CS3 OWNERS!!!

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

-sMoKe-

CS3 OWNERS!!!

Postby -sMoKe- » March 19th, 2011, 10:12 pm

hey guys i have a RORO (Singapore)cs3 lancer...i found that the radiator fan remains on for a couple minutes after the car is switched off also the fan comes on and cuts off and this is when the engine is cold...i went to an electrician today and he said its the FAN CONTROL UNIT...ive also read about it online and it seems that on some cars this is normal...other cars its dirty coolant, other cars its a dirty radiator.... what do you guys think..

Re: CS3 OWNERS!!!

Postby ronsin1 » March 20th, 2011, 7:29 am

it is your fan control unit

You need to have it replaced before it gets to the point where it will cease to operate

Had this problem with my CS3 and changed it in time.

Also if you have not done a radiator flush I would advise you to do so in the CS thread there is a DIY

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 20th, 2011, 9:02 am

thanks bro!

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 21st, 2011, 10:12 am

new question...what causes this unit to go thru so fass? i have heard that the defect can be repaired..is this true? if so can someone tell me where?

Postby ronsin1 » March 21st, 2011, 12:32 pm

To be honest I do not know why it gives trouble never really researched that.

As far as a fix goes I do not see how some one can fix this unit unless they by pass the unit and have the fans run continuously once you start the car

Postby gastly369 » March 21st, 2011, 5:02 pm

ronsin1 wrote:it is your fan control unit

You need to have it replaced before it gets to the point where it will cease to operate

Had this problem with my CS3 and changed it in time.

Also if you have not done a radiator flush I would advise you to do so in the CS thread there is a DIY

x2 i got one in barrackpore for $400 .. a while back worked good ever since

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 21st, 2011, 8:55 pm

now is 6-800 fuh one.... went bamboo to get it and the dude at the parts place said it was the water temperature unit..he said that if it was the fan control unit the fan would have stopped working... the fan comes on constantly as soon as the car starts ie when the engine is completely cold!...and when i turn off the ignition the fan remains on for about 10-15 seconds.... i did not get the singapore fan control unit...going to get a second opinion from another electrician tom while i try to source one..but so far from the info on this thread it seems that the consensus is the FCU..

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 21st, 2011, 11:50 pm

Trust us, its the Fan Control Unit dude.

MMC made a recall on cars with faulty units but of course our cars left the sdm and jdm markets.

So far Ive seen used FCUs work good, I had a few but sold all. You can check W2J, im sure he can also give you advise on it since its a popular request at his store.

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 22nd, 2011, 5:25 pm

is one of the symptom-
when you turn the ignition on...(just when you see the dash lights lit NOT when the car is started)the fans come on....is that one of the symptom?
ignition on= fan start turning?

and yes...i made sure the AC was off when i turned the ignition on..

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 22nd, 2011, 8:02 pm

bump!!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 22nd, 2011, 8:50 pm

Yes thats a symptom....if you this uncertain, get a padna with a Fan controller and allyuh swap and notice the results

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » March 24th, 2011, 2:50 pm

Definitely the fan control unit. Have 2 cs3 lancers currently that the units went. Both local. Firm replaced them. 1 was under warranty. The other one cost $3,800 new. Never had any problems since.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 24th, 2011, 4:34 pm

dev51 wrote:Definitely the fan control unit. Have 2 cs3 lancers currently that the units went. Both local. Firm replaced them. 1 was under warranty. The other one cost $3,800 new. Never had any problems since.

Damn yo!
W2J have them for less than $1k

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 24th, 2011, 8:10 pm

i got news for u guys!
ok i swapped a FCU from a padna car an it worked.....
and so again ...the wisdom of the mitsu trinituner dudes prevailed over the 2 electricians i went to... dun noh!

Thanks guys!

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 24th, 2011, 8:18 pm

btw i am looking for ONE original CS3 black rim to use as a spare...the one i have come from a b15 and even though its spacing is the same the center hole is too small...i wanna get a original cs3 black rim...any one have a spare one lying around

Postby gastly369 » March 24th, 2011, 10:49 pm

idlemind wrote:
dev51 wrote:Definitely the fan control unit. Have 2 cs3 lancers currently that the units went. Both local. Firm replaced them. 1 was under warranty. The other one cost $3,800 new. Never had any problems since.

Damn yo!
W2J have them for less than $1k

:shock: :shock: :shock:

and i was feeling bad i pay $400 for ah lil box :oops:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 25th, 2011, 12:29 am

When I had them, I sold them for $300 coz i know the stress.

Glad you got through -sMoKe-

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 25th, 2011, 8:42 am

i bought a f-used one..its working now..but i was wondering if the defect can be repaired?

bnrampage

Postby bnrampage » March 29th, 2011, 12:34 am

hey need one bad where you all getting it ?

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 29th, 2011, 9:09 am

W2J have them for less than $1k NEW GENUINE MITSUBISHI..however this is a Japanese. The Japanese version can work with some minor rewiring. you can get the singapore version readily available in bamboo...take a drive thru n yuh get 1

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 29th, 2011, 9:32 am

can any one redirect me to a link that specifies the exact cause of the defect please..

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 29th, 2011, 9:43 am

Postby ronsin1 » March 29th, 2011, 3:58 pm

^^^ funny thing is Kris the Fan Controller in the 05 CS is the one that went bad. The one in the 02 CS still going strong

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 29th, 2011, 5:45 pm

Boy from what I know, there was a recall on all MMC vehicles that carried the controller.
So for all you know, the 02 CS was changed before it left.

And also they didn't say all controllers go bad, so you never know.
I never had to change mine but I did anyway.

Aye I need a radiator fan, first time eh.. Fed up change the condenser but I have the slim turbo fan in now and it wukin real nice!

-sMoKe-

Postby -sMoKe- » March 29th, 2011, 7:27 pm

idlemind wrote:
Aye I need a radiator fan, first time eh.. Fed up change the condenser but I have the slim turbo fan in now and it wukin real nice!

say again dey..

turbo_beast369

Postby turbo_beast369 » April 3rd, 2011, 10:57 am

my car has the same symptoms, fans occasionally coming on and off when engine is cold and stays on for a lil less than 10 seconds when key out d ignition....ting is, I noticed that like over 2 years now and it still goin strong with no problems...car is a local and was bought in the frist quarter of 2003

Postby gastly369 » April 3rd, 2011, 11:28 am

mines work so for a month and totally give up... had to change

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 3rd, 2011, 8:15 pm

-sMoKe- wrote:
idlemind wrote:

say again dey..

LOL

Ok my lancer has 2 fans, one for the radiator and one for the condenser.
In later models CS they converted to a single fan.

I replaced the condenser fan (smaller one) a couple times in the past.
Finally I went with a slim fan (generic aftermarket) suggested for cars with turbo.
And it works great...I scrapped it and fir the blades and motor into the shroud of my original.

Now apparently my radiator fan finally gives up after working for over 10 years.
Considering doing to same thing and go with a slimline fan

Postby ronsin1 » April 4th, 2011, 5:50 am

I have a radiator and a condenser fan if you want the Radiator Fan no problem But here is the catch you need to come south for it

idlemind

Postby idlemind » April 4th, 2011, 10:45 am

yuh making meh pass through the gasparillo and claxton bay gauntlets??

Return to “MITSUBISHI”