Watch Netflix in Trinidad on PS3,PC, XBOX 360, etc.

silver

Re: Watch Netflix in Trinidad on PS3,PC, XBOX 360, etc.

Postby silver » October 5th, 2011, 3:40 pm

Netflix now enforcing streaming limit

-- Netflix has started to restrict its users from streaming more than one movie at a time as part of its price hike.

The change could have a major effect on how families use Netflix. No longer can one person watch a movie from the iPad while the rest of the family watches another film on the Xbox, for example.

As website Stop the Cap points out, Netflix has always had a policy that limited streaming, with those on a single DVD or streaming-only plan limited to streaming one film at a time.

But it appears as if Netflix just started enforcing this rule on September 1. The changes seem to coincide with Netflix's price hike, which took effect on Sept. 1 as well. Now, if you attempt to launch two movie streams, Netflix will block it and tell you that your membership plan doesn't support multiple movie streams.

We received the error message in our tests, confirming other reports. However, we also learned that television shows seem to be exempt from the movie streaming rules.

For example, we were able to stream a movie and a TV show simultaneously, but unable to stream two movies at the same time.

The move is sure to upset some customers as Netflix continues to deal with a number of setbacks. Its talks with Starz recently broke down and customers are not happy with the recent price hikes. Netflix's revenues are at record highs, but without Starz, it loses some of its best content. It's unclear how customers will react to this latest change.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 5th, 2011, 4:14 pm

^ nope

Update: Gigaom writes that Netflix has stated any one-stream limits customers have encountered were a glitch. All customers, including those with streaming-only or DVD-only plans, should be able to access at least two streams. We have reached out to Netflix and await their comments for clarification.

Second update: Netflix has confirmed to Ars that the streaming-only plan allows for up to two streams, but no more, and all customers can access as many streams as they are allowed DVDs, plus one.

Third update: You can watch movies and TV shows simultaneously too

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » March 14th, 2012, 9:28 pm

HELP!! When I use the unblock-us dns, the selection on netflix is crappy, but hulu works. But when I take it off and use flow's dns, the selection is much better,but hulu doesn't work!

What am I doing wrong?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2012, 10:48 pm

^ wha?!!!

that is not sounding right - define crappy selection
also be sure to use the Search on Netflix!!! there are only so many movies they can feature on the start screen

Postby M_2NR » March 19th, 2012, 10:51 pm

weird... up to the 15th mine was working.
i find unblockus takes REALLY long to parse amazon links though... :(

i noticed an easy way to see if you are on the LA Netflix is that you no longer see the instant Queue tab. Also, movies like Armageddon and Gone in 60 Seconds are there in LA Netflix vs the US one.

(to get it if you use in the US version you have to go thru billing details and u will then see it there :( )

Strauss

Postby Strauss » March 20th, 2012, 9:19 am

M_2NR wrote:weird... up to the 15th mine was working.
i find unblockus takes REALLY long to parse amazon links though... :(

i noticed an easy way to see if you are on the LA Netflix is that you no longer see the instant Queue tab. Also, movies like Armageddon and Gone in 60 Seconds are there in LA Netflix vs the US one.

(to get it if you use in the US version you have to go thru billing details and u will then see it there :( )

As said before, while the US programming is MORE than the LA version, NFLA will be offering exclusive content that will be delayed in the US versions (to the anger to many US customers).

Postby M_2NR » March 20th, 2012, 4:55 pm

ohh... the "it" in my last line was for the Instant Queue that disappears when going from US to LA eh

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 12:06 am

My tv not connecting but I can view on my pc :s

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 11th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Unplug , tv , router , modem , apple tv , Xbox ps3 then plug back in modem and router , wait 2 mins.

Then plug back in your electronics and that should refresh the Netflix .

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 1:28 pm

ALso if you are using unblock-us.com or usvideo.org to to get a US IP address, they have changed their service so that you have to renew your local IP with them every so often

If netflix wont connect, just visit www.unblock-us.com and their site will automatically check your service (you may have to enter your email address the first time). once it checks your service and says your account is active you can go back into netflix and it will now work.

I have my US IP set on my router so any device on the network will be able to check the service and fix the problem. Otherwise you will need to check it on each device.

