Re: Angostura Single Barrel Rum

Postby eliteauto » February 20th, 2011, 11:53 am

looking for a bottle of Black Bottle blended scotch, not seeing any up East

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 20th, 2011, 7:55 pm

eliteauto wrote:looking for a bottle of Black Bottle blended scotch, not seeing any up East

I saw that got good reviews, as being an excellent peated, blended scotch ... I think you should get a similar experience from the Caol Ila 12 ... based on reviews anyway ...

see also:

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » February 21st, 2011, 9:39 am

I remember seeing a website posted in one of the forums that does sell alcohol
in the UK, I did as serch on a few topics and couldn't find it. Anyone care to
re-post the link.

A friend of mine is going bask to the UK and only drinks 1919 but find it very hard to
locate supplies.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 1st, 2011, 1:16 pm

eliteauto wrote:looking for a bottle of Black Bottle blended scotch, not seeing any up East

I got this in Farmer's in Diego - last bottle though!

However they do have gentleman jack and jim beam black! for the bourbon fans ...
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on March 1st, 2011, 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 1st, 2011, 3:13 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:as being an excellent peated, blended scotch
\

Peter blended it you said?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 6th, 2011, 11:55 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

I got this in Farmer's in Diego - last bottle though!

However they do have gentleman jack and jim beam black! for the bourbon fans ...

OK My black bottle review along with a couple others ...

Black Bottle: smokey, slightly vegital in taste, almost a cigar aftertaste on the pallet for the finish. Took a little getting used too, but I really enjoy it now. Takes well to having a touch of water in it ... highly recommended. will definitely buy again.

Chivas 12 revisited .... Entirely drinkable but way too unremarkable. Easy for the "once on a holiday" whisky drinkers to consume, but entirely unremarkable and unmemorable for the seasoned alcoholic ... passable but I will not buy again.

Glenfiddich 12 year old single malt - honey, pear, love it ... Will buy again no questions asked.

Evan Williams bourbon - No real nose, one note, not very interesting as a sipping bourbon - however it's 43% and makes a wicked good bourbon and coke. - will not buy again.

Hankey Bannister original - honey and strong alcohol on the nose, one note, no finish, entirely unremarkable - will not buy again.

Still have to send some time with the Caol Ila 12 .... So more when that happens

so here's my take on the Caol Ila 12 ... Nose is pronounced vegital and ash. There's an initial sweetness at first, and it's mild with a strong ash finish. To me it's almost like someone took a delicate, mild whisky and ran it through a dirty ash tray before serving. If you are a cigarette person, I think you might get a lot of enjoyment out of this, because it's a quality product. But, for me, that strong ash after taste is a big turnoff ... Not smoke like a wood BBQ but cigarette ash ... Will not be buying again.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 7th, 2011, 1:20 am

^^^^good info man....keep us informed!!!!

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2011, 11:22 am

Saw a 15 and 18 year old Glenfiddich in a wholesale place Brasso side yesterday. Going back for the 18 year old. Cost $463.00

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 7th, 2011, 4:31 pm

De Dragon wrote:Saw a 15 and 18 year old Glenfiddich in a wholesale place Brasso side yesterday. Going back for the 18 year old. Cost $463.00

Actually internet reviews suggest the 15 year old is the pick of the range ... And can you post the number of the place?? thanks!

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2011, 4:38 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Saw a 15 and 18 year old Glenfiddich in a wholesale place Brasso side yesterday. Going back for the 18 year old. Cost $463.00

Actually internet reviews suggest the 15 year old is the pick of the range ... And can you post the number of the place?? thanks!

Ok,when I go back I'll post it.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » March 15th, 2011, 12:26 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

Ok,when I go back I'll post it.

Getting thristy brother and payday approaching ...no number yet?

Re: Angostura Single Barrel Rum & others *now with reviews*

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2011, 7:16 am

yup the 15 is much nicer than the 18 to me
The 18 is very warm and oaky not my cuppa tea

Postby crazybalhead » March 15th, 2011, 7:23 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I consider it a decent cheap rum ....

My rum preference will always be El Dorado 15year old and Mount Gay extra old which are both excellent.

1919 I consider to have the family taste, and while decent, I can never forget the harsh vat 19 family resemblance whenever I partake ...

Looking for a good scotch recommendation however .... I never could stand JW black or B&W or Mc Arthur's ... But maybe I'm just drinking the wrong stuff ...

