Spoon-Type One Interview

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

JDM_GUY

Spoon-Type One Interview

Postby JDM_GUY » December 21st, 2012, 9:04 pm

In some ways I think Tola is Trinidad Spoon

afternex2

Re: Spoon-Type One Interview

Postby afternex2 » December 22nd, 2012, 6:49 pm

in what ways u talkin about? thanks.

halfdef

Postby halfdef » December 22nd, 2012, 7:33 pm

afternex2 wrote:in what ways u talkin about? thanks.

mitsu

Postby mitsu » December 22nd, 2012, 8:30 pm

agreed but brace yourself.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 22nd, 2012, 8:37 pm

the old boy kool

but local Spoon ... nope

Moses I know is the Christmas season so i will go easy

Postby r3iXmann » December 22nd, 2012, 11:51 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:In some ways I think Tola is Trinidad Spoon

:? :? :?

Postby bluesteel29 » December 24th, 2012, 9:11 pm

:poke:
so who buildin/tuning honda engine better than tola?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 24th, 2012, 9:54 pm

^ do u fix by tola ? if no head out....

I have known the old boy for a few years and when he peaked in the pass with some killa hondas for drag and especially circuit racing car... best .
But I have seen some thing in the past years that i cannot mention on this board but made no sense ....after the build was complete

puttin Tola and Mr spoon in the same class please

1 tola make u spend millions... Spoon sell parts for millions....
2. Tola have no cars performing like in the past... Spoon cars worth top $$ whether they loose or win.
3. At the level Tola has reached he should be the top dog and not guessing these days.
4. People spend millions at tola ... Spoon has a Multimillion dollar shop...

Same ... NOPE

And since Christmas is over

Mr JDM you doh even fix by Tola so behave please

hatch is best

Postby hatch is best » December 25th, 2012, 7:13 pm

Who in here have actually delt with Tola?

Postby honda hoe » December 28th, 2012, 2:20 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:In some ways I think Tola is Trinidad Spoon

keving MCc

Postby keving MCc » December 31st, 2012, 8:35 pm

lololololololololol

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » January 1st, 2013, 8:19 pm

Went by tola a few times he knows his stuff

Postby X2 » January 3rd, 2013, 12:04 am

Kinday

Postby Kinday » January 3rd, 2013, 12:36 am

Though I don't agree with the comparison made by JDM, I must say that Tola is very good and very wise when it comes to Honda performance. He doesn't have the budget, staff or R&D that Spoon has but he has practical knowledge which he can put to use. Times has changes from the days where he emblazoned his name on the strip and circuit....nowadays he has relaxed himself from the pace of the performance challenge but he'll still oversee projects for clients who are sincerely interested in working with him and his efforts.

NOTE: To date, no locally built Honda has surpassed any of his project's best times for turbo or NA on either circuit or drag disciplines.

Yes I know him personally....know him before you knock lol

Postby X2 » January 3rd, 2013, 10:42 am

What's his tola's best n/a and turbo drag times ?

I have not personally had any work done by Mr. Tola (who I will not disrespect as he obviously knows his stuff)... but really... I have not been impressed by anything I have seen in my few years on the scene here. Even the k20 hatch which I think is likely the fastest n/a honda in drags locally... has failed to really impress or blow my mind.

What else has been done to even attempt to make a comparison ?

Last effort I saw was the blue sedan at d&w... which, if my memory serves me... could not even finish 1 drag n wind season. IMHO... unless you are building purpose planned drag cars... a worked over engine in a weekend racer should last more than a couple years. If you can't do that... all of the theoretical knowledge in the world doesn't make one a great mechanic. You have to build things that run AND that last.

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » January 3rd, 2013, 3:51 pm

Its true Tola's know his stuff..
but Spoon knows his stuff and made it better..

