The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » May 8th, 2011, 2:20 pm

your unlock would still software unlock not factory once u rely on ultrasn0w. Factory can only be considered like the process for ~$180 (which is dead again) through iTunes which whitelists your IMEI.
The APN is the same as cellular data as I said in my prev. post.

___

Update #1: PwnageTool and redsn0w have been updated to include a fix for the iPhone3GS/i4 side switch vibration issue (only for 4.3.3!). Thanks to @i0n1c for tracking this down (even though he doesn’t even have an iPhone!).

**If you’re already jailbroken at 4.3.3 (by either redsn0w rc15 or custom IPSW), you can install this fix simply by running redsn0w rc16 over your existing 4.3.3 jailbreak. Just uncheck the “Install Cydia” option and check any other options you want. The fix will be installed no matter what you’ve selected. This is safe for even ultrasn0w unlockers to do (because redsn0w itself won’t update your baseband…only an iTunes stock IPSW update/restore will do that).**

redsn0w rc16 has a few more improvements: Windows 7 and Vista users should no longer need to set their CPU affinity…just run redsn0w as Administrator in XP compatiblity mode. Also, the “verbose boot” option for old-bootrom iPhone 3GS has been fixed for 4.3.3 (remember: old-bootrom 3GS users can even have custom bootlogos that show right at power-up). Enjoy!

gonna do it now :)
noticed this since in 4.3.2
Get the latest redsn0w rc16 here.

I got bored and enabled boot logos :oops:

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 8th, 2011, 8:41 pm

M_2NR wrote:
mojosodope wrote:wait.. the personal hotspot feature works in iphone 4's down here? I'm on bmobile too can you tell me how it established using just the normal edge connection?

I'm on a 3GS and it works sans Wifi. I noticed a few Settings were moved to the front page of Settings. Internet Tethering was renamed to Personal Hotspot also. Just enter the relevant APN for internet tethering and it works.
For jailbroken iPhones that are software unlocked i believe you /may/ have to pwn the commcenter.

Duane, pass a day and bring teh iPad over nuh. I have yet to use one. :oops:

i see they are planning on brining the PH to the iPad also
AT&T adding Personal Hotspot option to iPad plan

By Charles Starrett
Senior Editor, iLounge
Published: Friday, March 11, 2011
News Category: iPad

AT&T has announced that it will allow iPads to utilize the Personal Hotspot feature of iOS 4.3. According to the announcement, the Personal Hotspot feature will be available to iPad customers who choose the $25/2GB monthly plan and add the $20 tethering option, which includes an extra 2GB of data that is shared between tethering and normal usage. Previously, tethering was limited to iPhone users. In the same release, the company notes that customers who activate a new postpaid $25/2 GB plan will receive the first month free.

SAUCE :

Code: Select all

http://www.ilounge.com/index.php/news/comments/att-adding-personal-hotspot-option-to-ipad-plan/

pyromaniax

Jailbreak! itouch

Postby pyromaniax » May 8th, 2011, 8:49 pm

Did a search and couldn't find anything on 4.2.1 jailbreaking.

I'm trying to jailbreak a itouch 2g version 4.2.1 MC model, I downloaded the Greenpois0n jailbreak 4.2.1 untethered firmware from http://greenpois0n.com/ (RC6.1 for windows).

I followed all the instructions step by step and got the itouch into DFU mode and the screen went black. Then using the firmware I clicked the jailbreak button, the screen went white which supposed to happen.

The screen remained white and said fail to jailbreak , but actually supposed to turn black followed by a wall of text. Can anyone tell me or help to my problem of not getting pass that white screen and failing?

I am using this guide http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak-ios ... -to-guide/

any help appreciated. :shock:

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 8th, 2011, 9:03 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 8th, 2011, 10:15 pm

jailbreaking is not required for internet tethering (now known as Personal Hotspot)

the APN for Internet Tethering is the same "internet"
once it is set up any device will be able to use the bmobile data on the iphone to connect to the net. You can connect via wifi, bluetooth or USB cable - It is working with an iPad 2 and a netbook via wifi and bluetooth

i havent tested it yet with Digicel

Postby M_2NR » May 8th, 2011, 10:49 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:jailbreaking is not required for internet tethering (now known as Personal Hotspot)

the APN for Internet Tethering is the same "internet"
once it is set up any device will be able to use the bmobile data on the iphone to connect to the net. You can connect via wifi, bluetooth or USB cable - It is working with an iPad 2 and a netbook via wifi and bluetooth

i havent tested it yet with Digicel

Duane your iPhone is official. Not like mines and those relying on a software unlock (ultrasn0w et al) which are AT&T based ones. If your remember a while ago in iOS 3 we had to use a site benm.at to get profiles? that was the old method :) Apple has now locked down on allowing modded carrier.plist files into the system so if you load the carrier bundle for digicel for instance, it wont work properly.

