The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

casper

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby casper » October 4th, 2011, 3:46 pm

i'll pass on this series....i'll upgrade whenever the iphone 5 comes out next year around ths time :lol:

the iphone 4 already faster than most other phones as is...only thing they really extensively worked on is the camera and video camera with the smart sensor for face detection but i already have a camera @ home that does that...

and i never really sat down to pllay a whole game on my phone cuz those games dont hold my interest for so long...i already havva ps3 @ home so i'll play that...

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 4th, 2011, 3:46 pm

Hmm and just the odda day i was watching the life of stephen hawkings now apple wants me to buy a female version of hawkings to carry in my pocket.

Siri where can i get a doubles with plenty pepper.

searching for doubles with plenty pepper.

Reboot

Postby noshownogo » October 4th, 2011, 3:51 pm

Siri's demo was impressive but they can keep the 4S atm

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 4th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Reports at the event Let's Talk Iphone say Siri is impressive but locking it to a Iphone 4's is Apple's keynote to milking customers to upgrade.
This is why most people won't rush for an upgrade since that's the number one feature in this update plus the extra lens added to camera.

Postby pete » October 4th, 2011, 4:26 pm

iMessage to compete with BBM?

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 4th, 2011, 4:44 pm

Yes iMessage is to kill BBM not compete :) But BBM is already dead in certain parts of the world infact i never used bbm i always use a nifty little messenger i have that can text anyone phone in the world for free only bad thing is they have to pay to text me locally on my reg number but if there phone has wifi they can text me for free on a US number.

Works about the same but IMessenger suppose to be a free text based app now i think most carriers in the US would allow this feature to be free since it's free on the ipod using wireless.
That's apple direction to kill BBM. But it's more than likely only trinidad providers tstt/digi will milk money for it since it's an all ios device feature so they wil make some kinda special package and advertise saying NOW YOU CAN TEXT ANYONE IN THE WORLD. Join B-mobile the number 1 network blah blah blah

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 4th, 2011, 5:19 pm

iMessage > BBM, done talk.

& just some information for anyone that was interested in buying the iPhone 4s factory unlocked:

just got off the phone with multiple Apple US representatives, no word on the 4S being factory unlocked at all,at least for the time being. The only have options for for pre-ordering on carriers and non whatsoever at full pricing.

called the canadian store but they don't have pricing yet either.

Unless you actually go canada or the uk on the 14th or after, you won't be able to get it through normal channels. (you need a canadian credit card and canadian shipping address to pre order from canada)

hopefully Apple US releases the factory unlocked version once they get the initial batch out, but as of now, we're out of luck in Trinidad and I'm not planning on buying it from bmobile, ever.

*see post on next page*
Last edited by mojosodope on October 4th, 2011, 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 4th, 2011, 5:29 pm

too add to my last post, I did a little digging and I found this on the new iPhone 4 page,
where it still gives you an option to buy the 8GB version factory unlocked for $549, no options for the 16GB & 32GB exist.

What was interesting is that on the last screenshot, when you click learned more about the unlocked iPhone 4, it clearly says the 'The unlocked iPhone 4 or iPhone 4S...'

*note this is on the US Apple store*

I assume this means Apple intends to eventually sell the iPhone 4S unlocked in the states.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2011, 5:57 pm

Wonder why they chose Rolling in the deep as the music?

Siri

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2011, 6:09 pm

I expect that before too long the iPhone 4 & 4S would be sold unlocked in the US. The soon to be gone 16 & 32GB models became available unlocked in the US a little late in the game compared to places like Canada (where I got mine) & parts of Europe, but I expect now they would all launch with factory unlocked models.

I already posted what those prices would most likely be based on Apple's pricing strategy.

8GB iPhone 3GS - Free
8GB iPhone 4 - $99 ($549 unlocked)
16GB iPhone 4S - $199 ($649 unlocked)
32GB iPhone 4S - $299 ($749 unlocked)
64GB iPhone 4S - $399 ($849 unlocked)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 4th, 2011, 6:12 pm

@ mojosodope

Guess you gonna wait?

I think I will

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2011, 6:20 pm

Siri will only work on an iPhone 4S because it supposedly needs the A5 processor - so will Siri work on an iPad 2?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2011, 6:25 pm

Let's Talk iPhone Keynote Video
(would advise using Safari to see it)

------

Brief notes

Despite rumors that the iPod classic and iPod shuffle would be discontinued, Apple revealed on Tuesday that the two media players will remain available for sale.

