just curious but cheap sq oriented system?

altec

just curious but cheap sq oriented system?

Postby altec » January 23rd, 2011, 5:04 pm

what is the cheapest an sq oriented system can go for? The wife's speakers flapping in the fielder so I am thinking change. I have an old PIONEER PREMIER DEH-750MP which should be functional so could that be a good start? She wants everything looking bone stock which means no sub or tweets. The up side is there are speakers on all doors. She like my system but she not spending 6000 fo an amp.

I am feeling to just replace the speakers with (your suggestion here) and leave everything else.

pimptacular

Re: just curious but cheap sq oriented system?

Postby pimptacular » January 23rd, 2011, 5:06 pm

dls coaxials

Sully

Postby Sully » January 23rd, 2011, 6:27 pm

What's the budget?

altec

Postby altec » January 23rd, 2011, 6:56 pm

I really did not think of budget just cheap as possible sq. She is not into finer points of sq but likes tonality; staging, height etc means little to her. music is low enough to carry on a conversation 90% of the time but it is on all the time so it should not fatigue the ears.

5forward

Postby 5forward » January 23rd, 2011, 8:46 pm

i would say two pairs of the powerbass sc-6 components at lowest...less than $1000 total.nothing under that...

Postby Gladiator » January 23rd, 2011, 9:27 pm

Orion Cobalt Coaxials actually give some good results for the price... also I have a pair of MB quart 4" Premium comps up for sale (made in Germany not China). They are component but can be converted to coax. PM me if you interested in it

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 24th, 2011, 11:16 am

make a pass to gopauls

you can actually put together a decent 3 way set from what's available there

jeff

Postby jeff » January 24th, 2011, 12:11 pm

southside connections wrote:make a pass to gopauls

you can actually put together a decent 3 way set from what's available there

i got the impression that this was a simple system, why recommend 3way?

altec a simple pair of coax installed great in your doors will make a great difference.
Even a budget component set etc installed Well will make the world of difference.

The emphasis here is all about the install as usual

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 24th, 2011, 12:20 pm

because they also have 3 way passive crossovers to choose from , starting from around $150 or so lol

that's the most expensive thing there lol, after that speakers does be -$100 and thing, and they actually sound good lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2011, 12:28 pm

pimptacular wrote:dls 226 coaxials

Hands down! A small amp to run RMS to them and some deadeden and you want no more.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » January 24th, 2011, 8:44 pm

southside connections wrote:because they also have 3 way passive crossovers to choose from , starting from around $150 or so lol

that's the most expensive thing there lol, after that speakers does be -$100 and thing, and they actually sound good lol

not only is it not simple... that definitely eh cheap.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 24th, 2011, 10:58 pm

$1000 can get you a full 3 way set lol

sometimes actually listening to a speaker's response is the better way to judge what's right for you

i listed to a nippon america extended range 4" driver, and it sounded pretty natural and full from 100hz to around 6k or so price was $75/side or $150/pair

also had the chance to play some audiopipe silk domes, not the imitation hat one, and they were very smooth and well controled , best of all, they were not too bright $85/pair

but what i was most impressed with was the 6.5" replacement woofer for $$120, it actually sounded full, and clean, and it was underhung and was very responsive $240 for the pair

so-
240 +150 + 85 = $475 on speakers alone

the most you spending on a 3 way passive is $250 per side, and for that you can get ready made, or make your own

i think i may undergo this project unno, might be nice to see the results afterward for cheap speakers

viking1705

Postby viking1705 » January 24th, 2011, 11:15 pm

cheapest way out would be 4 coaxials on the 4 doors run off your deck and talk done.powerbass has a small nice coaxial that actually sounds great at $150 or so a pair.so $300 on speakers and wire them on each of the four channels on the pio deck and your good to go.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 25th, 2011, 11:23 am

southside connections wrote:$1000 can get you a full 3 way set lol

sometimes actually listening to a speaker's response is the better way to judge what's right for you

i listed to a nippon america extended range 4" driver, and it sounded pretty natural and full from 100hz to around 6k or so price was $75/side or $150/pair

also had the chance to play some audiopipe silk domes, not the imitation hat one, and they were very smooth and well controled , best of all, they were not too bright $85/pair

but what i was most impressed with was the 6.5" replacement woofer for $$120, it actually sounded full, and clean, and it was underhung and was very responsive $240 for the pair

so-
240 +150 + 85 = $475 on speakers alone

the most you spending on a 3 way passive is $250 per side, and for that you can get ready made, or make your own

i think i may undergo this project unno, might be nice to see the results afterward for cheap speakers

Bloody hell are you DAFT?

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 26th, 2011, 11:40 am

viking1705 wrote:cheapest way out would be 4 coaxials on the 4 doors run off your deck and talk done.powerbass has a small nice coaxial that actually sounds great at $150 or so a pair.so $300 on speakers and wire them on each of the four channels on the pio deck and your good to go.

I got a pair of PowerBass S-652 in my front doors for the past 2-3 yrs they sound pretty good for some cheapos. I have them amped though.

UZi Tech

Postby UZi Tech » January 26th, 2011, 12:21 pm

components!!!!!!!!!!! Hifonics for an all rounder....Powerbass for the price...o MB Quart for quality....o if u got $2200..RE XXX comp.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 26th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Agreed with coaxials, and a put together passive three way with generic crossovers is something I would advise against.

Postby X_Factor » January 26th, 2011, 5:18 pm

almost all powersellers in the audio classifies have decent coaxials for around 500.00 a pair
anybrand u decide to go with will work pretty good
JBL
DLS
powerbass
Mb quart
hifonics
etc

if u feeling for a little extra work...use some dynamat