Asking any and everything about frontier - HELP / ADVICE

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Paullct

Re: Asking any and everything about frontier

Postby Paullct » October 9th, 2012, 8:20 pm

average estimate price?

Postby black start » October 9th, 2012, 9:30 pm

lighthammer wrote:I believe original shocks by Nissan are made by Tokico though (who shocks isn't made by tokico??)

I don't know about the frontier, but the oem nissan b13 shocks are kyb branded but has the nissan stamp as well.

I believe dollar saves are the distributors for the kyb lines of shocks. If not, their prices are still real good.

Postby tr1ad » October 10th, 2012, 9:58 am

front - 420 + vat each
rear - 428 + vat each

employee discount 30%.........

hollaaaaaaa

Postby black start » October 10th, 2012, 11:18 am

tr1ad wrote:front - 420 + vat each
rear - 428 + vat each

employee discount 30%.........

hollaaaaaaa

d fork, I pay more for my kyb premium for le 13....

BTW, nobody still ent reply to meh filter question.

lost soul wrote:but if both filters run in series, wouldn't the two filter need to have different micron ratings, where the first from tank has a larger and the other a smaller, for this twin filter system to have any additional benefit over just a single filter system?

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » October 19th, 2012, 11:47 pm

hey as for shocks

See Genuine Nissan Almera / B15 / wingroad shocks i bring at 350.00 per piece ..

and Navara rear are around 450.00...

Should be able to beat tr1ad discount price with my eyes close :lol: just kidding but I think i can do better on the frontier shocks didnt bring any just send me a chassis and i can find out...

The new design of the Navara shocks dont have any branded marks only nissan . This is the same on the newer Almera shocks .

The older Nissan shock one in pic is tokico... re-branded

Will post pic of new design Next week when I get them...
Almera shock.JPG

Postby nervewrecker » October 20th, 2012, 12:21 am

what brand the nissan almera shocks are? I use the excel g shocks, looking to change soon. you guys do installation too?

In keeping with the thread, what problems to look for when looking to buy one of these? I heard the ole man saying some of the turbo's give problems and is headache to fix. yay or nay?

Also, can anyone leme know whats a fair price for one of these (no paint job, no fancy rims, no stickers, no cut up business and no hard pong).

Postby black start » October 20th, 2012, 10:46 am

^depends on the model

economy 4x2 with td27-50 and up
high end 4x2 with yd25d-70 and up
economy 4x4 with qd32-70 and up
high end 4x4 with zd30-85 and up

and apparanetly there is a 4x4 with the yd25 but I've only seen one of these(525i sport one with the now rb25det)

These vans don't really give too much trouble. On the high end 4x2 with engine number before 260 xxx, I believe there was a manufacturer's defect with some of the con rod bolts (subject to correction) that use to cause them to yield and break and it was so specific I believe it was stated that the mileages for this failure to occur was 70 something k and 140 something k. My gf now passed 150k on her yd25 powered 4x2 and she has had no problem since but then she does pet that thing....

Postby nervewrecker » October 20th, 2012, 12:55 pm

When you say economy you mean as in base model or just easy to maintain?

I'm seeing ridiculous prices for some of these pick-up's, $100k and above, some badly off ones for $70k and thing.

So besides this turbo issue and that manufacturer defect, anything else to look for?

What maintenance cost's like for these or where you guys get your work done? Seems few people work with pick-up's.

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » October 20th, 2012, 8:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:what brand the nissan almera shocks are? I use the excel g shocks, looking to change soon. you guys do installation too?

In keeping with the thread, what problems to look for when looking to buy one of these? I heard the ole man saying some of the turbo's give problems and is headache to fix. yay or nay?

Also, can anyone leme know whats a fair price for one of these (no paint job, no fancy rims, no stickers, no cut up business and no hard pong).

The almera shocks are 350.00 per pcs... see pic genuine Nissan product same as that sold in firm.

As for frontier ...

solid Van I seeing them run from 70K to 110K for some in some best condition...

Common things i sell alot for these vans are Gasket Kits , and arms , tensioners and piston rings which not expensive genuine compared to other brands like mitsu toyota etc.

Other than a Old model hilux you get value for money from these vans they can take good licks ...
DSC01823.JPG

Postby black start » October 20th, 2012, 10:56 pm

^yea economy meaning base model.....

Postby nervewrecker » October 21st, 2012, 8:48 pm

Who tunes up these pick up's?

I dont know any mechanics to take it by to have it checked out.

What about rust under the tray?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 21st, 2012, 9:22 pm

Inside!

