The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » May 4th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Whether you're selling your Mac or just doing a little spring cleaning, keeping your Mac clean not only ensures that your machine works well, but that it also looks good. From cleaning your screen, to dusting your trackpad and magic mouse, we've got you covered in this guide. Learn all of the tips for cleaning and reconditioning your Mac desktops and notebooks.

1. Clean Your Screen

Your screen is one of the most important parts of your Mac, so why not keep it shiny? For this, we recommend a good screen cleaning solution like Monster’s iClean (which is what Apple uses at the Genius Bar to clean visitor’s screens). This cleaning solution comes with a cloth that will ensure no scratching of the screen.

To clean your display, spray any glass-safe cleaner (don't use any chemicals containing alcohol or acetone) onto a lint-free cleaning cloth. Avoid spraying any cleaner directly onto your electronics as the spray may seep into sensors or other electronic components of the computer, causing malfunctions or other failures.

2. Clean Your Keyboard

It has been proven that your keyboard can contain more bacteria than the bathroom toilet. So, not only is cleaning your keyboard great for keeping down germs and keeping you from getting sick, but it's also good for making your Mac look nice.

To disinfect your keyboard, use a Lysol or Clorox Disinfecting Wipes to gently wipe down your keyboard's keys. To clean the aluminum bridge between the keys, depress the two keys that it lies between and use your fingernail to remove any built-up dirt. After using the disinfecting wipe to clean your keyboard, use a damp, soft, lint-free cloth to gently wipe over the area you cleaned with the wipe to remove any potential residue. Finally, use a dry, lint-free cloth to dry off your keyboard.

Because the keyboard on a notebook Mac is so close to the internal components of the machine, you should especially use caution and remember the following tips:

- Before cleaning your keyboard, you should turn off your notebook computer, unplug your wired keyboard, or turn off your wireless keyboard.

- Do not use disinfectant wipes containing bleach or disinfectant sprays.

- Do not use an extremely damp disinfectant wipe to clean the area. If you encounter a very damp wipe it may need to be squeezed to remove some of the excess liquid before use.

- Do not allow the liquid from the disinfectant wipe to sit or pool on the area being disinfected for a long amount of time.

- Do not use rough towels or cloths to dry the area.

- Do not use excess force when disinfecting the area around the keyboard; this could damage the keys.

3. Clean Your Magic Trackpad

The Magic Trackpad on your MacBook or stand-alone Bluetooth Trackpad is made of glass on the touch surface and can be treated just like your Mac's display. Spray any glass-safe cleaner (don't use any chemicals containing alcohol or acetone) onto a lint-free cleaning cloth, and use the cloth to wipe down the trackpad surface. Just like the keyboard, you should avoid using excessive force when cleaning the trackpad to avoid any potential damage.

4. Clean Your Magic Mouse or Mighty Mouse

The top part of the Magic Mouse can be cleaned just like the Magic Trackpad, except you will want to ensure your cleaner is plastic-safe and doesn't contain any aerosol sprays, solvents, or abrasives. You will also want to ensure that you don't get any cleaner into the cracks and crevasses of the mouse.

One of our biggest gripes with the Mighty Mouse is when the scroll ball on the top of the mouse gets stuck and won't move. If your Mighty Mouse is like this, then the best way to remove the particles is by turning your mouse upside down and roll the ball vigorously with a soft, lint-free cloth. You can see an Apple video demonstration of cleaning the scroll ball here.

Any Apple mouse from the past decade will either use laser or optical tracking. To clean the sensor at the bottom of the mouse, use a dry, lint-free cloth to wipe off any dust, dirt, or debris. Do not use any liquid solution on the sensor. If you are unable to remove dust from the optical sensor area, using a can of compressed air can remedy the situation, but be careful not to turn the can upside down while spraying to avoid releasing the internal liquid (or freeze your hands!)

------

Asymco's Horace Dediu has posted a chart showing Apple's growth for net sales and earnings. Dediu notes that "It’s easy to become de-sensitized to the scope of these numbers, but it bears repeating: the growth has been steadily increasing since 2009."

