Re: Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2012, 2:28 pm

Bizzare wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:You won't go into a country like Guyana where a loaf of bread is $240 and see their largest value note being $100, right? Imagine how many notes a person is going to have to carry around to make groceries or any other average cash transaction...... right tr1ad?
What would be the point of them printing smaller notes when their prices are this relatively inflated :?

Celebrate 50 years of Independence in some other way u stupid farks. They should know the impact this could have on our economy.

Iz you living in guyana bra?

Nah, but I don't have to be living there to know.

So you basically just telling cool stories?

Postby Redman » June 21st, 2012, 2:30 pm

Daran wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Ok you have nothing nice to say about the 50 dollar ote yet you're approving a 500 dollar note and a 1 dollar coin?

You just talking cause it free or?

I see no logic in your criticism.

A $500 bill is needed much more than a $50 because:
1. Tonnes of people do high value transactions by cash everyday. Such as daily paid workers, rent, ticket sales, used goods, lessons etc. A $500 will speed up transaction time. Time = money.
2. Simple math, a $50 is equivalent to two (2) $20s and one $10.....a $500 is 5 $100s....space in wallet = less.
3. The $100 bill was introduce in 1977. Assuming 5% inflation every year since then, that same $100 bill is now worth ~$18!
4. Apply the same for a coins and you'll see why a $1 coin is needed.
5. Having $1 coins would save A LOT of money since coins are cheaper than paper bills.

You have any justification for number 5 point?
Thanks

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2012, 2:33 pm

^
"The Government Accountability Office (USA), which issued a report on the cost-savings of a currency switch earlier this year, said that because coins outlast paper currency (which survive about 42 months), the switch would save about $5.6 billion over 30 years."

-ABC News Consumer Report Oct 25, 2011.

Also note how Canada, Brazil, Europe, Australia have all gone this way. I hope they not following each other just to be fashionable....

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 2:39 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:You won't go into a country like Guyana where a loaf of bread is $240 and see their largest value note being $100, right? Imagine how many notes a person is going to have to carry around to make groceries or any other average cash transaction...... right tr1ad?
What would be the point of them printing smaller notes when their prices are this relatively inflated :?

Celebrate 50 years of Independence in some other way u stupid farks. They should know the impact this could have on our economy.

dude a loaf of bread in Guyana cost +$240

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2012, 2:45 pm

Bizzare wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
Bizzare wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

dude a loaf of bread in Guyana cost +$240

But how does that affect me in trinidad when introducing a $50 note? :|

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2012, 2:49 pm

His point was about inflation being so bad and getting worse everyday, example being Guyana; counter-argument is that we still need $1 bills to buy a doubles in Trinidad... but for how long?
Doubles seem to be the lowest benchmark of inflation in TT.
Last edited by maj. tom on June 21st, 2012, 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » June 21st, 2012, 2:49 pm

The cost savings has to do with having to replace paper more frequently

But saving 5.6B over 30 years in a 15 trillion econ is a miniscule figure.
But point taken

I was hoping that we could get a reference on LOCAL cost of the paper /coin cost.
It might be smart to go the polymer way and get the durability and security.

And printing a new denomination of a bill is not inflationary but is a result of inflation over time.

Some inflation is NEEDED generally as profits can only be made on higher prices.

And I dont have a problem with it since its a $50 COMMEMORATIVE note of the FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY of Independence,Im guessing there is a link there-i think we should wait a little before issuing a $500 COMMEMORATIVE note.

Just saying

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 2:52 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:But how does that affect me in trinidad when introducing a $50 note? :|

it was used as an example of their currency in relation to their spending norms

Postby equipped2ripp » June 21st, 2012, 8:05 pm

Stephon. wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote::lol: 2nr full of economists yes...

the main reason the $50 bill is being put into circulation is to celebrate 50 years of Independence, nothing else. the $50 bill fits celebrating 50 years.

heard they are also minting a commemorative coin as well for Independence, not too sure of how true it is though.

Then why did that one guy from central bank was talking about "creating a bridge between 20 and 100" :lol:

That guy is the Governor eh...

the largest GY currency note is $1000. there are $20, $100, $500 and $1000. $1US = $200GY, for those who don't know the rate. and a loaf of bread is $300GY on average.
and I really don't know how a $50 bill can have an impact on our economy... money is money, the $50 bill is the same as two $20 + one $10, or five $10 bills etc. apparently you didn't listen to the governor when he was speaking at the launch. this is just a limited edition anyway, I really don't know what's the big fuss about it. money is money...

firstchoicett

Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby firstchoicett » June 21st, 2012, 10:44 pm

Hmmm limited edition means save it for next 200 years when it go worth 1000 times more .

Postby Stephon. » June 21st, 2012, 10:46 pm

It's limited? Steups!

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 21st, 2012, 10:52 pm

% ^ yea fail

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 10:53 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:I really don't know how a $50 bill can have an impact on our economy

well that's what u should find out first

equipped2ripp wrote:money is money, the $50 bill is the same as two $20 + one $10, or five $10 bills etc.

from an economic standpoint, no.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 21st, 2012, 11:36 pm

Well it's limited edition, so we'll see what happens in time.

sassi

Postby sassi » June 22nd, 2012, 7:19 am

We do have a one dollar coin that is legal tender here, but you have to buy it from central bank. They come in packs 25 pieces (one dollar coin) per pack, and i must say 5 one dollar coins put together has some weight to it. It's much bigger than the 25 cent coin and the 50 cent coin that we have
sorry about pics quality.
one dollar +25 cent piece.jpg
one dollar coin2.jpg
one dollar coin1.jpg
one dollar coin.jpg

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:13 am

That's 1978 I see they ^

Postby sharkman121 » June 22nd, 2012, 8:24 am

nope... 1975

Postby Stephon. » June 22nd, 2012, 8:24 am

How much for it?

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2012, 8:28 am

87 cents + VAT

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:28 am

Must be 25 dollars 4 d big . I think I got a dollar coin somewhere home. .

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:29 am

Habit7 wrote:87 cents + VAT

not bad

spanish

Postby spanish » June 22nd, 2012, 7:16 pm

Mizaf wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Did they sell all the Diamond Jubilee coins already?

They want $900 for d coin

The first batch of coins sold out.

Now, you have to go to Central Bank and fill out the pre-order form and pay. They'll contact you when it's time to collect. No word on the deadline for pre-orders though.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:00 pm

Ah have a 100 dollar limited edition coin to show allyuh .

Postby Stephon. » June 22nd, 2012, 8:08 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Ah have a 100 dollar limited edition coin to show allyuh .

Well show we na!

Postby Bizzare » June 22nd, 2012, 8:37 pm

firstchoicett wrote:

not bad

wat de 1975? plenty doz pass tru my hand. that worth something beyond 25 cents? :|

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:37 pm

Go show allyuh it tomorrow .

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:38 pm

Bizzare wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:

not bad

wat de 1975? plenty doz pass tru my hand. that worth something beyond 25 cents? :|

u working bank wah

Postby S_2NR » June 22nd, 2012, 8:42 pm

I have a dollar and 50 cent coin in my piggy bank with all my other loose change. I doh really care for them thing :lol:

Postby K74T » June 22nd, 2012, 8:43 pm

firstchoicett wrote:Go show allyuh it tomorrow .

No, now

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 22nd, 2012, 8:45 pm

^ tomorrow .