and doe forget to bringz teh iPadz. :P

Ohh and yea it works on Digicel too (APN: web.digiceltt.com).

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 9th, 2011, 7:09 am

seem to be working on mine...id do some more test later

Postby M_2NR » May 9th, 2011, 8:14 am

I believe its more iPhone 4's. I think the option is there for the 3GS not sure as to why the issue arise on 4's. For instance sometimes Cellular Data Network Menu disappears on 4's. Every week my padna always complaining about it.

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 9th, 2011, 8:29 am

^ saw that happened with a friend on mine.....is it a bug with the jailbreak or something?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 9th, 2011, 8:36 am

Here is again rumor that iPhone 5 release date is scheduled to September 2011 or early 2012. According to press note by Avian Securities, Apple’s next gen iPhone 5 should go in production in July and will be available in September 2011 that leading us to predict that iPhone 5 will not hit stores till late 2011 or early 2012.

iPhone 5 Features at a Glance:

Storage Capacity: Apple is offering 16 GB and 32GB iPhone since 2009, so apple is aware this it would be hard push iPhone 5 without having 64 GB of storage. iPhone 5’s lowest model will come with 32G of space and 64G of memory.

Signal Strength: Unlike iPhone 4, iPhone 5 is not having signal issue, as they are offering the strongest signal strength of any iPhone model ever even the best of any Smartphone to ever come to market.

Face Recognition: The new iPhone 5 will have Face Recognition for Security sake so that you don’t have to worry about other people stealing your phone and trying to use it.

Thickness: All three iPhone had thinner bodies than the previous model so the iPhone 5 can be the thinnest yet & much nicer overall body design of the phone.

Longer Battery Life: iPhone 5 will have Up to 14 Hours of Talk Time On The 3G and 7 Hours on the 4G.

Video Chat: Video Chat on a 4G network instead of a slow 3G one
Screen: Shatter Resistant and Scratch Resistant Screen
Built In GPS: You’ll never get lost or have to download one of those stupid GPS apps.
Surprise: As the tradition of apple iPhone 5 will also unveil some surprise features.

SAUCE:

http://www.iphonestuffs4u.com/iphone-5-release-date-and-features/

casper

Postby casper » May 9th, 2011, 9:41 am

dat....lookin.....SWEEEEEET!!!!!!

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » May 9th, 2011, 9:49 am

doh excite yuhself yet dannnn......

daz jus rumours....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 9th, 2011, 10:15 am

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
Here is again rumor that iPhone 5 release date is scheduled to September 2011 or early 2012. According to press note by Avian Securities, Apple’s next gen iPhone 5 should go in production in July and will be available in September 2011 that leading us to predict that iPhone 5 will not hit stores till late 2011 or early 2012.

iPhone 5 Features at a Glance:

Storage Capacity: Apple is offering 16 GB and 32GB iPhone since 2009, so apple is aware this it would be hard push iPhone 5 without having 64 GB of storage. iPhone 5’s lowest model will come with 32G of space and 64G of memory.

Signal Strength: Unlike iPhone 4, iPhone 5 is not having signal issue, as they are offering the strongest signal strength of any iPhone model ever even the best of any Smartphone to ever come to market.

Face Recognition: The new iPhone 5 will have Face Recognition for Security sake so that you don’t have to worry about other people stealing your phone and trying to use it.

Thickness: All three iPhone had thinner bodies than the previous model so the iPhone 5 can be the thinnest yet & much nicer overall body design of the phone.

Longer Battery Life: iPhone 5 will have Up to 14 Hours of Talk Time On The 3G and 7 Hours on the 4G.

Video Chat: Video Chat on a 4G network instead of a slow 3G one
Screen: Shatter Resistant and Scratch Resistant Screen
Built In GPS: You’ll never get lost or have to download one of those stupid GPS apps.
Surprise: As the tradition of apple iPhone 5 will also unveil some surprise features.

