Altis ..what better Japan or Singapore ...

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

brandon005

Altis ..what better Japan or Singapore ...

Postby brandon005 » February 17th, 2012, 7:34 pm

thoughts on what is the better buy altis from japan or singapore...im totally clueless when it comes to this vehicle

Imran007

Re: Altis ..what better Japan or Singapore ...

Postby Imran007 » February 28th, 2012, 11:58 am

all came from singapore...none were available on the Japanese market.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 16th, 2012, 12:28 pm

well singapore still sells the altis albeit in the new body style and japan has the axio. To me the altis is nicer than the axio. Note that all singapore altis were made in thailand vs axio made in japan. Build quality will be better in the axio.

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » March 16th, 2012, 7:30 pm

okay thanks alot guys that pretty much sus it up Axio looks the better match

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » March 17th, 2012, 7:13 pm

brandon005 wrote:okay thanks alot guys that pretty much sus it up Axio looks the better match

you need to think twice, or 3 or 4 times before purchasing the axio and new model fielders... they are all cvt transmissions except the 4wd which is another story...
anyways, the cvt oil can be changed but there's no way to know if all the oil came out..you just have to replace the amount that came out... and the majority of cars their mileage are reversed some in japan and some in trinidad...something else to be careful about, its the same story with the altis but they have the same set as the 121 series...they are the 121 series..zze121...
i have an altis...body parts is the only issue, other than that it is a fantastic car...
it is better to buy a local used 121 or local 141...rather than the axio...

ramishrrr

Postby ramishrrr » March 17th, 2012, 7:38 pm

To note:
The current Singapore Altis is almost the exact look of our local Corolla, albeit with a 1600cc engine.

Toyota Models > Sedan - Small/Medium > Corolla Altis > Specifications
Corolla AltisWorld's Best-Selling Car
HighlightsGallerySpecificationsConfigurePrice

Technical Specifications

Corolla Altis 1.6

Transmission
Transmission Super ECT (Electronic Control Transaxle) 4-speed automatic

DIMENSIONS & WEIGHT
Overall length (mm) 4540
Overall width (mm) 1760
Overall height (mm) 1465
Wheelbase (mm) 2600
Tread - Front x Rear (mm) 1530 x 1535
Ground clearance (mm) 155
Kerb weight (kg) 1195 - 1255
Gross vehicle weight (kg) 1630

CHASSIS & SUSPENSION
Suspension - Front MacPherson strut
Suspension - Rear Torsion beam
Brakes - Front Ventilated disc
Brakes - Rear Solid disc
Tyres 195 / 65 R15

ENGINE
Engine Type 4-cylinders in-line, 16-valve DOHC with Dual VVT-i
Displacement (cc) 1598
Max. Output (kW (bhp) / rpm) 90 (122) / 6000
Max. Torque (Nm/rpm) 154 / 5200
Fuel tank capacity (Litres) 55
Fuel system Electronic Fuel Injection (EFI)

FEATURES
Headlamp Halogen
Rear window wiper Without
Intermittent wiper With
Side turn signal lamps Electric retractable
Rear sunshade (powered) Without
Wireless doorlock With

SAFETY
Anti-theft System With
Anto-lock Brake System (ABS) & EBD With
Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) Without
Traction Control (TRC) Without
Airbags Dual front

http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/ ... /index.asp
2012 Altis R Side.jpg
2012 Altis Dash.jpg
2012 Altis Front..jpg

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 21st, 2012, 7:34 pm

imran would local axio owners be able to order the cvt fluid from tttl?

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » March 22nd, 2012, 10:19 pm

TTTL has not brought in any CVT vehicles as yet... so i doubtful that they would have cvt oil, but it isn't a problem if you use any other brand of cvt oil, you can use nissan ns2, if you can get Amalie or redline non-slip...or any other top brands...if it's for the axio it might
be better to change the oil a bit more frequent like every 18months or 50,000km which comes first...

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » March 23rd, 2012, 10:36 pm

what about purchasing a local used 08 corolla...its doing 91ooo km though i dont knw how long those engines are designed to go before givin out its toyota so im guessin pretty darn long

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » March 23rd, 2012, 10:53 pm

brandon005 wrote:what about purchasing a local used 08 corolla...its doing 91ooo km though i dont knw how long those engines are designed to go before givin out its toyota so im guessin pretty darn long

that mileage is low for that car...once it was maintained properly, you shouldnt have any problems for a long time..but maintenance is key. for these cars, that means oil changed on time, injectors cleaned not just using a treatment but actually removed, filters changed...basics. once these basics are done and on time...you shouldn't have problems..

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » March 25th, 2012, 1:01 am

Thanks alot tuners...its a long term investment im making i.e.3 -4 years so i wanna make sure... I have a feeling it wnt have a manual is there any wya i can source a manual for the car?

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » March 26th, 2012, 7:15 am

brandon005 wrote:Thanks alot tuners...its a long term investment im making i.e.3 -4 years so i wanna make sure... I have a feeling it wnt have a manual is there any wya i can source a manual for the car?

the car should have the manual in it, esp if it's the 1st owner... but the manuals arent necessary... the manual will have basic info that you'd be able to get online. in terms of oil changing it will say use toyota oil, engine and atf...but that isnt necessary..TTTL uses castrol that gunks the engines... if the car using castrol i guess you'll have to use that or use shell and change every 5k to 7k km or 6months, if it using synthetic oil use amsoil 10w30 and change 12k to 15k km or 6months, if you cant get amsoil use 10w30 royal purple but change every 10k to 12k km. when it comes to atf if you using toyota's atf change every 2 years, not the 4 that they recommend or 100k km, as the car is close to 100k km, be prepared to changed the aft... you can use Amalie atf and change it every 3years. spark plugs use NGK iridium spark plugs that's if it doesnt already has iridiums...air filter use a K&N drop in, you'll save in the long run. you do not need to service by toyota... if that car has a defect after 91,000 km it would have occurred already. An experienced and knowledgeable mechanic can and will even do a better job than toyota... and charge less, supposed to.

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » March 26th, 2012, 11:53 pm

Hmm thanks for the tips imran...I tink Royal purple has done a preety decent job for me on my old ae110 but i'll look at the amsoil...as for the ATF...i have a pretty good feeling that I have to heed ur warning..just hope it isnt difficult to change ...oh well..first step is to get the car....allyuh toyota men is really a big help to a youngling like me.

Imran007

Postby Imran007 » March 27th, 2012, 8:39 am

brandon005 wrote:Hmm thanks for the tips imran...I tink Royal purple has done a preety decent job for me on my old ae110 but i'll look at the amsoil...as for the ATF...i have a pretty good feeling that I have to heed ur warning..just hope it isnt difficult to change ...oh well..first step is to get the car....allyuh toyota men is really a big help to a youngling like me.

the atf in the local cars are just as simple as the ae110 to change.

btw the pal, you making feel like an old man...remember you're only as old and how you feel!

brandon005

Postby brandon005 » March 27th, 2012, 10:46 pm

im only 20! lol

Return to “TOYOTA”