The first chart uses a grading system with color coding to show bands of growth.

The second gives an idea of how much bigger the company's business is now vs. a year ago. Not just on the revenues but also the cost of these revenues and what is retained.

------

Apple Insider says that not only will OS X Lion be downloadable through the Mac App Store, it will be their main focus for distribution of the new operating system (the purported screenshot above supports that claim).

The disc version will still be available by all accounts, so traditionalists need not panic. But what happens if you download through the app store and want to reformat? Do you have to do two OS installs to get Lion running?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » May 5th, 2011, 9:03 am

When is the iphone 5 coming out?

casper

Postby casper » May 5th, 2011, 9:21 am

as how version 4.3.3 is out now....any one found a fix for my problem with the stuck apple logo??? carried it by an unlocker...they cant even do it neither..also sat down and watch the guys at cell doctors attempt to do it as well...and they cant get it dun neiother...it keep stickin @ the apple logo...and i know it's not just mine in the whole world doin this cuz it's all over google and youtube if u do a search

someone please help...i really want this thing jailbroken quickly :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 5th, 2011, 9:57 am

Karim Khan wrote:When is the iphone 5 coming out?
http://www.topcomputertablets.com/white-iphone-4-is-here-%E2%80%93-iphone-5-summer-release-pushed-back/224447/

check that link
Seems the iPhone 5 may be pushed back to 2012

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 5th, 2011, 9:58 am

^ sounds like an untethered jailbreak lol

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 5th, 2011, 11:14 am

casper wrote:as how version 4.3.3 is out now....any one found a fix for my problem with the stuck apple logo??? carried it by an unlocker...they cant even do it neither..also sat down and watch the guys at cell doctors attempt to do it as well...and they cant get it dun neiother...it keep stickin @ the apple logo...and i know it's not just mine in the whole world doin this cuz it's all over google and youtube if u do a search

M_2nr and the others here have been my sources for help with the problems I had recently with my 3GS, but I also did some Google searches to find out some more.

Is it taking any part of the install? Are you getting any error codes?

casper

Postby casper » May 5th, 2011, 12:55 pm

Parvin wrote:
casper wrote:as how version 4.3.3 is out now....any one found a fix for my problem with the stuck apple logo??? carried it by an unlocker...they cant even do it neither..also sat down and watch the guys at cell doctors attempt to do it as well...and they cant get it dun neiother...it keep stickin @ the apple logo...and i know it's not just mine in the whole world doin this cuz it's all over google and youtube if u do a search

M_2nr and the others here have been my sources for help with the problems I had recently with my 3GS, but I also did some Google searches to find out some more.

yea the whole thing finishing jailbreak but when the itouch booting up and reach the white apple logo it keep sticking right there....it rel f@ckin frustrating... i keep havin to put in DFU mode and restore it on itunes in order for the itouch to actually come off being stuck on the apple logo

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 5th, 2011, 12:58 pm

I guess you can probably try iReb or Tinyumbrella to kick it out of recovery.

Worth a try.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » May 5th, 2011, 12:58 pm

jus btw guys........ im lookin for a case for an ipad2 and im sellin my ipad with d original apple case.

the ipad2 jbable????

casper

Postby casper » May 5th, 2011, 1:08 pm

Parvin wrote:I guess you can probably try iReb or Tinyumbrella to kick it out of recovery.

Worth a try.

tinyumbrella not reading any previous ios other than 4.3.2....i think i found out the problem though...

it seems to be the ones carrying these model numbers - MC544LL

hoping Dev Team will come out with a fix for this soon

any ppl in here have 4g itouch's as well??? can ya'll please post which model number ya'll have so i can see if this is the problem???

Postby M_2NR » May 5th, 2011, 1:20 pm

casper wrote:
Parvin wrote:

yea the whole thing finishing jailbreak but when the itouch booting up and reach the white apple logo it keep sticking right there....it rel f@ckin frustrating... i keep havin to put in DFU mode and restore it on itunes in order for the itouch to actually come off being stuck on the apple logo

k try this right... open redsn0w... latest obviously... and hopefully i remember this right... (did this on a tuner one :lol: and this is partly how it got to boot) try to INSTALL CYDIA. It should fail. After this, Restore the 4.3.2 Firmware (hopefully i HOPE to God Apple still signing it) and it should complete.