SAUCE:

http://www.iphonestuffs4u.com/iphone-5-release-date-and-features/
that was really arbitrary

and people still complaining about this signal issue?
I've never experienced a signal drop when holding my iPhone 4

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » May 9th, 2011, 10:31 am

hey guys

iPhone 3GS issue here...

Phone jailbroken running iOS 4 i think... or maybe the last version of 3...

was on 2 calls, received a tm and tried to read the msg. at this point the screen went blank and i got the busy indicator (spinning circle)

Tried to power off the phone, tried a reset (power and home)... no luck. circle keeps spinning

Connected to PC and was not recognised by iTunes

I'm not sure if it discharged and has the same issue when recharged

It's not my phone so i know details may be a little scant...

Postby M_2NR » May 9th, 2011, 11:16 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:^ saw that happened with a friend on mine.....is it a bug with the jailbreak or something?

boy i really not sure as to exactly what it is but i believe modding/patching the carrier.plist solves it. There is a dirty way using Extreme Preferences but that is not needed and apparently using extreme prefs can mess up things.

original_lollybob wrote:hey guys

iPhone 3GS issue here...

Phone jailbroken running iOS 4 i think... or maybe the last version of 3...

was on 2 calls, received a tm and tried to read the msg. at this point the screen went blank and i got the busy indicator (spinning circle)

Tried to power off the phone, tried a reset (power and home)... no luck. circle keeps spinning

Connected to PC and was not recognised by iTunes

I'm not sure if it discharged and has the same issue when recharged

It's not my phone so i know details may be a little scant...

No probs on the details. Glad to know u willing to provide details if u had :P
Um... hard restart na?
Hold Power and Home until the screen cuts off. Continue holding until it restarts. :)

NiTrOuS RaCeR,
1) stick to real blogs.
2) I'm sure SRASC posted details about this post before.
3) That image is concept and all of the details. AFAIK no one is even sure of anything. By now we normally knew something but Apple is both tight lipped as well as who knows, it may even be delayed.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » May 9th, 2011, 11:22 am

M_2NR wrote:
Hold Power and Home until the screen cuts off. Continue holding until it restarts. :)

i think that was tried aready u know...

will keep u updated

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 9th, 2011, 10:39 pm

According to a report by WPP’s “BrandZ Top 100 Most Valuable Global Brands”, Apple has surpassed Google to become world’s most valuable brand. The brand value of Apple has increased 859% since the year 2006.

Other notable companies in that list includes: IBM at number 3, and Microsoft on number 5.

1. Apple ($153,285 million)

2. Google ($111,498 million)

3. IBM ($100,849 million)

4. McDonald's ($81,016 million)

5. Microsoft ($78,243 million)

------

After the release of Angry Birds Rio back in March this year, Rovio is set to release the first update for the game. The update will be known as Beach Volley and Rovio say it will be available this week!
To give you a taste of what to expect, Rovio has released a short preview video showing the birds getting hurled at helicopters, pirate ships and castles decked with beach balls. It all looks like a lot of fun set against an ocean backdrop.

------

Canaccord Genuity analyst Michael Walkley suggests that not only does Apple have the most popular smartphone and tablet in the U.S., but even its previous-generation gear is outselling the competition. In a note to investors on Monday, Walkley writes that Apple’s iPhone 4 is far and away the top-selling smartphone for both AT&T and Verizon Wireless. The iPad 2 is also the most popular tablet in the country right now, of course. The real bad news for Apple’s competition, however, is that according to the analyst’s checks with retail sales channels, Apple’s old iPhone 3GS is still outselling competitors’ offerings at AT&T and Apple’s first-generation iPad is still outselling other tablets at Verizon. “Interestingly, our April checks indicated continued strong demand for the iPhone 3GS at AT&T and iPad 1 at Verizon, as these older generation products with reduced prices often outsold new Android products,” Walkley wrote. “We believe this highlights Apple’s significant competitive advantage, and these older products help Apple offer a tiered pricing strategy at key channels.” Walkley found that Apple’s original 16GB and 32GB iPads sold out at Verizon in less than two weeks following the introduction of the iPad 2, and the iPhone 3GS recently outsold both the Motorola ATRIX 4G and the HTC Inspire 4G at AT&T.