Kinday

Postby Kinday » January 3rd, 2013, 7:12 pm

Oh Gorm man X2...you had to be d advocate eh lol

Let's paint the picture

* Gary Hunt B18CR, Franklyn Boodram B18C and B20 frank, Mark Singh B16 vtec on carburetors, all drove class leading, championship winning hb's. All built from scratch at Tola's and raced in Trinidad and thru the Caribbean beating the best of rotaries, evo's, etc. There Honda times currently stand on record as there is no circuit track.
* Yuri Climate Control civic ran a best of low 11's during the infamous drag civic battles with Aboud....Shoestring budget, only heart and ideas. Engine lasted and was sold into a street DC2.
* Mark Singh K20 EG project ran 12.6 bone stock....major lack of traction. Project was retired before full completion.

Now onto prominent street engines that TOOK a beating:
* Shelshok B20 frank raced to 9000rpm every weekend and the occasional week night since it was built. It lasted 2 years before it was sold and rebuilt. Tuned on SFC vtec and fpr
* Even better yet was Rado's special built frank. Lasted 3.5 years in form with a best time of mid 13's on the track. That engine was beaten to death every gangster drag by the brother's from Diego after the project was sold. Tuned on SFC vtec and Fpr.

* For me personally, back in the day they built my carbureted Honda 2.0 non-vtec motor into an 8000rpm B16/ SR20 killer. That engine lasted years until another driver took it to another mechanic.

In those days there were no dyno or massive engine tuning options. Just ideas, compression, fpr, ignition tweaks "haltech or SDS (for who could afford), accelerometers, Tola, Creole, spanners, dremel and welding plant. Tola and Creole built many more than just Honda projects (Killer escort project, 4G63 old school lancer, turbo 323, L28 on webers, black venom rotary, the infamous silent killer 300ZX to name a few) but the reputation of the garage came from the track.

The use of engineering in the name came about because of the amount of fabrication and redesigning that went into making projects better during a time when the honda market had fewer options. For example and let's be honest: Mark Singh, Tola and Creole put a K20R in an EG when K20 was the brand spanking new kid on the block.

A lil history for the Honda camp but what do I know I drive a galant lol.....and still I can't and won't compare Tola's Engineering to Spoon. With regard to his current projects....hmmmmm, I hear what yuh saying lol. Let's see what 2013 brings....time's tougher now and everybody she!t wukking.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 3rd, 2013, 9:29 pm

look what all you people do now....

koolest member in the camp get man

roll and burn FTW

Kinday

Postby Kinday » January 3rd, 2013, 9:53 pm

Dragon go and sleep nah man, why yuh so buddy lol....This thread sweet..we "sticky-ing" history lessons for the honda teeny boppers. Since is local performance should we talk about Prentice/ Aboud camp and even Gregory Chung's JG and Tola built engines now? Good ones too...sure some men didn't know about the latter lol

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 4th, 2013, 7:37 am

Well said Kinday... well said... *tear in my eye*

alexfos101

Postby alexfos101 » January 6th, 2013, 9:24 am

i'm fairly new in the whole motor sport scene, i have a honda civic 1.5l for just about 5 yrs now, a young man looking to get the best out of his little engine, never heard bout this mechanic that mechanic, so one day my good friend checked up online to get some advice "TOLA'S" 3 Nizam avenue SanJuan ElSocorro. We made our way to the place, going down nizam avenue i saw the first mechanic saw some hondas nothing to tlk about, went an ask for Tola's, man replied "nah next door". Walked into the garage next door to see a little old man porting tool in hand cigarette in mouth working his way into a head, looking around i saw b16,b18 red top black tops all in tip top shape looking like any of the overseas garage, i said this is the place. "Good day sir looking for tola's" he stood up out his cigarette an light up a new one an said "i am tola". I explained to him about my car an he said why dont you put a b16 an we will start from there, i said to him i wanted to keep the engine i have an work on it go a little DEX and thats about it, he said ok is really up to what you want, but im going to warn you its not going to be cheap, because motor sports is not a cheap sport an how i like to do things is, DO IT RIGHT DO IT ONCE. I said no problem. And the project and freindship been gonig on till now.

