Whirlpool vs GE washer

solidust

Whirlpool vs GE washer

Postby solidust » August 13th, 2011, 6:52 pm

Looking to buy a fully automatic washer, both is around same price.

The thing is we had a whirlpool (mexico version) n that thing rotten out in no time, ppl say the usa version is built for the caribbean, its more durable with better quality etc,

The GE well I know GE is not like long ago GE which lasting 12+ yrs.

I not sure, any advice/ review on any?

Thanks

Soundwave

Re: Whirlpool vs GE washer

Postby Soundwave » August 13th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Whirlpool wins because it has more letters...

Postby Bizzare » August 13th, 2011, 7:18 pm

solidust wrote:The thing is we had a whirlpool (mexico version) n that thing rotten out in no time

Pm rainman. He bringin back that normel normel.

solidust

Postby solidust » August 13th, 2011, 9:35 pm

will do. thanks.

Postby redmanjp » August 13th, 2011, 9:55 pm

my mom have a Whirlpool from like 20 years ago still wukking but it rusting at d bottom because of a leak

Postby Rainman » August 13th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Bizzare wrote:
solidust wrote:The thing is we had a whirlpool (mexico version) n that thing rotten out in no time

Hope you packed your bags for that vacation.

OP i'm sorry but you were sorely misguided, i do not repair washing machines.

Postby AllTrac » August 13th, 2011, 10:11 pm

Bizzare wrote:

bizarre orgoar doh give people wrong information nah, u wasting people time and bothering other users, next time is ban eh.

Postby Rainman » August 13th, 2011, 10:15 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Bizzare wrote:

bizarre orgoar doh give people wrong information nah, u wasting people time and bothering other users, next time is ban eh.

i tort it was "no tolerance" regarding that kind of violation.

Postby K74T » August 13th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Have a whirlpool washer still going strong from '97, never had any major problems, slight rust on cover only.
Last edited by K74T on August 13th, 2011, 10:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » August 13th, 2011, 10:20 pm

if i took that approach then everyone would get ban, even you, plus that would also make me a hypocrite. If he does it again, then he would get banned.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 13th, 2011, 10:56 pm

I have faith in good ole skool whirlpool washers.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 14th, 2011, 12:06 am

my whirlpool I've had about 9 years now.....just had to change the dogs once and well there is some rusting going on at the base......other than that it washes quite clean....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 1st, 2017, 6:49 am

morning....I am bumping this ched for anyone out there who has information as to where I can get the old school washers to buy...not the new fully digital ones....the good old turn turn knobs one

https://offerup.com/item/detail/63052370/

similar to the one in this link

Postby *KRONIK* » April 1st, 2017, 7:49 am

Home centre
Grande

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 1st, 2017, 9:00 am

shakes all over have them
Standards , pricesmart ,

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2017, 10:21 am

when he say ole school washers, i was more thinkin along this line

cyah get no more ole school dan dat

Postby maj. tom » April 1st, 2017, 10:33 am

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 1st, 2017, 10:34 am

Anyone knows how to fix the infamous banging of the drum??

My washer recently started to bang against its sides during spin cycle..

Its level and I don't see any signs anything broke or came unhinged

Postby The_Honourable » April 1st, 2017, 11:49 am

nick639v2 wrote:Anyone knows how to fix the infamous banging of the drum??

Had that problem last year with my whirpool. For me, the suspension rods needed changing. Normally it is a set of 4.

Get you washer serial number and search up for the suspension rods. You can go on the manufacturer website, type in the serial number which will load the washer you have. Then from there you can get the part number for the rods.
Last edited by The_Honourable on April 1st, 2017, 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 1st, 2017, 11:50 am

Don't know OP, but there was some good information on this thread.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=389783

Postby Slartibartfast » April 1st, 2017, 1:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Had that problem last year with my whirpool. For me, the suspension rods needed changing. Normally it is a set of 4.

Get you washer serial number and search up for the suspension rods. You can go on the manufacturer website, type in the serial number which will load the washer you have. Then from there you can get the part number for the rods.
Had the same problem you had and fixed it with the same solution.

Nick, when you washer empty, open up the lid and push down hard on the centre piece and let it go. If it bounces up and down like a trampoline then you definitely have the same problem. It is supposed to be very stiff.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 1st, 2017, 2:31 pm

Yup just did it and it bounced continuously... Will look locally then foreign for the rods.. Thanks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 1st, 2017, 3:03 pm

88sins wrote:when he say ole school washers, i was more thinkin along this line

cyah get no more ole school dan dat

lol :lol:

I went to standards in Grand Bazaar and they said that they not bringing the older models due to the cost..I would check out home center...I actually went to Courts to :| and they firmly believe in the new washers

Postby crazybalhead » April 3rd, 2017, 2:46 pm

Advanced in el socorro carries the speedqueen brand of commercial washers. Old fashioned metal gears and knobs. Nothing fancy about it. 11 years and counting...

nick639v2

Whirlpool vs GE washer

Postby nick639v2 » April 4th, 2017, 3:12 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Had the same problem you had and fixed it with the same solution.

Nick, when you washer empty, open up the lid and push down hard on the centre piece and let it go. If it bounces up and down like a trampoline then you definitely have the same problem. It is supposed to be very stiff.

Got the rods parts world for 450.. It was 60 us online anyway.. Easy to put in with a lil help..

Thanks fellas

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 4th, 2017, 4:12 pm

pain so far in locating the washer...

where exactly is Advanced in El Socorro??

Postby Slartibartfast » April 4th, 2017, 4:46 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
Got the rods parts world for 450.. It was 60 us online anyway.. Easy to put in with a lil help..

Thanks fellas
No prob. Glad you get through.

Postby The_Honourable » April 5th, 2017, 2:25 am

nick639v2 wrote:Got the rods parts world for 450.. It was 60 us online anyway.. Easy to put in with a lil help..

Thanks fellas

Nice!!! 8-)

Postby crazybalhead » April 6th, 2017, 10:08 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:pain so far in locating the washer...

where exactly is Advanced in El Socorro??

When on the westbound lane of the highway you can see it on your left right next to the highway. Blue glass building.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 6th, 2017, 10:29 am

is this what you looking for ?

http://standardtt.com/products/applianc ... her-white/

http://standardtt.com/products/applianc ... w460asjww/

http://standardtt.com/products/applianc ... her-white/

Standards seem to be importing from home depot suppliers because their model numbers match those of home depot
I just purchased a dryer and was looking online to compare models and all the models i compared was available at homedepot