New TOP COP to earn over $100,000 per month.

SiR8081

Re: New TOP COP to earn over $100,000 per month.

Postby SiR8081 » August 20th, 2010, 10:43 am

the entry requirements for the PS are 5 o levels.

i was saying for them to raise it to 8 o levels and 4 a levels to raise the quality of the people entering the service. along with this, increase their pay and benefits. also you can allow people who have degrees to enter at a higher rank and pay. insist on continuous fitness and evaluations. that way we dont have policemen who looking like the only thing they could do to a criminal is sit on him and kill the criminal.

they need to encourage the police to be consistently educated. i say free gate and laptops for all policemen.

i went in the police station a time and the officer spell isuzu wrong he spelt it isuzi and he was one of the high ranking officers.

anyways back to the topic. his pay should not have started so high as to cause disharmony in the PS unless he lay down some REAL BESS plans with the AG and Minister National Security they decide to buss the bank one time and done

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2010, 10:50 am

Nigson wrote:Only if he dresses in a red superman costume and flys and fights criminals ---then his salary is justified...if he doesn't do this then he does not deserve this money

If he is hired at this rate of pay then I expect zero crime in trinidad....not one murder or kidnapping or robbery.......

If there is still crime in trinidad then he has failed.................

THis is a waste of money....

How much would YOU pay him?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » August 20th, 2010, 11:12 am

i AM very certain the last CoP made more than that per mth for "ancillary works"

let's see what he can do before we slap a label. 100k TTD is actually quite less than what most CoP's make up and around the region.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 20th, 2010, 12:21 pm

:lol: @ "word on the street" :D

allya men dont forget nutting nah :)

Postby AllTrac » August 20th, 2010, 12:51 pm

the only issue i have over the new CoP, is how much WTN hours should be allocated to him.

Postby Monk BANzai » August 20th, 2010, 12:54 pm

AllTrac wrote:the only issue i have over the new CoP, is how much WTN hours should be allocated to him.

or even worse...that he rolls up in SKYY bar and says ''HI GUIZE!!!

i predict instant Gangbang and shrink wrapped %8TT DVD's on the Sq the following day.

"COP does SKYY BAR"

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2010, 4:42 pm

philbert must be making a killing now with people trying fast track their firearm license

Postby eliteauto » August 20th, 2010, 4:53 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Right, so 100k is not his "salary"

It includes housing etc., if you believe the news report this morning.

Realistically, an expat house in the west is at least $5000US, so that is 30k TT right there,

and then some of it is a car allowance, I suspect at least 10k a month.

so that leaves 60k TT, which I am sure has other perks included, which is not that much for someone on the international market.

You guys keep thinking "Trinidad", but this is "Global".

SHHHHH yuh gonna make them wise they don't need to know that :|

WRONG!!!

If negotiations go according to plans, the new police Commissioner, Canadian Dwayne Gibbs could be taking away a salary of 2.5 million dollar TT dollars per year.

Mr. Gibbs and fellow Canadian Deputy Police Commissioner Jack Ewatski are to take up duties next month, once the salary packages are approved by the cabinet.

If approved Mr. Gibbs would get an estimated 1.5 million dollars.

However his package includes housing, entertainment, phone, transportation and other allowances bringing the figure up to 2.5 million.

http://www.i955fm.com/News.aspx?id=9129

Postby Damien » August 20th, 2010, 5:49 pm

One could only imagine how much calder hart was making being on five state boards and still thiefing he mc and sharing away to his family. A small $2.5 million is chip chip for a man with all them responsibilities, they should give him this weeks lotto jackpot

Postby eliteauto » August 20th, 2010, 6:02 pm

thank God for Calder Hart yes, he's the way to justify everything in the country now, I wonder if the last administration had offered this salary if everyone would have been so accommodating

Postby Damien » August 20th, 2010, 6:17 pm

If the last administration was bringing in a foreigner to be the top cop i would support them also, lets face it crime is the biggest problem in the country and i for one would love to see this place get safer whatsoever the cost

Postby Cjruckus » August 21st, 2010, 12:35 am

Damien wrote:If the last administration was bringing in a foreigner to be the top cop i would support them also, lets face it crime is the biggest problem in the country and i for one would love to see this place get safer whatsoever the cost

So Why don't we get the Republican Party to set up shop in Trinidad and out with PNM and UNC?