Looking to get some shocks for my Frontier ZD30 4X4. Who have and what prices?
Thanks.

Postby black start » October 21st, 2012, 10:10 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Who tunes up these pick up's?

I dont know any mechanics to take it by to have it checked out.

What about rust under the tray?

if by "tunes" you mean service, any proficient mechanic should be able to handle the job. With respect to trouble shooting a problem, I believe James and Big Z (or was it State of The Art...hmmm) does a decent job in central.

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » October 22nd, 2012, 8:04 am

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Inside!

Looking to get some shocks for my Frontier ZD30 4X4. Who have and what prices?
Thanks.

PM chassis I can send you a quote..

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2012, 10:51 pm

I like how this FilterProz dude dropping it, warehouse right in my vicinity too.

Defiantly going to be doing business with him!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 23rd, 2012, 7:21 am

^ that gonna be some defiant business!!

Lol hehehhe

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 23rd, 2012, 7:21 am

^ that gonna be some defiant business!!

Lol hehehhe

Postby black start » October 23rd, 2012, 8:43 am

nervewrecker wrote:I like how this FilterProz dude dropping it, warehouse right in my vicinity too.

Defiantly going to be doing business with him!

spell check police will have a feast with such :|

Paullct

Postby Paullct » October 23rd, 2012, 12:39 pm

a LOT of people make that mistake and i just don't understand why or how?? :?

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2012, 12:48 pm

Autocorrect ftl :lol:

All I have to do now is....find a nissan frontier.

Postby black start » October 23rd, 2012, 6:29 pm

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=449228&hilit=frontier

74k is a real good price for a 4x4 qd32 frontier.

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2012, 9:00 pm

Saw that one already, looks like a former company vehicle, I trying to stay away from those. People real rough up them rentals.

Have this one and and this one, the latter looks real sweet and real original. Not sure if it sold yet but I have my fingers crossed that it remains awhile.

I have no use for a van yet and have no time to see about it. Its only going to be parked down, $$$ can remain in the bank collecting interest meanwhile. Early next year I looking to grab one, meanwhile I monitoring prices and looking at what to expect.

Postby black start » October 23rd, 2012, 9:51 pm

I cannot say for the 4x4 but le gf has the yd25 4x2 and that van drives real real nice (obviously not like a almera but you get my drift). Suspension and brakes are decent, engine has adequate power (not she does use it though), interior is decent (in the high end models) even the oem radio sounds decent.lol...

but still, if it were me, I'd go 4wd

supanats

Postby supanats » October 24th, 2012, 12:07 pm

Hey guys I'm new to this forum and I like what I see here.
I'm in the process of purchasing a Frontier 4x4 with a Qd32 within the next week, I was told they are extremely reliable. I'm looking to keep everything how the manufacturer intended, so maintenance.... any advice?

The one I'm getting needs two rear mud guards, the owner's dogs were hungry, help?!

Postby tr1ad » October 24th, 2012, 1:12 pm

i might be taking off my set front and rear,
i'll let you know how that pans out

if not check filter proz for a quote

supanats

Postby supanats » October 24th, 2012, 1:53 pm

Thanks, appreciate it.

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » October 25th, 2012, 5:35 am

After changing the oil in my navara last night, upon restarting, I got the " oil lo" warning and the oil light kept blinking although the dipstick level was correct. The problem was rectified after disconnecting the battery poles for about 5 mins.
What would cause this?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 26th, 2012, 5:54 am

did you make sure after you screwed in the oil filter and then put the oil in, that you started and ran the engine for approx 30 secs, then rechecked the dipstick in 5 mins? Sometimes the oil that goes into the oil filter is enough to make the sensor think that the oil is low - used to happen a lot after each servicing in N&M for me....

Simple fix- just top up the oil accordingly when the engine's been cold for more than an hour!

SkettellGod

Postby SkettellGod » October 27th, 2012, 7:13 pm

lighthammer wrote:did you make sure after you screwed in the oil filter and then put the oil in, that you started and ran the engine for approx 30 secs, then rechecked the dipstick in 5 mins? Sometimes the oil that goes into the oil filter is enough to make the sensor think that the oil is low - used to happen a lot after each servicing in N&M for me....

Simple fix- just top up the oil accordingly when the engine's been cold for more than an hour!

yep i did, most likely it was just what u mentioned abt the oil tht goes in the filter, or prob just a glitch. will monitor accordingly.

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2012, 10:08 am

Anyone knows who sells the power window kit for all four doors for the frontiers?

Whats the prices like? Or does it make more sense to look for 4 foreign used doors?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”