Sky wrote:Doh be on Italy.
Even though I predicted wrong with yesterday's game, I really enjoyed it.
At the beginning I didn't know who was selling more guns, Germany or Spain. Germany lost the ball a lot, leaving most possesion to Spain, who just knocked it around on the Germs' side of the pitch. Then I realise their strat, and it worked. Raiden come from nowhere flyin and score.
Then Germany decide to change formation. Mistake?
All was needed was a pass to Villa around the midfield to outrun 2 defenders. But poor Villa was bun.
UDFR Villa.
Now they leave it up to Torrez to do the spriniting ( And still Germany didn't pick up on the plan)
Pedro got a sprint, and like a true Soca Warrior, he refuse to pass to Torrez ( I spellin his name right?) That was another goal there.
Know what Pedro? UDFR with you too. Take bench if yuh cah pass.
To all the anti-bandwagonists. UDFR with you too. So wham, because yuh team loss yuh hadda stop watching or talking about it? Besides, the only true German supporter here is ReiXmann.
Sky wrote: Besides, the only true German supporter here is ReiXmann.
zitanos wrote:Good Analysis of what transpired:
Source: http://soccernet.espn.go.com/world-cup/ ... ver=global
For 25 minutes, Spain played an almost constant pressing game very far upfield, which was not only risky but also very demanding, both physically and mentally. It put the German backline and the holding midfielders under constant pressure as they had no time to properly build from the rear.
GettyImages
Per Mertesacker trudges off the pitch.
However, the truly devastating effect of this strategy was that it forced the whole of the German offensive midfield - Piotr Trochowski, Mesut Ozil and Lukas Podolski - to retreat and play very deep. They had to do this to give their team-mates, who were always facing two or three opponents when they had the ball, another passing option.
Normally, you can't keep this pressing game on for a longer period of time, you just use it sporadically. But Spain are such a well-oiled machine that they did it almost constantly for the first 25 minutes. Only then did they finally let up to catch some breath. That was the moment when it looked as if Germany would now get into the match, but all we got was more room. Our game had been destroyed by that time and we never managed to pick up the pieces again.
"They have shown us our limits," is how Low later put it. Yes, they did, but it's no reason to become depressed. Spain are in a class of their own, because they not only play concept football - they do it with heroes. Which means they usually have one more resource than you do, and so theirs is the present. The future may be Germany's. True, on the day that the final episodes of "Lost" aired on a German pay-TV station, the team crashed to earth. But in football, there is always a sequel.
r3iXmann wrote:
jump over in the world cup thread and post nah.... you more needed there than in here
sharkman121 wrote:guess wat my new sigs gonna be
teems1 wrote:
haterforever wrote: spain riding the lucky rainbow whole world cup
haterforever wrote:paul choose spain to win the finals against holland. spain riding the lucky rainbow whole world cup
Greypatch wrote:http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/footba ... lland.html