Re: Laptops to now cost $15,000 EACH

Postby Bezman » October 1st, 2010, 9:48 am

OHHH gorm....

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 1st, 2010, 9:48 am

see how he does prove everytime he's a kant?
if is one ting boy rasc,, yuh konsistent

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » October 1st, 2010, 9:52 am

saxman642 wrote:Well guys, I had the privilege of first hand handling/testing of the laptops yesterday just before they were given to parents at one of the schools...

It's an HP 425 notebook PC

Specs:
AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Processor P320
HD4200 VGA
At least 2GB RAM (cant remember honestly how much)
250GB HDD
14" LCD
no CD/DVD drive!!
bluetooth, wifi
Windows 7 Pro
9cell battery, up to 8 hours life
about 6 lbs weight

Retails for US$550 online minimum

You gotta be kidding me. whats the point of not having cd/dvd drive. all softwares will be downloaded i guess

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 1st, 2010, 9:55 am

^^^ trying to find another negative to say bout the laptops aren't you!!
if they had a cd/dvd drive, ent yuh woudda say "dem children only watchin dvd and playin music on dem?"

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 1st, 2010, 9:55 am

i have a CD/DVD drive in my Macbook and i honestly think I have used it twice in over a year....
also it will stop them from watching movies etc on the laptops.

software is pre-installed and like most if not all software these days it's downloaded...

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » October 1st, 2010, 9:58 am

no. would you want a laptop with no cd drives? its a general standard. My cousin is a teacher in success laventille school. Im helping her with editing video projects , burning and transferring data/video to the students through dvd. its required.
Last edited by Shango_13 on October 1st, 2010, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » October 1st, 2010, 10:00 am

cd/dvd rom drives have gone the way of the dinosaur, and the only people who use them on the pc are movie pirates.

usb pen drives are much more user friendly.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 1st, 2010, 10:01 am

shango13 ever heard of a netbook?
ever seen any with drives?
i feel you vex cause you didnt get one

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » October 1st, 2010, 10:06 am

why dont you be a good citizen and donate some of them to the students so they can do their video projects

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » October 1st, 2010, 10:12 am

OMG NO DVD DRIVES NOOOOOOOOOOO

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 1st, 2010, 12:23 pm

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » October 1st, 2010, 4:34 pm

teems1 wrote:wey, a next thread backfire on RASC

ROFL :lol: :lol: :lol:

i think he had to go back to launching a full scale investigation on that $50 doubles change de driver had.

brickman

Postby brickman » October 1st, 2010, 5:35 pm

Didnt this happen before with his budget deficit rant?Is the Trinidad Express Rowley edition he gets so what do you expect. :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 1st, 2010, 7:39 pm

I heard on the Radio that this $15,000 cost is a lie that the media and certain people are making up to make the government look bad.

And that the laptops will only cost $4000

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 2nd, 2010, 7:12 am

RASC reminds me of this boy I grew up with in my neighbourhood.
As a child after school on a weekday the boys would meet up in the road and run a lil football or cricket or whatever.However there always was this lil egg layer who used to be first to start the fight but when fight breakout he first to run back into his yard and watch so nobody could do him anything.Always giving everybody talks but first to run away and taunt the others from the safety of his home.
RASC yuh start yuh fight now come out and fight and stop being a panty.

Postby RASC » October 2nd, 2010, 11:51 am

4 Pages & I haven't said a word as of yet.

How can a thread backfire if I haven't even stated an opinion? :lol:
...what's even funnier is that you little ppl think you can intimidate me too LOL :drinking:

eyephone

Postby eyephone » October 2nd, 2010, 12:09 pm

brickman

Postby brickman » October 2nd, 2010, 12:30 pm

Three days & four pages later & you still cant make your point that we dont want to f**king hear anyway.Waiting to sniff rowley bottom to find it?
hello.jpg

Postby Chimera » October 2nd, 2010, 1:56 pm

where is that picture with jack saying uhh uhhh uhhh upppp the forking road rasc

Postby RASC » October 2nd, 2010, 2:33 pm

Notice I post an article, leave no opinion, edit nothing...yet I'm being attacked. This is due to the small mindedness of you people, who in person wouldn't even whisper a note.