Some things are better left for locals to do. What is the current motivation for the police force now? Nothing because the top job will always be outsourced.

Postby crazybalhead » August 21st, 2010, 12:39 am

eliteauto wrote:thank God for Calder Hart yes, he's the way to justify everything in the country now, I wonder if the last administration had offered this salary if everyone would have been so accommodating

Well I would have been, can't speak for the wtn fanatics.

Postby crazybalhead » August 21st, 2010, 12:40 am

eliteauto wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Right, so 100k is not his "salary"

It includes housing etc., if you believe the news report this morning.

Realistically, an expat house in the west is at least $5000US, so that is 30k TT right there,

and then some of it is a car allowance, I suspect at least 10k a month.

so that leaves 60k TT, which I am sure has other perks included, which is not that much for someone on the international market.

You guys keep thinking "Trinidad", but this is "Global".

SHHHHH yuh gonna make them wise they don't need to know that :|

WRONG!!!

If negotiations go according to plans, the new police Commissioner, Canadian Dwayne Gibbs could be taking away a salary of 2.5 million dollar TT dollars per year.

Mr. Gibbs and fellow Canadian Deputy Police Commissioner Jack Ewatski are to take up duties next month, once the salary packages are approved by the cabinet.

If approved Mr. Gibbs would get an estimated 1.5 million dollars.

However his package includes housing, entertainment, phone, transportation and other allowances bringing the figure up to 2.5 million.

http://www.i955fm.com/News.aspx?id=9129

Aye aye, thanks for the clarification!

Postby UML » August 21st, 2010, 12:43 am

with dat knida money he getting...he better watch out before they kidnap HE instead :mrgreen:

Postby Cjruckus » August 21st, 2010, 12:52 am

UML wrote:with dat knida money he getting...he better watch out before they kidnap HE instead :mrgreen:

the way those hindus riling up the muslims they better make sure the Jamaat doesnt go after the son or daughter of a minister.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 21st, 2010, 2:38 am

Damien wrote:If the last administration was bringing in a foreigner to be the top cop i would support them also, lets face it crime is the biggest problem in the country and i for one would love to see this place get safer whatsoever the cost

yuh LIE!!!!!!!!..........

Postby sharkman121 » August 21st, 2010, 3:03 am

agreed 100%

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 21st, 2010, 4:56 am

Now we concerned about 100k when millions went missing the last few years?

The thing to do is see if the man wukking for he 100k....if in a year or even six months no improvement send him back......

Postby SR » August 21st, 2010, 6:29 am

why must the police service announce to the public that they will not support the new police commisioner................
see where the problem lies

does not make a difference what he is being paid if he has no support from his staff then obviously it would show he is not performing
makes you wonder exaclty how corrupt is the local police service and what will it really take to get it cleaned up

plenty officers have skeletons in the closet and a foreigner will not let that fly

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 21st, 2010, 11:20 am

pioneer wrote:The crime we face is as a result of the spill over from the organised crime and illicit drug trade which involves politicians, police, army you name it

So, are they gonna tackle the drug trade?

And no i don't mean finding some weed in ah shack somewhere or valsayn

Talkin bout the billions of dollars worth of cocaine that passes through our shores yearly and the guns/arms that comes with it.

Or are we destined to go down the road of haiti?

like you want another Snap election to be called?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 21st, 2010, 11:50 am

I don't know what all the fuss is about?.....

James Philbert lied during the polygraph...that tells you the type of person he is.

up to this day he has not cleared the air on that issue......

The intense vetting process which the new CoP had to go through, do you think Philbert could have done that?..he would not even have passed the screening process.

Why do you think he was only acting?......because he was not qualified!...TALK DONE!!

Only uneducated ppl will say............ "dey coulda give him de commissioner wok" .........because they have no idea what it en-tales.

They need to stop this seniority shitt and let qualified ppl actually get the opportunity.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » August 21st, 2010, 12:15 pm

SR wrote:why must the police service announce to the public that they will not support the new police commisioner................

does not make a difference what he is being paid if he has no support from his staff then obviously it would show he is not performing
makes you wonder exaclty how corrupt is the local police service and what will it really take to get it cleaned up

plenty officers have skeletons in the closet and a foreigner will not let that fly

This new fella who is head of the police service say..... if the police problems are not addressed we will not get the best of the police.