I do quite enjoy Jack Daniels, more so the old brew ... the latest batch is quite weak but still pleasant to my pallet ... I understand this is an amateur's scotch but I know what I like ...

Recommendations based on my pallet are welcomed ...

You should also try Appleton 12yr. It's not as sweet as the El Dorado. Much more complex than say a 1919.

And agreed with MG Man, a god rum must be drunk NEAT.

White oak is for coke and sprite.

Postby ronsin1 » March 15th, 2011, 7:48 am

I hope alyuh have alyuh designated driver

Postby crazybalhead » March 15th, 2011, 8:04 am

Dat jinkin home bai!!!

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2011, 8:10 am

dun know
most places outside there dont know about good alcohol anyway

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2011, 9:48 am

cinco wrote:dun know

most people either

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2011, 9:54 am

eliteauto wrote:
cinco wrote:dun know

most people either

really and truly taste is subjective so i do not bother with that i know what i like and it has taken me years to find what i liked
some people enjoy the taste of white oak even
so hats off to them

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 15th, 2011, 9:57 am

Can you guys point me in the direction of those whiskey glasses locally?

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2011, 10:01 am

its called a snifter
check out any of the better home supply places
IAM, TRADER JACKS to name a few

Postby eliteauto » March 15th, 2011, 10:05 am

I.A.M has a few of varying prices/quality

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 15th, 2011, 10:14 am

Nice thanks.

I recently got a bottle of jack.d Single barrel and figured Id try my hand at this review thing.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » March 17th, 2011, 12:50 pm

single barrel is d shyt...been drinkin it hold carnival season

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 17th, 2011, 2:48 pm

jmccomie wrote:single barrel is d shyt...been drinkin it hold carnival season

Apparently you drinking it all now too! :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » March 17th, 2011, 3:04 pm

He means HOLE Carnival...sheeesh.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 17th, 2011, 3:28 pm

^^ Like allyuh sipping from the same bottle or what?!

Postby Bizzare » March 17th, 2011, 3:41 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:^^ Like allyuh sipping from the same bottle or what?!

Can't be....cuz he actually meant WHOLE carnival :x

Postby crazybalhead » March 17th, 2011, 3:42 pm

I thought he meant HOLT?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 9th, 2011, 11:11 am

Just got the Maker's Mark the wax seal is still on .. so haven't tried it yet.

The Jim beam black was disappointing. Straight, it has a nice bite to it, but no sweetness, and get's lost in a bourbon and coke. :? Nose is very very mild, bordering on non-existent. Basically unremarkable and forgettable although nothing really wrong with it.

The Evan Williams a coke is frankly, delicious and I may have to reassess whether I buy that one again or not ...

I'll update on the Maker's Mark by tonight :mrgreen:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » July 21st, 2011, 9:24 am

Johnnie Walker Black - 30 + years old - Note the old timey bottle. A Masterful blend! Dunno how much of that is my palette maturing vs the magic that happens in a scotch bottle after being allowed to mature for more than three decades, but all win! Aromatic, complex, bold and smooth ... It's JWB, but taken to an incredible level. Can't get enough of this, it's spoiled me for any other scotch ...

Obtained: Private home stocks :drinking:

Appleton estate V/X - My new goto inexpensive quality rum. This just says balanced. Not too sweet, harsh or bold, just a refinement and balance way past it's price point. This is excellent for sipping or with a single cube of ice. I suppose it could be used as premium mixer, but I'd prefer the cheaper and bolder single barrel for this use ... Highly recommended and will be stepping up to the 12 year old Appleton Extra, when i can fnd it.

Obtained: Tru value LCM

El dorado 12 - nice, but not as good as the 15 ... I've read Internet reviews saying the 12 is the gem of the line, but the 15 is in my opinion better in every way. don't get me wrong, the 12 is fantastic, liquid fruit cake, smooth, not as dry finish as the 15. But it's just the 15 is that much better ... Recommended, but go with the 15 every time.

Obtained: Hi Lo - all

Glenmorangie or however you spell it ... picked this up in duty free ... It's subtle on the nose and the pallete ... has some complexity on the after taste ... But really changes it's profile with a couple drops of water ... Becomes sort of bold and harsh. Not my favourite. Will not be buying again.

Obtained: Duty free

1824 - Beautiful bottle! Have yet to try this one. Just picked him up yesterday .... Looks delicious however :drinking:

Obtained: Angostura house of wines - thank you to my boy at angostura for the staff discount

upload gif
Last edited by Mr. Go Slow on July 27th, 2011, 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.