Good luck.

Model Number should not be an issue... they are pwned for life... tethered but pwned. 4.3.2 is untethered tho so DO NOT use 4.3.3. ;)

again we always forget, there is a disclaimer to all of this, that things might go wrong. Sad you had to be one to go thru some issues bud.

oh and i not responsible if it fack up more eh :|

just a side note... You're the administrator right? u loading redsn0w with administrator priv;s right?

casper

Postby casper » May 5th, 2011, 1:30 pm

^^^aye can i jes bring this $hit for u to see if u can do it??? cuz i rel f@ckin fed up to be honest...

if u can i'd rellll appreciate it

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 5th, 2011, 2:41 pm

M_2NR wrote:
NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:How is the speeds with TSTT EDGE on the iPad2 ?

usable for reading blogs , html pages etc?

duane will say yea (and surprisingly i dunno how but his does work nice) but generally if you have patience, it will load but take a while!
Im on digicel edge and i use opera browser with it. Works ok.

ok cool thanks for the info

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 5th, 2011, 2:54 pm

^^ i was going the edge way
but i recently got my 4g hotspot from blink and i ordered my ipad...

easiest route and fastest.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 5th, 2011, 4:29 pm

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

duane will say yea (and surprisingly i dunno how but his does work nice) but generally if you have patience, it will load but take a while!

Me? nah I find it damn slow

but it's usable if you really need to get something done

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 5th, 2011, 5:34 pm

^^ exactly

that is was i used to set my mind up to..

its not good..but it gets something done if u need to..

i eh able with that again

Postby M_2NR » May 5th, 2011, 7:58 pm

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

Me? nah I find it damn slow

but it's usable if you really need to get something done

d man mash up d quote tags deh boy...
But yours did work better I find. *inserts how Duane knows everyone and owns piece of TSTT & Flow* :lol:

Mifi is certainly the fastest way but... I dont see myself paying 400+ even 250+ for those speeds. But i realize Chiney and others will have much more use for it than me. I'm home mostly anyway.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 5th, 2011, 11:16 pm

NOTICE I was doing a little research on the rebel sim for the iPhone 4 and I came across this

It's fake and is just a knockoff of the gevey sim.

additionally, I will be selling gevey pro sim's starting next month for anyone interested.

the gevey pro is esentially a tethered unlock

and the rebel micro sim was advertised as being an untethered version,

the video posted explains in detail.

Postby M_2NR » May 5th, 2011, 11:34 pm

mojosodope wrote:NOTICE I was doing a little research on the rebel sim for the iPhone 4 and I came across this

It's fake and is just a knockoff of the gevey sim.

additionally, I will be selling gevey pro sim's starting next month for anyone interested.

the gevey pro is esentially a tethered unlock

and the rebel micro sim was advertised as being an untethered version,

the video posted explains in detail.

thanks. good looking out
make sure if u selling it here to get a powerseller status 8)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 6th, 2011, 10:25 am

If you recently upgraded to iOS 4.3.3 that fixed Locationgate woes, you’ll be delighted to know that untethered jailbreak and unlock for iOS 4.3.3 is now available. The iPhone Dev-team have updated their PwnageTool and redsn0w programs so it’s now possible to jailbreak iOS 4.3.3 using Mac and Windows in a way that doesn’t require connecting the device to a computer each time it’s rebooted.

The iOS 4.3.3 untethered jailbreak is based on the exploit created by @i0nic for iOS 4.3.1. The updated redsn0w tool also allows you to turn on multitasking gestures, the team noted in a blog post. If you wish to unlock your device for use with any carrier, there’s an app for that.