I just set a bookmarklet on my phone to go to http://www.unblock-us.com/ and if netflix on the TV is giving problems I just click the bookmarklet and netflix starts to work on the TV

Postby Habit7 » April 11th, 2012, 1:40 pm

Hey I don't have a game console but I going to buy a Netflix enable blu-ray player http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Toshiba+-+W ... Id=2945870

It should work in T'dad right? (even with Netfix LA)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 1:52 pm

^ yes it would - just sign up for an account at netflix.com

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 11th, 2012, 2:54 pm

Had about 7 movies and tv shows downloading via XBMC on my Mac last night while watching Netflix on my apple tv , was really impressed to see Netflix play so fluid with extremely low bandwidth , playback was in HD!

The stream itself took approximately 9 mins to load but once loaded , played 100%

I'm using 5MB flow so that definitely was impressive.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 4:13 pm

changed the settings on my router and now no device is connecting to netflix...switched back and only my phone is..my pc goes straight to unblock's site....

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 12th, 2012, 11:10 am

Ok from there all u need to do is verify your unblock-us account by putting in your email address and once your account is active you will be redirected to the Netflix website and from there all your devices on your network suppose to connect normel

Make sure the unblock-us settings is in your router

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 13th, 2012, 11:45 am

for those with unblock us accounts, they changed the recommended dns settings a while ago so make sure you're using the latest ones

http://support.unblock-us.com/customer/portal/articles/300652-new-dns-servers

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 13th, 2012, 1:24 pm

Will check back dns settings again when I get home. Unable to connect on any device with the settings I had

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 13th, 2012, 1:50 pm

I was experiencing problems signing in after they updated the Netflix on Xbox, deleted everything and still wasn't working. Waited a couple days and it worked last night so it's possible Netflix is having some authentication issues on their end.

Postby noshownogo » April 13th, 2012, 2:09 pm

I just set up Unblock yesterday on the PS3 and works fine with Netflix

For the guys using all the services like Netflix, Vudu, Hulu and Amazon, which do you prefer and why? I know content varies on all to an extent but do you fine one particular service to be your favourite?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 13th, 2012, 7:53 pm

I only use netflix and vudu. Does hulu plus still require a US issued CC?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 13th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Netflix works great especially when you want to watch series and Vudu is my first choice when it comes to latest movies. Only used amazon vod once on my ps3 and the buffering made it unwatchable in HD, even on a Turbo 50 plan and never tried huh plus but I think it requires us issued and billing address.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2012, 11:13 pm

I think the HDX quality from Vudu is the best out of all the rest

though I see Netflix on the PS3 bitstreaming DTS on some movies recently

Postby foss » April 13th, 2012, 11:28 pm

how do you get Vudu?
We have netflix hooked up on the Wii

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 14th, 2012, 12:35 am

^ don't think Vudu is available on the Wii

Vudu is an app that you can install on the PS3, xbox, iPad, PC etc

www.vudu.com

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 16th, 2012, 3:10 pm

mojosodope wrote:Netflix works great especially when you want to watch series and Vudu is my first choice when it comes to latest movies. Only used amazon vod once on my ps3 and the buffering made it unwatchable in HD, even on a Turbo 50 plan and never tried huh plus but I think it requires us issued and billing address.

How is the movie quality of the latest movies on Vudu ? 720p /1080p or in between?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 16th, 2012, 3:25 pm

^ ^ Vudu offers SD, HD which is 720p and HDX which is 1080p

Postby noshownogo » April 16th, 2012, 3:32 pm

sometimes I catch myself forgoing Netflix just to watch HDX trailers on Vudu :oops:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 16th, 2012, 4:48 pm

Been watching Vudu movies on my 360 in HD and thought that was awsome....got my PS3 over the weekend and took in my first vudu HDX movie and omg...hard luck xbox....

btw does vudu require anything special wrt cc information? my xbox charges my paypal acct so it was never an issue, but i wanna make sure first before entering any cc info on my ps3 vudu.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 16th, 2012, 5:03 pm

Thanks for the info fellas

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2012, 5:17 pm

tried netflix
but eh really have nun i wanna watch