Imitation HAT tweeter

FD3S

Imitation HAT tweeter

Postby FD3S » October 31st, 2010, 11:35 pm

Was browsing an electronics store last friday and came across ths interesting audiopipe tweeter. Looks Legatia L1 Pro ish.

2010-10-30 12.59.15 (Small).jpg

2010-10-30 12.58.36 (Small).jpg

Got a small demo on it. With a 3.3uf cap in series, the tweeter impressed me. Sounded like a good soft dome tweeter. Smooth, detailed and not harsh atall. Wish i had the real thing there to compare it with.
Idleness in me wants to switch out my PPI domes for these just for kicks (I won't be surprise I like these better, lol)
Price is not bad, around $275 a pair i think. With options like these ppl have no excuse for power acoustik nb1 and bullet tweeters :lol:

Re: Imitation HAT tweeter

Postby 3stagevtec » November 1st, 2010, 12:43 am

100% copy and a poor showing from audiopipe.. i was disappointed when i 1st saw them.

jeff

Postby jeff » November 1st, 2010, 2:43 pm

You know how quite a few subs share the same hard parts, i was wondering if this is the same case.

BUT

At the end of the day, the only way we will know is if we ask the Audiopipe designer on this forum.

8-)

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » November 1st, 2010, 5:02 pm

CALLING SSC..

FD3S

Postby FD3S » November 1st, 2010, 7:58 pm

Allyuh fellers wouldn't give that man a break at all :D .

3stage, I understand where u coming from, with audiopipe taking a shortcut and incoporating another company's R&D in their product. Not too cool.
Personally I don't hold it against them. They may use cheeper materials and assemble in some chineese factory but if the aim is to produce a good quality product that an average consumer can afford, i don't mind.
Actually I wish they would come out with the entire 3-way set :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 1st, 2010, 9:51 pm

Is it loud doh?

FD3S

Postby FD3S » November 1st, 2010, 10:08 pm

Yea man, d tweeta singing. Heights like that, loud and crispy.

Postby SR » November 2nd, 2010, 1:40 am

i could be wrong but i dont think there was a patent on the housing
the internal soft parts should be different

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 2nd, 2010, 7:05 am

To the chinese building, a patent is just a piece of paper people hang on a wall.

You guys wouldn't believe the amount of attention and discredit this tweeter is getting in and out the us.

Fact is L1 pro, was released almost 2 years before audiopipe started emailing their distributors, offering this tweeter. Those who attended the SQS were amongst the first in the world to see/hear it, as it was released days before the SQS.

From a mile away, they both look the same.

In your hands, you realise they are both entirely different creatures.
Aesthetics, Choice of materials, Sonic Performance are all entirely different.

Im happy that the general public has realised that it's an imitation.

Now don't get me wrong, some things that are copied aren't half bad. Speaker grilles, distros, lighting accessories.

Another point to note, that during a Warehouse tour at NA USA last week, it was revealed that many audiopipe products are built with in the Trinidad market in mind. I didnt know if I should have felt proud or otherwise about that.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 2nd, 2010, 8:25 am

Postby SR » November 2nd, 2010, 9:20 am

whats the cost of the audio pipe tweeter in trinidad

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 2nd, 2010, 9:39 am

Price is not bad, around $275 a pair i think

Postby SR » November 2nd, 2010, 9:43 am

hmm seeing some options for the housing

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 2nd, 2010, 10:45 am

275 is retail.

How many pieces you want. Ah case?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 2nd, 2010, 11:12 am

am so how much is d retail for d real thing ? ....

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 2nd, 2010, 11:34 am

it was revealed that many audiopipe products are built with in the Trinidad market in mind

3stage is rumored to be head of product testing.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » November 2nd, 2010, 7:20 pm

nigel1977 wrote:Another point to note, that during a Warehouse tour at NA USA last week, it was revealed that many audiopipe products are built with in the Trinidad market in mind.

ours specifically, or markets like ours?

Postby 3stagevtec » November 2nd, 2010, 9:17 pm

Firewall wrote:
nigel1977 wrote:Another point to note, that during a Warehouse tour at NA USA last week, it was revealed that many audiopipe products are built with in the Trinidad market in mind.

ours specifically, or markets like ours?

that would be market like ours.. audiopipe is much more popular in the south american region..

where you see builds like these..

mid bass battle FTW! :shock:

Postby SR » November 2nd, 2010, 10:35 pm

nigel1977 wrote::lol: :lol: :lol:

275 is retail.

How many pieces you want. Ah case?

u selling audiopipe now ???

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 2nd, 2010, 11:23 pm

SR...Maybe.

3stage... the sales manager specifically said "Trinidad's Market". There are products built because of Trinidad's Market (Pro Audio), but may be sold in other regions.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 2nd, 2010, 11:51 pm

nigel1977 wrote:SR...Maybe.

3stage... the sales manager specifically said "Trinidad's Market". There are products built because of Trinidad's Market (Pro Audio), but may be sold in other regions.

wow.. :shock:

TechMods

Postby TechMods » November 3rd, 2010, 8:43 am

Best they move the factory to T&T

Postby SR » November 3rd, 2010, 8:47 am

audiopipe reps were in trinidad some time ago

marketing pitch to make you feel special??

there is a huge market for the "pro audio" products in south america and puerto rico

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 3rd, 2010, 9:26 am

SR wrote:audiopipe reps were in trinidad some time ago

marketing pitch to make you feel special??

there is a huge market for the "pro audio" products in south america and puerto rico

^^^perhaps. Didnt work tho. :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » November 4th, 2010, 11:45 pm

One thing about the vids above, everything is kept in the vehicle. No box on the hood.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » November 6th, 2010, 11:49 am

3stagevtec wrote:100% copy and a poor showing from audiopipe.. i was disappointed when i 1st saw them.

200W OUTPUT power? Does that tweeter have a built-in amplifier? :)

Also, what's the conversion between "RSM" watts and normal watts? :)

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » November 6th, 2010, 7:39 pm

^^^ you HAVE to wonder if their typos are deliberate. lol.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 8th, 2010, 9:53 pm

Buddy, you REALLY need to lay off the meds.
Everyone else posting here knows the Audiopipe tweeter is a knockoff.

As the case of the powerbass vs the image amp.
Even an employee of the local rep has confirmed they are the same. Not that I needed his confirmation.

Do you need me to find a cheaper amp using the guts from your amps too?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 8th, 2010, 10:12 pm

So this is the part where I reply to your name calling? Because at this point, its obvious that the focus of your scientific discourse is no longer on amp a vs amp b, but is directed to me. How flattering.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 8th, 2010, 10:31 pm

LOL.

We and Our?

Mice in your pocket or are you French?