A thread can only backfire if the OP leaves his/or opinion you dumbfucks :lol:

My Groupies are a special bunch 8-)

Postby pete » October 2nd, 2010, 3:06 pm

RASC wrote:Notice I post an article, leave no opinion, edit nothing...yet I'm being attacked. This is due to the small mindedness of you people, who in person wouldn't even whisper a note.

RASC wrote:The price per-laptop is now $15,000TT

...as a result of my security software implemented. Now I think the gov't would've been much wiser to equip every student with their own personal security guard and pay them $10,000 a month!

Crime outta hand and you have kids walking around with $15,000 worth of equipment in their backpack...BRILLIANT!

:mrgreen:

brickman

Postby brickman » October 2nd, 2010, 3:08 pm

Since you are still ranting without giving your holy opinion yet....
jack.jpg
jack.jpg (21.69 KiB) Viewed 1975 times

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 2nd, 2010, 3:19 pm

dawg thaz the best u could do?
come on tuner and cuss??
wow...esteemed level of education...if you did not understand by now, u did make an opinion, sadly it was wrong hence why people are attacking you
not even here is an idiot so even that statement is unsound
you could just say fellas i sorry my bad and go on and live life
stop being so small minded nah

Postby DFC » October 2nd, 2010, 3:59 pm

rasc and he sour grapes again eh.
lol..

So Raschole u think u have a bigger and greater mind than the rest of tunerville?
u dare tell people they "small minded"

well actions speak louder than words.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » October 2nd, 2010, 4:19 pm

5onDfloor wrote:let me get this straight from $4K to 15K.........

15/4 = 3.75

so the new cost $83mil x 3.75 = ???????

So the new price tag of this election promise [size=200]rises from $83,000,000.00 to $311,250,000.00[/size]
rt
and the treasury empty and this an yearly expense?

so in five 5yrs its going to cost us [1.5billionTT
[/size]in laptops?????????

this is the CHANGE we voted for? allyuh sure Calder hart aint workin for the PPP?

Whey the PPP supporters?

they are in Guyana

zcarz

Postby zcarz » October 2nd, 2010, 4:26 pm

teems1 wrote:^^

cd/dvd rom drives have gone the way of the dinosaur, and the only people who use them on the pc are movie pirates.

usb pen drives are much more user friendly.

not really eh.. but in a way that's good that they didnt put a cd/ dvd drive (it deters gaming) unless those form 1's know about torrents.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 2nd, 2010, 4:48 pm

RASC wrote:Notice I post an article, leave no opinion, edit nothing...yet I'm being attacked. This is due to the small mindedness of you people, who in person wouldn't even whisper a note.

well in case you cant take a hint, let me see if i can spell it out so even you can understand,,,,

nah sorry i can't :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 3rd, 2010, 3:07 pm

Shango_13 wrote:
saxman642 wrote:Well guys, I had the privilege of first hand handling/testing of the laptops yesterday just before they were given to parents at one of the schools...

It's an HP 425 notebook PC

Specs:
AMD Athlon II Dual-Core Processor P320
HD4200 VGA
At least 2GB RAM (cant remember honestly how much)
250GB HDD
14" LCD
no CD/DVD drive!!
bluetooth, wifi
Windows 7 Pro
9cell battery, up to 8 hours life
about 6 lbs weight

Retails for US$550 online minimum

You gotta be kidding me. whats the point of not having cd/dvd drive. all softwares will be downloaded i guess

You still use CD/DVDs? What what pray tell?

This reminds me of when Apple removed 3.5" floppies from their laptops/macs in 1998 and PC people were crying. And I was like "wuh?".

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 3rd, 2010, 3:10 pm

RASC wrote:4 Pages & I haven't said a word as of yet.

How can a thread backfire if I haven't even stated an opinion? :lol:
...what's even funnier is that you little ppl think you can intimidate me too LOL :drinking:

Next time you "don't want to say a word", format the text properly and try not to highlight areas in RED TEXT.

Snags

Postby Snags » October 4th, 2010, 1:20 am

^Lmao, it is against the rules to have dvd/cd drives in any computer that is to be issued to a school, that's why the systems came without them. If you were to submit a tender for a government contract, they would discard it if they saw dvd/rw/cd etc as it "promotes file and media sharing". It has nothing to do with mac's, or dick sizes or anything else.