Apple on Tuesday issued the golden master build of iOS 5, the next-generation operating system for iPhone, iPad and iPod touch, to members of its development community, along with a new build of Mac OS X 10.7.2

------

When was the last time you sent a greeting card? Most likely, you can’t even remember, but Apple believes it has figured out a way to get users to go back to sending greeting cards: through their iOS devices, with a new app, named Cards.

As you might have already guessed, the Cards app allows users to create greeting cards straight from their iPhone, iPod touch or iPad. By picking from a list of 21 templates, and presumably more in the future, users will be able to customize greeting cards for diverse occasions, such as birthdays, and have them sent to anyone by mail – yes, snail mail. For US recipients, cards will even be trackable through the U.S. Postal Service, as explained by Scott Forstall, senior Vice President of iOS software at Apple:

We’ll print it out, put the address on it, and mail it. If you mail in the US, we can track it with the US Postal Service barcode, and we’ll send you a push notification when it arrives,

The service will be pretty affordable, too. While the app itself will be free, sending greeting cards within the United States will cost $2.99 and $4.99 for international shipping. This is a great deal, especially for the latter.

Apple already offers other services that involve printing content on paper, predominantly on iPhoto, where users are able to order professional printouts of their photos on great-looking photo albums, all provided by the Cupertino company itself. However, this service is likely to have more of an impact on the market than any of the company’s past initiatives. The creation of great-looking greeting cards straight from a device consumers have grown to love might drive many other online greeting card makers out of business, especially if Apple’s product turns out to be higher-quality. Shareholders have quickly realized this, which resulted in a sharp decline of the stock value of some of the most prominent greeting card companies. On the upside, this will hopefully provide the struggling U.S. Postal Service with some much-needed revenue.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2011, 6:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Siri will only work on an iPhone 4S because it supposedly needs the A5 processor - so will Siri work on an iPad 2?

That's what I was wondering as well, but I thinking the RAM might be factor as well. The iPad 2 has 512MB & right now I'm assuming the iPhone 4S has 1GB. I guess we'll find out once iOS 5/iPhone 4S comes out & iFix it does their usual teardown to see.

On a side note there seems to be a little issue where when I click on the link to see the latest post I am taken to the 2nd to last page rather than that latest post.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2011, 6:54 pm

^ yeah i noticed that too, looking into it

check this mindjob

Apple Predicted Siri 24 Years Ago So Perfectly It’s Scary

This just blew my mind. Back in 1987 Apple made a video about a future computer that would have a touchscreen with a computerize assistant you could talk to. They were off in their prediction by only 18 days. Wow.
In 1987, former Apple CEO John Sculley wrote about a concept called the Knowledge Navigator. It was a far out idea that was way ahead of its time. Its time, evidently, was today. The Knowledge Navigator features a digital assistant that is almost identical to Siri, which just launched hours ago, though Siri is a disembodied voice, not a guy in a bow tie. Less bow tie is always good. Check the video and tell me it's not eerily similar.

Here's the kicker, though. Andy Baio of Waxy.org noted, "The date on the professor's calendar is September 16, and he's looking for a 2006 paper written 'about five years ago,' setting the year as 2011." September 16th, 2011. So, twenty-four years ago Apple predicted that there would be a magical, touchscreen device, that could do video calls, that would have a digital assistant you could interact with, and that would pull down data from a massive network (coughTheCloudcough)... and they were only eighteen days off? That's freaking crazy.

What kind of dark magic is at work here? Does Apple have a time machine (other than their product, Time Machine) or a crystal ball? Is that how they rule computers? Time travel? Absolutely nutso.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Just finished watching the keynote. I would admit I had doubts about the 4S's strength in the sea of Android phones & Windows Phone 7 phones & BlackBerry phones (lol, not really those), & I think it would be aright. Better camera would have a good appeal, Siri pretty broad as well, a new carrier in Sprint, the worldphone ability would be good as well. As far as I know the resolution & PPI is still unmatched, though I would admit I wished they would have at least given it a 4" display.
It shall be an interesting year until the iPhone 5 is released (at which time people would start calling that the 5th generation iPhone I am sure)...