1) 1.5l from 87whp to 125whp present on stock internals worked in magnificent ways by tola.\

2)Taking a little info ("* Gary Hunt B18CR, Franklyn Boodram B18C and B20 frank, Mark Singh B16 vtec on carburetors, all drove class leading, championship winning hb's. All built from scratch at Tola's and raced in Trinidad and thru the Caribbean beating the best of rotaries, evo's, etc. There Honda times currently stand on record as there is no circuit track.
* Yuri Climate Control civic ran a best of low 11's during the infamous drag civic battles with Aboud....Shoestring budget, only heart and ideas. Engine lasted and was sold into a street DC2.
* Mark Singh K20 EG project ran 12.6 bone stock....major lack of traction. Project was retired before full completion.

Now onto prominent street engines that TOOK a beating:
* Shelshok B20 frank raced to 9000rpm every weekend and the occasional week night since it was built. It lasted 2 years before it was sold and rebuilt. Tuned on SFC vtec and fpr
* Even better yet was Rado's special built frank. Lasted 3.5 years in form with a best time of mid 13's on the track. That engine was beaten to death every gangster drag by the brother's from Diego after the project was sold. Tuned on SFC vtec and Fpr.

* For me personally, back in the day they built my carbureted Honda 2.0 non-vtec motor into an 8000rpm B16/ SR20 killer. That engine lasted years until another driver took it to another mechanic.")

So if someone was to compare him to MR.Spoon id say he better, and you know why, its all about money, an trini motor enthusiast especially honda men like to cheap their way out of everything, Mr spoon dont have to worry bout that his demographic paying for his parts an services no matter the price. All the monster an championship tola claimed is through thoes client understanding its not a cheap sport. Thats all i have to say. TOLA'S ENGINEERING ftw

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » January 6th, 2013, 10:15 am

humm
brave fella

Since u talkin bout bank roll men

Well let me shred some light ( I know )

There are 3 flag ship car in the garage

the blue pair and the "Supa" gun metal( supa na and boosted form) - these 3 spared no $$$

What do they have to show besides... pretty parts and dyno sheet ? guess u to new to know

Btw nice build 40whp on a stock engine sweet, especially since u did not come close to the price of a B16a ($16k)

alexfos101

Postby alexfos101 » January 6th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Thanks alot I'm not afraid of any tlk, i just like to share my knowledge what i know personally about my build an the mechanic an experience and team behind it i never had no complaints of anything tola fixed in my car still working good five years now. An i took that b16 price an fixed my whole ride from suspension to engine worked out great for me. Idk about the other builds but i know my car is done properly an i have no headaches an there is no one i trust more to do the work. Performance and cleanliness, check and triple checked.

keving MCc

Postby keving MCc » January 6th, 2013, 5:17 pm

alexfos101 wrote:So if someone was to compare him to MR.Spoon id say he better

:shock: :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol:

Postby X2 » January 6th, 2013, 9:47 pm

Wait... Kinday... you calling Singh's tuned K20 with bolt ons and ITBs a stock motor ?

Well hmmm... if that's yuh facts... it's hard to believe much else... 0_o

Being a pioneer in Trinidad isn't the same when you have parts upon parts already made and tested... it's just to bolt on and tune... no engineering needed. I still would not go pushing it into the territory of comparing to Ichishima-san. It's like comparing a scientist to an engineer....or and engineer to a mechanic.

Don't get it twisted tho... many engineers and scientists are HORRIBLE mechanics...

But you want to see who CAN be compared to Mr. Spoon ?

Clicky...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bisi_Ezerioha

alexfos101

Postby alexfos101 » January 7th, 2013, 7:35 am

But you want to see who CAN be compared to Mr. Spoon ?

Clicky...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bisi_Ezerioha
[/quote]

:mrgreen: gonna try his stuff soon

Kinday

Postby Kinday » January 7th, 2013, 10:49 pm

Bisi is a real boss :D

Da panty christ

Postby Da panty christ » January 11th, 2013, 2:19 pm

its true tola is a bit more expensive that most other well know honda mechanic however u get what u pay for, did some work with him last year and well he made an old beat up looking engine look and feel like brand new....not say that the other mechanics are bad but he does really good work from what i have experienced.....

Return to “HONDA”