To unlock an iOS 4.3.3 device, use the ultrasn0w tool. Remember that ultrasn0w at the time of this writing only worked with iPhone 4 baseband 1.59.00 and iPhone 3G/3GS basebands 4.26.08, 5.11.07, 5.12.01, 5.13.04 and 6.15.00. Use a custom IPSW to update to 4.3.3 in order to avoid updating your baseband. You may wanna use excellent ipswDownloader for Mac to easily find and download any iOS firmware build. This app also figures out your baseband version and tells you whether your iOS version can be jailbroken and unlocked. If you’re on Windows, download the f0recast app that checks whether your device is unlockable or tethered with a USB connect.

If you just want to perform an untethered iOS 4.3.3 jailbreak, I recommend handy step-by-step guides for redsn0w or PwnageTool. The below video shows how easy it is to perform an untethered jailbreak of iOS 4.3.3 via redsn0w 0.9.6rc15. For newbies, iClarified.com provides a wealth of jailbreaking and unlocking guides. And if you need a reason to jailbreak, Cydia creator Saurik has a few.

As for the iPad 2 jailbreak, it’s still pending per a note over at the iPhone Dev-team blog.

The iPad2 jailbreak remains under development. As you may know, the original exploit @comex developed in the first week of the iPad2 release was mysteriously fixed by Apple within days of its development. Partly because of this, don’t expect much public discussion of the iPad2 jailbreak until it’s actually finished and ready for release (and please avoid asking about it). In all liklihood, it will be a userland exploit like the first (unreleased) one, not dependent on bootrom dumps. The first one can’t be released even for those with the original 4.3 firmware due to legal (distribution) reasons.

Postby Stephon. » May 6th, 2011, 10:28 am

I wish apple would bring out a car.

Postby M_2NR » May 6th, 2011, 10:45 am

http://www.mahmood1.com/jailbreak.php

its slowly coming in! im gonna update now :)
well in 1/2 hour... when the download finishes

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 6th, 2011, 11:43 am

This isn't a good sign. Since using redsn0w, no bmobile signal. :?

Postby M_2NR » May 6th, 2011, 11:52 am

I reading the same thing... iPhone 4's being a big btch.

Casper, try 4.3.3 with the latest redsn0w. Word is, your issue is fixed:
http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/5239805497/tic-tac-toe

casper

Postby casper » May 6th, 2011, 11:56 am

M_2NR wrote:I reading the same thing... iPhone 4's being a big btch.

Casper, try 4.3.3 with the latest redsn0w. Word is, your issue is fixed:
http://blog.iphone-dev.org/post/5239805497/tic-tac-toe

i readin that on modmyi forum as well...when i reach home i gonnna try :D

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 6th, 2011, 12:36 pm

M_2NR wrote:http://www.mahmood1.com/jailbreak.php

its slowly coming in! im gonna update now :)
well in 1/2 hour... when the download finishes

Guess I'll try the one from this link (now finished downloading as I type). Asking around on the Dev Team page as well.

Seems they think it is a common baseband mismatch problem, but after I told them my baseband was 04.10.01 that it shouldn't happen.
Another suggestion was to start the whole procedure again to verify that the signal strength was fine prior to the jailbreak, which it was. As far as I am concerned for right now it is redsn0w's fault, even though from what I've been told, it shouldn't be.

Postby M_2NR » May 6th, 2011, 1:48 pm

That very very weird. I assume you using the latest redsn0w and that its a clean restore etc.

Mines working (3GS). But remember last release there was an issue with 4's.

Long time i eh restore from a backup yes, lets hope everything in order.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 6th, 2011, 2:45 pm

All is well. Worked fine the third time I tried. Still no idea what happened the first 2 times. Guess like the old saying goes, 3rd time's the charm

Postby Stephon. » May 6th, 2011, 2:48 pm

Stephon. wrote:I wish apple would bring out a car.

I'm I the only one that wants an iCar?

Postby M_2NR » May 6th, 2011, 2:56 pm

SRASC wrote:All is well. Worked fine the third time I tried. Still no idea what happened the first 2 times. Guess like the old saying goes, 3rd time's the charm

My first time failed as well eh... But my DFU was not pwned i think. It kept saying it can't connect to the apple server, etc. I even took off saurik server etc. I'm glad you got thru.