Postby M_2NR » May 9th, 2011, 10:39 pm

if it doesnt boot, leave it alone for about 5mins and try again. but i figure the phone ran out of ram and the springboard crashed. happens a lot with iOS 4

Postby M_2NR » May 9th, 2011, 11:57 pm

ulyuh seeing this... gevey sim;s are $13?!
Gevey Sim on Amazon

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 9:12 am

(iPhone 4)
there are ALOT of fake gevey sims out there and that is one of the major reasons people are having problems with them. Amazon on eBay aren't guaranteed to sell genuine gevey sim products.

Another thing is that the gevey sim is now outdated and it has been replaced by the gevey pro which fixes various bugs and that is the reason why gevey sims are so cheap as they have been discontinued.

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2011, 11:26 am

m_2nr, i having a sorta issue with a 3gs i have on 4.3.3

I dunno if it's a software issue or the screen

sometimes the screen not responding but other times it working normal, like i using the ipod and scrolling tru songs..and it wud jus stick and i would have to press home button and then go back to ipod and it wuld work normal

i playing angry birds and i wouldn't be able to enlarge or reduce the screen, would have to press home button and then restart angry birds and it`ll work normal for a few hours then same problem again

wha u think? screen problem or software problem?

i used redsn0w and official 4.3.3 to jailbreak & unlock, 6.15 baseband

Postby M_2NR » May 10th, 2011, 1:29 pm

mojosodope, so where to buy it then? i seems some reviews if not at least 50% of them say it works.

ABA Trading LTD, now that one i cant say. You restoring from backups? or you doing a clean setup of your iPhone? try restoring again right but dont use any backups so set it up as a new phone if u dont do this.
I normally set up as a new phone only this time since the jailbreak was the same i didnt.

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2011, 1:32 pm

nope i setting up as a clean iphone, i not even restoring it, all i have on it right now is cydia.

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2011, 1:33 pm

the thing is, it's 4.3.3 right so i put it into dfu using ireb and i tried using itunes to restore the official 4.3.3 but i get error 1015 so i use redsn0w and the same 4.3.3 ipsw to install cydia

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 2:06 pm

M_2NR wrote:mojosodope, so where to buy it then? i seems some reviews if not at least 50% of them say it works.

that's the thing you have to be really carefully because there are soo many fakes but I bought a couple from a top rated seller on eBay, his selling history was flawless and all the past buyers of this listing rated it positive so it's legit.
http://cgi.ebay.com/GEVEY-PRO-IPHONE-4-UNLOCK-TURBO-SIM-4-3-2-UNLOCKED-/250810149239?pt=SIM_Cards&hash=item3a65732977#ht_1245wt_1141

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 10th, 2011, 2:10 pm

@ ABA Trading LTD

Why not use sn0wbreeze to install a custom package ... jailbreak/unlock.. and then run the redsn0w for the fix?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 10th, 2011, 2:14 pm

gettin my ipad thursday :d

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 2:28 pm

Chiney wrote:gettin my ipad thursday :d

congrats! get an otterbox for itt

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 10th, 2011, 2:30 pm

send link

cuz i seeing so much things for them....lol ..cant choose

Postby M_2NR » May 10th, 2011, 2:30 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the thing is, it's 4.3.3 right so i put it into dfu using ireb and i tried using itunes to restore the official 4.3.3 but i get error 1015 so i use redsn0w and the same 4.3.3 ipsw to install cydia

for 4.3.3 stock from apple u eh need to use iReb. and you will get 1015 error with the stock firmware. check my blogpost. That error is because your Baseband eh getting updated remember?
Do as parvin say, use a snowbreeze custom ipsw or from the site i posted on the prev page

mojosodope wrote:
M_2NR wrote:mojosodope, so where to buy it then? i seems some reviews if not at least 50% of them say it works.

that's the thing you have to be really carefully because there are soo many fakes but I bought a couple from a top rated seller on eBay, his selling history was flawless and all the past buyers of this listing rated it positive so it's legit.
http://cgi.ebay.com/GEVEY-PRO-IPHONE-4-UNLOCK-TURBO-SIM-4-3-2-UNLOCKED-/250810149239?pt=SIM_Cards&hash=item3a65732977#ht_1245wt_1141

Cool thanks. How is the gevey sim working in trinidad? how often it drops signal etc? its for a buddy of mine's i4 who just came back from away na