awe-inspiring) but because Spain represents the ideal these German players have been taught to strive for.

Low belongs to that generation of coaches who were strongly influenced by Volker Finke, the man who formed the famous Freiburg team of the 1990s. He and his followers sniffed at what Finke called "hero football" and countered it with "concept football". Hero football is what you see in Nike ads - glamorous and fiendishly expensive superstars winning games all by themselves. Concept football is what you see when Spain are on top form, or even normal form.

So I suppose for most of our younger players, the game must have felt like a matchup between apprentice and master. Which is why it was such a pity that Thomas Muller was suspended, as he was sorely missed. Not so much Muller, the player, mind you, as it would be rather silly to suggest Germany can't do without a kid who wasn't even regarded as a starting player six weeks ago.

No, what we were missing was Muller, the character. His carefreeness, his fearlessness, his exuberance - that was lacking. I'm sure he wouldn't have been particularly starstruck. At least not at first. Because even if our players had been totally uninhibited and not felt any respect for Spain as the game began, they would have been impressed soon.

And that is, of course, another reason for why the game was so one-sided is that Spain were awesome.

At first it wasn't entirely certain if Germany were playing so deep against their will or whether this was according to a plan. This second option wasn't as far-fetched as it may sound. Earlier in the day, I was on Dublin's Newstalk with Graham Hunter. We agreed that Spain were actually glad they were about to face Germany and not any of the other teams, glad to finally face a team that was willing to play football instead of stopping the other team from playing.

When the semi-final began, I thought back to this conversation and briefly wondered if maybe the Germans had decided to surprise Spain by not acting out their designated part, had decided they don't want to play Arsenal to Spain's Barcelona, if you recall the Champions League tie of three months ago.

However, Bastian Schweinsteiger later made it abundantly clear that the game plan had been very different. He said: "It's frustrating when you intend to do something and then just can't do it." And that's where the concept football comes in again, as Spain had the right plan, the right men and the perfect execution during the first half hour, which set the tone.

For 25 minutes, Spain played an almost constant pressing game very far upfield, which was not only risky but also very demanding, both physically and mentally. It put the German backline and the holding midfielders under constant pressure as they had no time to properly build from the rear.

GettyImages
Per Mertesacker trudges off the pitch.
However, the truly devastating effect of this strategy was that it forced the whole of the German offensive midfield - Piotr Trochowski, Mesut Ozil and Lukas Podolski - to retreat and play very deep. They had to do this to give their team-mates, who were always facing two or three opponents when they had the ball, another passing option.

Normally, you can't keep this pressing game on for a longer period of time, you just use it sporadically. But Spain are such a well-oiled machine that they did it almost constantly for the first 25 minutes. Only then did they finally let up to catch some breath. That was the moment when it looked as if Germany would now get into the match, but all we got was more room. Our game had been destroyed by that time and we never managed to pick up the pieces again.

"They have shown us our limits," is how Low later put it. Yes, they did, but it's no reason to become depressed. Spain are in a class of their own, because they not only play concept football - they do it with heroes. Which means they usually have one more resource than you do, and so theirs is the present. The future may be Germany's. True, on the day that the final episodes of "Lost" aired on a German pay-TV station, the team crashed to earth. But in football, there is always a sequel.

Postby goalpost » July 8th, 2010, 7:46 am

So this is the ranking of how the 32 teams (with the exception of top 4; that still hadda be settled) performed in the World Cup

1 or 2: Netherlands or Spain
3 or 4: Uruguay or Germany
5 Argentina
6 Brazil
7 Ghana
8 Paraguay
9 Japan
10 Chile
11 Portugal
12 United States
13 England
14 Mexico
15 Korea Republic
16 Slovakia
17 Ivory Coast
18 Slovenia
19 Switzerland
20 South Africa
21 Australia
22 New Zealand
23 Serbia
24 Denmark
25 Greece
26 Italy
27 Nigeria
28 Algeria
29 France
30 Honduras
31 Cameroon
32 Korea DPR

Look at all dem 'small' team that beat out Italy nah! :lol: :lol: :lol:

zitanos

Postby zitanos » July 8th, 2010, 7:48 am

goalpost wrote:So this is the ranking of how the 32 teams (with the exception of top 4; that still hadda be settled) performed in the World Cup

1 or 2: Netherlands or Spain
3 or 4: Uruguay or Germany
5 Argentina
6 Brazil
7 Ghana
8 Paraguay
9 Japan
10 Chile
11 Portugal
12 United States
13 England
14 Mexico
15 Korea Republic
16 Slovakia
17 Ivory Coast
18 Slovenia
19 Switzerland
20 South Africa
21 Australia
22 New Zealand
23 Serbia
24 Denmark
25 Greece
26 Italy
27 Nigeria
28 Algeria
29 France
30 Honduras
31 Cameroon
32 Korea DPR

Look at all dem 'small' team that beat out Italy nah! :lol: :lol: :lol:

New rankings coming out on july 14th... looking at the points.. Brazil should remain in the top 3

--> http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/ranki ... nking.html

Postby r3iXmann » July 8th, 2010, 7:59 am

:cry:

Postby goalpost » July 8th, 2010, 8:00 am

cool, but i just talking about those 32 teams performances in the World Cup alone.

Postby X_Factor » July 8th, 2010, 8:03 am

so im 2000.00 richer!!
i told u all spain will prevail!!