I woulda buss he throat one time for threatening to hold the country to ransom.Dais the kind of assness we have to stamp out in the police service.If the head rotten imagine the rest.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 21st, 2010, 12:35 pm

SR wrote:why must the police service announce to the public that they will not support the new police commisioner................

that's ole talk, you need to remember the new CoP is white, once he steps in and talks with these guys, I bet you he'll get a lot of "oh yes Mister Gibbs, right away Sir" :lol: 8-)

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 21st, 2010, 2:55 pm

we were better off being under British rule....

Postby Damien » August 21st, 2010, 4:19 pm

5onDfloor wrote:

yuh LIE!!!!!!!!..........

:lol: unc till ah dead WTN

Postby Cjruckus » August 21st, 2010, 4:37 pm

Wait what? As a mod who was appointed via blood line you should be the last to talk.

Why should the police protect and serve if they cannot advance to the top position? You can't assume all police are corrupt.

You think that new police foreign comish could find never dutty laventile? Of course not. He is going to have to learn the ropes from the current police officers. So why bring in an expensive foreign COP if he needs to depend on the officers directly below him whom, according to the government, is not FIT to do his job. But they have to brief him, drop intel etc etc.

Unless the government wants a foreign COP so he does not interfere in their past drug dealings under the NAR.

Start watching Dexter and ask yourself.. Who's guarding the guards?
Oh well, its dey time now.

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2010, 9:38 am

the following 2 links are examples of COP salaries for a bigger city with a larger staff and populace that Trinidad, and a country with a higher standard of living and avg income-
http://www.ihirelawenforcement.com/t-Po ... alary.html
http://www.csmejobs.net/jobs/5205-commi ... olice.html

in fact seems only in Europe are salaries on par or above the proposed new salary of T&T's COP, consider the cost of living there to here dollar for dollar combined with the job requirements and you'll see the our salary is high, fortunately the views expressed in this thread are in the minority prob because they are sycophantic in nature as per the typical PP fanatics who abandon critical thinking for fanboyism seems very much at odds with the over 400 comments on the Express website 99% of which oppose the salary

Postby RASC » August 22nd, 2010, 9:41 am

eliteauto wrote:the following 2 links are examples of COP salaries for a bigger city with a larger staff and populace that Trinidad, and a country with a higher standard of living and avg income-
http://www.ihirelawenforcement.com/t-Po ... alary.html
http://www.csmejobs.net/jobs/5205-commi ... olice.html

in fact seems only in Europe are salaries on par or above the proposed new salary of T&T's COP, consider the cost of living there to here dollar for dollar combined with the job requirements and you'll see the our salary is high, fortunately the views expressed in this thread are in the minority prob because they are sycophantic in nature as per the typical PP fanatics who abandon critical thinking for fanboyism seems very much at odds with the over 400 comments on the Express website 99% of which oppose the salary

Trust me...they'll have a response in opposition to this too.

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2010, 9:46 am

your response is disingenuous at best, the Police Service Association never said they would not support the new COP, the statement made by Sgt Anand Ramesar stated..
the proposals as a slap in the face for members of the Police Service, who have expressed grave concern about the situation. He said the police had a three-year salary negotiation outstanding and were operating under 2007 salaries. Should the Government decide to pay Gibbs and Ewatski the "exorbitant and ridiculous" salaries, Ramesar warned there would be far-reaching consequences.
he said it appeared officers were not being valued and recognised for their work by the Government. He called on Minister of Finance Winston Dookeran to meet with the Chief Personnel Officer in an attempt to settle long overdue salary negotiations for police officers. If this is not done, the membership will withdraw its support to work alongside any commissioner.

in summation you have the backbone of the service not being adequately paid yet dealing with increasingly high crime, a non-supportive public, limited human resources etc yet the PS stalls negotiations, but you can swiftly organise a hefty (300%) increased COP salary for a foreigner. The association's head is simply stating fix us now or face a lack of enthusiasm, that has nothing to do with corruption.