Postby pete » October 4th, 2011, 8:57 pm

If that video was allegedly from 1987 then why does the woman talk about using a search engine such as Yahoo which was founded in 1994?

idlemind

Postby idlemind » October 4th, 2011, 9:57 pm

Anyone have screen protectors for the front and back of the i4 and willing to spare me one?
Would even offer to buy and meet you anywhere.
Not seeing anything on tuner and at retailers.
Dont want to go amazon just for these either.
Ordered a bumper and thought i was getting one with it but nope.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 4th, 2011, 10:02 pm

People talking about the 4S as an old phone.

But it's further beyond the iPhone 4 than the iPhone 3GS was to the 3G.
"waaaaahhh I didn't get a new shape*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2011, 10:54 pm

pete wrote:If that video was allegedly from 1987 then why does the woman talk about using a search engine such as Yahoo which was founded in 1994?
because it is alleged :x

Postby S_2NR » October 4th, 2011, 10:59 pm

iphone 4s is disappointing.
theres no real incentive for iphone4 users to upgrade besides a better camera and processor and voice recognition.
worse yet for non iphone users with the android and windows phones currently on the market.

Postby M_2NR » October 4th, 2011, 11:00 pm

the iphone 4S will sell. Wait til they do benchmarks on it.everything on the inside is different.
I honestly dont see the need for a larger screen. Well, if they do they will have to change the resolution. In any case the competition is /now/ crossing the 320ppi res and honestly if you want a bigger screen, buy a tablet.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Siri will only work on an iPhone 4S because it supposedly needs the A5 processor - so will Siri work on an iPad 2?

I doubt it. I'm not even sure they will get the nicer bulletin board as well because my padna was telling me right up to the latest beta there were no weather etc on it either

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 4th, 2011, 11:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:iphone 4s is disappointing.
theres no real incentive for iphone4 users to upgrade besides a better camera and processor and voice recognition.
worse yet for non iphone users with the android and windows phones currently on the market.

Did you say this when they brought out the iPhone 3GS?

As I posted before:

2007 — iPhone
2008 — iPhone 3G
2009 — iPhone 3GS
2010 — iPhone 4
2011 — iPhone 4S

2012 — make a guess

And it sold more and more.

Postby S_2NR » October 4th, 2011, 11:11 pm

Strauss wrote:
S_2NR wrote:iphone 4s is disappointing.

Did you say this when they brought out the iPhone 3GS?

yes i did..

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » October 4th, 2011, 11:17 pm

yeah it would be nice to have the 4' screen but it really isn't a surprise to anyone that the 4S and not 5 wasn't released today. The specs of this phone are just really, really good, the design was already pretty good to begin with minus the antenna problem but all that is supposedly fixed with the new dual antenna design.

The main thing that's going to severely limit this phone in Trinidad is the lack of a fast mobile internet connection. It's going to be pointless to ask Siri to get information on something or weather etc if it takes so long to load on EDGE, 3G + this phone, just works.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2011, 11:19 pm

S_2NR you are not really making any sense there

besides the 4 is still for sale and will continue to sell. it is not a forced upgrade path offering little.

better camera optics, better lens, 2x faster processor, 2x more RAM, 2x more storage, best voice control A.I. ever seen in a consumer device - all of this is no incentive? I think if they gave you the exact same iPhone 4 with a bigger amoled screen, a USB port, dual SIM, FM radio and a new case design you'd be happier than a pig in mud.

Postby S_2NR » October 4th, 2011, 11:31 pm

are you going to upgrade to the 4S Duane?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 4th, 2011, 11:38 pm

^ depends on how iOS 5 runs on the 4 and on my iPad2
If it is smoother on the iPad 2 then yes I will upgrade (performance is a normal reason for upgrading)

If Siri works the way they demonstrated then DEFINITELY. I don't have an assistant or secretary and I'm running my own business, so something like Siri would help me tremendously.

us in T&T might be very disappointed to find out that Siri may not work here at all! Geo-blocked! who-knows.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » October 5th, 2011, 2:40 am

I see what I am getting myself for Christmas now! I haven't looked at a phone and said, "I'm getting that!" since the original Razr came out.

GHOSTRYDER

Postby GHOSTRYDER » October 5th, 2011, 5:32 am

The only anticipated thing about it is the release of iOS 5 that's pretty much it oh and the new imessenger