The Ambulance/EHS service...efficient or not?

qwerty

The Ambulance/EHS service...efficient or not?

Postby qwerty » June 27th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Had the opportunity to use the service provided by EHS for a relative and i was impressed all rounded. before, i shared the view like many of you out there that the service was inefficient. i stand corrected. thumbs up for good service.

any of you ever had to use the service? what you all think of it generally

Re: The Ambulance/EHS service...efficient or not?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 27th, 2011, 9:02 pm

besides having to answer a million ?s to d person taking d call : d EHS workers themselves do a excellent job ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2011, 9:08 pm

never used their expertise but I have heard many people say good things about them.so i guess yeah,they are rather good at what they do.

Postby rollingstock » June 27th, 2011, 9:11 pm

For being understaffed and overworked, they do perform, rovin those millions of questions are actually necessary.

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2011, 9:31 pm

well considering the amount of practice they gettin in trinidad..they should be efficient.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 27th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Well since GMRTT take them over they became somewhat more efficient, they actually situate ambulances at strategic points to be dispatched for quicker response time rather than park up at base (something the police can learn from them). The only I have with them is the unnecessary abuse of sirens to break traffic lights or to go get lunch.

Postby Bizzare » June 27th, 2011, 10:03 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Well since GMRTT take them over they became somewhat more efficient, they actually situate ambulances at strategic points to be dispatched for quicker response time rather than park up at base (something the police can learn from them). The only I have with them is the unnecessary abuse of sirens to break traffic lights or to go get lunch.

I'm sure you used the phone at work to make personal calls a couple of times. Every job comes with perks and unstated benefits man. :wink:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 27th, 2011, 10:14 pm

Bizzare wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Well since GMRTT take them over they became somewhat more efficient, they actually situate ambulances at strategic points to be dispatched for quicker response time rather than park up at base (something the police can learn from them). The only I have with them is the unnecessary abuse of sirens to break traffic lights or to go get lunch.

I'm sure you used the phone at work to make personal calls a couple of times. Every job comes with perks and unstated benefits man. :wink:

Nope........too much maccos in d workplace

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 27th, 2011, 11:16 pm

dammit....have to agree with Bizzare's comment there again....

haven't used the service personally but they had to be used at my workplace and indeed they were quite efficient and response time was fairly decent, considering they were coming from at least 20 km away....

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 27th, 2011, 11:27 pm

they are very well trained and try their best...i was one of hte first to be trained ....... jsut did it after i finished my degree-- wasnt sure of career at that time.....realy good training......learnt alot

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2011, 5:28 am

is the number 811? i wonder if they use gps & call tracing like the US (where u cud b in ah cartrunk & they can track your cellphone & find u)

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 28th, 2011, 7:19 am

redmanjp wrote:is the number 811? i wonder if they use gps & call tracing like the US (where u cud b in ah cartrunk & they can track your cellphone & find u)

You would think if we had such technologies in use in trinidad a lot more kidnappers would have been caught/victims rescued....

But the ambulance service is awsome, had them come for a family member once and while the driver looked unsure as to if he could drive too good, the attendant was quite professional and polite. Kinda expected her to throw 2 panodol at my aunt and say "heh tek that".

zach51

Postby zach51 » June 28th, 2011, 10:48 am

I remember my days in EHS service before going to med school...best days ever. thumbs up indeed for those officials...they do toil very hard and are efficient.

the millions of questions u answer when u call 811, though annoying, is indeed important to those medical staff and operators since it dictates what code priority (i.e. LIGHTS and SIREN=red light through-flow request........,or NO LIGHTS and NO SIREN=regular driving no traffic through-flow request) an ambulance will be sent at your requested location.

the communication network (gps, radio frequency transmission, blackberry network) stands to be one of the best as compared to the other services such as fire, police and all those other special units in the police service since its a replica of the communication system in america and canada used in their ambulance service.

many different protocols and rules apply to the light and siren use and trust me "hustla_ambition101" those guys dislike using the siren since it increases the risk of potential accidents. so though it may seem as though an ambulance is at a light, intersection or in traffic and the siren comes on suddenly, its due to the fact that he/she suddenly has a call to respond to of high priority.

though remembering from my days of EMS, i remember other ambulance services with same ambulance model vehicles(with different logos) giving the EMS a bad name since those other ambulances may/may not operate with less protocols and penalties for siren & light use or they may just be the regular "road hogs" who think that the siren gives them the right to break all the traffic laws....

these actions are always seen by the operators of the hospital's ambulance.

thumbs up for good service by EMS/GMRTT

slypher

Postby slypher » June 28th, 2011, 10:54 am

well said zach51!

Postby cinco » June 28th, 2011, 10:54 am

thumbs up
had to use them on a couple occasions with the grand pops and they were experts and very accommodating

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 28th, 2011, 11:15 am

the only thing that i think is the non training on the defib.hence some are not allowed to use it... i dunno if its still this way.....

zach51

Postby zach51 » June 28th, 2011, 11:24 am

streetbeastINC. all the ambulances of EMS are equipped with the defibrillator, ECG, pacing machines, SPo2, u name it.. they have come a long way..good stuff

Postby redmanjp » June 28th, 2011, 11:29 am

sounds good- what might improve response times during peak traffic hrs is if they had access to the traffic light system & can change a light to green just b4 they pass it so they wont be kept back

Postby turbosingh » June 28th, 2011, 12:37 pm

If i was the driver of the Abulance trust meh it reaching on time..FYAAZ :wink:

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 28th, 2011, 1:05 pm

i know they are outfitted with them...but most were not trained to use them...

Postby sharkman121 » June 28th, 2011, 1:10 pm

Zach51 yuh issa doctah orr?? ah ha dis pain in mih chesss, k74t gimme ah enos buh dat aint cuttin it.

whe yuh recommen..

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2011, 1:12 pm

couple times we saw the need to call them, they were timely and professional. No complaints whatsoever.
The hospitals in this country, however....

zach51

Postby zach51 » June 28th, 2011, 1:13 pm

^^ Correction to that bro..they are trained to use all the equipment and provide alot of pre-hospital care however the stupid powers from the health sec. won't implement and pass the bills for alot to be done

slypher

Postby slypher » June 28th, 2011, 1:18 pm

jes take ah good shot ah puncheon nah boy or eat some chataigne and break dah wind... :D :D :D

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 28th, 2011, 4:34 pm

these EHS personnel who respond to accidents and stuff have real belly.....They do all the dirty work with cleaning up and organising an accident victim before dropping them off at the hospital........

they are the ones on the scene to deal with these gruesome accidents........kudos!

I respect ya.....

Baloueng

Postby Baloueng » May 20th, 2013, 2:28 pm

qwerty wrote:Had the opportunity to use the service provided by EHS for a relative and i was impressed all rounded. before, i shared the view like many of you out there that the service was inefficient. i stand corrected. thumbs up for good service.

i looking for a used ambulance to purchase....anybody have any idead?

Baloueng

Postby Baloueng » May 20th, 2013, 2:28 pm

qwerty wrote:Had the opportunity to use the service provided by EHS for a relative and i was impressed all rounded. before, i shared the view like many of you out there that the service was inefficient. i stand corrected. thumbs up for good service.

Baloueng

Postby Baloueng » May 20th, 2013, 2:29 pm

sorry....typo...ideas

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 20th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Baloueng wrote:

you need a hearse not an ambulance

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 20th, 2013, 2:42 pm

searchingone wrote:
Baloueng wrote:

you need a hearse not an ambulance

like this dude wanna put some hard pong in 1 orr , it does have some good space for it ... :mrgreen: