The Pre Budget Rally

Re: The Pre Budget Rally

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2012, 10:42 am

pete wrote:What about traffic in the afternoon? Stay in work later?

Leave car on work and walk to school, I leave pos nothing earlier than 8:00pm. 8-)

The few times I leave daylight hours I am pissed by the time I pass chag. Its best I stay late, learn something, less stress on me, less gas and my ac unit dont use :lol:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 30th, 2012, 10:57 am

yup pete reach work 6ish leave work 6ish

12 hour days ftw

i study from 430 to 6 everyday

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 30th, 2012, 12:14 pm

flvrufdwk wrote:Just wondering if businesses would actually apply this removal and not lower the price of their products thus keeping that 15% extra for their coffers, claiming some cost increase. I mean this is T&T.

You can't be serious. Businessmen lower prices and pass on savings to consumers? This is Trinidad dan .... more money in their pockets ..... to hell with consumers. If yuh doh want to buy doh buy (Trini business 101)

Postby rfari » September 30th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Proper regulation is needed wrt food stuff prices and quality. else all attempts to make it more affordable will fail. Just singling out the agriculture sector, there is a HUGE price disparity between a farmer's wholesale price to retailers and retailer's price to consumers

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » September 30th, 2012, 12:26 pm

Swisha wrote:no more VAT on food prices from Nov. 15th :|

We import most of our food, if they touch gas, transport prices will increase and food prices will.

nice smart shot dey kams. :fist:

How will removing VAT from food reduce the food import bill? You're going to make food less expensive ppl will buy the same amount or more, this includes imported as well as local. So the food import bill may actually go up.

Am I missing something here? Let us see what the food import bill will be in 2013 ... I bet it will be the same or higher

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » September 30th, 2012, 12:26 pm

rfari wrote:Proper regulation is needed wrt food stuff prices and quality. else all attempts to make it more affordable will fail. Just singling out the agriculture sector, there is a HUGE price disparity between a farmer's wholesale price to retailers and retailer's price to consumers

exactly. regulate dem middle meng. removing VAT on all normel food items is a good start. middle meng would maintain a markup yes, but because competition exists, they wont go too high. probably :(

Postby toyolink » September 30th, 2012, 12:36 pm

In a depressed economy,businesses which do not respect the need to be price competitive will suffer negative consequences.
Small business can only achieve a market niche if they come to the market with good value for money supported by quality goods and services.
The few individuals who are very wealthy usually look for other things such as exclusivity of goods and services and try to satisfy a desire to consume stuff that demonstrates their right to classification.These clients generally don't facilitate the success of small business.
Any softening of cost inputs must be welcomed in the market place.
At the end of the day consumers need to survey the market and determine by way of personal budgets,how best to take advantage of opportunities.
As far as the PP rally,I take from it what works for me and send the rest to thrash.I never forget promises and will be doing my personal appraisal of performance (with no prompting from anyone) coupled with an examination of the alternatives when the time comes for me to exercise my power to influence change.

Postby rfari » September 30th, 2012, 3:07 pm

pyung99 wrote:
rfari wrote:Proper regulation is needed wrt food stuff prices and quality. else all attempts to make it more affordable will fail. Just singling out the agriculture sector, there is a HUGE price disparity between a farmer's wholesale price to retailers and retailer's price to consumers

exactly. regulate dem middle meng. removing VAT on all normel food items is a good start. middle meng would maintain a markup yes, but because competition exists, they wont go too high. probably :(

toyolink wrote:In a depressed economy,businesses which do not respect the need to be price competitive will suffer negative consequences.
Small business can only achieve a market niche if they come to the market with good value for money supported by quality goods and services.
The few individuals who are very wealthy usually look for other things such as exclusivity of goods and services and try to satisfy a desire to consume stuff that demonstrates their right to classification.These clients generally don't facilitate the success of small business.
Any softening of cost inputs must be welcomed in the market place.
At the end of the day consumers need to survey the market and determine by way of personal budgets,how best to take advantage of opportunities.
As far as the PP rally,I take from it what works for me and send the rest to thrash.I never forget promises and will be doing my personal appraisal of performance (with no prompting from anyone) coupled with an examination of the alternatives when the time comes for me to exercise my power to influence change.

Trinidad IMO is a special case. When it comes to food prices, I've observed few instances of competition directly relating to competitive prices among food suppliers What is the determining factor in most cases for consumers is the convenience. Enough times I've been to the typical neighbourhood parlour and see people buying goods that would be cheaper in the supermarket.

Postby toyolink » September 30th, 2012, 4:14 pm

The bad purchasing habits of our citizens really cannot be accomodated by any gov't and really we each have to take responsibility for our financial well being.
The issue of diesel prices is in some ways an example of subsidies gone mad.
The softening of diesel prices by the state,as I recall had to do with facilitating "goods"or commercial vehicles and not what has happened over the last 10 years or so.
Today,diesel sales are significantly impacted by fuel requirements of luxury pick-ups and SUVS (Hilux,Vigo,Navarra,Triton,X5 etc.)which are used by private individuals for social and recreational purposes.
The persistence by many to create circumstances of inefficient use of limited financial resources will continue to keep our long-term well being on the brink.
The information which is readily available to all who are serious demonstrates that the global pressures exist and T&T which has had to face dwindling energy fortunes must get serious collectively.
Just check what has been happening to your pocket over the last 4yrs and new graduates how many have had to turn to OJT because there is a shortage of "good" jobs.
Unfortunately,nobody or institution in this land is concerned with mobilising the citizen to deal with what is already upon us (is only a set of noise and frothing at the blasted mouth).

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 30th, 2012, 5:58 pm

hadco frowns upon your shenanigans

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2012, 6:01 pm

No VAT on food to cushion the rumoured $5 diesel price?

Postby nervewrecker » September 30th, 2012, 6:03 pm

*car no longer for sale*

Postby j.o.e » September 30th, 2012, 6:28 pm

De Dragon wrote:No VAT on food to cushion the rumoured $5 diesel price?

I doubt it could be so bad,but just in case

Toyota Vigo spaceship for sale!!! $55,000 by Monday!

Postby Stephon. » September 30th, 2012, 6:58 pm

Anyone want to predict what gas prices are going to be?

I say premium 5 dollar and lt and diesel 3 dollars a lt.
Dunno what price super is now but it would be between the premium and diesel price at around 4 dollars a lt

When is the actual non sheep budget by the way.

Postby S_2NR » September 30th, 2012, 7:29 pm

hopefully raising gas prices will mean less traffic.
but it would also mean everything that involves transport will go UP.

Postby nemisis » September 30th, 2012, 7:34 pm

S_2NR wrote:hopefully raising gas prices will mean less traffic.
but it would also mean everything that involves transport will go UP.

it won't mean less traffic but you could go certain places and look like a "big shot" by buying bread....

flvrufdwk

Postby flvrufdwk » October 1st, 2012, 5:40 am

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2012, 6:21 am

CONSUMER ITEMS THAT ALREADY CARRY NO VAT • unprocessed food of a kind used for human consumption; • rice; • flour; • milk in any form, including processed and tinned milk; • margarine; • bread; • baby formulas and baby milk substitutes. • cheese and curd; • corned beef; • curry; • fresh butter; • peanut butter; • table salt; • salted butter; • tinned sardines; • smoked herring; • toilet paper; • yeast; • baking powder; • pasta, whether or not cooked or stuffed (with meat or other substances) or otherwise prepared, such as spaghetti, macaroni, noodles, lasagna, gnocchi, ravioli and cannelloni; • cane sugar; • cocoa powder, whether or not containing added sugar or other sweetening matter; • coffee; • mauby; • orange juice; • Herring; • Tuna; • Mackerel; • Ghee; • soya-bean oil; •) maize (corn) oil and its fractions; • sesame oil and its fractions; • chicken sausage, canned; • salami sausages; • icing sugar; • preparations of malt extract; • corn flakes; • biscuits, unsweetened; • grapefruit juice; • vanilla essence; • soy sauce; • tomato ketchup; • prepared mustard; • mineral water; • ordinary natural water; • aerated beverages; • orange drink; • grapefruit drink; and • vinegar(thanks to member KM)

http://www.facebook.com/PNMAbroad

Postby rfari » October 1st, 2012, 6:25 am

The way the pp move I coulda swear is rell food items tht they removing vat. Hmmmm

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2012, 6:27 am

Well keep in mind the majority of a politician's support base is illiterate and ignorant.

Postby crazybalhead » October 1st, 2012, 6:55 am

MadCrix wrote:yup pete reach work 6ish leave work 6ish

12 hour days ftw

i study from 430 to 6 everyday

Study what?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » October 1st, 2012, 7:48 am

rfari wrote:The way the pp move I coulda swear is rell food items tht they removing vat. Hmmmm

same ting i saying :?

hoping the gas subsidy isnt touched though...

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 7:50 am

Stephon. wrote:Wait so this means that I pay no vat on one (maybe two) more item(s) at hi lo now?

K.

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2012, 9:11 am

Typical hogwash politics, but hey de peeeplee dem go jink ah juice now...vat free

brb it was always vat free

Postby rfari » October 1st, 2012, 9:21 am

The failure of the pre budget rally sent a clear signal that ppl are not pleased with their attempt at governance. Time for nacta to do a poll of the people's thoughts on the pp government

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 1st, 2012, 9:27 am

pioneer wrote:CONSUMER ITEMS THAT ALREADY CARRY NO VAT • unprocessed food of a kind used for human consumption; • rice; • flour; • milk in any form, including processed and tinned milk; • margarine; • bread; • baby formulas and baby milk substitutes. • cheese and curd; • corned beef; • curry; • fresh butter; • peanut butter; • table salt; • salted butter; • tinned sardines; • smoked herring; • toilet paper; • yeast; • baking powder; • pasta, whether or not cooked or stuffed (with meat or other substances) or otherwise prepared, such as spaghetti, macaroni, noodles, lasagna, gnocchi, ravioli and cannelloni; • cane sugar; • cocoa powder, whether or not containing added sugar or other sweetening matter; • coffee; • mauby; • orange juice; • Herring; • Tuna; • Mackerel; • Ghee; • soya-bean oil; •) maize (corn) oil and its fractions; • sesame oil and its fractions; • chicken sausage, canned; • salami sausages; • icing sugar; • preparations of malt extract; • corn flakes; • biscuits, unsweetened; • grapefruit juice; • vanilla essence; • soy sauce; • tomato ketchup; • prepared mustard; • mineral water; • ordinary natural water; • aerated beverages; • orange drink; • grapefruit drink; and • vinegar(thanks to member KM)

http://www.facebook.com/PNMAbroad

lol, this is why I had to laugh when I heard No Vat on certain food items..........so sad

Postby UML » October 1st, 2012, 9:34 am

I hope the PNMites noticed the ethnic makeup of the crowd for the rally

8-)

Postby eliteauto » October 1st, 2012, 9:43 am

lots of straws to grasp at, straws cyah done

Postby rfari » October 1st, 2012, 10:16 am

UML wrote:I hope the PNMites noticed the ethnic makeup of the crowd for the rally

8-)

I didn't even notice that tbh. Tell me more

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2012, 10:46 am

The only thing he noticed was race?

Typical.